It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
613 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Have you considered?

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Imperial Cities and Desert MR

Visiting: Morocco
Trip Duration 15 Days
 

Reviews for Imperial Cities and Desert

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Imperial Cities and Desert trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Imperial Cities and Desert reviews verified by Reevoo

25 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Imperial Cities and DesertScores 8.6 out of 10 based on 25 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Marilynne

Blackwater
An excellent mix of ancient and modern culture with good opportunities to see real life in Morocco today. The hotels used were a good standard, clean, comfortable and a little quirky. The tour guide was really good, made sure everyone was enjoying themselves and provided a safe environment for us to explore Morocco for ourselves. I now know a lot more than I did before about Morocco and want to see more
Confirmed traveller: 15 May 2016
Published on: 18 May 2016
(9 out of 10)

Brian

Poole
Fes was great plus Sahara camping-high atlas and todra gorge. Fab tour leader Hassan-great mixed group Aussies, Canadians and UK!
Confirmed traveller: 15 May 2016
Published on: 18 May 2016
(9 out of 10)

Rod

Eastbourne
A delightful overview of Morocco, a country with so many contrasts: history, traditions, architecture and religious. A well planned itinerary, knowledgeable and friendly guiudes, and a balance of visits, ancient and modern. I expected a desert landscape, but was introduced to snow caped mountains, rushing stream, modern towns (with medieval markets and streets), rich agriculture, a meld of French, Moorish and Arabic culture. Fez was intense, Mecnes fascinating, Essaouira tranquil yet so Moroccan. Our tour leader was professional, helpful with a depth of local information that enhanced the overview of the trip. The hotels were all clean, but some were basic, but it goes with the style of the holiday. Would do it all again and would recommend the tour.
Confirmed traveller: 17 April 2016
Published on: 24 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Gillian

Exmouth
A very well paced and organise tour with opportunities to learn about the country and it's culture from excellent guides and tour leader. Highlights were the chance to visit the desert and the Atlas Mountains.
Confirmed traveller: 17 April 2016
Published on: 23 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

So many highlights on this holiday. To summarise visiting Hassan II Mosque in Casablanca, walking in the Todra Gorge area, the ruins of Volubillis, seeing the famous film location of Air Benhaddou, walking in the Atlas Mountains of Imhil, Essaouria - it's beach and the views from Skala du Port and finally sleeping under the stars of the Sahara Desert.
Confirmed traveller: 13 December 2015
Published on: 15 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Elizabeth

Stonehaven
This trip was my first Explore venture and exceeded my expectations.
Mohammed , our guide, was excellent: polite, thoughtful, sociable, patient, so helpful and very knowledgeable.
Our driver, Lassan was courteous, helpful and kept the coach spotless.
The itinerary was ideal, so varied and interesting. I felt I had seen and learned so much.
Moroccan people welcoming and funny. I felt very safe in this relaxed country. No threats to safety at all.
The small group size was perfect and we rarely encountered other tourist groups.
The system of pre organising tips and entry fees was so convenient.
The local guides were brilliant.
Our trip was mid March and I should have packed more warm clothes. Trainers would do fine for most occasions. Swimming stuff not needed!
Beware crowded Marrakech Square for pickpockets. Hang on tightly to your valuables.
Confirmed traveller: 27 March 2016
Published on: 07 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Chung

London
Mohamed is a great guide. He's very good in making sure everyone is safe and happy. Highly recommend this tour to my friends.
Confirmed traveller: 27 March 2016
Published on: 29 March 2016
(8 out of 10)

Keith

redditch
good tour guides/driver
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 03 January 2016
Published on: 14 January 2016
(9 out of 10)

Beccy

London
Our leader gave us a wonderful insight into his country taking us through the historical cities in the north and through the desert and it's communities in the south. He gave us his personal connections to the place and the trip was filled with sights and sounds. Everything was incredibly well organised and I never had to worry about accomodation or transport. A great introduction to Morocco.
Confirmed traveller: 03 January 2016
Published on: 05 January 2016
(10 out of 10)

Jay

Houston, Texas
I would recommend taking this trip before late November. Most of the hotels had swimming pools and I could tell that all would perform better in slightly warmer weather. Most of the cities, when the cold sets in have a moist cold and the hotels are not really set up for warmth. Also, while all were perfectly acceptable, each could have done with a strong manager to go through and troubleshoot room by room, fixing the little incidentals that don't ruin a trip but make the hotel experience "just okay". Broken faucets, non functioning heaters, bidets that don't work, hot water that runs out, minor repairs, stuff like that. Again, no deal breakers but moments of inconvenience. The trip is well balanced. True, it follows the standard tourist route but this is because those are where the most interesting things are. And the local guides were great. True, the recommended restaurants followed a predictable pattern. But with one exception in a hotel restaurant in Tinghir, all were very good value and very good food. You will of course visit the obligatory tile, carpet, leather, metals its places. But the talks there are fine and the appropriate amount of time is spent there. We weren't shopping on this trip so we took these stops,with a grain of salt. First day in Casablanca, buy yourself a plastic bucket to do your laundry in, at the nearby Acima grocery store. Do stick with tagines and couscous. Delicious.
Confirmed traveller: 06 December 2015
Published on: 08 December 2015