It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
545 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 2,720

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast tours and experiences to choose from.

Marrakech and the High Atlas LMA

Visiting: Morocco
Tour Duration 8 Days
Reviews for Marrakech and the High Atlas 4.5 out of 5 based on 10 ratings.

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Marrakech and the High Atlas tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
4.5 Derek Crosbee, 26/11/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The first eight days - it was really that good

Read more
 
5 Chris W, 26/11/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The drum-bands in the square in Marrakech, and eating lovely lunches under sunlit canopies, prepared by our cook who accompanied us on the trek. And talking to Daniel Craig on one of the passes.

Read more
 
4 Diane, 26/11/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The stunning scenery of the mountains.

Read more
 
4.5 Michael Day, 28/09/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

There were so many. Working our way up precipitous mule tracks to the top of several high semi arid mountain passes, some great geology, stunning views, idyllic stops for lunch, being with delightful companions who really made the trip, meeting the local people, tea with a Berber farmer and having him tell us how he ran his farm, learning about the Berber way of life, the chaos of the souks and kasbah in Marrakech, hard bargaining for a silk rug, navigating as a pair across Marrakech and then finding a guide to take us round the tanneries ... and not getting lost. I won't go on.

Read more
 
5 Jim Walker, 15/06/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Three things stood out as the best parts of this trip. 1. Going in to local Berber houses and having tea, bread and cakes and meeting the families. You simply wouldn't get this not doing the tour. 2. The breathtaking views across the mountains generally but specifically on the third 'longer' trek. 3. Stopping at a little stream in the most idyllic place I've ever been lucky enough to go to. Photographs simply can't recreate this, you have to be there.

Read more
 
5 , 10/09/13

Name

Amy Sturtivant

Tour Code

LMA

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The highlight of the tour was experiencing the contrast between the bustling atmosphere of Marrakech centre and the quiet villages in the high Atlas mountains. The souks in Marrakech heighten the senses with the smell of spices and the colour of the tagines and it is a pleasure to meet the friendly villagers in the high Atlas mountains.

Tour Leader Name

Hassan

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Our tour leaders, Hassan, was a local guide therefore had extensive knowledge of the area. He was highly organised and planned a great itinerary which ran smoothly. I managed to learn a lot about the Moroccan culture and have an authentic experience. Hassan also had a great sense of humour which made the trip even more enjoyable.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

I would recommend this tour to anyone who wishes to experience both Marrakech and the high Atlas. The trip is great value for money with most of the food included, which gives you the chance to sample traditional, authentic cuisine. The walking is rather leisurely, so if you are wanting a challenge, possibly look into a trip that has a higher difficulty level.

 
3.5 , 15/08/13

Name

Dymphna Lee

Tour Name

Marrakech and the High Atlas

Tour Code

LMA

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The hiking up the mountain was really good exercise, I felt a real sense of achievement getting up higher and higher each day. The food was always tasty and healthy, carried by our helpful mule. There isn't a huge deal to do except chat and look around you while you walk, but thankfully we had an amazing group and many laughs were had. The rihad in Imlil is wonderful, as is the town where you can practice your haggling skills in a more relaxed atmosphere.Take lots of money there. Marrakesh was fun especially in the evening, and I really enjoyed going to the souks and trying to get a bargain.

Tour Leader Name

Ali

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Ali was a brilliant guide and knows so much about the Berber culture and about modern Islam in morocco. I felt like I learned a lot. Also there was another guide who took us around Marrakesh sights, he was also really funny and knowledgeable, it was a fascinating introduction to Morocco.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Marrakech was definitely cool, you get a day at the beginning of the holiday to practice haggling and then again at the end - you can really make a steal! Also avoid the tanneries - it stinks and they tell you very little about how leather is made. Ask your guide what is a good price for things such as calesh rides. Make sure your driver will take you where you want to go because ours didn't. Don't let anyone try to guide you anywhere, take a map and you will find your own way there, you don't need to pay! I went in September so it was fairly warm during the day up the mountains but was quite cold at night, I needed every warm sweater I brought just to get to sleep! Bring proper trekking shoes, and a hydration pack if you have one, and lots of changes of socks. Also a lot of your clothes will get ruined with the orange dirt, so lights/whites should be throwaway.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Weather was fab but there's no pools on this trip. I would say its a fairly good trip for hike beginners but a certain level of fitness is handy. Some of the steep uphill treks will be taxing but don't worry you'll make it! The women making the argan oil were cool (we stopped on the way back from Imlil) definitely consider buying some of their products - I'm still using mine almost a year on! My only negatives would be the last restaurant of the trip was horrid, food was too salty and some people's food wasn't even cooked properly. I hope Explore aren't still going there because there was no doubt better available and for cheaper, judging by my companions experiences around the square in Marrakesh. Also the flight there was rubbish with a stopover in Casablanca airport eventually arriving after midnight. I wish I'd got my own flight. The airport is only 15-20mins away from the Medina, you can get there easily by bus/taxi.

 
5 , 15/08/13

Name

Tim & Ros Simpson

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

There wasn't a single moment. The whole experience - the walking, the views, the contact with Berber villagers - all contributed to a truly memorable holiday.

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

He handled a group of strong personalities with humour and quiet authority. His passion for the mountains and his Berber heritage came through clearly. And he set a sustainable pace for the whole group over rocky and steep terrain.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

"1. Fly direct to Marrakesh rather than via Casablanca 2. Bring a sink plug 3. Be prepared for very hot sun and Berber whisky (mint tea) but minimal alcohol 4. Trekking poles really help, both uphill and down"

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

The Islane Hotel in Marrakesh is friendly and well-located, but a bit basic. The breakfasts were distinctly minimalist, although there were signs of an improvement just before we left

 
0 Brian Neale, 27/10/11

Walk to Ikkis - the views were stunning & people very friendly. Also Marrakesh square at night was special.

Unexpected -perhaps the friendliness of everyone we met. 

Advice -Come properly equipped for Mountain walking! (LMA -31st july 2011)

 
0 TW, 18/11/10

This was an excellent trip and great value for money.  The trip started in Marrakech where we stayed at a sweet little hotel down one of the side roads from the main square.  Everything is within easy walking distance and the trip includes a city walking tour.  We then spent the afternoon in the gardens (optional free time), a bit of an escape from the bustle of the souk. 

The next day we left for the Atlas mountains by bus.  An hour or so later we left the bus and took a short walk to our home for the next 5 nights, the Kasbah du Toubkal - a wonderful mountain retreat which felt somewhat magical with its amazing views of snow topped mountains.  The staff at the kasbah were fantastic and really welcoming.  The food was amazing and there was lots of it.  We stayed in two dormitories - 6 to each room and mixed sex (so take something demure to wear to bed, particularly as the bathroom is down the corridor and you have to pass through the main seating area to get to it!). 

The next four days we did day walks into the mountains - Abdou the guide was great at pacing the walk to suit the slowest person.  The day walks were not difficult but the sun had an impact as there was little shade.  All but one the day walks ended up back at the kasbah in time for lunch leaving the afternoon to chill out before dinner and an early night.  The last day of the trip was back in Marrakech leaving plenty of time for shopping for souvenirs in the souk.     

Overall they trip was a great introduction to a walking holiday.  It wasn't as challenging as some in the group had hoped and there did seem to be an emphasis on getting back to the kasbah for lunch - longer walks would have been preferable on at least three of the days.  Having said that the kasbah made the trip for me - it was a great place to relax (so take plenty of books) and just unwind in the peace of the mountains.  I will definitely be going back in the future. (LMA -5th January 2010)

 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  3. Your Tour (*)
    Invalid Input
  4. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  5. Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  6. Tour leader name
  7. Do you have any feedback on your tour leaders performance?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  8. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  10. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  11.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA