It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
611 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Namibia Lodge Safari NL

Visiting: Namibia
Trip Duration 12 Days
 

Reviews for Namibia Lodge Safari

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Namibia Lodge Safari trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Namib Lodge Safari reviews verified by reevooReevoo

44 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Namib Lodge SafariScores 8.7 out of 10 based on 44 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Eric

London
An excellent trip with an very experienced guide and driver. The guide Reinier, couldn't be more helpful and was enthusiastic in sharing the knowledge that he possessed about the country.
Confirmed traveller: 30 July 2017
Published on: 03 August 2017
(10 out of 10)

Gage

Bristol
Particular highlights of this trip for me were Reiner and Chris who went above and beyond to make it a great trip for me and the rest of the group. Apart from that, the country as a whole was simply spectacular. Would definitely recommend to anyone. Given the fairly large cost of the tour anyway, I don't think it would go amiss to add a slight additional cost to pay for upgraded accommodation in Swakopmund but that's really nitpicking.
Confirmed traveller: 29 July 2017
Published on: 07 August 2017
(10 out of 10)

Duncan

Loved the tour, guide and driver were excellent, nothing was too much trouble for them. Found the hotel in Swakopmund a little dark and a bit of heating in rooms would be nice! Swakopmund is quite cold.
Confirmed traveller: 28 July 2017
Published on: 02 August 2017
(8 out of 10)

Fiona

Dublin
The trip was very full on. Our guide Wendy was very good, very entertaining, very organised and a great cook. Our driver also. They were a very good team. The itinerary kept us moving.However, it was felt that 12 days is too short. We could have had an extra day in the Waterberg Plateau - we arrived late and left the next morning. Also, there was no time in Windhoek itself so it was not visited. So 12 days is not long enough. Overall a great experience.
Confirmed traveller: 17 July 2017
Published on: 28 July 2017
(9 out of 10)

Luca

London
Namibia is incredibly beautiful: the scenery of the Namib desert and the wildlife in Etosha leave you speechless. The tour covers everything that can reasonably be seen in a bit less than two weeks, but it would be good to add another day to explore better the Waterberg plateau and Windhoek, as we didn't have enough time there. Some people might complain that too much time is spent on the overland truck navigating through dusty gravel roads, but that is absolutely inevitable and you wouldn't be able to see much otherwise. In any case the trip is well worth doing it and I strongly recommend it!
Finally, we were very impressed by the tour guides and the driver: knowledgeable, experienced, entertaining, helpful and very good cooks! They prepared most of the meals, doing that in a quick and efficient way, coming up with different and delicious food every time. I'd immediately join another tour led by them.
Confirmed traveller: 14 July 2017
Published on: 18 July 2017
(7 out of 10)

Des

London
The itinerary was quite good, although the amount of time spent at Sossusvlei should be increased as it was not long enough to get the most out of the area. One day with a pre-dawn start to include Dune 45, Sossusvlei, Deadvlei, and Sesriem Canyon was ambitious to say the least. Most people in the party were not acclimatised to the temperatures and as a consequence found the afternoon a struggle. We would have got more out of the area over two days. The Hammerstein Lodge was a good hotel, but we felt the distance to Sossusvlei further compromised the time available in the Naukluft Park.

The 400km journey to Swakopmund was unavoidably long, but made even longer by a detour to Walvis Bay to stretch legs and look at a flock of flamingos before the final stretch. We arrived at the activities centre just before closing time to book optional activities for the following day, with the result that all of the popular options were sold out and no suitable alternatives were available. As a result, we spent the whole day wandering around the town. The museum was quite good but after that, there was little else to do. The Dunedin Star hotel was adequate.

The move to Khorixas via Cape Cross was a very long day, some 440kms. The seal colony is a long detour. This put us at Brandberg mountain mid-afternoon for the walk to the White Lady paintings. This was a good excursion and the local guide was excellent. The 4WD suffered a puncture during the onward journey to Khorixas Lodge - we arrived late at the lodge, but the staff provided a late dinner. The accommodation was good, although we had little time to use the facilities.

The visit to the Himba village was very interesting and worthwhile. Toshari Lodge was an excellent lodge and we were sorry not to stay longer. Having said that, Okaukuejo Camp was only another 40kms further and it seems a shame not to get into Etosha sooner, which would then release a day in the itinerary for more time in the Sossusvlei area.

Etosha is clearly an amazing wildlife reserve but the amount of game seen on this trip was limited - No lions or elephants (although we got a brief glimpse of a leopard). Halali rest camp was just adequate - the accommodation was good, the waterhole was great, but the service in the restaurant was slow and rather poor; with a couple of notable exceptions, the staff were unhelpful to the point of rudeness. The optional night game drive was quite expensive but well-led and in the absence of big game, the wildlife they spotted was interesting.

The onward journey to Waterberg Plateau included another long detour to the Cheetah Conservation Foundation. This was interesting and I would have wanted to see more of these cats, given the time and effort spent getting there. The Waterberg rest camp was a pleasant location and the walk to the plateau was well worthwhile. The early-morning game drive wasn't popular - only one person had enough energy to do it but apparently it was worthwhile.

Back in Windhoek, the Klein Windhoek guest house was a mixed bag. The rooms were fine but the ongoing building works were noisy and service at breakfast was somewhat haphazard.

The picnic lunches en route were initially a pleasant surprise, but started to pall after a while. The time spent prepping food and washing up inevitably ate up time which was at a premium on several days.

Our named tour leader was not able to run the tour and his replacement appeared to have little or no experience of leading a trip and had only completed previous tours as a driver. He struggled to communicate requirements clearly and his briefings didn't always cover basic and essential information, such as timings, when and how much water to buy and what kit to take on activities, which led to some confusion at times.

While our guide's apparent lack of experience was sometimes a concern, he was always a very pleasant and helpful person and between loading and unloading the vehicle, driving long distances in some very demanding conditions and providing the picnic lunches he certainly worked very hard. He had a good knowledge of wildlife and was a great spotter, both on the game drives and en route.

Up until now I have always rated Explore tours, but after this trip I have reservations. The scenery and wildlife is stunning but the local staff arrangements did not inspire confidence and while the local tour provider is primarily responsible, the consequences reflect directly on the company's reputation.
Confirmed traveller: 22 April 2017
Published on: 02 May 2017
(10 out of 10)

Phil

Exeter
This really was the trip of a lifetime! A packed itinerary of adventures led by Lucky, our amazing host who was so friendly, so knowledgable and so hardworking - a real credit to the tourist industry and we considered ourselves the Lucky ones to have him.
Helped by a great group of people on this trip, it was filled with laughter and shared experiences which will last a lifetime including the sand dunes at Sossusvlei, the Himba village and the magnificent Etosha National Park. This tour far exceeded my expectations and I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone.
Confirmed traveller: 25 March 2017
Published on: 01 April 2017
(6 out of 10)

Zeeba

London
Highlights : Sand-boarding, dunes and Himba village
- Not enough free time
- Not enough exercise/walking
- Too long sitting in the truck
- Sometimes not well thought out
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 18 February 2017
Published on: 20 February 2017

I’m sorry that you didn’t enjoy aspects of your trip. This trip is graded as ‘Full On' as there are a lot of early starts and included activities and experiences. Namibia is a large country and we do have to travel some long distances to get to the national parks, sand dunes and other attractions. Unfortunately this cannot be avoided if you want to explore this beautiful country. We have been speaking to our local leaders to ensure that our itineraries are operated exactly as planned and that on long drive days there are plenty of stops to stretch legs and get some fresh air.

(9 out of 10)

James

Cork
A very detailed itinerary of essentially the northern half of Namibia. Spectacular desert landscapes and amazing wildlife everywhere, especially in Etosha. Be prepared for long drives over bumpy roads.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 09 December 2016
Published on: 10 December 2016