It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
639 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

The Lost Continent MD

Visiting: Madagascar
Trip Duration 15 Days
 

Reviews for The Lost Continent

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the The Lost Continent trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

The Lost Continent reviews verified by Reevoo

33 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
The Lost ContinentScores 9.1 out of 10 based on 33 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Jackie

Coventry
Fabulous trip - highlights being the Madagascan Grand Canyon and the two days at the beach resort.. Not too "full on" and would definitely recommend it.
Confirmed traveller: 23 September 2016
Published on: 28 September 2016
(8 out of 10)

Jennifer

Yateley
Very full extensive tour with an exceptional tour leader with great knowledge.
Confirmed traveller: 23 September 2016
Published on: 28 September 2016
(9 out of 10)

Nancy

London
This was a fantastic trip with lots of opportunities for wildlife spotting. We saw a wide range of lemurs and other endemic species. We were very lucky as during a short whale watching trip in Anakao, we were treated excellent views of a humpback whale ! There were some long days on the road but these were generally broken up with visits to workshops, markets or points of interest along the way. The changing scenery was of interest as we travelled.

I took some older clothes (as recommended by Explore) to wear and distribute along the way as did others in our group. It was clear that these were much appreciated, especially in the poorer areas to the south of the country. We visited a village along the way to distribute some pencils, exercise books etc to aid educational efforts. We bought these locally but these could be brought with you.

Our tour leader, Armand, was efficient, organised, very approachable and full of energy! He was very knowledgeable in a range of areas. He willingly shared his insights with us, giving us a much deeper understanding of life in Madagascar and so enriching our experience enormously.
Confirmed traveller: 19 August 2016
Published on: 13 September 2016
(9 out of 10)

Debra

Israel
2 of the accommodation places were well below standard. Our first stop after Tana, the hotel was awful...had a grubby feel to it and was freezing cold with no heating and no extra blankets because they were full.
The community stay with the lack of appropriate toilet facilities was also not what I was expecting. I often camp, but this was not a camping trip and trekking out into the cold to an asian style long drop when you don't feel well borders on the unmanageable.
The last 2 days were wasted because our plane back to Tana didn't arrive. I know it is not Explore's fault and I'm not sure what you can change to avoid a similar situation in the future, but apparently this happens fairly regularly. That said, our guide handled the situation very well and with good grace as he did everything else on the trip
Confirmed traveller: 11 August 2016
Published on: 04 September 2016
(10 out of 10)

Margaret

liverpool
Plenty of variety in the tour. Full timetable of activities, ie going to see the wildlife with people well experienced in their field. All the guides were helpful particularly to me as I arrived with a splint on one wrist.
Accommodation was good quality and varied, so was the food.
The travelling was quite hard as the roads were bad but the driving was good in the circumstances and the vehicle well maintained.
The guide was good and knowledgeable about his country but rather over emphasised the security problem with our valuables tht I became a little worried about meeting the people.
Confirmed traveller: 15 April 2016
Published on: 21 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Apichart

Bangkok, Thailand
This is my first time with Explore. I’m very impressed how they arranged such variety itineraries for every aspect of nature and travelling lovers: rainforest trekking, beautiful landscape, market place, craft shops, snorkeling etc. even staying at a very basic guest house is a once in a lifetime experience of a person who live to learn. I ‘m quite sure that this will not be my last trip with Explore.
The highlights has to the range of many varieties of lemur, and also many different birds, chameleons, frogs, insects, spiders, lizards etc. I can say that our group had a great time with so many species of lemurs and chameleons.
Our guide, Armand was attentive, informative and helpful including with every evening brief. Our driver and his assistance are also very good despite of the some poor condition roads. Our bags and things left on their bus were well-protected.
Confirmed traveller: 14 April 2016
Published on: 20 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Jan

Yateley
Terrific tour. Excellant tour leader. One of the best in the 9 trips I have taken with Explore. The drivers and the local quides are also very qood.

The highlights has to the range of different lemurs you see and how close you get to them in some of the national parks.

The stay at the quiet and basic village of Anakao, is a great counter balance to Tana and the big cities.

The only downside is the state of the roads but that is part of the experience.

Totally recommend the whole trip.
Confirmed traveller: 08 April 2016
Published on: 09 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Heather

Nottingham
As a first timer to Madagascar things couldn't have gone better. Tour leader Claude was clearly an experienced guide, giving us the right information at the right time so that everyone knew where they were. Our bus driver and his mate were A1 getting us round this big island in a safe and timely manner. Highlights were being able to see so many lemurs at really close quarters and seeing the very varied landscape. The local guides were very knowledgeable especially in the National Parks. Horse riding in Isalo on good animals and along good trails was a big plus for me too. The people have very little but were friendly and curious, especially the children. Any unwanted clothes and shoes were gratefully accepted, so if you have any spare space in your suitcase and any old clothes you no longer need, take them with you. Very glad I went.
Confirmed traveller: 07 April 2016
Published on: 10 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

Simon

Boroughbridge
The national parks were the highlight and the Malagasy people.
Have some time on your own after the tour.
Confirmed traveller: 23 November 2015
Published on: 24 November 2015
(6 out of 10)

Janice

TWICKENHAM
Listening to the Indri calling from the rain forest first thing in the morning.

The beach stay and the impromptu beach party.

The optional afternoon walk through the canyon at Isalo National Park (Make sure that you are fit enough, that you cover up well and take plenty of water as it is the hottest part of the day).
Confirmed traveller: 20 November 2015
Published on: 01 December 2015