It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
546 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Have you considered?

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 2,720

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast tours and experiences to choose from.

Toubkal Climb MJ

Visiting: Morocco
Tour Duration 8 Days
 
Reviews for Toubkal Climb 5 out of 5 based on 10 ratings.

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Toubkal Climb tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
4 John Halstead, 15/05/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

The highlight for me was the optional extra climb after Toubkal, of Ouanoukrim. I will never be able to pronounce or remember the name though.

Read more
 
4.5 Tom Cheke (Explore Staff), 14/05/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

Incredible week of great trekking, with the added bonus of summiting 2 4000m+ peaks. Great way to experience Berber culture and learn about the real Morocco on foot.

Read more
 
4 Ken Chow, 26/11/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

To have everyone in the group reaching the Toubkal summit, regardless of our hiking experience.

Read more
 
5 Tina McDonnell, 26/11/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The guides Boubkar and Ylias made the trip so memorable with their genuine enthusiasm for their country and the country's history. They were friendly and respectful to us and to their fellow countrymen. The itinerary was perfect although I think that some travellers should read this thoroughly before committing to a trip of this kind. Some members of the group clearly did not read through the itinerary and failed to understand the demands of the trip and the basic sleeping/eating arrangements. Personally, I thought it was perfect!

Read more
 
5 Mandy Lou, 09/07/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Great trekking in an unusual place

Read more
 
5 Mandy, 17/05/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Trek through the Berber villages and getting to the top of Toubkal with the whole group, and lovely Moroccan people. Bunking down with 9 Irishmen as well - you don't get that pleasure on every Explore trip :-)

Read more
 
5 , 08/11/13

Name

Ivan

Tour Code

MJ

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Having a Hammam.

Tour Leader Name

Ali

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Ali got better and better as the tour progressed - as both we and he became more bonded with one another. He clearly loved talking about Morocco and things Moroccan but it was important for us firts to show genuine interest - which, with time, we did. It was great that he wore Moroccan clothes in the evenings.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Train before you go - some found the final climb tough. Expect to eat (and enjoy) Moroccan food - not 'international food'. Excellent value for money.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

"1. Clarify that one sleeps on beds with mattresses at all overnights. The tour notes hinted that this might not be so. 2. I didn't realise from the tour notes that my sleeping bag would be required at EVERY stop - except Marrakech. 3. point out that the Gites (and Refuge) do not provide soap - nor towels (I thought only the refuge might lack these). 4. But toilet rolls in Marrakech."

 
5 , 06/09/13

Name

Estelle Robertson

Tour Code

MJ

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Summiting Toubkal...although the shared experiences of dining in a Berber village, trekking the practice peaks before the main climb, staying at the base camp in bunk-beds/a dorm...were all truly spectacular. Wow - what a trip!

Tour Leader Name

Ali and Mohammed

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Fabulous - Ali and Mohammed were knowledgeable, professional, charming and funny. A great package, a great duo - most definitely added to the whole positive experience.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Pack light. Really think about 'need to have' vs 'nice to have' - a streamlined, quality kit is key. Fitness level must be good - the challenge is rated as moderate/challenging - do your homework, get in some practice treks/long walks...build the stamina and you'll have a truly amazing adventure.

 
5 , 15/08/13

Name

Inga

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Reaching the summit of Mount Toubkal was a challenging and humbling experience, especially as I raised over £1,000 for Plan Interrnational, a UK charity which helps children and communities in developing countries. Drinking fresh squeezed orange juice by the snowmelt waterfalls by Sidi Chamarouch shrine. Meeting our wonderful guides, Lehsun and Abeljalil, who got us there and back in one piece.

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Both of our guides were excellent. Everyone who wanted to get to the summit of Toubkal got there, thanks to the pace and sensitivity and encouragement of Lehcun and Abdeljalil. they kept us safe and healthy throughout the tour.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Take cereal bars for extra energy. Pace yourself. Train a bit beforehand. Book today.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Thank you, it was an amazing experience. I had forgotten how much travel enriches your life.

 
5 Corina Luminita Popescu, 23/08/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Getting to the top of Toubkal

Read more
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  3. Your Tour (*)
    Invalid Input
  4. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  5. Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  6. Tour leader name
  7. Do you have any feedback on your tour leaders performance?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  8. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  10. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  11.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA