It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
633 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Similar, but less expensive:

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Namibia Lodge Safari + Cape Escape NLC

Visiting: Namibia
Trip Duration 23 Days
 

Reviews for Namibia Lodge Safari + Cape Escape

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Namibia Lodge Safari + Cape Escape trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Namib Lodge Safari + Cape Escape reviews verified by reevooReevoo

5 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Namib Lodge Safari + Cape EscapeScores 6.4 out of 10 based on 5 reviews
(7 out of 10)

Elizabeth

Brighton
Bad choice of transport. Changed vehicle 3 times. Last one was not a 4x4 and got stuck in mud near Brandberg mountain so missed famous rock carving of White Lady of Brandberg.
No GPS and tour leader had no way of calling for assistance.
3 different itineraries were in existence: one for those doing Namibia only, one for those doing both tours and one provided to tour leader by Jenmans.
Khorixas Lodge terrible accommodation. No electricity in room thus no AC. Filthy.
Etosha was great and saw many game even though rainy season.
Confirmed traveller: 16 March 2017
Published on: 19 March 2017
(5 out of 10)

Tina

Winnipeg
Namibia has stunning landscapes,a land of the lost feel.
I did not expect it to be an easy trip most of the reviews prepared me for this.
I have been to several places in remote Africa,and the accomodations and customer service was also what I expected.
Louis was an excellent guide his knowledge of the terrain and animals superb
Tip, Explore people who pay big money for a trip don't like getting up at five in the morning
if not absolutely necessary When I asked the guide why he said Explore needs to change some of the accomodations to cut down on some of the driving time. Too many out of the way lodges
So I give Namibia a 9
I also would have chosen to go to a more unique country other than South Africa
When you fly 24 hours 1 overnight to get somewhere you don't want to find what you have in your ownback yard
South Africa boring
I can wine taste anywhere
The cave is okay I have seen better
We have ostrich farms
it was so windy you couldn't even see the penguins
The bus was horrible we sat like sardines with people we didn't know who joined later
There was no leg room I expect way better bus as this should have been better then the bus in Namibia
The Round the Bend lodge is filthy

The game reserve was the best this trip had to offer
The tour leader read from his phone,
South Africa gets a 2

Ps I am Canadian and I want you to know that it is very sad watching British people slowly but surely rip the tour the tour leader apart so they can try to get money back at the end of the trip
It is disgusting how they have travelled so extensively which takes money ,but if you mention the word gratuity or tip to them they recoil in horror
The tour leaders did what they were supposed to do the accomodations were what you would expect
Most of them just don't want to give the tour leader a tip at the end of it so they wil resort
to backstabbing
Then they will come after the company because they want their money back.
I don't even want to sit at the same table in a restaurant ,as the service they get is poor there is a reason,they also know how cheap the British are one night the service was not great and no one would pay the ten percent tip included in the group bill so we just paid it

Thanks

TIna
Confirmed traveller: 28 February 2017
Published on: 04 March 2017

Hi Tina, Thank you for your thoughts. I am pleased to see you enjoyed Namibia but am sorry to see South Africa didn’t wow you. As we offer adventure travel sometimes getting up before the sun is necessary – regardless of the cost of the trip! We do get some mixed feedback regarding the more remote lodges but, on the whole, being immersed in the lonely landscape gives an idea of the breadth of Africa and you are more likely to see the wandering animals visiting the waterholes. I am sorry the group didn’t utilise the tips kitty – it does help in the situations you mention.

(8 out of 10)

Alison

The two parts of this holiday are very different.
Namibia is a vast country with a small population and unique, empty desert scenery. The Namib Lodge safari was a classic group holiday with the group sharing meals together. Lunch was cooked by Manuel, our guide, and Johannes, our driver, and their professionalism and good humour really enhanced this amazing trip. Despite the saying “Africa is not for sissies”, the accommodation on this holiday was always comfortable, although the drives were long and often bumpy. Minus points 1) The Brandburg walk to the cave paintings was undertaken in the heat of the day with temperatures in excess of 40C. Most of the group did not attempt it. I started out but did not make it. The hike should have been scheduled for early morning as with Dune 45. 2) I would not recommend the optional night safari drive at Etosha. You have as much chance of seeing animals at the lodge waterhole that you can visit for free.
The flight transfer to Cape Town went smoothly but on arrival we found no rooms were booked at the hotel. This was resolved but made for an unsettling start.
The Cape Escape was a very different holiday – people, cities, towns, commercial attractions and stunning scenery, a kaleidoscope of impressions. We did spend a lot of time in the vehicle which was cramped, with no P.A. for the guide to brief us on the complicated itinerary and its many options. Several options were integral to the tour and it would help to have these additional costs included, or paid to the guide beforehand, to save time accessing currency and queuing to pay for tickets. Most meals apart from breakfast were extra. This did give choice, but as most restaurants found it difficult to cope with our size of group, we tended to split for meals - a downside for me. We ate together at Round the Bend, but I could not see the purpose of the long bumpy drive in from Swellendam to arrive near dusk and spend the night in a tiny hut. Also, the historic buildings in Swellendam were closed on a Sunday and we had already visited the larger and more impressive Stellenbosch. This time could be better spent elsewhere on this tight itinerary. There were numerous highlights and surprises on this trip, and our guide was helpful in arranging options such as a visit to a township. However, although I certainly enjoyed the Cape Escape, I think the itinerary needs reviewing as it is trying to cover too much in the time available and does not foster the group experience.
Confirmed traveller: 07 December 2016
Published on: 09 January 2017
(5 out of 10)

Helen

Cambridge
The Namib Lodge Safari was excellent and exceeded our expectations. I would not recommend the Cape Escape and this has unfortunately affected my review.
Confirmed traveller: 29 November 2016
Published on: 06 December 2016

Thank you for your feedback for regarding your recent trip to South Africa. I’m sorry that the Cape Escape extension did not meet your expectations, if you would like to provide more details about your experience, please contact me - cr@explore.co.uk.

(7 out of 10)

Irene

Edinburgh
Overall the tour was worthwhile doing. The accommodation exceeded my expectations but the transport provided did not meet my expectations as I found the buses used uncomfortable for the long journeys undertaken, particularly in Namibia. I would recommend that anyone considering this trip be prepared for discomfort. If I were to book another holiday with Explore I would be asking for detailed information regarding the buses being used and the number of people in the group. I had understood that the group was limited to 16 but there were 18 people on the Cape Escape.
Highlights of this trip for me were definitely Etosha, Soussusvlei, the waterhole at Halali Rest Camp where we were able to watch animals at night and also the Penguins at Boulder Beach.
The Namib-Lodge Safari and the Cape Escape are very different tours which for me was a positive and a negative. With hindsight it may have suited me more to combine Namibia with, for example, Botswana.
Confirmed traveller: 09 November 2016
Published on: 28 November 2016