It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
646 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Maldive Dhoni Cruise MC

Visiting: Maldives
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Maldive Dhoni Cruise

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Maldive Dhoni Cruise trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Maldive Dhoni Cruise reviews verified by reevooReevoo

51 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Maldive Dhoni CruiseScores 9.0 out of 10 based on 51 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Keith

Southend-on-Sea
Complete relaxation, snorkelling, food, banter within the group
Confirmed traveller: 30 October 2016
Published on: 02 November 2016
(8 out of 10)

Michael

Brisbane
What a glorious and relaxing way to experience the Maldives. Loved every minute of the cruise. Teddy and the crew were excellent in their attention to the passengers. Dolphins, turtles and flying fish were spotted during the week. The weather was quite windy and the rougher crossing between atolls added to the adventure by creating large splashes and excitement. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience and would recommend the trip to others.
Confirmed traveller: 25 September 2016
Published on: 17 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

Sam

Frimley Green
As this was my first group trip, I had a number of reservations which were all to prove unfounded. The dhoni cruise does pretty much what it says on the tin, it was very relaxing but I also returned with a sense of achievement having overcome my hesitation to snorkel. There were only 6 of us in the group, and we all got on well. 1190 coral islands make up The Maldives, over an area of 90000 square kilometres and the islands are grouped into 26 atolls. With this in mind, it’s not surprising that we saw very few other tourists during the trip. The distances we sailed were vast – sometimes with a cruising time of a couple of hours. Our leader, Teddy, accomplished his mission for us to snorkel at reefs where there weren’t any other visitors. His knowledge of the marine life and the Maldives’ history, culture and people was exceptional, he looked after the group well and certainly made me feel safe when we were in the water. As other posts mention, the food is brilliant – something different every day, lots of fresh fruit and fish. The ‘surprise’ dinner on a deserted beach was wonderful, as was the Bodu Beru performance in Fulidhoo. Highly recommended if you want a relaxing break!
Confirmed traveller: 14 August 2016
Published on: 06 October 2016
(10 out of 10)

Nicola

Chipperfield, Kings Langley, Herts
Amazing holiday. The Maldives is such a wonderful place to visit on a boat it gives you a chance to see wonderful islands which are much more spread out than you think. The tour guide and boat crew were all amazing, the chef managed to prepare and serve the most fantastic meals in a very small and hot galley kitchen. We were a small group of 6 people and all got on so well together.
I would recommend thin tops with sleeves and trousers or skirts below the knee for covering up on the inhabited islands.
Cream sun cream rather than spray as you need to apply many times a day.
Spray leave in conditioner.
Confirmed traveller: 14 August 2016
Published on: 24 August 2016
(7 out of 10)

Felicity

Singapore
Overall this tour was amazing and very relaxing. We had one boat for 6 of us, so we had plenty of space. I have listed below some of the pros, cons and some tips, but in general I would really recommend this trip.

PROS:
- The snorkelling was amazing. It was so relaxing as we just swam around with the fishes. Our guide was quite relaxed about us snorkelling on our own around the boat as well, so we had a lot of fun
- We didn't have to worry or think about a thing the whole time we were on the boat. Generally our time was spent waking up, eating cooked breakfast, cruising around for a bit while we sat on deck and read books or chatted, snorkelled, ate lunch, cruised a bit more, snorkelled a bit more etc.! All in beautiful scenery!
- The cabins are functional and very well equipped considering we were at sea for 6 nights. They have a shower and flushing toilet in each cabin, along with a bunk bed and a fan. They also provided showering towels and beach towels (clean ones were provided mid-week). Our beds were made daily while we were eating breakfast. The de-salination unit meant we always had water for a shower and the generator meant that we almost always had electricity
- Meals were cooked 3 times a day. Again all meals were very impressive considering we were on a boat
- Our guide (Teddie) was fun and is very passionate about what he does and the Maldives in general. He was constantly updating the map so we knew where we were and was good on the guided snorkels he took us on
- The crew were helpful, nice and professional. I felt like we were in safe hands all the way through the trip. If we went out snorkelling on our own, they always had an eye on us
- The meal we had on the beach of a deserted island was a real highlight. Two members of our group had their birthday on the same day while on the boat, so for that night the crew arranged dinner on an uninhabited island. I won't spoil the surprise for others going on this trip, but it was absolutely amazing and took the crew hours to prepare!

CONS:
- Our 'welcome' at the airport was ok. Similar story to other reviews…We arrived and were told to sit and wait for everyone else, which we did for nearly an hour (despite the fact that we later found out everyone else was already at the hotel) before a briefcase arrived that had to be taken to Male and we went with him.
- As others have said, the walking tour on the first day was awful. Our tour leader introduced someone else as our guide (Saleem) and said he would take us around the city. This surly character barely spoke a word to us unless we asked him a question, at which point he rolled his eyes. Not only this, Male doesn’t really have much to offer, so he didn’t have much to talk about to be honest. We then ended up in a souvenir shop where he clearly had a deal with the owner (something I thought was quite ‘un-Explore’), at which point he suddenly became very talkative, telling us what things in the shop were, how much they were and how we should all buy something etc. If at all possible, I would suggest dropping this from the trip as it really didn’t set the scene well at all.
- I personally did not enjoy visiting the inhabited islands. We only visited one due to poor weather when we reached another island. To be honest there was not a lot to see. We aimlessly wandered around a tiny island while our tour leader pointed out the de-salination plant and ‘local’ concrete housing. Everyone got bitten all over by mosquitos and then we ended up sat outside the little shop while our tour leader bought phone cards and cigarettes. When we came out, the local women had suddenly decided to start working on a reed tapestry. I may just be really cynical, but the timing for tourist photographs seemed a bit too good.

TIPS:
- The snorkelling equipment is ok. I wish I had brought my own kit though (even just the snorkel and mask), so I might suggest bringing your own if you have it.
- Don’t bother taking too many ‘proper clothes’, we spent most of the time in swimming costumes etc. on the boat and only got dressed for about 2 hours in the evening. There isn’t a huge amount of space in the cabins, so bringing only clothes you will use is a plus!
Confirmed traveller: 24 April 2016
Published on: 09 May 2016
(9 out of 10)

John

Marcus Beach, Qld, Australia
Easy to see why this is one of Explore's most popular tours. The colour of the sea just had to be seen to be believed. The snorkelling was fabulous with plenty of colourful coral and a vast array of fish. Our boat was escorted by a pod of some 20 to 30 dolphins one day. The evening BBQ on a deserted coral island was a highlight. The food provided by the crew was amazing. Definitely one of Explore's great tours. Go while you can!

My only negative comment is that having two boats travel together can cause a bit of a "them" and "us" situation. It kind of split the group.
Confirmed traveller: 17 April 2016
Published on: 19 May 2016
(10 out of 10)

Marie

Neath, Wales
The tour guide and crew were outstanding, food was excellent, freshly made by our on board chef, we even managed to catch some fish from the boat for a BBQ on the beach. Teddy the tour guide was excellent with the children, full of fun, a real big brother to them both. A holiday to remember.
Confirmed traveller: 10 April 2016
Published on: 14 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Ian

Fair Oak, Eastleigh
The tour was very enjoyable. It had a good ratio of guests to staff and the itinerary was paced fairly well. The knowledge and enthusiasm of the staff in their respective areas of expertise was very, very good. The chefs on both boats deserve special praise here, for what seems like non stop food production of excellent quality, although fussy eaters beware! You must show the 'Explore' attitude to trying all things to get the best out of the catering. The exceptional knowledge of the local reefs by the captains and tour leaders, (we were fortunate and had an additional Explore tour leader volunteering to make up crew numbers for this trip) made every snorkel magical, and more than me expectations of sea creature viewings and safe reef and island exploration. As always, the organisation of Explore trips from the airport meet, to the airport goodbye was faultless. We would suggest that the walking tour of Male could be dropped, as those with a penchant to walk around a very small, busy area could do so unaccompanied, but generally we all felt that booking us into a hotel with a nice pool or lounge - in order that we could all spend the initial hours there recovering from various long haul flights, before the organised taxis whisked us off for the first group Maldivian meal in a small local cafe, which was a very nice way to mix all the guests together. There were a couple of days where we all became restless and needed to move on, so feel that the itinerary could be tweaked allowing perhaps another snorkel at a different location- especially for the final sailing day and final night's stopover which we felt was more about convenient logistics to the staff rather than experience for the passengers. That said, this didn't spoil what has been an amazing trip and the best way to enjoy the various atolls by far, rather than sitting on one resort.
Confirmed traveller: 03 April 2016
Published on: 16 April 2016