It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
619 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Marrakech and the High Atlas LMA

Visiting: Morocco
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Marrakech and the High Atlas

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Marrakech and the High Atlas trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Marrakech and the High Atlas reviews verified by reevooReevoo

17 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Marrakech and the High AtlasScores 8.6 out of 10 based on 17 reviews
(5 out of 10)

Allison

London
The tour was a good balance of city & rural however I would have preferred more guided culture especially when in the mountains in the evenings as the hotel dinners x 4 was laborious

As other reviews you need to be fit for the walking as there's no flexibility taking into account the different fitness levels in the group

Additionally the walks will felt needed more variety, different areas, may balance of valleys & mountains
Confirmed traveller: 27 May 2017
Published on: 22 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Kerry

London
I loved the Riad in Marrakesh; it was really comfortable and beautifully decorated with lovely staff. The walking tour was fantastic and well worth doing.

The walks in the Atlas Mountains were amazing but I think some more guidance on the level would have been good - on one day we were walking along goat tracks with sheer mountain drops to the side. Several of the group struggled with the level and had to pull out of some walks.

The amount of time in Marrakesh and the Atlas was just right for me although it would have been nice to have seen a little more of Imlil - perhaps to have had a meal out there one evening instead of always eating in the Riad.
Confirmed traveller: 27 May 2017
Published on: 12 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Stephen

Tidmarsh, Berkshire
A terrific trip. I might have had one fewer days in Marrakech and one more in the Atlas Mountains. Or perhaps a second guided tour to the less frequented parts of the town, such as the old Jewish quarter. Mohammed made a splendid guide, able to support both the strongest and weakest walkers. And flustered by nothing. Some of the group felt that the walking was tougher than it was described.

Our trip was somewhat marred by the BA strike which was not Explore's fault, but the London office were very supportive. Certainly using explore again and maybe returning to Morocco
Confirmed traveller: 27 May 2017
Published on: 09 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Nicola

Amazing scenery, great culture, lovely food, traditional and very clean accommodation and the tour leader was first class.
Confirmed traveller: 21 May 2017
Published on: 10 June 2017
(8 out of 10)

Alison

St Albans
A great combination of city and mountains. Lovely hotel in Marrakesh - a riad in the middle of the medina. Breakfast was served on the terrace. Also had very nice riad in the mountains, with amazing views. No alcohol of course but lots and lots of mint tea. Hikes in the mountains got longer every day and the last day was quite punishing, though with an hour's break for lunch in a Berber village. I would have liked to know more about the fauna and flora but our guide, a local mountain man, did not divulge much unless asked. As for tips, take rainwear for the mountains and hiking poles for the scree underfoot. A good tip for those with more time is to extend the trip with a couple of days on the coast in Essaouira, which is a fishing port with an old medina and a kite surfing beach. The coach from Marrakesh to Essaouira cost £7.50 and the riad we booked in the medina there was also very cheap.
Confirmed traveller: 14 May 2017
Published on: 09 June 2017
(8 out of 10)

Elaine

Windsor
The walking was more challenging than described - loose scree made the paths really perilous in places. I felt there should have been a programme for the day/evening of arrival - luckily we all got on and sorted ourselves out. Overall, however I enjoyed the trip - incredible scenery - and the accommodation was better than I had expected.
Confirmed traveller: 13 May 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Mary

Surrey
Great 1st trip with Explore. Personally would have preferred less time in Marrakesh and longer in the mountains. The final days trek was more challenging than stated in itinerary, but brilliant. Beautiful views, amazing food, well looked after. Worth checking group sizes before travelling as there were only 5 of us, may have been nicer to have had more people to talk to. Looking forward to booking next years trip.
Confirmed traveller: 18 September 2016
Published on: 08 October 2016
(8 out of 10)

J

Too long in Marrakech for me as as would have preferred longer in the mountains as felt I was just wasting time with limited facilities in the medina.
Tour leader was great as he had a difficult group with some challenging members.
Mountains were stunning but felt 'moderate' was to low For some of the trekking.
Confirmed traveller: 17 September 2016
Published on: 24 September 2016
(10 out of 10)

Sheila

glasgow
Beautiful mountains, good food, nice pace, more than enough time in the city .

Note: There is no alcohol available in the mountains.

If you enjoy a glass of wine or beer with dinner, ask your guide if you can take some with you.
Confirmed traveller: 14 May 2016
Published on: 22 May 2016