It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
635 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Have you considered?

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Maldive Dhoni Cruise MC

Visiting: Maldives
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Maldive Dhoni Cruise

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Maldive Dhoni Cruise trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Maldive Dhoni Cruise reviews verified by reevooReevoo

68 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Maldive Dhoni CruiseScores 9.0 out of 10 based on 68 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Hedley

Moosa couldn't have been more informative, enthusiastic and engaging.
All of the crew were extremely attentive and hard working.
The tour was perfect and I will probably do it again.
Confirmed traveller: 08 April 2017
Published on: 14 April 2017
(10 out of 10)

Anthony

Dubai
This tour was absolutely amazing. The staff and boat were brilliant and made some real memories for a lifetime. Loved exploring the different areas and cultures and our tour leader (Moosa) was so knowledgeable and such a nice guy. The accommodation isn't bad by any means and I was impressed that being 6ft 4 I didnt really have to duck anywhere. The rooms were small hence the slightly lower score there but it didn't dampen anything and we slept outside a few nights. Couldn't speak any higher of this trip and the crew and will look to do more explore trips because of it and have already recommended others to do this tour. Also the food was incredible! Thank you
Confirmed traveller: 02 April 2017
Published on: 08 April 2017
(8 out of 10)

Anne

Guernsey
Overall very much enjoyed this trip. The cabins are small as you would expect on a boat of this size and due to the outside temperatures tend to be hot so that the cooling fan needs to run all night. The bottom bunk is quite wide but the top one is very narrow. However most of us chose to sleep on deck on a sun mattress with a sheet on most nights in the open looking up at the stars and woke to watch the sun rising across the water. The chef produced amazing meals from the small galley almost always with a selection of curries, usually tuna, but always different and there was always more than enough choice of what to eat and lots of fresh fruit. Cruising along was magical and we watched Dolphins and flying fish. We snorkeld at least twice a day and also had two or three other swims off the boat. We visited a couple of inhabited atolls and had a wonderful evening barbecue on an uninhabited island. We were not a group of young people as we ranged in age from mid fifties to over 80 but we all managed the climbing of ladders in and out of the boat and walking along the gunwhales OK but if you are older person and have motility issues and are not keen on swimming and snorkelling then this could have been a problem and you may prefer to have a 'posher' boat However as far as we were concerned we had a great time.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 20 March 2017
Published on: 24 March 2017
(10 out of 10)

Natalie

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Love, Love, Love it!

Just back from the amazing Dhoni Cruise in Maldives on board the Gulfaam, and not a negative comment in sight. The crew were amazing, and one of the finest examples of teamwork I have ever seen, attending to each and every one of our needs, especially those requiring additional assistance with snorkeling. Special mention to the fantastic Teddy (Tour Leader), Hussain (Captain), Sam (Cabin Boy), Hassan (Waiter) and Thisara (Chef). Shared accommodation is basic, clean and perfectly adequate. Meals on board were fresh, varied, healthy and plentiful, with amazing freshly baked cake for afternoon tea.

The uninhabited island visit is a special highlight, where the crew spent hours carving out a seating area in the sand and decorating it with palm leaves and candles - amazing and emotional at the same time. Sleeping up on deck, looking up at the stars in the middle of the ocean is something I won't forget any time soon.

I rarely visit anywhere twice, but this would be at the top of my list if I were ever to return to the Maldives. If in doubt, just book this trip. It beats just sitting on a beach for a week, and gives you a broader insight into this beautiful country and it's wonderful people.
Confirmed traveller: 05 March 2017
Published on: 19 March 2017
(10 out of 10)

Jane

London
Great snorkelling with good instruction and monitoring. Lovely food and plenty of it. Friendly and helpful boat crew and very good leader Teddie who always paid attention to the smallest detail and request.
They 'built' a dining/seating area in the sand for the beach dinner together with lovely lighting and fiery dolphins in the sand- beyond our imagination - a highlight! I slept outside every night and the stars were amazing.
I don't think I could have experienced the Maldives in a better,closer way.
You need hardly any clothes at all, towels provided and changed halfway through the week. Plenty of sunscreen and aftersun lotion. Simple cover up for island visits.
Confirmed traveller: 05 February 2017
Published on: 15 February 2017
(10 out of 10)

Jacqueline

Isle of Wight
We enjoyed this trip immensely. The crew were fantastic especially in the water snorkeling & on board, we had quite choppy water a lot of the time which made moving around a bit precarious when on the move but there was always a helping hand to steady you.

The sleeping arrangements are very cramped on the smaller boat & the wc is shared (2 between 6 people) as apposed to bigger rooms & en-suit wc on the bigger boat. So if you get the choice go for the bigger boat as the price is the same for better facilities.

Chief good, he fed us really well from his small kitchen plenty of choice & plenty of it with lots of fresh fruit.

Would highly recommend, esp if you like your swimming & snorkeling but take your kit in soft bags as there is no room for suitcases esp on the smaller boat.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 27 January 2017
Published on: 14 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Nicholas

Croyde, Devon
If you love sitting watching the waves go by, and getting occasionally sprayed. If snorkelling is your thing and eating freshly prepared food in good company, then this one's for you. Laid back, relaxing, beautiful.

On a foody point - the Tour Notes warn there could be difficulties if you eat gluten free. The only problem I had was that the cook hadn't been told by Explore that I'm gluten free (this sort of thing shouldn't happen, Explore), but once enlightened he did a brilliant job, substituting rice and rice noodles where necessary and even my very own gluten free afternoon cake, which was genuinely better than anything I've been able to get at home.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 22 January 2017
Published on: 13 February 2017
(10 out of 10)

Diane

Lafayette
This was an excellent reef hopping snorkeling trip! The boat was excellent, the crew superior and the Maldives are marvelous!
Confirmed traveller: 22 January 2017
Published on: 30 January 2017
(9 out of 10)

Tim

Lafayette, CA
First thing: this is essentially a snorkeling trip. There were a couple of other activities but the main focus was a snorkeling session each morning and a second each afternoon. That was just fine with my wife and myself but not so much for others on board who were less enthusiatic or even non-snorkelers.
Our cabin size was more than adequate as we could sleep together on the bottom bunk with no problem leaving the upper bunk available for daily storage and we also had our own attached toilet. Not all cabins are the same size, however, and those on the second boat on our trip had shared toilets.
The food was excellent and abundant and every one of the crew was helpful.
Confirmed traveller: 22 January 2017
Published on: 29 January 2017
(9 out of 10)

Sarah

London
I absolutely loved this trip. The crew were fantastic and very friendly. They went out of there way for us to make it a wonderful time. They are good fun too!
We travelled with 2 boats and the only thing I would suggest is that both boats are encouraged to mix more over lunch or dinner to make it a much more sociable experience for everyone.
Confirmed traveller: 08 January 2017
Published on: 09 January 2017