It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
652 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews


Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.


Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

The Lost Continent MD

Visiting: Madagascar
Trip Duration 15 Days

Reviews for The Lost Continent

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the The Lost Continent trip available at present.

Please select a date:


The Lost Continent reviews verified by reevooReevoo

36 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
The Lost ContinentScores 9.1 out of 10 based on 36 reviews
(9 out of 10)


A busy but interesting tour of a fascinating country. Armand, our tour leader, is one of the best leaders I have encountered. He is passionate about his country and proud of his history, though aware of the country's problems with transport infrastructure and with poverty. He kept a daily illustrated diary of our journey and encounters, and has sent copies to each of us. All our questions were cheerfully answered in detail.
The bus driver and attendant were first class and took us very safely over often poor roads, they knew where to expect the deep pot holes and the tight hairpin bends in the mountains. Though some travel days were long, there was always something interesting to see out of the window and there were frequent stops en route.
The highlights, of course, were the lemurs, though early sightings of the Indri were rather fleeting as they retreated to the high treetops. Subsequent lemur and sifaka encounters were easier. All the walks were interesting, the paths were dry. Walking shoes were the best option much of the time, particularly when exploring off-path for elusive wild life (lemurs do not always pose right next to a wide path)! Walks around Lake Tritriva and in Isalo National park, though “lemur free” were really interesting and relatively easy.
Overall the accommodation was good. Some hotels were excellent, the traditional guest house was basic with just one “normal” bathroom and other outdoor “long drop” loos, though the food and entertainment were excellent.
We made a very brief stop near one of the poorer villages on our journey south to give them some educational materials and some clothing that we had provided. No fuss, no embarrassment.
The outbound boat journey to Anakao was on a small speedboat belonging to the hotel, typical Indian ocean, sunny, warm, pleasant. However the following two days were cooler, very windy with occasional squally showers, though we did make the best of our time by the sea. The weather conditions made the boat journey back to Toliara not pleasant. The flight back to Tana was fine.
Our final day covered the oldest palace site above Tana in the morning and a lemur park in the afternoon interspersed with Tana’s horrendous traffic.
Overall – a great trip.
Confirmed traveller: 07 October 2016
Published on: 17 October 2016
(9 out of 10)


Fabulous trip - highlights being the Madagascan Grand Canyon and the two days at the beach resort.. Not too "full on" and would definitely recommend it.
Confirmed traveller: 23 September 2016
Published on: 28 September 2016
(8 out of 10)


Very full extensive tour with an exceptional tour leader with great knowledge.
Confirmed traveller: 23 September 2016
Published on: 28 September 2016
(9 out of 10)


This was a fantastic trip with lots of opportunities for wildlife spotting. We saw a wide range of lemurs and other endemic species. We were very lucky as during a short whale watching trip in Anakao, we were treated excellent views of a humpback whale ! There were some long days on the road but these were generally broken up with visits to workshops, markets or points of interest along the way. The changing scenery was of interest as we travelled.

I took some older clothes (as recommended by Explore) to wear and distribute along the way as did others in our group. It was clear that these were much appreciated, especially in the poorer areas to the south of the country. We visited a village along the way to distribute some pencils, exercise books etc to aid educational efforts. We bought these locally but these could be brought with you.

Our tour leader, Armand, was efficient, organised, very approachable and full of energy! He was very knowledgeable in a range of areas. He willingly shared his insights with us, giving us a much deeper understanding of life in Madagascar and so enriching our experience enormously.
Confirmed traveller: 19 August 2016
Published on: 13 September 2016
(10 out of 10)


This is a great tour for those who like wildlife- cute and cuddly were the 2 words used endlessly about the many lemur species we saw! Lots of not so cuddly things such as frogs and chameleons were to be seen as well. In addition there is lots of opportunity to see how life is lived in Madagascar and see some great scenery. My highlight The Isalo National Park - a stunning landscape.

Be prepared for some rough roads. Our driver did a great job avoiding the potholes so travelling was not too arduous even if some of the journeys were long. The hotels by and large were reasonable or good but electricity and water was absent at times. I found that 2 adaptors were needed at times to get everything charged. food was good with excellent seafood (but not much else) at Anakao.

Finally our tour leader Claude was one of the best, knowledgeable on every subject and a nice guy as well
Confirmed traveller: 12 August 2016
Published on: 02 October 2016
(9 out of 10)


2 of the accommodation places were well below standard. Our first stop after Tana, the hotel was awful...had a grubby feel to it and was freezing cold with no heating and no extra blankets because they were full.
The community stay with the lack of appropriate toilet facilities was also not what I was expecting. I often camp, but this was not a camping trip and trekking out into the cold to an asian style long drop when you don't feel well borders on the unmanageable.
The last 2 days were wasted because our plane back to Tana didn't arrive. I know it is not Explore's fault and I'm not sure what you can change to avoid a similar situation in the future, but apparently this happens fairly regularly. That said, our guide handled the situation very well and with good grace as he did everything else on the trip
Confirmed traveller: 11 August 2016
Published on: 04 September 2016
(10 out of 10)


Plenty of variety in the tour. Full timetable of activities, ie going to see the wildlife with people well experienced in their field. All the guides were helpful particularly to me as I arrived with a splint on one wrist.
Accommodation was good quality and varied, so was the food.
The travelling was quite hard as the roads were bad but the driving was good in the circumstances and the vehicle well maintained.
The guide was good and knowledgeable about his country but rather over emphasised the security problem with our valuables tht I became a little worried about meeting the people.
Confirmed traveller: 15 April 2016
Published on: 21 April 2016
(9 out of 10)


Bangkok, Thailand
This is my first time with Explore. I’m very impressed how they arranged such variety itineraries for every aspect of nature and travelling lovers: rainforest trekking, beautiful landscape, market place, craft shops, snorkeling etc. even staying at a very basic guest house is a once in a lifetime experience of a person who live to learn. I ‘m quite sure that this will not be my last trip with Explore.
The highlights has to the range of many varieties of lemur, and also many different birds, chameleons, frogs, insects, spiders, lizards etc. I can say that our group had a great time with so many species of lemurs and chameleons.
Our guide, Armand was attentive, informative and helpful including with every evening brief. Our driver and his assistance are also very good despite of the some poor condition roads. Our bags and things left on their bus were well-protected.
Confirmed traveller: 14 April 2016
Published on: 20 April 2016
(10 out of 10)


Terrific tour. Excellant tour leader. One of the best in the 9 trips I have taken with Explore. The drivers and the local quides are also very qood.

The highlights has to the range of different lemurs you see and how close you get to them in some of the national parks.

The stay at the quiet and basic village of Anakao, is a great counter balance to Tana and the big cities.

The only downside is the state of the roads but that is part of the experience.

Totally recommend the whole trip.
Confirmed traveller: 08 April 2016
Published on: 09 April 2016
(10 out of 10)


As a first timer to Madagascar things couldn't have gone better. Tour leader Claude was clearly an experienced guide, giving us the right information at the right time so that everyone knew where they were. Our bus driver and his mate were A1 getting us round this big island in a safe and timely manner. Highlights were being able to see so many lemurs at really close quarters and seeing the very varied landscape. The local guides were very knowledgeable especially in the National Parks. Horse riding in Isalo on good animals and along good trails was a big plus for me too. The people have very little but were friendly and curious, especially the children. Any unwanted clothes and shoes were gratefully accepted, so if you have any spare space in your suitcase and any old clothes you no longer need, take them with you. Very glad I went.
Confirmed traveller: 07 April 2016
Published on: 10 April 2016