It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
622 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Have you considered?

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Toubkal Climb MJ

Visiting: Morocco
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Toubkal Climb

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Toubkal Climb trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Toubkal Climb reviews verified by Reevoo

31 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Toubkal ClimbScores 8.8 out of 10 based on 31 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Timothy

Staffordshire
A super trekking tour.
The whole trip was very well organised by explore and very capably led by Mohamed our guide, ably assisted by Hassan. Both guides were approachable and friendly with good English and it was great to get insights into Moroccan and Berber life from their accounts. Both Mohamed and Hassan clearly enjoyed their work and this helped in setting the atmosphere for the whole tour with everyone getting on, having a good time, but also supporting each other.
The pace set was well judged and ensured that we all achieved the ultimate objective of reaching Toubkals summit as a team together which was a great moment. Many of the group were, like me, trekking to high altitude for the first time and were understandably a little nervous as to the potential for adverse altitude effects. We were fortunate as no one had any significant issues, possibly due to the acclimatisation treks and sensible pace set.
The itinerary provided an opportunity to explore Marrakech, at the beginning and end of the trip, which is an adventure in itself.
The trek itinerary was well balanced with none of the hikes being particularly strenuous and plenty of planned rests and refreshment opportunities scheduled in. Three days acclimatisation hikes over mid height mountain passes allowed our bodies to adjust, and no doubt gave Mohamed time to assess our capabilities before the big final ascent.
The accommodation was functional and relatively basic but not bad for trekking in high mountains. If you don't like sharing bedrooms with others then this may not be the tour for you. However our group got on very well and room sharing did not pose any significant problems.
Two village based guest houses were used lower down while the neltner mountain refuge was used before and after the summit trek. The latter had a real buzz about it with so many people being there for the mountain trekking, and the accommodation, although dormitories, was clean and tidy, although the shower temperatures were hit and miss(this was an issue at all the mountain accommodation that we used).
Food provided by our expedition chef was always superb and the regularly served mint tea topped up our hydration and energy levels during our treks and after the days on the mountains and was very welcome.
In summary the tour was well planned, well led and well provisioned. The group atmosphere was great and I met some smashing people from around the world. I would recommend this trip to anyone wanting to experience high mountain treks, stunning scenery, cultural experiences and who is moderately fit.
Confirmed traveller: 14 September 2016
Published on: 24 September 2016
(6 out of 10)

Matthew

Norwich
Over-all a good explore holiday.

The accommodation was bare-bones and basic, but functional (Don't expect hot showers at any point). Food was absolutely great and very impressive given the conditions we were in, and there was plenty of it - which was a definite plus.
The trek itself was well organised and went at a decent pace (If a little slow at times). Muhammad our guide was knowledgeable and very helpful.
Confirmed traveller: 11 September 2016
Published on: 24 September 2016
(10 out of 10)

Gary

Horley
This trip is very well organised from start to finish. The tour leader Bensghir Lhoucine was exceptional in every way. From sorting out our lost luggage to ensuring we all were not only well fed every day but well prepared for our next day. His team went the extra mile every day to ensure our success and happiness was there priority . Considering this trip was mid Ramadan these guides are made of steel. Not only did we all achieve the summit of Jebel Toubkal (amazing),but we then went on to achieve not only one but two more summits. A true indication of your team in Morocco and there sole aim of making our dreams their dreams. You need to rename the sub heading of this tour to three peaks in a week. Will definately be coming back to this jewel of a country.
Confirmed traveller: 26 June 2016
Published on: 27 June 2016
(9 out of 10)

Gemma

Southampton
An incredible trip, fantastic guides and a great group of people to share the adventure with. For my first experience climbing a mountain I couldn't have asked for a more inspiring landscape, I can thoroughly recommend it. It's a tricky terrain at times so be prepared for some scrambling, but the guide sets a really good pace to make sure you get to enjoy the walking and the views rather than feeling rushed. I will forever be amazed at the incredible food our chef Houssain laid on for us each day, particularly considering we were there during Ramadan! Few tips - make sure you have adequate water bottles/packs to carry with you, there are plenty of opportunities to buy big bottles of water to decant but you get through it very quickly. Don't worry about getting hungry, there is never a shortage of food! Make the most of the time in Marrakech, the souq is a lot of fun and the gardens are really beautiful. And spend at least one evening on a gite terrace staring at the stars, it's amazing.
Confirmed traveller: 26 June 2016
Published on: 27 June 2016
(9 out of 10)

Rachel

Sheffield
Excellent trip, but more information should be provided about the terrain you are likely to experience. There is lots of scree, which makes walking down from the summit very hard work and quite dangerous at times. Several people fell/slid and there could have been a serious accident. Walking poles are useful and saved me from falling several times, but they are not recommended or even mentioned in the tour notes.

The accommodation at base camp is interesting! Maximum of 26 people to one dormitory, luckily ours wasn't full! Ear plugs are useful.

The food on the trek and in Marrakech was very good and the tour guides were excellent, helpful and looked after us well. It was particularly difficult for them as it was Ramadan and they weren't eating or drinking during the day. Particularly hard when climbing a mountain and having to look after a load of tourists as well.
Confirmed traveller: 12 June 2016
Published on: 28 June 2016
(9 out of 10)

Tracey

KENT
Many thanks to Explore for a wonderful trip!
It really gave me a insight into this beautiful country and its people.
There is so much to take in, the scenery, the beautiful flowers and the clear skies at night to see the stars.
The food was great and plentiful. Lots of veg, salad and fruit. The accommodation was as expected. The mountain refuge was an experience, sleeping with 19 others all getting up before sunrise to walk to the summit. The lines of tiny lights snaking up the mountain side was magical. Coming down was tough, lots of scree and boulders.
Mohammed our guide was very professional and gave us courage and confidence. I met some very special people in our group and can't complain about anyone. The whole operation was very slick.
Tracey
Confirmed traveller: 12 June 2016
Published on: 16 June 2016
(10 out of 10)

Julie

Bath
An amazing trip that I'll never forget! Fantastic guides, a great group, lovely weather, delicious food, stunning scenery, rewarding trekking and an awful lot of laughter along the way. A huge thank you to Ilyas and Hassan for their tireless good humour, patience and willingness to share so many insights into their wonderful country, we were very lucky indeed to have them and I would definitely recommend to anyone who is after an adventure that is well off the beaten track.
Confirmed traveller: 22 May 2016
Published on: 02 June 2016
(7 out of 10)

Caitriona

Dublin
The Itenerary was good and the food was great. The one thing I did not like was at the meal on the first night we were all asked for 400 Morocan Denar for the tips, you usualy tip after the service is given not before and it is at the persons discretion to give as much as they like. I had not budgeted for this.
Confirmed traveller: 22 May 2016
Published on: 01 June 2016
(8 out of 10)

Christopher

Cinderford
Great tour ,Great country and People.
The mountain climb was tough going but well worth the climb and with a day in marrekesh at the end it was like having two very different experiences in the same holiday.The tour leader and team were brilliant and made the holiday for me .
Confirmed traveller: 22 May 2016
Published on: 30 May 2016
(10 out of 10)

Anne

Leicester
Enjoyed everything the accommodation,food and most importantly the two men looking after us.Elios and Hassan.
Their humour and patience enabled me to get to the summit. I never felt like I was a nuisance. I made the right decision using Explore.
Confirmed traveller: 22 May 2016
Published on: 27 May 2016