It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
650 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews


Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.


Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Namib Lodge Safari NL

Visiting: Namibia
Trip Duration 12 Days

Reviews for Namib Lodge Safari

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Namib Lodge Safari trip available at present.

Please select a date:


Namib Lodge Safari reviews verified by reevooReevoo

25 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Namib Lodge SafariScores 8.9 out of 10 based on 25 reviews
(10 out of 10)


Tour was a good pace and really enjoyed seeing all different kinds of wildlife.
Confirmed traveller: 08 October 2016
Published on: 18 October 2016
(8 out of 10)


This trip is very varied and well thought out but ideally it could be a day longer (I’d have happily stayed an extra night at Waterberg Plateau).

Explore Leader
Our Explore Leader was a great guy; very organised and enthusiastic about making our trip enjoyable and his ability to produce interesting and varied lunches at the roadside (within 10 minutes of stopping) was admirable. However, he did lack knowledge about Namibia and it was apparent that this was the first time he had led this trip and in some cases had visited some of the locations. As a result we often had to resort to guide books and the internet (when available) to get information about Namibia.

• Cycle tour of Swakopmund Township– organised locally via the hotel. We spent 3 hours in the township with a local guide who told and showed us so much about the history, structure and life in the township. This tour should be added to the Explore Itinerary as an optional extra.
• Waterberg Plateau: attempt the Mountain View walk, the view from the top is spectacular.

• Be prepared for some very long days sitting on the bus.
• Bring layers; it can be cold on the coast and on the early morning/evening game drives.
Confirmed traveller: 17 September 2016
Published on: 25 September 2016
(8 out of 10)


Red dunes, beautiful scenery, great wildlife.
A meat eating tour, more pools than indicated. Hot with cooler seaside visit.
Take varied clothing & look after your bag.
Confirmed traveller: 27 August 2016
Published on: 08 October 2016
(10 out of 10)


So many highlights with the scenery and animals. Long journeys most days but the perfect opportunity to sit back and watch the landscape and enjoy some delicious lunches cooked by the tour leader en route. The lodges were exceptional which probably made the hotel in Swakopmund seem rather dark and dingy. Excellent game drives in Etosha National park and I recommend the optional night game drive as we saw lions up close. Watch out the inflated prices at the craft market on the way back to Windhoek as you can get the same items for 50-75% less at Windhoek airport! Wonderful trip.
Confirmed traveller: 27 August 2016
Published on: 08 October 2016
(10 out of 10)


Highlight was seeing the leopard in Etosha. Great lunches by tour leader Jean. Be prepared for how cold it is in Walvis Bay and Swakopmund. Lots of driving on very bumpy roads.
Confirmed traveller: 27 August 2016
Published on: 16 September 2016
(10 out of 10)


London, UK
Superb itinerary, fine tuned with attention to details. Despite Namibia being a vast country with long distances to drive, this trip successfully covers the country's highlights in an well organised way: the spectacular climbing of Sossusvlei sand dunes ,the eerie Deadvlei pan, the Siesriem Canyon, the abundant wildlife sightings (flamingoes at Walvis Bay, seals at Cape Cross on the skeleton coast) and Etosha National Park (we saw the Big Five) are impressive. The luxurious rest camps inside Etosha with their lighted waterholes at night provided a unique animal viewing experience. The accomodation was mostly in comfortable lodges with a good selection of food in the evening. A superbly knowledgeable guide accompanied us. This well- planned trip provided me with the most memorable experience and was great value for money.
Confirmed traveller: 13 August 2016
Published on: 23 August 2016
(9 out of 10)


Tour leader was amazing

Etosha national park the highlight

Sand dunes and desert awesome

Lodges very comfortable and food great

Very full on tour maybe 1 day in one location to relax

Overall amazing trip
Confirmed traveller: 06 August 2016
Published on: 15 August 2016
(9 out of 10)


This trip is perfect for anybody interested in wildlife, history, cultural and beautiful scenery. Namibia is the photographers dream as every corner you turn there is a photo opportunity. My first highlight were hiking up sand dune 45 at Sossusvlei at 6:30am, the hike takes about 30 minutes depending on your fitness level and once you reach the top, the views are incredible. My second highlight was Etosha National Park, on the first day we arrived into the park, we saw four lions within 30 minutes and from then onwards, we saw elephants, rhino, giraffe, springbok and the list goes on! We stayed in the Halali camp which is right in the middle of the park. The camp has its own waterhole so every night after dinner, we all went to the waterhole and managed to see Rhinos and Lions! All of the accommodation on the trip was great, every aspect of Zebra River Lodge was outstanding. Our tour leader Manuel was brilliant, I have never met somebody with so much knowledge! Anybody looking to book this trip, needs to be aware of the long journeys each day, please do not be put off booking this trip because of the journeys as there is so much to see during the journeys and plenty of stops along the way.
Confirmed traveller: 05 August 2016
Published on: 04 October 2016
(10 out of 10)


Los Angeles
Excellent tour - only recommendations - change the hotel in Swakopmund. It was freezing and the staff were rude and unpleasant. I would recommend including the boat tour - which was superb and cut the trip to the seal colony.
Confirmed traveller: 15 July 2016
Published on: 21 July 2016
(8 out of 10)


Overall we had a fantastic trip.
The many faces of the desert, particularly the amazing sand dunes
Atlantic coast, oh so different but very interesting
The national park, simply magnificent, nature at its best
Expect Long bumpy journeys
Extremely busy, not much down time
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2016
Published on: 17 April 2016