It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
625 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Toubkal Long Weekend ATA

Visiting: Morocco
Trip Duration 5 Days
 

Reviews for Toubkal Long Weekend

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Toubkal Long Weekend trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Toubkal Long Weekend reviews verified by reevooReevoo

23 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Toubkal Long WeekendScores 9.1 out of 10 based on 23 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Ruth

Tavistock
Excellent trip. Well organised. Accommodation as stated. Meals were exceptional. Leaders of the trip were great.
Confirmed traveller: 14 August 2017
Published on: 19 August 2017
(10 out of 10)

Christopher

Colchester
This Tour exceeded my expectations at every level.

Ali, our Tour Leader was with us from the Airport pick-up to the final day drop-off and his local knowledge and personality made the trip - he showed us parts of Marrakech, recommended restaurants, etc and was with us at every stage of the trek.

The trek itself is challenging - mainly down to the terrain and the amount of walking you do over two days.
We were told its fine to wear shorts, even in the villages, but its good to have some zip-off trousers so you have the option as the terrain and temperature change.
When you attack the summit on the second day, its a 5am start so make sure you've got a fleece or down jacket (even in mid-August) as it's chilly first thing.
Mid Hiking boots are a must - i was toying with the idea of just taking Merrel Moab type approach shoes but these would have been a nightmare on the scree.
Water is available at various places along the route and the leaders will advise when its best to stock up.

The hotel in Marrakech is basic but decent, with a nice size pool. There's a Carrefour supermarket 2 mins away for water, food and any other bits you need.
The Tents on the mountain were a very good size for two people and we were even given thick mats to sleep on.
The village house on the 2nd day was comfortable and in a beautiful spot.

The Food is very good and perfectly suited to the activity and climate - porridge and breads for breakfast with jam/cheese etc. lovely fresh mixed salads for lunch with bread, fish, pasta and fresh fruit. Mid morning and afternoon there would be nuts, etc available and dinner is meat/fish with couscous/rice, bread, salad. Couldn't fault any of the meals- the Chef is a legend!
Take some sweets and breakfast bars for your pack.

You'll get the best part of two full days in Marrakech as well, depending on your flights which is a massive bonus with this trip - a fantastic trekking experience and a city break to boot!

If you're after a rich and challenging travel experience over a long weekend, this trip would be hard to beat.
Confirmed traveller: 14 August 2017
Published on: 18 August 2017
(10 out of 10)

Peta

Glasgow
The tour was fabulous. Everything I'd hoped for. I'm desperate to go back for the Toubkal winter trip!

The rest of the group were, however, novices at high altitude trekking/climbing and had possibly not understood the implications of the 'challenging' tag on the trip notes. Perhaps adding something like 'previous experience beneficial' might be appropriate?
Confirmed traveller: 08 May 2017
Published on: 12 June 2017
(7 out of 10)

Adam

Bournemouth
Very worth while. Accommodation basic but certainly done the job. Food was impressive, both quality and quantity.
Confirmed traveller: 08 May 2017
Published on: 09 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Nick

London
An amazing trip, definitely recommended. The views are stunning and worth the effort.
Confirmed traveller: 08 May 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Christine

Sunbury on Thames
A excellent trip to take on the challenge of Mount Toubkal and enjoy the Moroccan culture of Marrakech and the villages along the trail. The walk down from Toubkal is challenging due to the scree. The hotel in Marrakech is good, camp site in a great position near to the huts to get water and the gite on the 3rd night a real treat after a long day of walking. The only issue was that after walking it was difficult to get comfortable sitting on the mats at meal times, small stools would have been less traditional but much more comfortable. Our guide was very knowledgeable kind and attentive to the group.
Confirmed traveller: 03 October 2016
Published on: 19 October 2016
(10 out of 10)

Gareth

Cardiff
The tour was all I expected it to be and more! Due to its nature it compressed a lot into a very short space of time. My only comment was that I was left wanting more which is perhaps not a bad way to finish the holiday. I would consider adding an additional day or two at very little cost to unwind at the end. Definitely would recommend it and a challenge which gives you a real sense of achievement.
Confirmed traveller: 03 October 2016
Published on: 07 October 2016
(10 out of 10)

Adam

Croydon
This was a trip of a lifetime!! I couldn't believe what was being offered for the price it cost! It was worth every penny! The group I toured with and the individuals I met were amazing and made it so enjoyable. The food we were provided throughout was more than we ever could have asked for, both in regards to quality and quantity. The itinerary day by day was outstanding, the hikes were long but were manageable. We were provided with a lot of rest breaks when needed and information to help us with the climb and a lot of down time at the end of hikes to eat, rest, recover and socialise. The accommodation was fantastic considering where we were, the only downside was the lack of sleep during camping as the cover sheet was flapping and keeping us awake, however this is a very minor concern. The hospitality was amazing at all times and I would like to give a special thanks and mention to Muhammed and Khalid who were outstanding tour guides and made the whole experience a hundred times better! I felt very safe and looked after throughout. I was also amazed by the amount they were able to do without eating or drinking!! On a personal note they are very friendly individuals, their understanding of the English language is excellent and I speak for the entire tour group when I say we would love for them both to visit London and see us all one day!
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 13 June 2016
Published on: 17 June 2016
(10 out of 10)

Zoe

Leeds
This was my first experience on a walking holiday and I have to say it has been amazing. The tour guide Mohammed Mazouz was fantastic.... Very accommodating and helpful. He was very entertaining and made many of us laugh. Because of the experience I had I will definitely be booking something similar again soon.
Great company, great tour guide, nice accommodation, great food. Just amazing :)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 13 June 2016
Published on: 16 June 2016