It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
652 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews


Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.


Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Heights Of Machu Picchu PM

Visiting: Peru
Trip Duration 13 Days

Reviews for Heights Of Machu Picchu

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Heights Of Machu Picchu trip available at present.

Please select a date:


Heights Of Machu Picchu reviews verified by reevooReevoo

11 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Heights Of Machu PicchuScores 8.5 out of 10 based on 11 reviews
(9 out of 10)


West Sussex
We had a fabulous trip to Machu Picchu with Explore in May 2016. Roger, our tour guide, really made the trip special with his local knowledge and passion about his ancestors, the Incas. He made sure that everyone in our group could complete the trek and fully enjoy the experience.

Condor Travel are the local tour operator for this trip and did a great job to ensure everything ran smoothly. Their local transport was good, and they used local village porters for the trek who were amazing.

The itinerary was excellent. I chose this trek as it provided a few days in Puno to acclimatise at altitude. We needed this as my wife and I were sick on the first evening in Puno. It didn't last long and we only missed a short walk around Puno.

The accommodation was basic but clean - I'm happy with a comfortable bed and a decent shower! Yes, the rooms can get cold at night and there were some occasions when we had to wait for hot water, but this wasn't a problem.

The food in Peru was much better than expected, even on the trek. Snacks were provided each day for the trek, and so I didn't eat much of the "tuck shop" I carried with me! Condor made sure there was plenty of hand sanitiser available at meal times. We didn't have stomach upsets.

You need local currency, except for the optional tours and group tip collection which are paid in US dollars. That said, exchanging US dollars is easy, and they are accepted in shops and restaurants too. Plenty of ATMs available in Puno, Cusco and Lima.

Some advice:
(a) take walking poles to protect your knees - there are some tough uphill and downhill sections
(b) get fitter before you go
(c) take warm clothes for night time
(d) you'll need a poncho for hiking through the rain/cloud forest sections
(e) be prepared for mosquitoes - but we have no problems in May (I'm usually a magnet for them but I didn't get bitten once or need to use a protective spray)
(f) choose to climb Machu Picchu Mountain - a tough climb but fabulous views (need to book at the same time as your tour)
(g) Put essentials in hand luggage - our bags didn't make it back from Cusco to Lima until the following evening so we had two days in one set of clothes! Thankfully we booked an extra night in Lima before flying home.
(h) Laundry can be done in Cusco, and it's cheap.
(i) We took our own sleeping bags, but others hired them through our guide. They came with liners.
(j) Opt for the direct flight from London Gatwick to Lima. A new route opened in May 2016 by British Airways.

Book this trip, and have a great experience of trekking the Inca Trail.
Confirmed traveller: 30 May 2016
Published on: 05 June 2016
(8 out of 10)


West Yorkshire
Well planned in that acclimatisation prepared the group for the trek.
All journeys went as planned, apart from delays getting from Cusco to Lima and the airline not moving luggage so without it for 24 hrs. Good variety of trips which reflected the culture and history of the country. Iban professional and organised.
Food on trek excellent, restaurant selection well thought out eg restaurant with balcony to be able to see Corpus Christie celebrations.
Guide, Roger, excellent in his passion, organisation, knowledge and support for whole group. Made sure that all capabilities could achieve the trek with enjoyment and real sense of achievement
Young, female Condor rep in Cusco, responsible for taking part of group from hotel in Cusco to airport, allowed a piece of luggage to be left at the hotel, blamed others for the error and then allowed porter to move luggage and didn't tip him.
Felix, who met us in Lima, not able to reassure group that the problem of no luggage would be sorted. No confidence in him.
Need to include in notes that passport needed to enter trek.
Confirmed traveller: 29 May 2016
Published on: 05 June 2016
(2 out of 10)


The hotels/hostels are poor, accommodation barely adequate, service poor, food very poor; 4 out of 13 got food poisoning and were unable to complete the trip.
Tour guides are good but are self employed and forced to take dangerous short cuts and disregard traveller safety.
Itinerary great.
If you want to go to Peru go with another tour company
Confirmed traveller: 10 April 2016
Published on: 29 April 2016

Thank you for your review, Mark. Clearly we were very concerned by your comments so I took the time to contact the rest of your group, your Explore Leader and our local agent for their input.

It was certainly unfortunate that you and a number of the group became ill and were unable to complete the trek. Your Explore Leader, Pabel, and his assistant guide worked hard to ensure that they took care of everyone and, as members of the group became ill at two separate points along the trek, the assistant guide returned with them to Cusco. Unfortunately, after the second time, the group were too far ahead for him to catch up. In addition, we’re aware that one of the group struggled considerably with the amount of walking, and Pabel spent the majority of his time with him to ensure he was safe.

We always comply with the local regulations which require two guides to accompany groups of 9 or more, but it was particularly unfortunate that our second guide diverted to assist the ill members of your group.

We have taken your comments onboard and, while we do not believe that the safety of the group was compromised, we are discussing the matter at length with our local agent to see how we could better prepare for the unique events which occurred during your trip. Options we’re considering include making use of the other trek crew in such extreme circumstances. Please rest assured that we will do our very best to ensure we continue to keep our customers’ safety a priority.

(9 out of 10)


The trip was excellent and I enjoyed every minute of it. The group was very friendly and supportive of one another except for one individual who I feel should not have been travelling in a group. This individual completely monopolised the only guide we had for most of the treck because he walked slowly and had great difficulty when descending mountains this meant he and the guide arrived at destinations and lunch breaks up to an hour later than the rest of us. The group were also deprived of the the extensive knowledge of the fauna, flora and history the guide had and we would have liked to discuss and ask questions about while walking.
We also had health issues while trecking, four of the group had to return to Cusco with severe gastro interstinal upset with one individual having to be admitted to hospital. Initially we were supposed to have two guides but after one had to return twice to Cusco with ill people he did not return for the last three days of the treck. Given the composition of the group and the presence of only one guide this could have been very dangerous if anyone in the main group ahead had any sort of accident or incident. I do not know if our excellent guide had requested another guide to be sent by Condor Travel.
Confirmed traveller: 10 April 2016
Published on: 17 April 2016
(7 out of 10)


San Carlos
The Inca Trail portion was great with the exception that our Guides had to accommodate one of the travelers who has physical limitations & as a result, did not accompanied the rest of the group. We ended up trekking 90% of the Trail by ourselves. I will strongly urged Explore to screen travelers stringently for trips that labeled 'strenuous' in future so not to compromise the experience of other travelers.

Some hotels on the itinerary had inadequate facilities, i.e. no hot water, no TV reception, hallway light out, etc.

Great porter support & excellent food along the Trail.
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2016
Published on: 10 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Fantastic holiday from start to finish. Many highlights but in particular Lake Titicaca, Inca Trail and of course Machu Picchu!
Confirmed traveller: 30 September 2015
Published on: 04 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

The tour was extremely well planned and executed with some amazing contrasting landscapes, The highlights were visiting the floating islands on Lake Titicaca, arriving at the sun gate and seeing Machu Picchu after a memorable 4 days trekking.
Confirmed traveller: 24 September 2015
Published on: 04 April 2016
(10 out of 10)


One of the best experiences of my life. The variety of the tour was fantastic and having the few days at altitude before the Inca Trail really helped to acclimatise so any ill effects were over by the time we started. The fact Explore vary the timings and campsites on the trail meant we hardly saw another person for the 4 days which made it very special. Our tour guide - Pabel - was superb. His knowledge and enthusiasm was fantastic and every element of the tour was worked out to perfection. We all felt extremely safe and happy in his very capable hands. Amazing - would highly recommend this trip to others.
Confirmed traveller: 20 September 2015
Published on: 30 October 2015
(10 out of 10)


Knighton, Wales
Without doubt the Inca trail trek, the visit to the floating island on Lake Titicaca, Cusco and of course Machu Picchu itself, together with an exceptional guide - Pablo Perez.

Tips : take a warm sleeping bag and walking poles and be aware that you might have problems with altitude for a few days in Puno - but it will pass
Confirmed traveller: 20 September 2015
Published on: 07 October 2015
(10 out of 10)


Tour guide, organisation and planning, sense of achievement.

Bring clothes for all seasons all year round. Use waking poles.
Confirmed traveller: 20 September 2015
Published on: 01 October 2015