It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
611 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Ancient Macedonia AM

Trip Duration 15 Days
 

Reviews for Ancient Macedonia

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Ancient Macedonia trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Ancient Macedonia reviews verified by Reevoo

14 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Ancient MacedoniaScores 8.4 out of 10 based on 14 reviews
(7 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Macedonia was lovelier than I ever expected. Bulgaria was also great. Did an extra 1 day excursion into Albania - what a great last minute addition. Lake Ohrid stay was a highlight, but go to another beach (not the one in front of the hotel - it's ROCKY!). Take beach shoes & beach towel as none are provided.
Confirmed traveller: 20 November 2015
Published on: 15 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Read up on the history of Macedonia before going. It will put things into perspective. If you are on the group flight don't rely on being able to use Euros in Bulgaria. While the hotel accepted them, nowhere else in Sofia did despite Daniel assuring us that they would. It meant we missed lunch and the chance to go into the Synagogue. If I did the trip again, I would fly out a day or two earlier.
Confirmed traveller: 03 December 2014
Published on: 11 December 2015
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

The museum at Pella, the tomb of Phillip 11 and the ruins at Philippi were all totally unexpected and amazing wow moments. The countryside is beautiful - fabulous river gorges, forests and mountains. The day on Thassos was very relaxing - do take time to see the theatre. Everyone we met was friendly and helpful - Sofia and Skopje are great places for people watching with lots and lots of photo opportunities. Daniel was very enthusiastic about his country which he obviously loves. He was knowledgeable about its history both ancient and modern and always willing to answer questions.
Confirmed traveller: 04 October 2014
Published on: 11 December 2015
(8 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Philips tomb in Vergina. The museum incorporated into the tumulus where the ancient graves were discovered is amazing. It has to rank as one of the most tasteful museums in the world. The explanations and layout of the artifacts are excellent.Daniel has to be up their with the best of Explore Tour Leaders. His passion and knowledge of the history of Macedonia was infectious and certainly has spurred me on to read more about Macedonian culture
Confirmed traveller: 09 July 2014
Published on: 07 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Lorraine

Surbiton Surrey
This was a well thought out, balanced itinerary. It was varied with visits to the churches, monasteries and archaeological sites of the region, plus some days which were relaxed with the possibility to swim and have free time. Our tour leader was excellent. She was well informed, organised and gave us her take on life in the Balkans. The local guides were for the most part very good and our guided tours through the modern cities clearly added to our knowledge of the region. The highlight for me was a visit to Kratova, a small town in Macedonia, where we met a local guide who introduced us to his town and his wife cooked us lunch.
Confirmed traveller: 29 September 2015
Published on: 10 October 2015
(9 out of 10)

David

Salisbury
highlight was the very varied days. We particularly enjoyed Philippi and the day on Thassos.
Try to read up on the complex history of this region before you travel.
Confirmed traveller: 04 October 2015
Published on: 08 October 2015
(8 out of 10)

Gill

Inverurie
1. Philip II's tomb at Vergina was outstanding.
2. Ohrid is an interesting and attractive town (with option of a trip to Albania)
3. Skopje is a lively mix of traditional and modern.
4. Accommodation was generally good, as was the food.
Confirmed traveller: 21 September 2014
Published on: 05 October 2015
(8 out of 10)

Lisa

Derby
Macedonia is one of the last unknown mysteries. Lake Ohrid and the national parks in Macedonia were breathtaking. The scenery is stunning, and the people are welcoming. If going, try to go to Albania where you can see the other side of lake Ohrid - lost in time due to communism.
Take euros and try all the local cuisine.
A visit to Skopje and its museums is a must to see the history of Alexander the Great. Spellbinding, beautiful country.
Confirmed traveller: 20 September 2015
Published on: 05 October 2015
(8 out of 10)

Geoffrey

Warminster
A very interesting trip but probably too much information and the leader was too political.
Highlight lake Orchid.
Confirmed traveller: 21 June 2015
Published on: 01 October 2015