It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
610 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Malta and Gozo Discovery MLA

Visiting: Malta
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Malta and Gozo Discovery

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Malta and Gozo Discovery trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Malta and Gozo Discovery reviews verified by reevooReevoo

24 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Malta and Gozo DiscoveryScores 8.1 out of 10 based on 24 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Graham

Nottinghamshire
The tour was fine. It was interesting and I feel like it covered everything that it needed to. The highlights were the food (most of it anyway), the days in Valletta and Mdina and the Sun Ripe farm. I was a little disappointed that there were no optional extra excursions or suggestions to fill the evenings, so often it was just back at the hotel and "free time" from 4 or 5pm onwards.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 15 April 2017
Published on: 17 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Jean

Kirkby in Ashfield
An excellent introduction to the many aspects that Malta and Gozo has to offer.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 15 April 2017
Published on: 17 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Peter

Peterborough
An enjoyable and relaxed tour providing an insight into the history and character of Gozo and Malta and their people. The number of churches visited may be excessive for some, but the archaeological sites are fascinating. Rooms in the selected hotels vary in quality - you may be lucky or you may not. If very unlucky, request an upgrade.
The tour leader, Rita, is friendly and very knowledgeable on all aspects of the islands' history and culture.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 08 April 2017
Published on: 19 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Fiona

Cupar
A great tour that shows all of the key places on Malta and Gozo without feeling too rushed.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 08 April 2017
Published on: 11 April 2017
(6 out of 10)

William

Ashford, Kent
Highlights of the trip was visiting the farm & wine tasting. Also the time on Gozo was interesting as there were still areas which were unspoiled; the Downtown Hotel was also good and more typical of local hotels chosen by Explore. However the Plaza hotel was poor , very large and impersonal,dreadful breakfast and view from the rooms. On the whole it would have been better if the hotel was situated in a small town and that there was more time to explore the smaller towns & villages especially the fishing village. Our guide Rita was very knowledgeable and passionate about her country and its culture which was excellent.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 08 April 2017
Published on: 10 April 2017

Thank you for your feedback on your holiday to Malta. I’m glad that overall you enjoyed your trip especially the delicious farm tasting and the relaxed atmosphere of Gozo. However, I’m sorry that your didn’t like our hotel in Sliema. Generally we find that most of our customers like to be in the centre of the town, so that there is plenty for them to see and do in their free time, and so they like the location and facilities that our current hotel offers, however I will definitely be monitoring the feedback and will keep your idea in mind of staying in a more rural location.

(7 out of 10)

Lucy

Edinburgh
Best things about this holiday - small island with lots to see and do means less travelling each day. Excellent local leader in Rita. Small group of 12, everyone was very friendly. Local driver was excellent , safe and punctual.

Things that could be improved - the Plaza Hotel in Malta where we started for 5 nights was poor. The room allocation seemed random with some of the group having ok rooms and others shocking. The staff were mostly unhelpful and the breakfast was very poor with a very limited selection of the cheapest quality food. Hotels are inexpensive in Malta so there's no excuse for using this place.

Group meals were organised every second nights but often to chain pasta / pizza places. Smaller local places would have been more better and quite possible with a group of 12. It was clear that they were chosen for the benefit of the group leader and not the clients.

Itinerary - too many churches and not enough time at other sites, such as a craft village. I would have liked some walks to take advantage of the pleasant spring weather and the scenery . Items described on the programme as " walks " were in fact about 500m between one historic site and another.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 08 April 2017
Published on: 10 April 2017

I’m glad that on the whole you enjoyed your holiday to Malta and thought that your Explore Leader, Rita, and driver did an excellent job. Malta has always been a favourite place of mine, like you say there’s just so much to see and experience on such a small island and the people are lovely. I agree that it would be better for you to get to experience as much Maltese food as possible. Rita probably picked what she felt at the time were the best restaurants to use, but we will definitely remind all our Maltese leaders that they should be using local restaurants serving traditional cuisine whenever possible. I’m sorry that you didn’t like the hotel we use in Sliema. We use this accommodation because of its great location on the main promenade and just across the road from the nearest beach. It also has good facilities including two swimming pools and the bedrooms are air-conditioned, well equipped and en suite. The bedrooms do however have simple decor and vary in size, layout and the view from the room, and the hotel allocates its rooms on a run of house basis. Currently I’m not planning on changing this hotel as normally we receive good feedback and because we have a long standing relationship with the hotel they do give us very good prices, so us changing the accommodation unfortunately would mean that the price of the trip goes up considerably. I will however monitor the feedback moving forward and I’ve also noted your observations on the itinerary and will bear this in mind. Thank you for your comments on this trip.

(8 out of 10)

Keith

Norwich
A lot of variety in a small country. Well-worth visiting for its history and scenery.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 01 April 2017
Published on: 03 April 2017
(7 out of 10)

Stephen

Woking
This tour pretty much covers everywhere to see on Malta and Gozo.
If I went back it would probably be for a festival?
The itinerary is not intense and this tour is relaxing.
My overall highlights were Citadel of Victoria and Grand Harbour of Valetta
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 01 April 2017
Published on: 03 April 2017
(8 out of 10)

Moira

Excellent guide giving a lot of info about all aspects of Malta
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 25 March 2017
Published on: 17 May 2017
(9 out of 10)

Jen

Wrexham
Excellent short trip to two islands of the Maltese archipelago. The accommodation used was well-placed, although being used to travelling with Explore I found it odd to be in one place for five nights!
Highlights were exploring the alleyways of Mdina and Vittoriosa, the boat trip to the Azure Window, and the Grand Harbour cruise.
Explore kindly arranged a private transfer for me from the airport, meaning I had five hours to explore Gozo independently at the start of the trip, and spent a lovely afternoon discovering pretty Marsalforn (and its excellent ice cream shop).
The tour leader - Rita - was excellent, and arranged four group meals for us over the seven night stay (group meals are something I always enjoy, and are great for the single travellers). Getting around in Malta is easy, and there are plenty of options for eating out. The hotel on Malta (in Sliema) was situated right on the waterfront, which was perfect for after-dinner walks along the promenade with the locals.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 01 October 2016
Published on: 26 October 2016