It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
613 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Moorish Trails SJ

Visiting: Spain
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Moorish Trails

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Moorish Trails trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Moorish Trails reviews verified by Reevoo

15 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Moorish TrailsScores 8.4 out of 10 based on 15 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Robin

Newbury
Good trip. Enjoyable company in an interesting area at just the right temperatures.
Confirmed traveller: 23 April 2016
Published on: 02 May 2016
(6 out of 10)

Hywel

carmarthen
accommodation , good only thing room 3 has a hot tub right above the room , noise continual all night , we used ear plugs then ok. we mentioned to Gastavo and he offered another room
On the walks my wife and myself were interested in photography and bird watching which ment we were always at the back, when the group stopped we missed all that Mike was saying and they would most times start off again as soon as we reached them., there was plenty of time no need for rush. walks bit the same lots of pine trees , trhere must have been more interesting places if we went a bit further by taxi.
Confirmed traveller: 02 April 2016
Published on: 15 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Ian

Wickham, Hampshire
This was my first Explore group walking holiday and I thoroughly enjoyed the Moorish Trails experience. Many of the others had been on numerous other Explore breaks and I can understand why they keep coming back. I had only ever been to Spain on beach holidays and never to the mainland, so this was a whole new experience. Gustavo the hotel owner was all over the arrangements like a rash and the food was simple, locally sourced and excellent. Mike the guide was knowledgeable and he struck up a rapport with the group, making each walk fun and interesting. I would definitely do one of the holidays again but to a different location, because for me the fun is in exploring new places.
Confirmed traveller: 02 April 2016
Published on: 14 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

Nicola

Bath
The longest walk on the Thursday, which took us up to a high ridge from which you could just make out the shape of the coast of Morocco, was breath-taking and we caught glimpses of Ibex roaming on the mountainsides. All the walks were lovely however, but those on concrete tracks less magical than others which took us into the Parque Natural where scenery was varied with hidden rock pools and wild orchids.

I would recommend taking walking poles as the walking is quite rugged and the scree on the mountainside can make descents quite treacherous; the dry gravel just slides away. Also, I went in late March but it was already 23 degrees. This was manageable for 4.5 hrs of ascent, but would be quite challenging later in the year when it gets a lot hotter.

Overall, an enjoyable experience for those who love out of the way places and rugged beauty.
Confirmed traveller: 02 April 2016
Published on: 06 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

I had a very good time. The highlight had to be walking through dramatic and beautiful landscapes, in warm sunshine, - in November!
Confirmed traveller: 24 November 2015
Published on: 04 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

John

Australia
Overall, this was a good trip. The group was good (range of ages), got on well and the tour leader was good. He provided leadership and advice without being overly "pushy". He had the right balance of letting us get on with it while keeping us to the agenda. The ;location was excellent and the accommodation good. The owner was very good and the food was excellent with plenty of variety. The weather was fabulous (for November) with sunny days and blue skies.
This was a good way to savour the local area.
Confirmed traveller: 21 November 2015
Published on: 04 December 2015
(7 out of 10)

Sheila

Thedford ON
I was very disappointed with the joining procedure - poor organization and communications.

The accommodation was good except slight smell in bathroom.
Food was excellent and abundant.
Itinerary was very varied and trip leader knowledgeable and created a good sense of cameraderie.
A slightly earlier breakfast would have been good. Also a bit more background info about the area.
Confirmed traveller: 21 November 2015
Published on: 24 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

This hike is classed as moderate and for anyone with a good degree of fitness will be fine. I was a bit unfit so found the prolonged ascents and descents a bit wearying. The scenery is fabulous. Cerro Verde was the hike I enjoyed the best, crossing streams and a bit of rock climbing. Take poles, jacket and jumper if travelling after September. The drive to the village is on a winding road for part of way so take travel sickness tablets if you suffer from travel sickness.
Confirmed traveller: 28 November 2014
Published on: 07 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

The beautiful views both in the valley on the walk up to Cerro Verde, and the gorgeous view from the top - a really varied walk. But I also really enjoyed staying in one place all week, with time to relax in a lovely village setting Mick was friendly, and approachable. Having lived in the area for many years he obviously knew all the paths like the back of his hand, and had some interesting stories about the development of the area generally and the Natural Park in particular. He judged the pace for walking just right for the group.
Confirmed traveller: 11 April 2014
Published on: 07 November 2015
(6 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Wine tasting at the local bodega. I didn't think I liked white wine until I tried Muscatel in context! The 'white villages', including the one we stayed in, were really very beautiful. The square in Canillas is particularly lovely.Mick was a nice bloke, we really liked him and a good tour leader, we got the feeling however that he had done one too many Explore trips this year, he looked a bit fed up. To be fair though he did come down with a nasty stomach bug, as did I and as did (rather more worryingly the chef that cooked our evening meals!
Confirmed traveller: 14 July 2014
Published on: 07 November 2015