It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
650 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews


Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.


Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Malta and Gozo Discovery MLA

Visiting: Malta
Trip Duration 8 Days

Reviews for Malta and Gozo Discovery

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Malta and Gozo Discovery trip available at present.

Please select a date:


Malta and Gozo Discovery reviews verified by reevooReevoo

12 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Malta and Gozo DiscoveryScores 8.3 out of 10 based on 12 reviews
(9 out of 10)


Excellent short trip to two islands of the Maltese archipelago. The accommodation used was well-placed, although being used to travelling with Explore I found it odd to be in one place for five nights!
Highlights were exploring the alleyways of Mdina and Vittoriosa, the boat trip to the Azure Window, and the Grand Harbour cruise.
Explore kindly arranged a private transfer for me from the airport, meaning I had five hours to explore Gozo independently at the start of the trip, and spent a lovely afternoon discovering pretty Marsalforn (and its excellent ice cream shop).
The tour leader - Rita - was excellent, and arranged four group meals for us over the seven night stay (group meals are something I always enjoy, and are great for the single travellers). Getting around in Malta is easy, and there are plenty of options for eating out. The hotel on Malta (in Sliema) was situated right on the waterfront, which was perfect for after-dinner walks along the promenade with the locals.
Confirmed traveller: 01 October 2016
Published on: 26 October 2016
(9 out of 10)


A very well organised tour (thanks Rita) with a wide variety of interest. A highlight was visiting the prehistoric sites and viewing the Caravaggio paintings in the Co-Cathedral in Valletta.
Confirmed traveller: 01 October 2016
Published on: 12 October 2016
(7 out of 10)


Itinerary was fantastic and the tour guide was very good and knowledgable. The only down side was the hotels especially in Malta Slima. The reception was not helpful, cleaning very poor breakfast not good. The hotel rated 3*????
Confirmed traveller: 01 October 2016
Published on: 10 October 2016
(9 out of 10)


Banksia Park South Australia
Knowledgeable tour leader who was only too happy to impart her love of Malta and Gozo, it's people, it's culture and its vast history.
Whilst I understand that May/June is normally a great time to visit Malta, unfortunately due to climatic conditions being as such (driest period in some 97 years) the countryside looked somewhat barren and desolate!! The weather incidentally was in the mid 20's throughout our stay and several "hardy souls" went swimming in both Gozo and Malta.
Both islands are "hysterically" interesting (temples on both Gozo and Malta) pre dating the Egyptian pyramids; the reign of the Knights of St. John together with the English influence definitely made for a most enjoyable experience. Whilst there were a numerous highlights throughout the tour, the one that I will personally remember above all, is visiting the National Theatre and listening to two accomplished pianists "practicing" for a forthcoming recital - brilliant!!
Tips - what is the Nike theme? - "Just do it"!!
Confirmed traveller: 28 May 2016
Published on: 02 June 2016
(10 out of 10)


It was a very enjoyable trip covering most, if not all, of the important sites to see in both Gozo and Malta. Our guide Rita, a real asset to Explore, shared a wealth of knowledge about her country, not only covering the sites we visited, but also the general information on her country such as family life, education etc. Another plus is that all journeys were short because of the relative small size of the two islands, so most of our time was spent on productive sightseeing and walking. I had not been to Malta before, and would thoroughly recommend this trip.

For me the highlights were several - Valetta and the Three Cities, and the harbour cruise. Also the walk along the north coast of Gozo to see the salt pans when there was a very strong north Mistral wind blowing - spectacular!
Confirmed traveller: 30 April 2016
Published on: 09 May 2016
(9 out of 10)


A lovely spring holiday. Interesting and varied itinerary. Charming people.
Confirmed traveller: 30 April 2016
Published on: 07 May 2016
(10 out of 10)


Rita is a wonderful guide, very knowledgeable, organised and friendly. The hotels were fine but neither had a particularly tasty breakfast buffet. Visiting Malta Sunrise to see how they produce their food and wine, having a lunch there was great and really interesting.
Confirmed traveller: 30 April 2016
Published on: 02 May 2016
(7 out of 10)


The trip was really great, saw some amazing places; lots of culture. Our guide Rita was lovely and very informative. I felt I got to know Malta much better than if I had done the trip independently and has inspired me to go back. It was a very positive first experience of Explore.
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2016
Published on: 10 April 2016
(6 out of 10)


Redwood City
The highlights were the ancient ruins and the cocathedral in Valletta.
Confirmed traveller: 18 October 2014
Published on: 24 December 2015