It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
650 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews


Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.


Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Contrasts of Mexico MX

Trip Duration 15 Days

Reviews for Contrasts of Mexico

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Contrasts of Mexico trip available at present.

Please select a date:


Contrasts of Mexico reviews verified by reevooReevoo

11 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Contrasts of MexicoScores 8.1 out of 10 based on 11 reviews
(7 out of 10)


Hamilton, New Zealand
Great tour, lots packed into the itinerary as usual, but the intense itinerary resulted in a few too many long days and early starts. I may have preferred either the trip to be longer to accommodate some travel distances and sights seen. Some of the archaeological sights were nonetheless impressive, and the boat tour of the canyon was also a highlight.

I noted that there were 2 or 3 days within the schedule when properly designated lunch breaks did not appear to have been given as much fore-thought as they could have been. Inclusion of breakfasts in tour cost would also have been preferable.

Advice given on the tour notes on money changing was slightly confusing, as many of us doubled up on currency ordered, due to advice to bring all currency in US Dollars, when Mexican Pesos were readily obtainable beforehand, and most appropriate for most of the trip.
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2016
Published on: 15 April 2016
(9 out of 10)


A great trip which covered a ancient sites, people and culture, and contemporary politics/history. A warm and knowledgeable tour leader who gave good background context to the whole journey.

Key highlights were the sites of Tikal, Palenque and Teotihuacan and the island of Flores in Guatemala.

Tips - carry plenty of US dollars which can be used in Belize and Guatemala.
Confirmed traveller: 14 February 2016
Published on: 29 February 2016
(9 out of 10)


An excellent trip seeing a cross section of Mesoamerican history, culture and scenery.
Confirmed traveller: 14 February 2016
Published on: 16 February 2016
(7 out of 10)


Some of the days in the coach were v long esp the 12 hour day. Surely this isn't necessary on this sort of trip and we could have broken the journey with an overnight stop.

I reluctantly went on a 'willing to share' basis. The person I was expected to share with was a nightmare and I understand that the person expected to share with her in week 3 also found this the case. She should not be allowed to request a shared room in future. I had understood from office staff in London they would let the agent/tour leader in Mexico know I wanted a single room if possible. When I arrived in Mexico City our lovely guide Ana did not know anything about this - which was very disappointing. She did however manage to arrange a single room for me for several nights. So why couldn't this have been done when I booked the trip??

Ana went above and beyond to help with this problem. She was an excellent and very knowledgeable guide. As I was flying back a day later than the rest of the two-week group, she encouraged me to join the rest of the group on Caye Calker for my final night. This was a wonderful experience, I had time to do an afternoon snorkel tour and found the island absolutely beautiful. So I think I had a much better end to my trip than the people who flew direct out of Belize City. You should consider everyone have a night on Caye Calker
Confirmed traveller: 04 January 2016
Published on: 14 February 2016
(5 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

A wonderful trip. We really saw how people live in the places we visited. I really loved Oaxaca and San Cristobal. I also liked the lodge.It was very quirky. Mexico City had so much to offer, but a 7am start with no coffee or breakfast before 11.30 on the very first day ruined my viewing of Diego's murals and Frida Kahlo's house.
Confirmed traveller: 13 November 2015
Published on: 04 April 2016

Thank you for your review, Carol. I’m delighted to read that you enjoyed the trip overall, and that you got under the skin of the places you visited. I share your disappointment that such an important day began without a coffee or breakfast! We’ve shared your feedback with your Explore Leader to ensure the group has time to start the day with some nourishment, and that there’s an earlier stop for refreshments.

Sam, Customer Relations

(10 out of 10)


It is impossible to pick a highlight. Every single day just got better and better. However, experiencing the festivities of the day of the dead festival was utterly incredible!
Confirmed traveller: 13 November 2015
Published on: 17 November 2015
(8 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

The Tour was well thought out and allowed us to develop our knowledge and understanding of pre-Columbian including Aztec and Mayan civilisations in a logical and progressive manner. Mexico City was a fascinating starting point and the Museum of Anthropology a wonderful introduction to everything we were going to encounter.We thought Karla was very good and really tried to meet everyone's expectations. The guide suggested making changes to the itinerary to give us more free time in places and this was appreciated. A couple of times it would perhaps have been better to ensure we had an evening briefing before the next day. We did not always eat together and sometimes she passed on information which only those present at the meal might have heard. She was however, always ready to explain the arrangements again if some people were not sure about things. She always started and ended the day with a smile and tried to explain what was and what was not within her control to sort out. She was very clear about the issues regarding crossing the borders and was very firm with us about having exactly the right money in the right currency and the attitudes we should display when dealing with the border authorities. None of us wanted to get stopped!!! All the local drivers and guides were very good. Violeta in Mexico City, Frank in Palenque and the guide at Tikal were superb. Frank even went the extra mile to help us when we had a problem in Palenque -my husband left his debit card in an ATM machine in the supermarket and when we saw Frank in the street and explained what had happened he came with us to the supermarket to explain and to see if the card had been left there. As our phones did not work in any of the countries the staff at the hotel were also very helpful in letting us use the phone (at cost) to cancel the card when it wasn't there.
Confirmed traveller: 05 March 2015
Published on: 12 March 2016
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

1. Do not be afraid of Mexico, it is a warm and friendly country and you can easily explore Mexico City alone 2. If you like Chilli make sure you order hot if in tourist restaurants - they will weaken the chilli as they do not think we can handle it!! 3. Take antihistamine and good deet - there are insects (I got 8 bites in 16 days even with full feet!) 4. Take Mexican Peso.Explore tell you to take dollars which are not used much. 5. Take a range of clothing - we had summer / cold night / long sleeve light clothes and this is the first holiday we used them all! 6. Say yes to everything.Even if you are dog tired, see the ballet, stay up late drinking etc! 7. Venture out on your own. We only had 3 group meals in the evening out of 14 nights - there are some amazing places and things to eat 8. If you can book on Day of the Dead! 9. Climb every temple - the views are worth it
Confirmed traveller: 01 December 2014
Published on: 07 November 2015