It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
650 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Namib Lodge Safari NL

Visiting: Namibia
Trip Duration 12 Days
 

Reviews for Namib Lodge Safari

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Namib Lodge Safari trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Namib Lodge Safari reviews verified by reevooReevoo

33 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Namib Lodge SafariScores 8.7 out of 10 based on 33 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Alan

Cornwall
Many contrasts in societies, landscapes and wildlife, but travel occasionally arduous. We travelled a fair distance and in retrospect another day at Waterberg or Brandberg would have made a huge difference. The dolphin trip at Walvis Bay was a big highlight and we took the advantage of night-viewing at the camp's waterhole at Halali which is free - elephant, rhino and leopard at close quarters. Go there before dawn to see the sandgrouse. There are plenty of mammals to see at Etosha but the waterholes are meagre in November. The walk to the cave paintings in Brandberg was completed by less than half the group because of the heat in the afternoon so others had to hang around whilst the walkers returned. That was a waste of a good afternoon. That part of the itinerary needs to be tweaked. Accommodation varied understandably with Zebra Lodge excellent, though a fair distance from the dunes. Meals, mostly provided, were more than adequate and our two guides never failed to come up with something appetizing and different at lunch time. Overall a great experience, at pace, with plenty to see and enjoy.
Confirmed traveller: 26 November 2016
Published on: 28 November 2016
(7 out of 10)

Anthony

Liverpool
Some long travelling days in a truck that had seen better days! But some stunning scenery and wildlife.

Tour leader had good local and wildlife knowledge, but his daily briefings were poor. Also the day the truck broke down he and the driver stayed with the truck while it was repaired - the 16 of us were squeezed into 2 small vehicles, 2 of us squashed into the boot space of 1 car for 2 and a half hours, very unsafe and dangerous. Plus the 2 drivers he found ad mitted they didn't really know where our lodge was! I know it is Africa but this was a very poor arrangement.
Confirmed traveller: 25 November 2016
Published on: 28 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Keith

Chobham Surrey
Overall we thoroughly enjoyed the tour of Namibia but there are some aspects we feel Explore should be made aware of and I hope you will accept the negatives as something to work on as they are meant to be constructive.
On the day we are due to leave Windhoek and whilst we were getting supplies of water for the next two days our leader was contacted by your agent in Namibia who wanted all our equipment which was to be used by our leader on the tour, especially during the lunch stops. This delayed us further by about an hour before we could set off. The lack of this equipment made our lunch breaks, on the rest of the tour, less satisfactory and we often had to resort to wayside restaurant/cafes which generally took nearly two hours for lunch. This inevitably delayed us considerably and as a direct result we arrived at the evening/night accommodation late, very often between five and six pm and had very little time to wind down after the drive before we had to get ready for dinner as we almost invariably had to leave the hotel by about 0530 even when there were no early game drives.
We had two nights at Zebra Lodge which was very good but as it was very far out of the way we had FOUR journeys on VERY bad roads (the worst on the tour) which as the vehicle we were using was pretty old (2009) and well used we found most unsatisfactory. Some of the seats in the transport were damaged, none of the arm rests worked, foot rests were often out of use and generally we had a very difficult ride. We are very well travelled but have never had as difficult and tiring experience as this. The ride was really hard although the driver, Brighton, was excellent and did his best. I suspect the suspension could be overhauled.
In essence it took nearly 1 and 1/2 hours to get to Sossusvlei from Zebra Lodge. We then had to go all the way back knowing that the next day we would do the same again as we virtually followed the same route on the way to Walvis Bay etc. This was such a pity as Zebra Lodge was very good indeed, just in the wrong direction. Whilst we appreciate that accommodation is not easy to find we found this just too much after two long days travelling.
Other accommodation was good other than Dunedin Star in Swakopmund which was poor and staff not helpful. Looking around at the other guests it seemed to be a bit of a 'doss house'!! We had two nights there. The Pier restaurant, the Tug Boat and Napolitana were very good. I went on the flight here but although we covered over 600kms I think a balloon flight would be better, if available. We did see three balloons near Sestriem a few days earlier.
Brandberg White Lady Lodge was an ideal setting after Swakopmund and the walk to the 'rock art' painting, although hard work was worth it. A lovely setting for the hotel with TWO pools which we had no time to take advantage of as we arrived just in time to get ready for dinner (again)! Two nights here would be an excellent time to relax.
Then on to Toshari via the Himba people before going to Etosha for two nights. I feel visiting the Himba was a bit of an intrusion but they seemed genuinely pleased to welcome us and sell some trinkets. Toshari was absolutely fabulous and the highlight of our accommodation. Lovely setting, a great pool where we even had time to swim and relax with a couple of drinks before an excellent buffet dinner! Could not be faulted.
Two days in Etosha were excellent and we particularly enjoyed the water hole with its seating and viewing arrangements. We did not take part in the night drive although I understand it was successful and elephant were seen by others. Catering was a bit hit-or-miss especially in regard to crockery and cutlery. Food though was good.
After two nights we travelled on to the Waterberg via the Cheetah Conservation Foundation which was very good indeed with super guides who explained so much very clearly.
The Waterberg Camp bungalows were good and the restaurant, staff, service and food about the best on the trip. The morning game drive was a great disappointment we saw little and our guide was no use whatsoever. He even started off by telling us that we may see nothing as when the animals hear us 'they all run away', his words!! Perhaps this was partly because the truck was so terribly noisy. We got the impression that all he wanted to do was to get us to a hide, dish out our breakfast and then leave. From the hide I saw only one animal, a Dikdik (I think) and the guide did not spot it anyway. Not worth getting up early for. The guide was in total contrast to our team leader who was always wide awake searching ahead, aside and even in the air for anything of interest.
Just to finish I would commend our team leader Melvin. He looked after us extremely well and never once, to my knowledge, complained about the lack of equipment which I believe contributed to the very long days. 10 hours on rough to very rough roads is just a bit hard to take in a vehicle which could have had better suspension.
The Pension Uhland at the start and end was very good and the staff and breakfast outstanding. They were all charming.
As I said at the beginning I hope Explore will take these comments positively as we certainly would recommend the company and Namibia to anyone who enquires.
Confirmed traveller: 19 November 2016
Published on: 02 December 2016
(8 out of 10)

Elizabeth

Very knowledgeable and excellent guide, Melvin, ably assisted by our brilliant driver, Brighton.
Accommodation on first and final night could have been better - very pleasant staff but very tired facilities at Pension Uhland - could be improved with better bedding/curtains and general renovation and refurbishment- first and last impressions are important.
Itinerary excellent with exception of Waterberg Plateau - totally underwhelming following Etosha!!
Rather too much road travel (and it was very bumpy!!) - if one or two legs could have been replaced by short flights, it would have made the whole experience even more enjoyable.
Confirmed traveller: 19 November 2016
Published on: 01 December 2016
(9 out of 10)

Lena

Hove
Excellent tour leader and driver. Namibia's main sights covered.
Confirmed traveller: 19 November 2016
Published on: 22 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Ali

York
The landscapes of Namibia are beautiful. Along with the flora/fauna and cultural experiences this was a fascinating and comprehensive tour. So many amazing experiences all supported by a knowledgeable and dedicated team of guide and driver. Thank you for a full and unforgettable trip!
Confirmed traveller: 18 November 2016
Published on: 28 November 2016
(7 out of 10)

Elsebeth

Copenhagen
Very bad tour leader in all ways. Was very rude. Not Explore standard at all. Did not give us any information about Namibia at all. Had no idea about logistics. I expect I guide to bring the money he should use, so we did not have to wait for hours in towns instead of spending time at the lodge and nice surrondings. At the WhiteLady people who could not hike to the White Lady ( it was nearly 40C) had to spend more than two hours out in nowhere. The lodge was 10 to 15 km away and the driver should have gone to the lodge with those people. I must say that the tour Leader has got a wrong job.
Hotels was overall very good except in Windhoek. I travelled with a friend I had never shared a room with before, and then it would be nice to have a room where you could close the door to the toilet.
The itinerary was perfect except for the Cheetah Conservation Foundation. We saw 4 cheetahs lying 25 m's behind a fence. And after that a sheep dog and some sheeps also behind a fence. No driving in the area. That was a bad experience. I would not have minded if the Tour was 14 days.
The local travel agency could offer better service than they did.
Confirmed traveller: 28 October 2016
Published on: 17 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Jennifer

Billingham
Tour was a good pace and really enjoyed seeing all different kinds of wildlife.
Confirmed traveller: 08 October 2016
Published on: 18 October 2016
(8 out of 10)

Alison

London
Itinerary
This trip is very varied and well thought out but ideally it could be a day longer (I’d have happily stayed an extra night at Waterberg Plateau).

Explore Leader
Our Explore Leader was a great guy; very organised and enthusiastic about making our trip enjoyable and his ability to produce interesting and varied lunches at the roadside (within 10 minutes of stopping) was admirable. However, he did lack knowledge about Namibia and it was apparent that this was the first time he had led this trip and in some cases had visited some of the locations. As a result we often had to resort to guide books and the internet (when available) to get information about Namibia.

Highlights:
• Cycle tour of Swakopmund Township– organised locally via the hotel. We spent 3 hours in the township with a local guide who told and showed us so much about the history, structure and life in the township. This tour should be added to the Explore Itinerary as an optional extra.
• Waterberg Plateau: attempt the Mountain View walk, the view from the top is spectacular.

Tips:
• Be prepared for some very long days sitting on the bus.
• Bring layers; it can be cold on the coast and on the early morning/evening game drives.
Confirmed traveller: 17 September 2016
Published on: 25 September 2016