It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
613 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Have you considered?

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Toubkal Climb MJ

Visiting: Morocco
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Toubkal Climb

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Toubkal Climb trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Toubkal Climb reviews verified by reevooReevoo

47 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Toubkal ClimbScores 9.0 out of 10 based on 47 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Michael

York
You need to have an open forum about the trip so we can ask trip leaders up to date information about the weather conditions and be prepared better
Great trip but can pass on more info to next trips about accommodation ect
Confirmed traveller: 23 May 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Helen

North West
What an amazing tour. So pleased I went although it was one of the hardest walks I have ever done. Very rough and often slippery under foot so you do need good strong footwear and I would recommend taking walking poles. You do need a wind proof and layers for the Toubkal ascent even though we had perfect weather, and a picnic on the summit. Boubka and Abraham set a good pace and were very supportive and took great care of us especially on the descent which was tricky in places.
Boubka organised the trip well and everything ran smoothly and timely. The whole team worked well together. The mules were well cared for. It was a lovely happy atmosphere and I enjoyed the ceremony of the tea in the evenings which brought us all together so we could chat and enjoy talking about the day. We were a group of 9 who all got on well with each other and were good company.
Buy your currency in the airport. The hotel in Marrakech was fine, nice pool and close enough to walk to the main square for souvenirs and restaurants, also a supermarket just down the road.The food on tour was excellent tasted as good as it looked. Accommodation was as described, basic but comfortable enough, hot or warm water mostly available and power for charging phones. Suggest you take toilet paper although you can buy if you forget. Water readily available to buy as were snacks.
Confirmed traveller: 21 May 2017
Published on: 13 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Sarah

Uxbridge
This was a great trip! The leaders were amazing; so knowledgeable and took great care to ensure the group were happy, safe and challenged at the same time. They showed us so much about Moroccan way of life too!
The hiking was spectacular. The leaders took a nice slow pace to ensure the whole group could keep up, but this also gave slightly quicker members more time to take in the views.
The crew were fab! Some of the best food I've ever eaten, and at 3,000-odd meters that's impressive.
The accommodation was basic, but that is what you expect. Most had electric to charge cameras/phones although some points didn't always work and sharing is required. I had a mix of hot and cold showers but managed to get one every day; plus the roulette of hot or cold made it fun, and most had at least one western-style toilet - but take loo roll!!
The summit itself was incredible! A challenge for sure; hiking across snow on some sections, but mainly rocky/shale paths. The sun was shining at the top, and with no wind at all, we enjoyed our picnic before heading down! The down bit was tough and I'm so grateful I had my poles - but again the guides were great and made sure we all got down, and the crew had tea and pancakes waiting!!
A fab trip, I can't wait to book the next one!
Confirmed traveller: 21 May 2017
Published on: 10 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Darryl

London
The food was outstanding throughout the whole trip which makes climbing in such challenging and scenic countryside more fun. The tour guides where also friendly and constantly attending to all our needs which are demanding in such an environment! Alround a great adventure.
Confirmed traveller: 21 May 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(8 out of 10)

Adrian

Oxfordshire
8 day trip, ensured we reached the top well acclimatised. The Gites were quite variable in what they offered sometimes it was a private room with bedding, others it was a shared room with mattresses. However you only spend the sleeping hours here so not a problem. Our guide was full of information ensuring everyone got to the summit. The food was always great and plentiful. Everything was arranged so no worries about taxis to the airport etc.
Confirmed traveller: 14 May 2017
Published on: 20 June 2017
(8 out of 10)

Lynette

Sydney, Australia
The Mount Toubkal hiking tour was great. The food was excellent - delicious, healthy and lots of variety. Considerable effort was given to providing for my dietary requirements as a vegetarian.

Tour leaders were very good and made every effort to ensure people were comfortable and enjoying the trip. Help during the walk was very good.

I had concerns about the unexpected snowy / icy conditions and gusty winds on Mt Toubkal. The use of crampons and ice pick was essential to assist in climbing to the top of the mountain. I did not make the climb to the summit because of exceptionally windy conditions blew me off my feet three times and resulted in an injury associated with a pick axe secured to my day pack piercing my body. I did not feel the weather conditions were safe. I made the decision not to continue. I did not wish to put me safety at risk. I had never walked with crampons and ice pick before. I do not remember any mention in the tour description.

I did not find the second village we visited to be particularly interesting - although the accommodation was good (some issues with showers and hot water). In addition, there was "western" rubbish throughout the village - food packaging, water bottles, etc. It was off-putting. Should we be carrying all our rubbish back out with us.

Nice group of people on the tour.
Confirmed traveller: 14 May 2017
Published on: 14 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Paloma

London
Perfect trip!
The tour was fantastic. The tour leaders, muletiers,cook made it special! Lovely landscapes all the way through the summit.
Really enjoyed it. I met very nice people as well, I can't wait to book my next trip
Confirmed traveller: 14 May 2017
Published on: 10 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Robert

Wickford
A very rewarding short walking tour, with enough time in Marrakesh to soak up the atmosphere in town. The walking was well described as moderate to challenging: at
60-plus years I was quite comfortable, although quite grateful for the rest stops!
Our guides were very good, being knowledgeable and well-organised: a slight re-arrangement of itinerary was handled smoothly.
The highlight was reaching the summit of Toubkal - high fives all round - but in truth there were many happy moments.
Tip: Prepare for very warm and very cold weather!
Confirmed traveller: 14 May 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Christopher

edinburgh
It was an excellent week of mountain walking. Mohamed Et-Taleb, the leader, was excellent in every way. His assistant, Hassan Amehrek, also was good, especially in piggy-backing one of our group off Mount Toubkal after she broke her ankle!
Confirmed traveller: 25 September 2016
Published on: 29 September 2016
(9 out of 10)

Anne

Swansea
Excellent guides who were professional and friendly. Meals were also excellent. The guides managed a serious injury of one of the group very well. My one complaint is the accommodation at the foot of Toubkal where all 11 of us (7 men, 4 women) were squeezed into 6 bunks with no space in between and very cramped area for changing.
Confirmed traveller: 25 September 2016
Published on: 29 September 2016