It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
630 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Have you considered?

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Maldive Dhoni Cruise MC

Visiting: Maldives
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Maldive Dhoni Cruise

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Maldive Dhoni Cruise trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Maldive Dhoni Cruise reviews verified by reevooReevoo

56 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Maldive Dhoni CruiseScores 8.9 out of 10 based on 56 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Sarah

London
I absolutely loved this trip. The crew were fantastic and very friendly. They went out of there way for us to make it a wonderful time. They are good fun too!
We travelled with 2 boats and the only thing I would suggest is that both boats are encouraged to mix more over lunch or dinner to make it a much more sociable experience for everyone.
Confirmed traveller: 08 January 2017
Published on: 09 January 2017
(8 out of 10)

Simon

Birmingham
An enjoyable trip on the dhoni, named Sea Coral. In a similar way to land safari's this sea safari is relaxing and with a familiar routine. Breakfast, relax, snorkel, lunch, relax, snorkel, dinner, relax. Island visits in the afternoon on 3 of the days breaks the routine. Some reviews have been critical of the town tour of Male. Changes have been made and in my opinion provides a good insight into the life of Maldiven's with limited land space. Your local tour leader now conducts the tour and provides information. The dhoni is comfortable and we were well looked after by the 4 hard working crew. The meals are great and creative, you need to like tuna, although there is always a number of alternate dishes. Because our group was split across 2 boats (the Gulfaan being the other) we had less interaction with our tour leader, but he did always eat with us on the evening. Most of the snorkelling was drift based where the current takes you down the reef. The marine life is great, although the coral had been bleached due to Il Nino in 2016. All in all I would recommend this trip, especially before further damage occurs to the reefs.
Confirmed traveller: 03 January 2017
Published on: 09 January 2017
(7 out of 10)

Angela

The seas can be rough between the Atolls, so bring sea sickness pills. The distances are also long. Being on the second boat meant we didn't have a tour leader with us, so when plans changed or problems like when we broke down, you were left in the dark.
Confirmed traveller: 03 January 2017
Published on: 04 January 2017
(9 out of 10)

Kathleen

weymouth
Amazing variety of fish but poor coral. Great to see Turtles, Mantarays, Stingrays.
Beautiful scenery, and lovely to be on a boat moving rather than in one location.
Lovely to visit small inhabited island and meet the locals.
Excellent guide/leader Teddie
Confirmed traveller: 04 December 2016
Published on: 11 December 2016
(9 out of 10)

Brian

London
A wonderful trip that benefitted so much from being a small group on a traditional dhoni. The tour leader managed to look after the needs of all on the trip. With at least two snorkels a day, there were plenty of opportunities to see the sea life. It was a pity the reefs were so bleached but the fish, both big and small and the turtles were great to see. The on board food (3 meals a day) was exceptional. This must be one of the best Explore trips.
Confirmed traveller: 04 December 2016
Published on: 09 December 2016
(8 out of 10)

Keith

Southend-on-Sea
Complete relaxation, snorkelling, food, banter within the group
Confirmed traveller: 30 October 2016
Published on: 02 November 2016
(8 out of 10)

Michael

Brisbane
What a glorious and relaxing way to experience the Maldives. Loved every minute of the cruise. Teddy and the crew were excellent in their attention to the passengers. Dolphins, turtles and flying fish were spotted during the week. The weather was quite windy and the rougher crossing between atolls added to the adventure by creating large splashes and excitement. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience and would recommend the trip to others.
Confirmed traveller: 25 September 2016
Published on: 17 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

Sam

Frimley Green
As this was my first group trip, I had a number of reservations which were all to prove unfounded. The dhoni cruise does pretty much what it says on the tin, it was very relaxing but I also returned with a sense of achievement having overcome my hesitation to snorkel. There were only 6 of us in the group, and we all got on well. 1190 coral islands make up The Maldives, over an area of 90000 square kilometres and the islands are grouped into 26 atolls. With this in mind, it’s not surprising that we saw very few other tourists during the trip. The distances we sailed were vast – sometimes with a cruising time of a couple of hours. Our leader, Teddy, accomplished his mission for us to snorkel at reefs where there weren’t any other visitors. His knowledge of the marine life and the Maldives’ history, culture and people was exceptional, he looked after the group well and certainly made me feel safe when we were in the water. As other posts mention, the food is brilliant – something different every day, lots of fresh fruit and fish. The ‘surprise’ dinner on a deserted beach was wonderful, as was the Bodu Beru performance in Fulidhoo. Highly recommended if you want a relaxing break!
Confirmed traveller: 14 August 2016
Published on: 06 October 2016
(10 out of 10)

Nicola

Chipperfield, Kings Langley, Herts
Amazing holiday. The Maldives is such a wonderful place to visit on a boat it gives you a chance to see wonderful islands which are much more spread out than you think. The tour guide and boat crew were all amazing, the chef managed to prepare and serve the most fantastic meals in a very small and hot galley kitchen. We were a small group of 6 people and all got on so well together.
I would recommend thin tops with sleeves and trousers or skirts below the knee for covering up on the inhabited islands.
Cream sun cream rather than spray as you need to apply many times a day.
Spray leave in conditioner.
Confirmed traveller: 14 August 2016
Published on: 24 August 2016