It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
549 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Our latest  brochures are available now, with over 600 adventures for you to choose from.

Gift Vouchers

Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with over 600 tours & experiences to choose from. The perfect gift idea for any occasion.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 1,843

Contrasts of Mexico and Yucatan Peninsula MXY

Tour Duration 21 Days
  • The famous jungle ruins of Palenque / Kym Garcia
  • Chichen Itza, Mexico
  • Cathedral, Main Square, Mexico City / Kym Garcia
  • Exploring the famous jungle ruins of Palenque / Kym Garcia
  • A steep climb, pyramid at Tikal / Kym Garcia
  • Tour Style: Classic
  • Tour Type: Small Groups
  • Tour Pace: Busy
  • Tour Comfort: Standard
 

Book now!

8 reviews for this tour

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Contrasts of Mexico and Yucatan Peninsula tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
8 Ilse Hoffman, 11/03/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Most fascinating site: Palenque. Most surprising site: Tonina. Most lovely setting: Yaxchilan. Lovely colonial cities, hard to choose between Oaxaca or San Cristobal. Fantastic snorkelling at Caye Caulker. Sopa de lima (lime soup) at Valladolid. Great variation on this trip

Read more
 
9 David Worsfold, 08/03/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

There were many highlights. The ancient sites were all different, but probably Teotihuacan, Monte Alban, Palenque, Tikal and Uxmal stood out; although others such as Yakchillan and Tonina were very atmospheric; the trip down the Sumidero gorge; the colonial towns of Oaxaca and San Cristobal were fascinating and the days on Caye Caulker were very relaxing.

Read more
 
9 , 03/12/13

Name

Anne

Tour Name

Mexico and Yucatan

Tour Code

MXY

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Fantastic archaeological sites - Teotihuacan, Palenque and Uxmal stood out particularly but also some of the less well known, and less excavated, sites like Yaxchilan and Tonina were very atmospheric. In addition, this was a very varied holiday - colonial towns, natural gorges, fantastic mountain scenery and Caye Caulker was very relaxing.

Tour Leader Name

Ana

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Excellent - very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. Ana had a great sense of fun and was very entertaining, also extremely helpful, going out of her way to make sure that everyone got what they wanted out of the holiday.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

The more able you are to climb the pyramids, the more you will enjoy the archaeological sites. Keep your financial options open - not all ATMs in Mexico worked, and travellers cheques weren't accepted in Mexican banks.

 
10 , 16/10/13

Name

Lakhbir Channa

Tour Code

MXY

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Belize was the highlight of the trip, especially the island.

Tour Leader Name

Ana

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

She was fantastic

 
10 , 16/10/13

Name

Paul

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Sumidero Canyon boat tour.

Tour Leader Name

 

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Very knowledgeable, patient and caring. Answered all our needs!

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Take an umbrella to hide from the sun, take a small towel to keep around your neck for the heat.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

The best Explore trip I have done!

 
10 Susan Squires, 01/03/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

We visited Yaxchilan, a remote Mayan site only accessible by boat, towards the end of the afternoon.  The site was deserted.  The last party was just leaving as we arrived.  The site is in the rainforest and not completely restored.  The howler monkeys were very noisy and the spider monkeys leaping from tree to tree as the late afternoon sun backlit the fantastic roofcomb.  It was an experience I will never forget.

Read more
 
10 Gabrielle Graham, 11/01/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Our leader was a wonderful leader, full of interesting information, friendly and extremely capable

Read more
 
0 Jayne Rudge, 27/10/11

Where do I start ? Archaeological sites, local culture, beautiful landscapes, amazing wildlife (with the help of a field guide I, confidently, identified fifty eight bird species - only four of which I had seen before) - just a few of the things included on this amazingly varied trip. It's very difficult to pick a highlight but, if forced to do so, I would say that snorkelling with two manatees on a reef off Caye Caulker (Belize) would take the prize.

If you are thinking of doing this trip, don't miss the extension - it's well worth it.  Ana was an extremely knowledgeable guide who accompanied us throughout the tour. She ensured that the interests of different members of the group were addressed and her flexible approach ensured that we missed nothing. Over two thousand photographs provide prompts to memories that will last forever. A wonderful trip which I would highly recommend. (MXY -23rd July 2011)

 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  3. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  4. Tour name (i.e. Inca Trail Trek)
  5. Tour Code (i.e. PQ)
    Invalid Input
  6. What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  7. Tour leader name
  8. How Was Your Explore Tour Leader?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  10. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  11. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  12.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA