It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
646 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Reviews for Malawi and South Luangwa Safari

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Malawi and South Luangwa Safari trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Malawi & South Luangwa reviews verified by reevooReevoo

10 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Malawi & South LuangwaScores 8.2 out of 10 based on 10 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Martha

Kirkcaldy Fife Scotland
Very good tour with many interesting highlights. Well balanced for interest, local knowledge and lifestyle of people, rich and poor! It would be helpful for future tours to be advised about giving some help to the school near the Sunbird hotel where we stayed as they have very limited equipment.
The Flatdogs camp was excellent, game drives superb and guides very knowledgeable.
I was thrilled to see a pack of wild dogs on the chase and several sightings of leopard.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 16 October 2016
Published on: 31 October 2016
(8 out of 10)

Mary

Good viewings of leopards.
Later in season makes for better game viewing all round, and little trouble from mosquitos.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 01 November 2015
Published on: 09 December 2015
(8 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Our first week was spent in Malawi, the highlights of which for me were Zomba Plateau which has stunning scenery and great walking opportunities and Lake Malawi. The Malawian people were so friendly and I enjoyed talking to the children in the local village. We moved onto Zambia next, the game viewing opportunities in South Luangwa were phenomenal; within 2 hours of being at Flat Dogs Camp I had seen a giraffe, calmly walking past the back of our lodge and elephants. Over the 3 days we spent there I did 5 game drives and 1 walking safari, each surpassed my expectations. The guides are very knowledgeable about the different species of animals and it’s great to see them get excited about each experience as well.
Confirmed traveller: 05 October 2015
Published on: 15 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Janet

St Albans
Visiting the different environments in Malawi. The stunning scenery at Zomba Plateau. South Luangwa is a very special place with amazing game viewing. We were pleased that we did two extra drives on the optional day. We would have done a walk but felt it was too hot. Flatdogs Camp looks after their guests very well. They have excellent safari guides and the best trucks we have been in. The food is delicious, although in the evening I shared a plate with my husband as the portions were so generous.
Confirmed traveller: 04 October 2015
Published on: 04 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Tessa

West Quantoxhead
village visits both at Maclear Lodge and Flat Dogs. contacts with real people, happy children and a chance to learn about their lives. real personal contacts.
safaris at Flat Dogs camp, particularly those on foot.
a guide who could explain the life we saw from the bus.
Mua mission museum.
the crafts we saw developing- pottery, carving, textiles paper making rushing fishing etc.
The world you see will be quite different at different times of the year
Confirmed traveller: 30 August 2015
Published on: 01 October 2015
(8 out of 10)

Derek

York
I have traveled many times with Explore. I enjoy the group situation. I particularly enjoyed the safari aspect of this tour. It is interesting and informative to have a good local guide. It's great to have all the travel and transfers organised for you.
Confirmed traveller: 30 August 2015
Published on: 26 September 2015
(6 out of 10)

Linsay

Glasgow
Malawi and Zambia were fantastic places to visit. Lake Malawi was really something to behold and the optional sunset cruise was great. We loved going on safari and flatdogs was a great place to be based.

My advice would be to make sure you have a yellow fever certificate as there were issues for some of our party entering Zambia. I think this should be made clearer in the trip notes by Explore.
Confirmed traveller: 16 August 2015
Published on: 14 October 2015
(10 out of 10)

Jonathan

London
Glorious scenery and the best animal viewing I have ever experienced.
Confirmed traveller: 21 September 2014
Published on: 02 October 2015