It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
592 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

The Lost Continent MD

Visiting: Madagascar
Trip Duration 15 Days
 

Reviews for The Lost Continent

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the The Lost Continent trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

The Lost Continent reviews verified by Reevoo

28 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
The Lost ContinentScores 9.1 out of 10 based on 28 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Margaret

liverpool
Plenty of variety in the tour. Full timetable of activities, ie going to see the wildlife with people well experienced in their field. All the guides were helpful particularly to me as I arrived with a splint on one wrist.
Accommodation was good quality and varied, so was the food.
The travelling was quite hard as the roads were bad but the driving was good in the circumstances and the vehicle well maintained.
The guide was good and knowledgeable about his country but rather over emphasised the security problem with our valuables tht I became a little worried about meeting the people.
Confirmed traveller: 15 April 2016
Published on: 21 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Apichart

Bangkok, Thailand
This is my first time with Explore. I’m very impressed how they arranged such variety itineraries for every aspect of nature and travelling lovers: rainforest trekking, beautiful landscape, market place, craft shops, snorkeling etc. even staying at a very basic guest house is a once in a lifetime experience of a person who live to learn. I ‘m quite sure that this will not be my last trip with Explore.
The highlights has to the range of many varieties of lemur, and also many different birds, chameleons, frogs, insects, spiders, lizards etc. I can say that our group had a great time with so many species of lemurs and chameleons.
Our guide, Armand was attentive, informative and helpful including with every evening brief. Our driver and his assistance are also very good despite of the some poor condition roads. Our bags and things left on their bus were well-protected.
Confirmed traveller: 14 April 2016
Published on: 20 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

This was a comprehensive and thoroughly enjoyable tour of an interesting and varied country. The rainforest treks were particular highlights due to the abundance of wildlife – our group saw around 15 species of lemur and numerous types of chameleons (as well as many types of birds, insects and frogs). The local guides in each place were knowledgeable and passionate, and it was great to see Explore supporting developing tourism in the country. It’s hard to pick one standout moment as the whole tour was so wonderful.
Confirmed traveller: 22 September 2015
Published on: 14 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Heather

Nottingham
As a first timer to Madagascar things couldn't have gone better. Tour leader Claude was clearly an experienced guide, giving us the right information at the right time so that everyone knew where they were. Our bus driver and his mate were A1 getting us round this big island in a safe and timely manner. Highlights were being able to see so many lemurs at really close quarters and seeing the very varied landscape. The local guides were very knowledgeable especially in the National Parks. Horse riding in Isalo on good animals and along good trails was a big plus for me too. The people have very little but were friendly and curious, especially the children. Any unwanted clothes and shoes were gratefully accepted, so if you have any spare space in your suitcase and any old clothes you no longer need, take them with you. Very glad I went.
Confirmed traveller: 07 April 2016
Published on: 10 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Jan

Yateley
Terrific tour. Excellant tour leader. One of the best in the 9 trips I have taken with Explore. The drivers and the local quides are also very qood.

The highlights has to the range of different lemurs you see and how close you get to them in some of the national parks.

The stay at the quiet and basic village of Anakao, is a great counter balance to Tana and the big cities.

The only downside is the state of the roads but that is part of the experience.

Totally recommend the whole trip.
Confirmed traveller: 08 April 2016
Published on: 09 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

There are endless opportunities to see wildlife on this tour. We saw so many varieties of lemur in their natural habitat I lost count, and also many different chameleons, frogs, spiders, lizards etc.Claude started off brilliantly! He was a very experienced leader with excellent English and boundless knowledge of lemurs and other wildlife in Madagascar - as well as being very informative about the culture, history and geography of the country. However, Claude caught a tummy bug after a few days and it was as if he completely switched off. Whilst we were initially very sympathetic to his illness, even after he had recovered we felt as though he was 'just going through the motions'. Having seen him give 200% as a leader, it was a huge disappointment to then see him give the bare minimum to get us through to the end of the tour. In particular, he encouraged us to do an optional walk which was beyond our fitness levels (he knew I'd sprained my ankle), in searing midday heat - as if he was off-loading us (another excellent guide, Charles, took us for the afternoon). Claude clearly didn't want our company and slipped away from dinner between courses to have a cigarette etc. He seemed to have lost any interest in us as a group.
Confirmed traveller: 04 October 2014
Published on: 12 March 2016
(6 out of 10)

Janice

TWICKENHAM
Listening to the Indri calling from the rain forest first thing in the morning.

The beach stay and the impromptu beach party.

The optional afternoon walk through the canyon at Isalo National Park (Make sure that you are fit enough, that you cover up well and take plenty of water as it is the hottest part of the day).
Confirmed traveller: 20 November 2015
Published on: 01 December 2015
(8 out of 10)

Simon

Boroughbridge
The national parks were the highlight and the Malagasy people.
Have some time on your own after the tour.
Confirmed traveller: 23 November 2015
Published on: 24 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Suzanne

Reading
Seeing so many different species of lemur and chameleon. Visiting the tropical rainforest with such dedicated and knowledgeable guides. Altogether a great experience. Lovely beach resort at the end of a busy two weeks. You need to be reasonably fit as quite a lot of walking but our guide Armand was always attentive and thoughtful and paced the activities. The local people were delightful and the culture fascinating. Occasionally there were minor domestic glitches such as no electricity or hot water, but do not let that put you off.
Do not miss out on this excellent holiday
Confirmed traveller: 08 October 2015
Published on: 12 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

The ever changing landscape,unique wildlife,friendly peopleCharles was a fantastic tour leader,everything ran smoothly,he was always ready to answer the constant barrage of questions that came from the group
Confirmed traveller: 18 August 2014
Published on: 07 November 2015