It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
610 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Namib Lodge Safari NL

Visiting: Namibia
Trip Duration 12 Days
 

Reviews for Namib Lodge Safari

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Namib Lodge Safari trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Namib Lodge Safari reviews verified by Reevoo

13 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Namib Lodge SafariScores 8.6 out of 10 based on 13 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Gail

Kenilworth
Overall we had a fantastic trip.
Highlights:
The many faces of the desert, particularly the amazing sand dunes
Atlantic coast, oh so different but very interesting
The national park, simply magnificent, nature at its best
Tips:
Expect Long bumpy journeys
Extremely busy, not much down time
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2016
Published on: 17 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

The tour involves some long drives, however, the main roads are good and the truck was comfortable with the changing scenery, and roadside wildlife sightings for the sharp eyed, making the journey special. Other than at Swakopmund , the lodges were often off the beaten track but in beautiful locations, particularly Zebra Lodge, Brandburg and Waterberg. The night skies are breathtaking and the opportunities for wildlife watching endless.
At Sossusvlei you will see probably the most spectacular sand dune desert in the world with awe inspiring landscapes.The wildlife sightings particularly at the waterholes in Etosha are wonderful, the highlight probably being a family group of Elephants staying drinking and bathing for over two hours with close up views, but more unusual sightings included Leopard, Cheetahs, Honey Badger and Bat Eared Fox.Various Antelope species, Baboon, Giraffe, Warthog and Zebra are all abundant throughout the tour.
Confirmed traveller: 27 November 2015
Published on: 15 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

Richard

Bristol
Although there is a lot of travelling including very bumpy roads the views and experiences are well worth it. The £ exchange rate makes for a very cheap holiday. Saw far more animals than expected. The accommodation was far better than expected ( compared to trip adviser reviews). As vegetarians there were no problems with food-- meat eaters really enjoyed experiencing the varied local game on offer.
It would have been helpful to have a more comprehensive list and content of optional excursions to ponder on. The optional flight we took were half the price as suggested in the trip notes ( due to £/rand exchange rates)- well worth it to get an idea of the extensiveness of the sand dunes/ Namib desert/Skeleton coast.
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2016
Published on: 11 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Richard

Preston , Lancashire
We chose this trip primarily for the wildlife and landscapes and neither disappointed. After leaving Windhoek, the first two nights at Zebra Lodge were fantastic, especially the clear starry nights and the mysterious nocturnal sounds including zebra hoofs past the lodge in the middle of the night. If you are fit enough, the 2.5 hour trail walk is recommended, the panoramic views are stunning with a good chance of seeing the magnificent Verraux`s Eagles.

An early start was needed for the visit to Naukluft/Namib National Park and the breathtaking views of the dunes at Dead Vlei and Sossusvlei. An unexpected sighting in Sesriem Canyon was a meter long sand snake, we gave it respectful distance not knowing whether it was venomous.
Swakopmund was almost European in style and architecture rather than African and was particularly cooler after the dry desert heat. For birders the lagoon off the beach is probably the best place to visit on the whole trip. We enjoyed close views of Eastern White Pelican, Greater & Lesser Flamingo, White Winged Stilt, Little Stint, Pied Avocet, three species of Tern and five species of Plover amongst numerous wetland birds.
We had hoped to go on the dolphin watching trip but this was not available due a block booking by a cruise ship operator, the alternative was a desert safari which far exceeded expectations with the expert local guides finding Sidewinder Adders, Geckoes, Spiders, Lizards and an entertaining Chameleon.
The visit to the Cross Bay Cape Fur Seal colony was memorable with extremely close up views of recently born pups , albeit some had fallen victim to marauding Black Backed Jackals and Kelp Gulls. The coastal waters supported massive numbers of Black and other Tern species.
The stay at Brandenburg White Lady Lodge was rather too short lived as it was a place for total relaxation, helped by the playful tame Meerkat. most unusual to see wanding around the Pool grounds and bar area! Sadly we did not see the expected Desert Elephants there, although a walk around the area allowed frequent sightings of various Hornbill species and a pair of Ruppells` Parrots.
After visiting the Twylfontein Bushmen Rock engravings and the Himba Tribe people we finally arrived at Etosha National Park. At both camps where we stayed the awterhole sightings were memorable with several Lion, night and day close up views of Elephants with many young, Black Rhino and many Giraffe and various Antelope species. The game drives allowed us to see four Cheetahs with a recent kill, a somewhat fortuitous sighting of a Leopard and a rare daytime sighting of a Honey Badger. It is also worth going on the optional Night Safaris where we saw Bat Eared and Cape Foxes, but large and small cats and even Pangolin can be seen. Bird life is extensive in the Park and the Lodge grounds with several Vulture species, Marabou Storks, Pale Chanting Goshawks, Secretary Birds, Wood Hoopoes and various Hornbills quite easy to see along with beautiful Purple and Lilac Breasted Rollers and Scarlet Chested Shrikes.
After leaving the Park, we enjoyed an educational visit to the Cheetah Conservation Fund project where we learned how they are working with the local farmers to prevent them killing the beautiful animals by providing them with dogs to guard their animal flocks. Do not expect to see young Cheetahs here as captive breeding is illegal in Namibia.
Before returning to Windhoek we stayed at the beautiful Waterburg Plateau with stunning mountain scenery and surprisingly lush grounds with attractive walking trails. Expect to see many diminutive Damara Dik-diks, the smallest Antelpoe species along with Baboon and Warthog. Again the bird life is stunning with many species of Sun Bird, Warbler, and Love birds.
All in all it is a wonderful tour, days can be tiring with the travelling but the views from the tour vehicle are often changing and stunning. For the sharp eyed many bird and animal species can be seen from the vehicle, Raptors in particular are common on the telegraph posts. Nick and Vjorn had excellent knowledge about the mammals particularly in Etosha but a Namibian bird guide would be beneficial for anyone wishing to identify the bird species. On our tour we identified over 150 bird species, although many would be overlooked without some field skills.

In relation to advice do bring a good torch as it can be dark at times and it can be cool at Swakopmund. Prices were very cheap with the exchange rate so you do not require too much cash for the trip unless you like the shopping in Swakopmund!
For anyone remotely interested in wildlife, photography or stunning landscapes then you will thoroughly enjoy this tour, you do require a degree of travelling stamina, but the lodges are in stunning locations and the effort will be well rewarded.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 20 November 2015
Published on: 24 November 2015
(8 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Be prepared for a very hectic schedule, often not arriving at the accommodation until 6pm and leaving again the following morning at 7am.
Confirmed traveller: 26 November 2014
Published on: 07 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Susan

Ruislip
Lots of wildlife sightings
Great scenery, especially at Sossusvlei
Confirmed traveller: 18 September 2015
Published on: 13 October 2015
(8 out of 10)

Olwen

Quorn
Sights seen were great and Louis' wildlife knowledge was superb. You do need to be ok getting up early nearly every day eg 5am; you do need to be able to carry your own bag which will get very dusty in truck so don't bring new luggage. It will get very hot and uncomfortable on the truck at times- and ladies bring a sports bra if you don't want to sit at the back of truck with arms clamped to chest! Do be prepared to swop around seats in truck some are definitely better than others and "need to sit at front as get motion sickness" is not an excuse- take precautions or don't come on trip that involves 4-500 km on largely dirt roads most days.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 26 September 2015
Published on: 08 October 2015
(8 out of 10)

Christopher

Namibia is a wonderful country from the sand dunes of Sossusvlei to the great white pan of Etosha National Park. The itinerary covers a lot of ground, necessitating some long journeys, usually on dusty, bumpy roads,however, this is all part of the experience and the rewards are worth it.
The highlight was spending the evening sitting by the waterhole bordering the lodge watching Black Rhino gather, drink, bathe and play fight.
The accommodation was very good throughout, but particularly mention Zebra River Lodge set in a canyon on the way towards Sossusvlei.
Manuel, was a superb guide, driver, cook and calmly dealt with any problem.
Confirmed traveller: 18 July 2015
Published on: 07 October 2015
(9 out of 10)

Susan

London
Very busy itinerary, but great to see so much of this wonderful country. The leader had an answer to every question and he and our driver prepared amazing lunches every day. Really good standard of food everywhere we stayed too. The wildlife was the highlight of my trip - we saw leopard, cheetah, rhino, elephant, more types of antelope than I'll ever remember! Best adventure of my life.
Confirmed traveller: 21 February 2015
Published on: 02 October 2015