It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
613 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Have you considered?

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Toubkal Climb MJ

Visiting: Morocco
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Toubkal Climb

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Toubkal Climb trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Toubkal Climb reviews verified by Reevoo

20 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Toubkal ClimbScores 9.0 out of 10 based on 20 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Eleanor

London
Great tour leader and itinerary. Size of group very good and space for schedule flexibility appreciated. Only comment would be to warn people of security issues at the gites a little more as I had money stolen from bag. Cannot fault the tour itself.
Confirmed traveller: 08 May 2016
Published on: 10 May 2016
(10 out of 10)

Joanne

London
An excellent trip, with great walks, wonderful food and Said was a brilliant tour leader!
Confirmed traveller: 08 May 2016
Published on: 09 May 2016
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

This was a great holiday. It was amazing to experience the mountain villages in the Toubkal area. The highlights were reaching the top of Toubkal and the welcoming village hammam after a long 4 days trekking. Marrakech was such a different experience to the peace of the mountains but beautiful nonetheless.
Confirmed traveller: 03 October 2015
Published on: 04 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

The guides Boubkar and Ylias made the trip so memorable with their genuine enthusiasm for their country and the country's history. They were friendly and respectful to us and to their fellow countrymen. The itinerary was perfect although I think that some travellers should read this thoroughly before committing to a trip of this kind. Some members of the group clearly did not read through the itinerary and failed to understand the demands of the trip and the basic sleeping/eating arrangements. Personally, I thought it was perfect!Excellent! Highly recommended!
Confirmed traveller: 27 August 2014
Published on: 11 December 2015
(8 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Read the itinerary! Take spare toilet roll and check if there is an extra charge for hot showers in the gites/refuge. Respect the local customs and don't pack too much if you want to spend in Marrakesh and the end of the trip! Enjoy the haggling games!
Confirmed traveller: 26 November 2014
Published on: 07 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Robert

Kettering
getting to the top of Jebel Toubkal; and the visit to the Hamam on the journey down
Confirmed traveller: 22 September 2014
Published on: 09 October 2015
(10 out of 10)

Anthony

Stevenage
The highlights were the two mountain walks at the end, Marrakech, The Medina,
the villages and mountain scenery and many other things.
Confirmed traveller: 28 September 2015
Published on: 08 October 2015
(10 out of 10)

Clare

Northampton
The scenery and summiting Toubkal
I went in May and the climb to the top did need mountaineering layers. I had to 'borrow' so you need a good base layer, gloves, hat, socks and boots. It's not a stroll to the top.
Mule tracks end at base camp if the summit ascent is described as a mule track. It was so described to me (not by Explore).
Marrakesh was a complete wonderful contrast and would recommend spending time either side of the trek, in Marrakesh.
Confirmed traveller: 31 May 2015
Published on: 07 October 2015
(3 out of 10)

Alastair

Paris
I am sorry but I cannot recommend this trip due to some terrible blunders in organisation and safety. The overall package is just what we were looking for but I cannot forgive the EXPLORE team for the litany of errors and problems which very nearly resulted in the death of one of the customers on the trip. Morocco is a fascinating and sometimes beautiful country with a proud and welcoming people but this does not absolve Explore from the problems encountered, which included:
-abysmal safety standards during the unexpected (by the customers) snow walking which almost led to the death of one customer
-acceptance of an aged and clearly unwell gentleman on a very demanding trek/climb.
-provision of lousy equipment (worn/broken crampons, no ice axes) for snow walking on steep slopes then having the nerve to charge extra for this!
-grotty accommodation Marrakesh
-inexperienced guide with no back up from Explore except a useless marketing guy who new next to nothing about trekking or leading a group in demanding conditions.
Confirmed traveller: 10 May 2015
Published on: 07 October 2015

We have spoken with our local agent regarding the use of crampons. They did advise that they usually do not need use them at that time of the year, but they had an unusual amount of snowfall at the time. We have reminded them to make sure that spares are carried during the trek.

Additionally, we do ask all customers at the time of booking to make sure that they have fully understood the level of fitness and ability required to complete the trip, and to make us aware of any medical conditions or disabilities which may affect the trip arrangements. The gentlemen in question did not give us any cause for concern at the time of booking and we feel that your trip leader handled the situation appropriately in the circumstances – nevertheless we will be reviewing our procedures in this regard.

Thank you for your feedback on your trip which, incidentally, was the first of the 2015 season and unexpectedly there was still snow on the mountain. In order to keep the group safe on the mountain your 2 Explore leaders – both qualified and experienced mountain guides – made the decision to use crampons to help the group with the climb, they didn’t feel axes were necessary at the time. Following your separate letter to our Customer Relations team, we have recognised the importance of covering the cost of crampons if they are required on future trips and will ensure that this is included.

We take pride in being an inclusive tour operator and don’t feel age should be a barrier to travel. Whilst it would be inappropriate for us to discuss the specifics of individual travellers’ health, we are happy that we took reasonable precautions to ensure everybody was fit and able to take part in the trip. We are aware that one of the group slipped during the ascent, and needed assistance during the descent, but his slip was not near fatal and he was fully supported thereafter – a point which he took time to thank us and the rest of the group for – on his return. Clearly, the safety and security of our clients is our highest priority and our Operations team have recently reviewed our safety procedures on the mountain. We are confident that we continue to ensure the safest of trips on Toubkal and our other reviews reflect this.

As we’re sure you’ll appreciate, it’s important that our office based staff get to experience our trips to build knowledge and expertise for our conversations with customers. A new member of our Sales team joined your departure to gain first-hand experience of such an exciting trip – he was travelling as a fellow customer. Our qualified guides and leaders are there to support and direct the group.

We do hope you’ll reconsider your decision not to travel with us again.

(9 out of 10)

David

London
The view from the top of Mt Toubkal is amazing, worth the hard slog of the climb. Even in June, though, it is pretty cold up there - don't be tempted to leave the hat, gloves, and windproofs behind! There a few short stretches where walking poles are awkward, but overall I would not have been without them.

The Berber villages are another world, and it was a privilege to visit and to get a glimpse of what life is like there. The food produced by our cook with very basic facilities was amazing, especially the fresh pastries at tea time! The surprise of arriving at the first lunch stop to find a picnic blanket laid out in the shade of a juniper tree, mint tea brewed, and a substantial meal prepared for us while we were still walking will last a long time!

On the last night we were tempted by the atmosphere to eat at one of the many food stalls in the main square, rather than to go to the restaurant that our guide suggested. That was a mistake. While the food was ok, it was nothing special, and we could not stop it coming - and then of course had to pay for it all. The bill was much larger than it would have been in the restaurant, and rather than feeling we had had a lovely evening, as we did on the first night when we took his advice, it left an unpleasant taste.
Confirmed traveller: 14 June 2015
Published on: 01 October 2015