It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
628 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Heights Of Machu Picchu + Amazon Extension PMA

Visiting: Peru
Trip Duration 17 Days
 

Reviews for Heights Of Machu Picchu + Amazon Extension

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Heights Of Machu Picchu + Amazon Extension trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Heights Of Machu Picchu + Amazon Extension reviews verified by Reevoo

5 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Heights Of Machu Picchu + Amazon ExtensionScores 9.2 out of 10 based on 5 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Paul

Heyford
The variety of the trip - from Lake Titicaca to Cusco and the Inca Trail and then the extension to the Rio Tambopata lodge - was amazing. The quality of the local guides, particularly in Puno, Cusco and in the Trail - provided locally by the superb Condor Travel - could not have been better.
Confirmed traveller: 29 June 2016
Published on: 05 July 2016
(8 out of 10)

June

London
The Inca trail was led by Roger who was excellent; he has huge experience of the trail; he engendered trust in his abilities to get us through the challenge. He had huge knowledge of flora and fauna. As someone who suffers with vertigo I utterly trusted Roger's views of my ability to accomplish the walk. I had spoken with Explore at the time of booking about my anxiety - this was not passed onto the tour guide which would have allowed him to prepare.
The tour guide (Uri) for the rain forest was competent and knowledgeable but I felt the itinerary at this new lodge was 'thin' - too much time without an activity; activities near to lodge rather than fitting 2 things in the morning leaving the afternoon to explore further afield. Lodge good but needs to attract more birds e.g. placing fruit by cabins etc.
Confirmed traveller: 01 June 2016
Published on: 14 June 2016
(9 out of 10)

Hilary

Merseyside
many highlights. Always something interesting to see. Inca Trail was a magnificent experience. Would love to walk it again. Not too strenuous for reasonably fit. M P obvious highlight and much better than expected. Amazon extension also worth while though a bit more 'commercial' in its organisation.
Would recommend getting tablets to cope with altitude sickness before you go. Hit and miss whether you would suffer but those who did were very unwell for 24 hours or so.
Confirmed traveller: 03 June 2015
Published on: 08 October 2015
(10 out of 10)

Roger

London
Absolute highlight was going through the Sun Gate and the sense of achievement.
Wonderful leadership and support - everything ran very smoothly especially as we had the height to acclimatize ourselves to. This was difficult and everyone had different problems but all overcome in the end with the help and advice of the tour guides.
An amazing experience, you must do it.
Confirmed traveller: 22 April 2015
Published on: 21 October 2015
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

The highlight has to be the day spent at Machu Picchu, exploring the streets, temple and terraces in warm sunshine, but the day-long (optional) train ride from Puno to Cusco came a close second for its fantastic scenery, good food, live entertainment and luxurious facilities. I also thoroughly enjoyed our visit to a mountaintop community on Tequila Island - eating fresh trout next to a hedge of gladioli full of hummingbirds, in glorious weather… heavenly Pabel was outstandingly good. Every part of the tour ran smoothly and was superbly organised. He explained everything we needed to know the night before - what to pack, what to wear, carry, when to meet ... everything! Throughout the tour, he explained the significance of local architecture and customs, describing the demise of the Incas as he showed us around forts, temples and remote abandoned mountainside towns. His command of English was exceptional - we’ll never forget his explanation of the route ahead ... not least the bifurcation in the path!!!.. He was a fantastic host at all times. On the trek, he helped to serve our meals and in the cities, he showed us the best places to eat - with great menus, value for money and good facilities. He also helped with finding places to change money, get medication and take laundry. On the trek, he did everything to make sure we were OK, encouraging the fittest, shepherding the slowest, and minding bags and cameras. Thanks to him, we were always well prepared for the weather, the wildlife and the challenging walks. He was also a great photographer! He was cheerful, funny and very good company, spending time with everyone along the way. His knowledge of the history and culture of Peru was absolutely fantastic. He was clearly a proud citizen and shared stories and legends all the time. I don’t think we could have had a better tour leader - he was MUCH appreciated!
Confirmed traveller: 23 May 2014
Published on: 12 March 2016