It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
646 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Contrasts of Mexico MX

Trip Duration 15 Days
 

Reviews for Contrasts of Mexico

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Contrasts of Mexico trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Contrasts of Mexico reviews verified by reevooReevoo

14 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Contrasts of MexicoScores 8.1 out of 10 based on 14 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Catherine

London
I think this is a fantastic trip. Looking back, I still can not believe how much we saw and what we experienced; from the Olmec heads in the anthropoligical museum in Mexico city, to the beautiful Oaxaca, the stunning Monte Alban to the magnificent Tikal. We saw interesting indigenous villages, wildlife in the jungle and really enjoyed the boat trip down the gorge and the lovely waterfall. Seeing the ancient sites was breathtaking. Monte Alban totally mystified me and Tikal is incredible, if not just for the sheer scale.

Although the hotels were largely basic, they were all clean and tidy with friendly and helpful staff. The hotels in Oaxaca and San Cristobal were the most memorable , being large open plan villas. Downside to some is that they were noisy (I would recommend ear plugs). All had lovely comfy beds.

Things I would change:
Our tour guide really struggled to give us our daily itinerary, however much we asked, which was frustrating every day!! He was also out of his depth once we left his comfort zone in Eastern Mexico. We weren't sure whether this was his inexperience or lack of training and support from Explore.
As no food, most importantly breakfasts, are not included - it became a bit of a logistical challenge to grab food whilst on the move so much. That aspect could certainly have been improved with more communication from our guide.

Will definitely travel again with Explore. Peru and Bolivia are calling
Confirmed traveller: 27 November 2016
Published on: 30 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Max

Burgess Hill
Fantastic temples and pyramids. Spectacular scenery and wildlife. Nice group and sympathetic guide. Needs more clarity about money issues crossing borders. How much? What procedures?
Confirmed traveller: 27 November 2016
Published on: 29 November 2016
(7 out of 10)

Deborah

Ely
Day of the dead parades.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 12 November 2016
Published on: 21 November 2016
(7 out of 10)

Andrew

Hamilton, New Zealand
Great tour, lots packed into the itinerary as usual, but the intense itinerary resulted in a few too many long days and early starts. I may have preferred either the trip to be longer to accommodate some travel distances and sights seen. Some of the archaeological sights were nonetheless impressive, and the boat tour of the canyon was also a highlight.

I noted that there were 2 or 3 days within the schedule when properly designated lunch breaks did not appear to have been given as much fore-thought as they could have been. Inclusion of breakfasts in tour cost would also have been preferable.

Advice given on the tour notes on money changing was slightly confusing, as many of us doubled up on currency ordered, due to advice to bring all currency in US Dollars, when Mexican Pesos were readily obtainable beforehand, and most appropriate for most of the trip.
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2016
Published on: 15 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Natasha

London
A great trip which covered a ancient sites, people and culture, and contemporary politics/history. A warm and knowledgeable tour leader who gave good background context to the whole journey.

Key highlights were the sites of Tikal, Palenque and Teotihuacan and the island of Flores in Guatemala.

Tips - carry plenty of US dollars which can be used in Belize and Guatemala.
Confirmed traveller: 14 February 2016
Published on: 29 February 2016
(9 out of 10)

Michael

Lincoln
An excellent trip seeing a cross section of Mesoamerican history, culture and scenery.
Confirmed traveller: 14 February 2016
Published on: 16 February 2016
(7 out of 10)

Julia

Aldeburgh
Some of the days in the coach were v long esp the 12 hour day. Surely this isn't necessary on this sort of trip and we could have broken the journey with an overnight stop.

I reluctantly went on a 'willing to share' basis. The person I was expected to share with was a nightmare and I understand that the person expected to share with her in week 3 also found this the case. She should not be allowed to request a shared room in future. I had understood from office staff in London they would let the agent/tour leader in Mexico know I wanted a single room if possible. When I arrived in Mexico City our lovely guide Ana did not know anything about this - which was very disappointing. She did however manage to arrange a single room for me for several nights. So why couldn't this have been done when I booked the trip??

Ana went above and beyond to help with this problem. She was an excellent and very knowledgeable guide. As I was flying back a day later than the rest of the two-week group, she encouraged me to join the rest of the group on Caye Calker for my final night. This was a wonderful experience, I had time to do an afternoon snorkel tour and found the island absolutely beautiful. So I think I had a much better end to my trip than the people who flew direct out of Belize City. You should consider everyone have a night on Caye Calker
Confirmed traveller: 04 January 2016
Published on: 14 February 2016
(5 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

A wonderful trip. We really saw how people live in the places we visited. I really loved Oaxaca and San Cristobal. I also liked the lodge.It was very quirky. Mexico City had so much to offer, but a 7am start with no coffee or breakfast before 11.30 on the very first day ruined my viewing of Diego's murals and Frida Kahlo's house.
Confirmed traveller: 13 November 2015
Published on: 04 April 2016

Thank you for your review, Carol. I’m delighted to read that you enjoyed the trip overall, and that you got under the skin of the places you visited. I share your disappointment that such an important day began without a coffee or breakfast! We’ve shared your feedback with your Explore Leader to ensure the group has time to start the day with some nourishment, and that there’s an earlier stop for refreshments.

Sam, Customer Relations

(10 out of 10)

Rachel

Leeds
It is impossible to pick a highlight. Every single day just got better and better. However, experiencing the festivities of the day of the dead festival was utterly incredible!
Confirmed traveller: 13 November 2015
Published on: 17 November 2015