It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
626 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Reviews for Land of the Great Khan

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Land of the Great Khan trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Land of the Great Khan reviews verified by reevooReevoo

18 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Land of the Great KhanScores 9.0 out of 10 based on 18 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Joanna

Oxford
You need to be prepared for a lot of slow and bumpy travelling on dirt roads. But it was a great introduction to Mongolia, and more a matter of glamping than camping. Kenzo was a great tour leader: enthusiastic, unflappable, charming.
Confirmed traveller: 12 August 2017
Published on: 18 August 2017
(4 out of 10)

Karin

Montpellier
The average age of the group was at least 60, significantly older than I was expecting. As a result, the group dynamic was more 'polite conversation' than 'laugh-a-minute'. Obviously there were some interesting people in the mix but I felt that Explore could have warned me. This was my first experience of an organised tour as I usually travel independently. I won't be booking with Explore again for at least the next 15 years - until I fit the profile of their travellers!
Other than this issue, the tour was well organised. The accommodation in the "eco-camps" belonging to the local agency was excellent. These two camps (at the beginning and end of the trip) were the highlights of the tour. The more commercial camps we stayed in were less impressive.
There was too much time spent on the bus. Travelling in Mongolia involves covering large distances but the itinerary could be reviewed (e.g. flying to and from South Gobi). When we did stop en route, for example to visit a museum or monastery, our allotted time was too short. The visits we made to local nomad families were a bit contrived and, as a group of 15 (larger than normal), felt intrusive.
Clearly I am not made for organised trips like this one but generally speaking it was not an unpleasant experience. I would recommend it to those nearing retirement who appreciate the security of having everything organised for them yet retain a sense of adventure.
Confirmed traveller: 12 August 2017
Published on: 18 August 2017

Hi Karin, as I'm sure you can appreciate, it would be inappropriate for us to advertise the ages of other customers who've already booked, but we're always happy to give you an idea of the demographics if you give us a call. Adding an internal flight is always a difficult proposition. Airport lounges are pretty uniform – while waiting for your flight and dealing airline bureaucracy you could be anywhere in the world! On a bus you can stop, get out if there is an event or something interesting going on. You get the opportunity look at the locals moving through their daily lives and gain a real feel for the landscape. I am glad to see however you did enjoy the trip overall.

(10 out of 10)

Philip

This was a really great trip, can't understand why I didn't go before. Meeting the local headers was the highlight.
Confirmed traveller: 12 August 2017
Published on: 17 August 2017
(10 out of 10)

Elisabeth

Lincoln UK
This was my first trip with Explore and as an older (77) person I was not sure if it would be OK for me. The itinerary with 2 nights in some locations, and visiting 3 different areas of Mongolia with a return to the hotel in UB during the trip, was perfect for what I wanted. The drivers were amazing, the Mongolian guide shared very interesting information, and Laura Mezey was the best leader I have ever experienced. Even when suffering from a tummy bug like the rest of us, she continued to care about the group. It was very useful to be able to leave extra luggage at the hotel in UB. Appreciated having time to take in extra local events on the way.
Highlights? Too many to mention. Loved staying in ger camps, having single accommodation, meeting all the people in the group, driving across the desert, visiting nomad families, milking a goat, seeing herds of camels, amazing land and huge skies, sunset at Flaming Cliffs, wild flowers at Jalman Meadows.
Tips: update the itinerary. One ger camp listed has not been used for 5 years apparently. Add Flaming Cliffs walk to itinerary notes also visit to Chinggis Khan statue. I had arranged to stay 2 extra nights in UB to take a day tour (and visit friends) to see the statue as it was not listed on the itinerary.
Confirmed traveller: 10 August 2017
Published on: 14 August 2017
(9 out of 10)

Celia

What a FABULOUS tour!! We saw so much, not only was our tour leader AMAZING but our drivers were wonderful too, the terrain they have to deal with is sooooo tough and how on earth they keep track of where they are going is anybody's guess.
Sleeping in gers is such a unique experience - be prepared for hard mattresses and hard pillows (stuffed with wheat). But this is as close to experiencing the Mongolian nomadic lifestyle as you are going to get as a tourist, ENJOY!!!
Confirmed traveller: 30 July 2017
Published on: 02 August 2017
(10 out of 10)

Jonathan

Watchet
The most amazing trip I have ever done. Truly fabulous country and a stunning location. Lost for words to describe it.
Confirmed traveller: 29 July 2017
Published on: 02 August 2017
(8 out of 10)

Mary Ann

Jersey
I had been planning to go back to Mongolia since I went there with Explore some years ago as part of Trans Siberian Railway trip. I was, mostly, not disappointed. The Puma International Hotel in UB did not have anywhere quiet. Rooms on one side surrounded by roads, kari-oke starting at 11pm 'til 4.30am on the other. Everything else including staff great. The transport probably the best, seats comfortable even over the bumpy roads banging head on roof much amusement. Although I did wonder about the excess of pollution having a separate van for luggage. Loved Kogno Khan camp, most of the others and everything about them super, except Secrets of Ongi was a bit of style over substance - doors of yurts held open by tatty ole bits of wire. The toilet facilities at Dungenee left much to be desired. Only three showers which were just about dribbling and two sinks, a third was left laying broken on the floor. Not enough for a full camp. The scenery, people we met, animals we saw, wonderful. So glad I made it back. Even the rain, thunder, hail well they were welcome. Very happy to tell people about my trip.
Confirmed traveller: 29 July 2017
Published on: 02 August 2017
(10 out of 10)

Jenny

Somerset
From start to finish the trip to Mongolia was amazing. Our tour leader Laura went above and beyond to make our trip fun, interesting and memorable. Kenzo our other tour leader was also fun and full of interesting facts about his country whilst our drivers did an amazing job of getting us all around safetly and with our luggage in tact. I would definitely recommend this trip and I would also like to return some time and see the west of the country. The scenery is amazing and the accommodation a real experience I was sad to leave.
Confirmed traveller: 29 July 2017
Published on: 02 August 2017
(10 out of 10)

Paul

south woodham ferrers
"what it says on the tin" really. Highlights were staying in the first and last Ger camps, the horse riding, the Nadim festival and the excellent and very likeable leader.
Confirmed traveller: 15 July 2017
Published on: 18 July 2017