It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
619 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Moorish Trails SJ

Visiting: Spain
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Moorish Trails

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Moorish Trails trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Moorish Trails reviews verified by reevooReevoo

22 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Moorish TrailsScores 8.3 out of 10 based on 22 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Rosemary

Perth, Australia.
This is a rugged trip, with some pretty steep ascents and descents. The days were varied, going through a variety of interesting and great scenery.
Confirmed traveller: 27 May 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(8 out of 10)

Suzy

Australia
Mick, our guide was very patient accommodating the walking needs of only 3 of us. The trails were fabulous. Definitely need poles if you are not confident on the descents. The ascents are for the fit, but are worth the effort. Local villages are fabulous, plenty of variety of foods, drinks etc. Weather quite warm, so do this before July if possible. Also the day trip to Granada is worthwhile, make sure you have tickets into the Alhambra in advance, it is very popular. Also worthwhile is a few days before or after the walk in either Seville, Malaga.
Confirmed traveller: 27 May 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Julia

Cardiff
This was a real delight! The scenery was perfect, the guide - Mick - was spot on, the food was great... a real tonic and a treat!
Confirmed traveller: 22 April 2017
Published on: 24 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Angela

Alton
The walking routes were great and just perfect for my current level of fitness .
Confirmed traveller: 01 April 2017
Published on: 03 April 2017
(7 out of 10)

Anonym

Tips:
Try having meals at different restaurant around the village. The restaurant at the hotel is nice, but in my opinion, the price is a bit higher compared with the other restaurants. The other restaurants in the village offer more varieties of local food and taste better.

Trekking poles will help for the walking at some terrains.
Confirmed traveller: 19 November 2016
Published on: 29 November 2016
(8 out of 10)

Susan

Hertfordshire
The walks were all interesting and correctly graded, overall a very enjoyable week. There was an option to eat every night in the hotel (the food was excellent and very good value) it could be an idea to offer the holiday as half board in future. Would recommend this holiday especially outside the high season to avoid the heat.
Confirmed traveller: 19 November 2016
Published on: 26 November 2016
(6 out of 10)

John

Leighton Buzzard
I was a little disappointed with the walks, which had some "trails" but featured too many roads, either tarmac or 4x4 stony mountain roads. I found the best walk to be the ascent of Cerro Verde which featured less road. The tapas lunches were very good and the visit to the wine bodega was excellent.

The accommodation was OK but the biggest travesty/misrepresentation associated with it was the so-called "paella cooking class", which was certainly not a class and was not even a demonstration, the "sofrito" having been precooked inside just to be brought outside to have the rice and stock added with neither explanation nor commentary. Oh, and there are no "views of the Spanish countryside", as claimed, since this happens in the village square surrounded on all four sides by buildings. To cap it all, the result was undoubtedly the poorest paella I have ever eaten (rice under-cooked, not "al dente" but chalky).
Confirmed traveller: 28 May 2016
Published on: 12 June 2016
(8 out of 10)

Robin

Newbury
Good trip. Enjoyable company in an interesting area at just the right temperatures.
Confirmed traveller: 23 April 2016
Published on: 02 May 2016
(6 out of 10)

Hywel

carmarthen
accommodation , good only thing room 3 has a hot tub right above the room , noise continual all night , we used ear plugs then ok. we mentioned to Gastavo and he offered another room
On the walks my wife and myself were interested in photography and bird watching which ment we were always at the back, when the group stopped we missed all that Mike was saying and they would most times start off again as soon as we reached them., there was plenty of time no need for rush. walks bit the same lots of pine trees , trhere must have been more interesting places if we went a bit further by taxi.
Confirmed traveller: 02 April 2016
Published on: 15 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Ian

Wickham, Hampshire
This was my first Explore group walking holiday and I thoroughly enjoyed the Moorish Trails experience. Many of the others had been on numerous other Explore breaks and I can understand why they keep coming back. I had only ever been to Spain on beach holidays and never to the mainland, so this was a whole new experience. Gustavo the hotel owner was all over the arrangements like a rash and the food was simple, locally sourced and excellent. Mike the guide was knowledgeable and he struck up a rapport with the group, making each walk fun and interesting. I would definitely do one of the holidays again but to a different location, because for me the fun is in exploring new places.
Confirmed traveller: 02 April 2016
Published on: 14 April 2016