It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
619 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Ancient Macedonia AM

Trip Duration 15 Days
 

Reviews for Ancient Macedonia

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Ancient Macedonia trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Ancient Macedonia reviews verified by reevooReevoo

32 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Ancient MacedoniaScores 8.1 out of 10 based on 32 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Cathy

Cheshire
A really interesting tour. The tour guides (Daniel and Nikola) were excellent, as was the driver (Izo). Ohrid was the highlight for me - a lovely place to visit. The local guides were good, but Maria in Thessaloniki was a bit overbearing and did not leave enough time for looking at things. The Vergina Hotel inThessaloniki was poor and was in an area where there was lots of building work on the new tram system. Make sure you have the optional local lunches in Kratovo and Vevchani! Also, Kavala is worth looking around if you don't fancy going to Thassos.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 04 June 2017
Published on: 19 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Jack

Tallahassee
Excellent tour of the areas comprising Ancient Macedonia. Tour guide, Daniel, was excellent and provided much info and history of the sites and area. Daniel was also excellent at organizing all the myriad details/arrangements during a tour like this.
The hotel choice, though in Thessalonica should be changed on future tours.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 04 June 2017
Published on: 09 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Elaine

Manchester
Have done over 20 Explore tours (all good) but this was one of the best. Interesting cities, stunning scenery - lakes, mountains, forests, seaside- and much to see whether your interest is modern or ancient history. Highlights (many) included tomb of Philip of Macedon and museums in Sofia, Thessaloniki and Skopkje, local home-cooked cuisine, and the many beautiful frescoes in churches and monasteries. The overnight stay in Jovan Bigorski monastery was perfect as we arrived in late afternoon and were the only visitors. Tour leaders and driver were very good and always helpful. Tips - city maps are available from the hotels. It's easy to change money in most places and we definitely needed rain gear.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 04 June 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(8 out of 10)

Judith

London
Fascinating holiday into a (surprisingly) little visited part of Europe, but one which has so much to offer. It helps if you're interested in ancient history (lots of Greek and Roman sites - spectacular sites at Pella, Heraklea and Philippi, with the added bonus of wonderful grave goods found at Philip II of Macedon's unraided tomb (think of a Macedonian equivalent of Tutankhamen, in terms of quality if not in volume); ditto lots of wonderful Orthodox churches and monasteries, some of which have frescoes dating back to seventh century. Also lots of opportunities to commune with nature (Macedonia in particular is blessed with wonderful unspoiled scenery) and chill - although, overall, it is a pretty busy trip!

Tips - come with a large appetite (food helpings are enormous, and quality is generally high); a good camera (it's a photographer's paradise, although in some of the museums photography is forbidden); bring a range of clothing (I went in Sept, and we had surprisingly good weather, although with a little rain; the trip in June had bakingly hot weather) and comfortable shoes; and remember - a surprisingly (by British standards, anyway) high proportion of the populations in all three countries speak a very reasonable standard of English and are extremely warm, hospitable people.
One key thing not to do - enter into the vexed debate about whether Philip II/ Alexander the Great were really Greek or Macedonian (sounds like a minor issue, but the two countries have nearly come to war over this, and the squabble still continues).....
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 02 October 2016
Published on: 05 October 2016
(3 out of 10)

Simon

Exeter
Itinerary and activities poorly thought through; making for a fairly dull trip. If you like driving fairly long distancies and monastries without much in between it will suit. No walks or possibility since stops mainly in towns; could be reorganised to make it so much better since individual places were attractive.
Low spots: Sofia/grim, Mt Athos/why?
High spots:St Osogovski Monastery;Ohrid
Bizarre; Skopje- a weird jumble of Disney renovation/ dreadful but good food

Tip: if you want an even moderately active trip don't go for this.
1 of 3 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 25 September 2016
Published on: 29 September 2016

Hi Simon, I appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us for your recent trip, although I am sorry to hear you were unhappy with your overall experience. The current feedback has been very enthusiastic for this departure and how the itinerary is arranged. This being said, I have taken the time to review your feedback with our operations manager for the area to see if we can make some refinements and ensure we are getting the best out of the trip.

(7 out of 10)

Andrew

Wokingham
The itinerary of the tour is excellent. The range of sights is well-planned and varied. You see loads of churches and amazing frescos and the ruins of Pella and Heraclea were a particular highlight. I also loved the tomb of Phillip II. Our Explore guide was lovely, but very new to the job, meaning she often had to use wikipedia to look up information. She also struggled with explanations which meant she then repeated herself a lot. Most of the local guides were excellent, with the exception of one at Heraclea who wasted most of the tour chatting about mindless facts meaning the majority of the group didn't get to see the beautiful mosaics. Overall, the tour was great - well organised and a great itinerary. The guide was inexperienced, but lovely.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 07 August 2016
Published on: 03 October 2016
(10 out of 10)

Charles

Cambridge
This is a most imaginative and well-planned tour. Every day brought something very special. The highpoints were the Tomb of Philip II at Vergina (Greece), which still has me reeling, the Rila Monastery (Bulgaria) and Lake Ohrid. Macedonia is a real find - a stunningly beautiful country of monks and monasteries, lakes, forests and mountains. Ohrid itself is a particularly attractive town.

One of Explore's strengths is the quality of its local. With one exception they were excellent, especially Maria in Thessaloniki and Soula at Philippi.

Very strongly recommended.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 07 August 2016
Published on: 17 August 2016
(10 out of 10)

Barbara

Geneva
The tour was great! I've really loved Sofia, Ohrid lake, Skopje, Thassos and Bansko.
It was lovely to enter in contact with a local family in Kratovo. The archaelogical sites of Pella, Heraclea, Philippi and Vergina are wonderful.
Everything was perfect. The only tip that I have for this trip is to be prepared for hot weather in summer.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 03 July 2016
Published on: 09 July 2016
(9 out of 10)

Becky

Manchester
This tour is very well thought-out, providing a fascinating overview of what used to be Macedonia in ancient times. The amount of history in the region is incredible and the local guides throughout the trip were very knowledgeable in imparting their knowledge about the sites we visited. Pella, the tombs at Vergina and Rila monastery were big highlights in terms of historical sites. The scenery was also stunning at times, particularly in Macedonia - Lake Ohrid was a beautiful place to spend a couple of days. The food and wine in the region was very good.

I really enjoyed the optional day trip to Albania from Lake Ohrid and would recommend this. Also the optional lunch in the Macedonian family's house near the start of the trip was great.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 19 June 2016
Published on: 05 July 2016
(8 out of 10)

Karin

Since as per usual this is not really a review I will write a proper email as I always, however, I am too busy this week with work issues.
1 of 3 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 19 June 2016
Published on: 25 June 2016