It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
633 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Have you considered?

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Discover Nepal DN

Visiting: Nepal
Trip Duration 15 Days
 

Reviews for Discover Nepal

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Discover Nepal trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Discover Nepal reviews verified by reevooReevoo

19 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Discover NepalScores 8.9 out of 10 based on 19 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Alan

London
This is a tour with a very varied itinerary. We liked the fact that all but one place had more than a single night stay. This is quite a bonus as travelling on this trip, while not generally overlong is quite tough. It was admirably ameliorated by the fact we had a roomy coach to spread out in. The one disappointment about our trip, and one which nobody can do much about is the extreme pollution and dust in Kathmandu and the very poor low level visibility throughout the trip which meant we had no more than a glimpse of the snow covered high Himalayan peaks. We realise that views of the mountains cannot be guaranteed but from what we heard during our trip and from web research it would seem that viewings are far from frequent, even in the seasons that used to reasonably provide good visibility. The whole group felt as we did that the Trip Notes must really reflect that. There is far too much talk in them of "spectacular views of the mountains" when this is now apparently rarely possible. The expectation needs toning down otherwise disappointment will become the prevailing feeling.
All that said this was a very well constructed itinerary. The only change we would suggest would be to remove the spare day at the end in Kathmandu. While the pollution there is so bad it would be far better to spend an extra day at Chitwan or even, if that would increase the price too much, an extra day at charming Batipur to chill out.
Our guide Sudarshan could not be bettered. We have made many group tours with Explore, Exodus and other companies but no guide we have had, although many were very good, could better Sudarshan. His attention to detail, proactive planning, care and attention, anticipation of needs and above all warmth were remarkable.
Highlights for us we're meeting local people, white water rafting, Chitwan, Bouddhanath Stupa, food, Durban Square in Kathmandu and Batipur.
Lowlights were lack of reasonable visibility and the pollution.
Confirmed traveller: 06 March 2017
Published on: 09 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Jennifer

Loughborough
This really was a discovery of Nepal as a whole country not just the mountains. Lots of interesting places, friendly people, good accommodation and lovely food throughout. The tour leader "Su" was excellent = knowledgeable and passionate with attention to detail and always there to help. Lots of highlights but especially I enjoyed the white water rafting, the walks and the days in Chitwan. I would have liked another day in Chitwan as I felt time there was rather short instead of returning to Kathmandu for a day in the city which I felt unnecessary.
Good walking boots/shoes are needed and walking poles are helpful for the steep climbs up and down if you usually use these. Don't forget your binoculars for the wildlife. Also the weather can be changeable and hazy. Visiblility was poor some days and we only caught glimpses of the mountain ranges. For the same reason my flight landed 11 hours after the expected time so I lost my extra day in Kathmandu.
Confirmed traveller: 06 March 2017
Published on: 08 March 2017
(8 out of 10)

Martin

Romsey
A great trip with many memorable highlights. The hotel on Bandipur was just the best accommodation ever - such charm and character. Great sights in Chitwan - it exceeded my expectations. Kathmandu is very polluted with earthquake reconstruction taking place, and the roads are gruelling on longer journeys. But I wouldn't have missed it for the world. Very lucky to have such an amazing tour leader who was so helpful and made everything run so smoothly.
Confirmed traveller: 05 March 2017
Published on: 10 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Matthew

An excellent and varied trip around the country. Highlights include the old towns of Bhaktapur and Bandipur (the Old Inn at the latter makes for a fantastic experience), the Himalayan views from Nagarkot (we were largely unlucky with these but the last morning glimpse was very atmospheric), the shrines/temples/stuppas of Kathmandu, Gorkha and Pokhara, and the rhino, crocs and birds at Chitwan. The rafting was largely gentle, but a great afternoon, the walking steep in spots, but a wide range of abilities could undertake it. The driver (and assistant) were superb in testing conditions (roads being relaid or just narrow and pot-holed). Su, the guide, was magnificent - great knowledge, always aware, always alert to the needs of the group. The haze was the only problem - it meant we saw nothing of the Annapurna Range in Pokhara. Everything else above expectations.
Confirmed traveller: 05 March 2017
Published on: 09 March 2017
(8 out of 10)

Wendy

London
This trip was very exciting and challenging for me. There was lots to do and see.
Some of the activities were quit difficult especially walking up hills and mountains, but a great achievement when you've done it.
The highlight s were seeing a one horn rhino, going up a cable cart, and meeting the elephants.
The main drawback is the dust in the atmosphere .
Confirmed traveller: 05 March 2017
Published on: 07 March 2017
(8 out of 10)

Michael

Oxfordshire
An excellent way to get a taste of Nepal - especially if, like me, you aren't keen on very high altitudes. Good opportunities to see both city and rural life with a backdrop of snow-capped mountains. Sad to see the impact of last year's earthquake, but the stupas, shrines and temples are still well worth seeing. Air pollution in Kathmandu a minus.
Roads are not great, so be prepared for some long, bumpy rides. In particular the 'main' road from Muglin to Narayangarh (on the way to Chitwan) is pretty horrendous - road works, big lorries, steep drops and no tarmac! Our bus damaged its suspension on the way south resulting in a 2 hour wait to be rescued, and it took 2.5 hours to do the 35 km on the return journey. Although the Jungle Villa Resort in Chitwan is very good, I would question whether two days bouncing about on a bus is good use of limited time.
Overall pleased to have done the trip and to have been in the company of a great group.
Confirmed traveller: 27 November 2016
Published on: 05 December 2016
(7 out of 10)

Robert

Highlights were the views of the Himalaya, the local people and the mountain museum. Beware of the "gentle walking" advertised in the "why to book this trip" summary. One walk was over 5 hours which was mostly uphill and two other walks of around 3 hours included steep climbs all the way up - worth it for the views but not the gentle walk expected!
Confirmed traveller: 23 November 2016
Published on: 29 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Ramasamy

Bolton
Group number was not too large or too small. Gave an opportunity to get to know and mingle with each other. Tour leader was too willing and cater for all individual needs. High lights were many, Bhkthapur, Nagercote, Patan and water rafting on the Trisuli river and Hilltop Kali Temple at Gorka village are worth mentioning.
Confirmed traveller: 07 November 2016
Published on: 08 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

David

Scarborough
A varied trip that gives an insight into Nepal and its people and customs. The highlight in Chitwan National Park was seeing a one horned Rhino asleep at the side of the road and then it waking and passing within 6ft of the vehicle. The hotels were all good if a little quirky, but last years earthquake is still very fresh with roads unmade and piles of rubble where buildings once stood. Our tour leader Su looked after us well and always had a smile on his face with nothing being too much trouble, on walks he would be a t the front leading the party up a hill and the as if from nowhere would be coming up from behind havin checked the back of the group. One of the best tour leaders we have had.
Confirmed traveller: 06 November 2016
Published on: 19 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Barry

March Cambridgeshire
This is now our 17 tour with Explore and I consider this to be one of the best.An excellent
overview of the country its people and its culture.Everything had been well planned even
providing at cake to celebrate our 47 wedding anniversary.I cannot speak to highly of our
guide Sudarsham the best from all of our tours knowledgeable,caring always on duty.

I have never felt safer on a coach brilliant driver and co-driver coach always clean what a team, brilliant.
Confirmed traveller: 06 November 2016
Published on: 09 November 2016