It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
522 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 2,720

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast tours and experiences to choose from.

Namib Lodge Safari NL

Visiting: Namibia
Tour Duration 12 Days
 
Reviews for Namib Lodge Safari 4.5 out of 5 based on 7 ratings.

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Namib Lodge Safari tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
5 Susan Chandler, 12/04/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

Although my primary reason for going to Namibia was to see wildlife, I was also looking forward to getting a flavour of the country. I wasn't expecting to be so captivated by the changing landscape (sometimes it looked like we'd landed on the moon, changing to bright green grass and lots of trees). I loved that we stayed in such a variety of different accommodation, and the food was really good throughout the tour. Even though I knew Namibia was a German colony it was still surprising to see Swakopmund which has such European style buildings (and German street names). Highlight of the tour was Etosha and sitting at waterholes watching the animals coming and going. One of the best experiences of my life.

Read more
 
4 Lesley, 30/11/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

It must be the balloon flight over the Namib desert and Sosussvlei dunes. The tour was nicely paced although there were many long drives with only a day or two off to recuperate. Sadly the transport was not really comfortable enough for the long drives but the scenery was marvelous. The best for me was the Southern part where we hiked in canyons, climbed sand dunes and walked in dried up salt pans. It was all I had hoped for. The Northern part where we had game drives was of course interesting but as I had just come from Botswana it was a little anticlimactic although to see rhinos munching their way through the bushes was great. We saw lions preparing for a kill as well as leopard but just not quite as up close and personal as in Botswana. The lodges were really lovely, well run and in beautiful positions; sadly we didn't have much more than twelve hours in any of them. It is a leisurely holiday and wonderfully scenic.

Read more
 
4 Pamela Fiumano, 26/11/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Etosha National Park the game sightings were amazing we were lucky enough to experience amazing leopard sightings on two separate occasions. On a night drive we saw a pride of lions numbering 21, a very large family of elephants at a water hole and a kill where a pack of hyenas brought down an oryx.

Read more
 
4.5 , 04/12/13

Name

Janet Heather Cox

Tour Name

Namib Lodge Safari

Tour Code

NL

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The dunes, the fabulous dolphin cruise where one surprise followed another. Watching animals come to the floodlit waterhole at Okaukuejo. The night drive seeing lions with their kill and the circling hyenas - then a leopard! Waiters singing and dancing so joyfully.

Tour Leader Name

Manuel

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

He had an encyclopaedic knowledge of all the animals and made excellent lunches.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Go! Make sure you have something warm when you arrive at Swakopmund.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

The transport was a large safari truck, which was excellent for watching game. However it was very windy and bumpy when travelling in the back few raised rows on the dirt roads. There should probably be a change round from back to front each lunchtime.

 
5 Alison, 01/03/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Seeing hundreds of animals in and around the waterhole at the lodge at Okaukuejo in Etosha. The sound of the zebras splashing around and fighting with one another was astonishing. It was very hard to tear ourselves away. The huge dunes and the Dead Pan were also spectacular. In fact the whole tour was a highlight! The lodges were lovely.

Read more
 
5 Sue Roddis, 28/06/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Oh there were several......dolphins in Walvis Bay, shopping in Swakopmund, elephants in Etosha, petroglyphs in Damaraland, gin and tonics as the sun set..........and the lodges were way better than I expected especially the one at Twyfelfontein which was BEAUTIFUL.

Read more
 
0 Teresa (Explore staff), 29/12/10
I chose this trip because I had read about the sand dunes and the animals at Etosha. Both more than exceeded expectations! But there was so much else - the dolphins at Walvis Bay, the seal colony at Cape Cross, the rock paintings at Twyfelfontein ... and the unexpected little things: what must surely be the best apple pie in Africa if not the world at the coffee stop in Solitaire, the elephant that crashed through the trees onto the road right in front of our truck (alright, that was a BIG thing, but definitely unexpected!)  Most useful bit of advice I can think of is to take one warm clothing item  - it can be cold at night. (NL - 10th March 2010)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  3. Your Tour (*)
    Invalid Input
  4. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  5. Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  6. Tour leader name
  7. Do you have any feedback on your tour leaders performance?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  8. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  10. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  11.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA