It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
627 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Contrasts of Mexico and Yucatan Peninsula MXY

Trip Duration 21 Days
 

Reviews for Contrasts of Mexico and Yucatan Peninsula

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Contrasts of Mexico and Yucatan Peninsula trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Contrasts of Mexico and Yucatan Peninsula reviews verified by reevooReevoo

18 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Contrasts of Mexico and Yucatan PeninsulaScores 8.4 out of 10 based on 18 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Gordon

Edinburgh
This trip is one I've done before, the highlights were all the sites, especially Tikal, and the incredible leadership of Ana our guide and mentor. Information and humour as well as efficiency are Ana's thing, a wonderful person to have leading us.
My main tip is beware the heat and humidity, particularly in Yucatan, and drink lots of water, a bit of fitness to climb temples and blinkers for coming down narrow steps could be an advantage !
All in all a trip I would recommend overwhelmingly, particularly the three week including extension version, this gives a little rest after the first two weeks of really hard, but rewarding, work.
Confirmed traveller: 01 April 2017
Published on: 06 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Christopher

Archaeological sites amazing, landscapes fantastic and tour guide wonderful
Confirmed traveller: 01 April 2017
Published on: 03 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Elizabeth

Edinburgh
A full-on and comprehensive tour of southern Mexico. There were several long travelling days, early starts and erratic mealtimes but our tour leader Karla always had a smile to keep us going. Highlights were Oaxaca and San Cristobal, temples at Monte Alban, Tikal and Uxmal and snorkelling in Caye Caulker. Make sure you always have a snack and drink with you as you never know when your next meal will be.
Confirmed traveller: 18 March 2017
Published on: 26 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Jen

Wrexham
A pretty comprehensive tour of southern Mexico and the Yucutan, with highlights of Guatemala and a couple of days relaxing in Belize. Be prepared for a fast-paced tour for the first two weeks (quite a few early starts due to long drives, busy days, and occasional logistical issues - there's a reason why breakfast at the hotels isn't included!). The third week slows down a bit with a couple of days for optionals and relaxation. There is some absolutely fantastic accommodation, particularly in Mexico, with one or two more simple single night stops. Highlights - Monte Alban, Palenque, Tikal, and (surprisingly for me) optional snorkelling day on Caye Caulker.
Confirmed traveller: 18 March 2017
Published on: 21 March 2017
(8 out of 10)

Coral

BC, Canada
Ana was excellent as our leader, guide, and cultural expert. The itinerary and the logistics of the journey could be better arranged. Ana could supply you with alternatives, please avail yourself of her expertise. It was my first Explore Adventure and I was lucky enough to traveled with seasoned veterans. They made the whole experience easy and fun.
Confirmed traveller: 03 February 2017
Published on: 15 February 2017
(8 out of 10)

Joanne

Brighouse
Ana the tour leader is fantastic her historical knowledge is excellent, trip could do with a little more content away from ruins just to provide variety. Expect some very long days and long bus journeys. Take your own teabags as Mexico doesn't seem to understand Te negra!
Confirmed traveller: 09 January 2017
Published on: 16 January 2017
(9 out of 10)

Patrick

See little known sites, see Mexico close up and a lot of wildlife on a mostly well planned tour of places off the Cancun trail
Confirmed traveller: 03 December 2016
Published on: 05 December 2016
(9 out of 10)

Rosemary

Faversham
I have never travelled with EWW before. I am unsure I would again. We were not advised of any alternative flight option and went via Houston which entailed a 5 hour wait to Mexico City. Including travelling to LHR and arriving at the hotel at 1am. We were up 26+ hours. Not exactly conducive to sight seeing Mexico City or the group meeting at 8am. The day was a blur due to being jet lagged and very tired = understandably. Subsequently I was informed by a member of the group that you have to ASK for a direct flight. Why would anyone WANT to endure a 26+hours of travelling with complete ruination of the first day? This requires urgent attention by EWW.
There were long coach journeys understandably as Mexico is a large country. There was at least one day where we spent most of the day on the coach travelling to Oxacaca. Surely this could have been broken up?
The travel from Cauy Caulker to Belize was an endurance test in itself. Which could have been expedited by a flight and more of Mexico's historic sights visited at leisure. Much better than the deafening boat journey. And long queue and wait at passport control. Then a bus journey only seeing Tulum by the skin of our teeth.
Few of the restaurants the group went to were that great. Why can't you help Ana Devila out and send her some of the restaurants as recommended in the Rough Guide or Lonely Planet?
In my opinion and I believe most of the group would have agreed feel there is any need to waste time visiting freeTequila tasting, a lesson on Obsidian and how the ancient civilisations made paper places. I would have preferred to have spent my time visiting something much more interesting.
The highlight of the tour was without doubt our tour guide Ana Devila. She was passionate about her subject- archaeology, historic buildings traditions and Mexico. Prompt and efficient with a pleasant disposition.She went the extra mile for us with hand outs and more. Dealing at times with challenging members of the group in a tactful way.
Confirmed traveller: 26 November 2016
Published on: 09 December 2016
(8 out of 10)

Eddy

Harrow, Greater London
The tour combines visits to the majority of the archaeological sites, with time for other activities as diverse as opera, zip wire and snorkelling.

A couple of the days are full travel, so bring reading / listening / watching material.

The guide on our tour had extensive knowledge of all of the sites, eloquently and passionately bringing the history and architecture to life.

Good walking shoes and protection against insects a must - the unseen sand flies can be a source of irritation.

Don't worry about the food - the majority of outlets cater for mild tourist palette, but you can add sauces or ask for a hot dish if that is your preference.

This is described as "full on" but is very manageable with only a few very early mornings and plenty of rest time and refreshment opportunities.

If you want to learn about the history of MesoAmerica and appreciate its culture and warmth of the people with other activities interspersed, this is for you.
Confirmed traveller: 19 November 2016
Published on: 22 November 2016
(5 out of 10)

Geoffrey

Wales
Good itinerary but could be better according to the Leader. Explore changed mode of transport from small plane over the Belize reef to enclosed speed boat with no explanation. This resulted in delays, extra costs and reduced time at the next site.
Confirmed traveller: 05 March 2016
Published on: 11 March 2016

We’re sorry to hear that you were disappointed in the change of transport to Caye Caulker. This was amended last year due to flight availability concerns. Although we updated our Trip Notes to reflect the change, we’re aware that all of the information didn’t pull through to all of your documents correctly. We have now made corrections to our reservation system which holds these details, so there won’t be a repeat occurrence. In addition, our Product Manager for the area is considering your feedback about how the amended journey impacted your visit to Tulum. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.

Sam, Customer Relations