It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
629 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Have you considered?

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Maldive Dhoni Cruise MC

Visiting: Maldives
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Maldive Dhoni Cruise

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Maldive Dhoni Cruise trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Maldive Dhoni Cruise reviews verified by reevooReevoo

63 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Maldive Dhoni CruiseScores 9.0 out of 10 based on 63 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Jane

London
Great snorkelling with good instruction and monitoring. Lovely food and plenty of it. Friendly and helpful boat crew and very good leader Teddie who always paid attention to the smallest detail and request.
They 'built' a dining/seating area in the sand for the beach dinner together with lovely lighting and fiery dolphins in the sand- beyond our imagination - a highlight! I slept outside every night and the stars were amazing.
I don't think I could have experienced the Maldives in a better,closer way.
You need hardly any clothes at all, towels provided and changed halfway through the week. Plenty of sunscreen and aftersun lotion. Simple cover up for island visits.
Confirmed traveller: 05 February 2017
Published on: 15 February 2017
(10 out of 10)

Jacqueline

Isle of Wight
We enjoyed this trip immensely. The crew were fantastic especially in the water snorkeling & on board, we had quite choppy water a lot of the time which made moving around a bit precarious when on the move but there was always a helping hand to steady you.

The sleeping arrangements are very cramped on the smaller boat & the wc is shared (2 between 6 people) as apposed to bigger rooms & en-suit wc on the bigger boat. So if you get the choice go for the bigger boat as the price is the same for better facilities.

Chief good, he fed us really well from his small kitchen plenty of choice & plenty of it with lots of fresh fruit.

Would highly recommend, esp if you like your swimming & snorkeling but take your kit in soft bags as there is no room for suitcases esp on the smaller boat.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 27 January 2017
Published on: 14 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Nicholas

Croyde, Devon
If you love sitting watching the waves go by, and getting occasionally sprayed. If snorkelling is your thing and eating freshly prepared food in good company, then this one's for you. Laid back, relaxing, beautiful.

On a foody point - the Tour Notes warn there could be difficulties if you eat gluten free. The only problem I had was that the cook hadn't been told by Explore that I'm gluten free (this sort of thing shouldn't happen, Explore), but once enlightened he did a brilliant job, substituting rice and rice noodles where necessary and even my very own gluten free afternoon cake, which was genuinely better than anything I've been able to get at home.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 22 January 2017
Published on: 13 February 2017
(10 out of 10)

Diane

Lafayette
This was an excellent reef hopping snorkeling trip! The boat was excellent, the crew superior and the Maldives are marvelous!
Confirmed traveller: 22 January 2017
Published on: 30 January 2017
(9 out of 10)

Tim

Lafayette, CA
First thing: this is essentially a snorkeling trip. There were a couple of other activities but the main focus was a snorkeling session each morning and a second each afternoon. That was just fine with my wife and myself but not so much for others on board who were less enthusiatic or even non-snorkelers.
Our cabin size was more than adequate as we could sleep together on the bottom bunk with no problem leaving the upper bunk available for daily storage and we also had our own attached toilet. Not all cabins are the same size, however, and those on the second boat on our trip had shared toilets.
The food was excellent and abundant and every one of the crew was helpful.
Confirmed traveller: 22 January 2017
Published on: 29 January 2017
(9 out of 10)

Sarah

London
I absolutely loved this trip. The crew were fantastic and very friendly. They went out of there way for us to make it a wonderful time. They are good fun too!
We travelled with 2 boats and the only thing I would suggest is that both boats are encouraged to mix more over lunch or dinner to make it a much more sociable experience for everyone.
Confirmed traveller: 08 January 2017
Published on: 09 January 2017
(8 out of 10)

Simon

Birmingham
An enjoyable trip on the dhoni, named Sea Coral. In a similar way to land safari's this sea safari is relaxing and with a familiar routine. Breakfast, relax, snorkel, lunch, relax, snorkel, dinner, relax. Island visits in the afternoon on 3 of the days breaks the routine. Some reviews have been critical of the town tour of Male. Changes have been made and in my opinion provides a good insight into the life of Maldiven's with limited land space. Your local tour leader now conducts the tour and provides information. The dhoni is comfortable and we were well looked after by the 4 hard working crew. The meals are great and creative, you need to like tuna, although there is always a number of alternate dishes. Because our group was split across 2 boats (the Gulfaan being the other) we had less interaction with our tour leader, but he did always eat with us on the evening. Most of the snorkelling was drift based where the current takes you down the reef. The marine life is great, although the coral had been bleached due to Il Nino in 2016. All in all I would recommend this trip, especially before further damage occurs to the reefs.
Confirmed traveller: 03 January 2017
Published on: 09 January 2017
(7 out of 10)

Angela

The seas can be rough between the Atolls, so bring sea sickness pills. The distances are also long. Being on the second boat meant we didn't have a tour leader with us, so when plans changed or problems like when we broke down, you were left in the dark.
Confirmed traveller: 03 January 2017
Published on: 04 January 2017
(9 out of 10)

Kathleen

weymouth
Amazing variety of fish but poor coral. Great to see Turtles, Mantarays, Stingrays.
Beautiful scenery, and lovely to be on a boat moving rather than in one location.
Lovely to visit small inhabited island and meet the locals.
Excellent guide/leader Teddie
Confirmed traveller: 04 December 2016
Published on: 11 December 2016
(9 out of 10)

Brian

London
A wonderful trip that benefitted so much from being a small group on a traditional dhoni. The tour leader managed to look after the needs of all on the trip. With at least two snorkels a day, there were plenty of opportunities to see the sea life. It was a pity the reefs were so bleached but the fish, both big and small and the turtles were great to see. The on board food (3 meals a day) was exceptional. This must be one of the best Explore trips.
Confirmed traveller: 04 December 2016
Published on: 09 December 2016