It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
627 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Contrasts of Mexico MX

Trip Duration 15 Days
 

Reviews for Contrasts of Mexico

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Contrasts of Mexico trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Contrasts of Mexico reviews verified by reevooReevoo

20 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Contrasts of MexicoScores 8.3 out of 10 based on 20 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Pamela

Bournemouth
Our leader, Karla, imbued the entire trip, with anticipation and fun, from food, through scenery, to wildlife and the local guides. She gave us a wide appreciation of Mexico's history and current life.
Highlights were the amazingly presered Mayan and Aztec cities and the uniquely dressed indigenous people and the natural beauty of the country.
It was worth having US $, for exchange, as we couldn't foretell any daily spending.
Confirmed traveller: 12 March 2017
Published on: 16 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Philip

Workington
This trip comes with a couple of warnings. There are some very long days and early starts involved but that is inevitable in view of the distances covered. I felt sorry for the driver on a couple of occasions as I'm sure he was working beyond his legal hours.
Having said that the trip was excellent. Ana is very knowledgeable and explains the sites very clearly. She obviously loves her subject!
The highlights of the trip included the Anthropological Museum in Mexico City. I could have spent days in that place! The boat trip down the Sumidero Gorge, and the evening paseo in the squares in Oaxaca with the music and dancing. Such atmosphere.
The highlight and the purpose of the whole trip for me was the visits to Palenque and of course Tikal. I did tell a friend that if you aren't into archaeology you are on the wrong trip!
Confirmed traveller: 29 January 2017
Published on: 07 February 2017
(8 out of 10)

Philip

Walton on Thames
We had lovely hot sunny weather when there was freezing fog at home. Mexico is very colourful with lovely scenerey and plenty to see and do. Highlights were Mexico City; Tikal; the boat trips in Guatemala. The holiday cannot be described as relaxing as there are several 5.0am starts and long coach journeys also every temple site has hundreds of stairs but it is very interesting and well worth the effort.
Confirmed traveller: 29 January 2017
Published on: 02 February 2017
(8 out of 10)

Linda

I don't want to write a great deal as this tour, like all the other Explore tours I've been on, did exactly what it says on the tin. The hotels were good as was the coaching and itinerary. I always enjoy what I get because I know what to expect. Early starts and long days travelling are fine by me. I do, however, have a couple of issues with Anita the tour guide. While on the whole she was a very informative and friendly guide there were times when she was nowhere to be found when problems arose in the hotel and I had to sort them out myself. She organised a side trip to a site which wasn't on the trip notes and charged $25 (U.S) for it. Those who did not wish to visit were left kicking their heels for 90 minutes while the others toured the site. As it turned out the site was free to people over 60 anyway. There were no group meals as such during the tour. Anita simply told us where she was going to eat and said anyone could come along. This was a bit annoying especially on our last night. We were not doing the extension and felt like the tour had just fizzled out with no marking of the occasion. This is the first time I've ever had an issue with an Explore tour guide.
Confirmed traveller: 28 January 2017
Published on: 17 May 2017
(8 out of 10)

Catherine

London
I think this is a fantastic trip. Looking back, I still can not believe how much we saw and what we experienced; from the Olmec heads in the anthropoligical museum in Mexico city, to the beautiful Oaxaca, the stunning Monte Alban to the magnificent Tikal. We saw interesting indigenous villages, wildlife in the jungle and really enjoyed the boat trip down the gorge and the lovely waterfall. Seeing the ancient sites was breathtaking. Monte Alban totally mystified me and Tikal is incredible, if not just for the sheer scale.

Although the hotels were largely basic, they were all clean and tidy with friendly and helpful staff. The hotels in Oaxaca and San Cristobal were the most memorable , being large open plan villas. Downside to some is that they were noisy (I would recommend ear plugs). All had lovely comfy beds.

Things I would change:
Our tour guide really struggled to give us our daily itinerary, however much we asked, which was frustrating every day!! He was also out of his depth once we left his comfort zone in Eastern Mexico. We weren't sure whether this was his inexperience or lack of training and support from Explore.
As no food, most importantly breakfasts, are not included - it became a bit of a logistical challenge to grab food whilst on the move so much. That aspect could certainly have been improved with more communication from our guide.

Will definitely travel again with Explore. Peru and Bolivia are calling
Confirmed traveller: 27 November 2016
Published on: 30 November 2016

Many thanks for your review Catherine, I’m really pleased to hear that you enjoyed the trip as a whole. You do get through a lot of the country in a short time, so it can be quite mind-blowing! In terms of your comments on our leader, these will be fed back and we will see if there is anything in particular that he needs for improving knowledge and confidence outside of his area. We conduct regular leader training and Mexico is earmarked for training new leaders in 2017. It may be that we give your tour leader a refresher at the same time.

(9 out of 10)

Max

Burgess Hill
Fantastic temples and pyramids. Spectacular scenery and wildlife. Nice group and sympathetic guide. Needs more clarity about money issues crossing borders. How much? What procedures?
Confirmed traveller: 27 November 2016
Published on: 29 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Ann

London
Seeing the Festival of the Dead march in Mexico City was amazing and a brilliant way to start the tour as this was our first day. I loved Mexico City and San Cristobal. There was so many highlights and everyday was different. The Temple and the ruins were fantastic and all the different Churches were very interesting. It was nice half way through the tour to have a free day, cos the tour is full on and lots of very early starts so no time for breakfast most days, but that was okay cos you could eat later. There is also a lot packing and unpacking since we stayed in several hotels, all of them very different some better then others. The boat trips too were lovely and got to see lots of different things while on the boat. The Agua Azul Waterfall was spectacular and so was the great Mayan metropolis of Tikal.
Karla our tour leader made the tour fun and had great knowledge and passion for her country and was always there to help. This was my first explore holiday and I was traveling on my own, which I was a bit worried about at first but they were a good group of people and we all got on and it was great getting to know the other people on the tour. I will definitely book more trips with explore, I loved this holiday.
Confirmed traveller: 12 November 2016
Published on: 17 May 2017
(7 out of 10)

Deborah

Ely
Day of the dead parades.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 12 November 2016
Published on: 21 November 2016
(7 out of 10)

Andrew

Hamilton, New Zealand
Great tour, lots packed into the itinerary as usual, but the intense itinerary resulted in a few too many long days and early starts. I may have preferred either the trip to be longer to accommodate some travel distances and sights seen. Some of the archaeological sights were nonetheless impressive, and the boat tour of the canyon was also a highlight.

I noted that there were 2 or 3 days within the schedule when properly designated lunch breaks did not appear to have been given as much fore-thought as they could have been. Inclusion of breakfasts in tour cost would also have been preferable.

Advice given on the tour notes on money changing was slightly confusing, as many of us doubled up on currency ordered, due to advice to bring all currency in US Dollars, when Mexican Pesos were readily obtainable beforehand, and most appropriate for most of the trip.
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2016
Published on: 15 April 2016