It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
633 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Have you considered?

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Imperial Cities and Desert MR

Visiting: Morocco
Trip Duration 15 Days
 

Reviews for Imperial Cities and Desert

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Imperial Cities and Desert trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Imperial Cities and Desert reviews verified by reevooReevoo

43 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Imperial Cities and DesertScores 8.7 out of 10 based on 43 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Mary

Corona Del Mar, CA
This was our first Explore trip and it was excellent. We liked the variety of things saw....cities, souks, medinas, gorgeous scenery. We learned a lot. One addition would be to have a stay in a ryad along the way. We did love staying in the medina, especially in Essaouira.

Our guide was amazing, going out of his way to make us all feel like guests in Morocco, in the Berber tradition, not just tourists. He was very well informed, knowledgeable and organized with handouts, including city maps, phrases to help us, and full of information about the culture, history and current conditions in Morocco. He was honest and open about the politics and religion. His choice of city guides and how he handled everything was exemplary...he really knew where to stop and gave us good choices for food and activities in our free time. Mostly he went above and beyond to make sure everyone was ok during the trip. He was calm, easy going and very competent. Great contacts everywhere. He would be one reason I'd book another trip on Explore if he is an example of the caliber of guides you employ.
Confirmed traveller: 19 February 2017
Published on: 28 February 2017
(10 out of 10)

Ian

What an amazing nation Moroccos is. Anyone who thinks Marrakech is Morocco is very wrong; in fact it is the least interesting and the most challenging to visit and enjoy. Stupid mopeds in the souk is just dumb. There are so many other highlights I'd struggle to list them all here: the first 3 Imperial Cities, the stunning mountains and amazing Sahara are all magical and seen in great ways. On the practicalities, there are only two day's with long drives and only the second one gets onerous. The accommodation is mainly pretty good for a budget trip, although there is no hot water some nights and oddly the food varies greatly in quality and quantity. It is bar far the best in Fez and the desert. My only real complaint is too much time spent on the 'shopping' visits to potteries, tanneries and cream places etc. - they should have the same strict time limit as other places visited, which is too short on occasion sadly. Most of the group spent a lot of time waiting around at these retail locations, which despite the blurb, are about flogging things and not understanding the culture, artisans or their skills. Our guide and all the local guides were excellent, well informed, humorous and very good value. Overall, a great way to see much of a great country. Thank you.
Confirmed traveller: 19 February 2017
Published on: 26 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Hazel

Maidstone
A comprehensive tour of Morocco they does exactly what the trip notes state.
Some long drives and with a full group of 15 it made the transport cramped and uncomfortable.
Do the camel ride and sleep in the Bedouin tent - a little expensive for what you get as you forfeit the hotel room but still do it.
Pack for the cold in February. It's cold after the sun goes down and in the mornings.
You can eat cheaply and well - not aways at the restaurants recommended by the guide. Not the chicken pie in Fes. Expensive and not very nice.
Guide - was very good with lots of knowledge and very organised. Driver very good and very safe.
Extra nights not really needed either side.
Hotels don't always have hot water - but just go with it. Hotel staff very helpful and good breakfasts.
Take walking poles for the walk. 600m ascent and 600m down - on loose stones. Great views so worth it.
Tea with Berber man very good. Could stay longer there.
Royal Air Maroc flights very good and on time. Transit in Casablanca for Gatwick flight was very good.
Morocco is a great short haul destination. Do it!
Confirmed traveller: 19 February 2017
Published on: 21 February 2017
(10 out of 10)

Leigh

Whitley Bay
This tour exceeded my expectations in every way. The sights were superb, the accommodation good, the pace was just right and our tour leader was excellent.

Highlights included Volubilis, walking in the Todra gorge, relaxing in Essaouira and staying in a lovely little chalet at La Bergerie with its log fires.

Be prepared for all weather conditions, with plenty of warm clothing for early mornings and night time. Some hotel restaurants are very cold.
Confirmed traveller: 01 January 2017
Published on: 06 January 2017
(7 out of 10)

Neil

UK
A good way to see Morocco, great variety, with the main cities covered, but also the
Saharan side of the Atlas mountains. If you do this trip between December and February it can be very cold, snow in the mountains, hotels with stone floors and inadequate or ineffectual heating...be prepared with serious winter clothing...slippers for the hotels rooms etc.
Confirmed traveller: 01 January 2017
Published on: 02 January 2017
(9 out of 10)

Diane

Loughborough
Great leader, gave us many options as was possible. The itinerary was very varied and gave us an insider view of Morocco, it's people and customs.

It should be emphasized that the weather in December is cold and can be wet, take suitable winter clothing.

Highlights were many but for us walking in Todra Gorge, visiting a local hammam and a cooking demonstration were special.
Confirmed traveller: 01 January 2017
Published on: 02 January 2017
(9 out of 10)

John

St Briavels, Glos.
An extremely varied tour, with many highlights: desert, mountains and the imperial cities. Hassan, our guide, was excellent. I cannot think of any significant improvements.
A minor point is that the suggested allowances for meals, etc. is too low, although this can partly be accounted for by the recent fall in value of the pound.
Confirmed traveller: 06 November 2016
Published on: 08 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

John

Carmarthen
A good mix of cultural and historical sites. A varied itinerary with a large range of different geographical panoramas.
The moderate pace could be increased in various locations with options to do more challenging treks and visits.
The desert camp and camel ride to get there was stunning. The night sky without light pollution is not to be missed.
For shoppers there was a variety of opportunities and Explore ensured that we saw real Morocco.
Confirmed traveller: 16 October 2016
Published on: 23 October 2016
(10 out of 10)

Hilary

Epping
This is a great way to see the scenery and culture of Morocco. The itinerary is skilfully devised to include both busy cities and tranquil places such as mountain villages and the desert. Our leader was very informative. The hotels are comfortable and full of character with traditional decor.
Confirmed traveller: 16 October 2016
Published on: 22 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

Jacquelynn

Poole
Fast pace, varied sights, excellent organisation between places.
Archetecture and decorations amazing, scenery breathtaking.
Atlas Mnts stunning scenery, difficult to fit more time in a 14 day holiday, will have to return!

Tour leader competant, knowledgeable, thoughtful and caring.

Hotels were varied and truly part of the experience, shiny lace 4 posters to cool spas! Gave an 8 only because 3 star hotels can't be a 10.

Would have liked to have seen the yarn dye pots in Fes, even in preference to the leather ones.
Confirmed traveller: 25 September 2016
Published on: 30 September 2016