It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
523 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Brochures

Our latest  brochures are available now, with over 450 adventures for you to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 1,843

Gift Vouchers

Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with over 600 tours & experiences to choose from. The perfect gift idea for any occasion.

Discover Nepal DN

Visiting: Nepal
Tour Duration 15 Days
 

Book now!

Reviews for Discover Nepal 4.5 out of 5 based on 8 ratings.

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Discover Nepal tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
4.5 John, 22/04/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The highlights for me included the riverslde Temple of Pashupatinath, the Bodnath Stupah, the amazing views at sunrise from the ridge at Nargakot and the amazing views of the Annapurna range from the hotel roof at sunrise in Pokhara. Chitwan including the boat trip and elephant safari was an experience and seeing a family of rhinos from the elephant was amazing. It was festival time celebrating the Nepalese new year whist we were there and the shocking practice of sacrificing animals was prevalent notably at the temples of Manakamana , Kathmandu and the hillside temple above Gurka. Another highlight was the new years eve celebrations in our hotel in Pokarah. They had hired the Nepalese rock band "Kramasha" for the evening. Once the band was in full swing we were dancing with the locals it was like the 'headbangers ball ' ! The locals really embraced us for joining in and I was really humbled by their gratitude and friendship.

Read more
 
5 Rosemary Kane, 11/04/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Seeing rhino at Chitwan NP.

Read more
 
5 , 27/12/13

Name

Stephen Back

Tour Name

Discover Nepal

Tour Code

DN

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Impossible to pick from so many wonderfull experiences. We looked forward to every morning as each day brought something new, even on one occasion for our tour leader! The unexpected elephant washdown certainly brought the greatest amount of laughter. You will not be bored.

Tour Leader Name

Bhakta Singh

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Enthusiastic & very knowledgeable about his country. Worked very hard to adapt to changing circumstances especially due to the countries elections.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Warm clothes for evenings in lodges. Travellers cheques are no longer accepted anywhere - even in banks. Torch essential.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Go with an open mind and enjoy this amazing country.

 
4.5 , 27/11/13

Name

Vicky O'Neill

Tour Name

Discover Nepal

Tour Code

DN

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

So many to choose from! Sunsire over the himalayas, safari in Chitwan, canoe trip in Chitwan, Flight to see Everest..

Tour Leader Name

Su

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

He was fantastic, looked after us all so well throughout the whole trip. So many amazing stories to tell and so kind and helpful all the time.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Be prepared for some of your accommodation to be basic but everywhere we stayed was unique in it's own way and all added to our trip. Airplane change in Delhi airport was the only down side - took forever!

 
4 , 15/08/13

Name

Jane

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Seeing a one-horned rhino in Chitwan

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Excellent - friendly, knowledgeable, very helpful and with a great sense of humour

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

"Accomodation in Nagarkot good - staff friendly, food very good - but rooms very cold and no warm common areas. Need to get their heating sorted out! Accommodation in Bandipur good but staff not very friendly, quite unusual for Nepal. Lovely town to stay in though & fabulous views"

 
0 Virginia, 19/12/11
Returned yesterday from the Discover Nepal tour.  What an excellent trip, providing a diverse and well rounded intro into Nepal.  Su, our guide is a wonderful man, and made every effort to provide us with the opportunity to see and experience as much as we could. The weather in the first few days let us down, but did not detract from the overall experience.  Highlights for me were seeing the mountains for the first time (on the way to Pokhara) and the Nepalese people.  We visited a deaf school (newly set up a few years ago) and a Tibetan Refugee camp-both were very insightful.  I have taken a series of photos that I shall name the "People of Nepal", which are great. The diversity of the culture and the experiences were second to none.  Our group all got along very well together.   Other highlights were the numerous walks up hills and steps (certain level of fitness required) and the elephant rides and walks in Chitwan.  It was my birthday whilst on trip, and Su did a couple of special things to make it fun. The food was excellent all round, particularly at Nagarkot. We visited a farming village near Kurintar (walked over the suspended bridge to get there). That was fascinating - these people recycle everything.  The cable car ride was great and at the top of the hill/mountain there is a temple (we were the only westerners there)-and the atmosphere was heady and festival like with a lot going on. It also provided another stunning view of the mountains. Great trip-great people.  Finally, I need to mention our fantastic and very patient driver and his helper (he is the best driver in the world-amazing). (DN - 13th July 2011)
 
0 L.K.S, 22/09/10
What a diverse experience this tour was both in terms of scenery, culture and wildlife. The highlight of the trip was being able to experience the way of life in Nepal rather than just the tourist viewpoint and to see the most amazing scenery. Our excellent guide included an invitation to a local wedding, visiting a school for the deaf, and he included country walks off the beaten track to see the true Nepalese way of life and wildlife. We also had a insight into the Hindu and Buddhist religion, both practised by the Nepalese and of course the amazing trip to Chitwan and the elephant safari. The tiger proved to be elusive but the rhino, bears and hornbill were just a few of the wildlife we saw. This was my first trip with Explore and although I am fit and active, I wish I had prepared myself better as although the trip is classed as a one star, the walks were mostly very steep. (DN- 6th March 2010)
 
0 Catherine Coleclough, 17/09/10
Never having holidayed solo before I was somewhat apprehensive when booking this tour – but having wanted to visit Nepal for over 15 years, I decided to take the plunge. I should never have worried – we were met by our Tour Leader, Deepen and quickly got to know everyone in the group. The group was very mixed, a mixture of solo travellers and couples, aged between about 32 and 69. Rather than run through the whole holiday, I’ll list a few highlights: My first highlight was the visit to Bodnath Stupah – huge and beautiful. Was very disappointed at Nagarkot, as due to the bad weather, it rained for 2 days, we were unable to do the sunrise or sunset walks. However, when we got to Pokhara, Deepen arranged for us to do a sunrise walk at Sarangkot. We walked uphill in the dark, our footsteps lit by our head torches. We got to our view point and stood waiting for the sun to rise. When it did the view of the Annapurna’s was spectacular.  This was what I came to Nepal to see! Pokhara is the place to do your souvenir shopping. Lots of places to eat and if you want somewhere to drink and listen to live music – I can recommend Busy Bees!  We did 3 or 4 walks on the tour – none of which were difficult, and we go to see some beautiful scenery and meet some great locals in the villages we passed through. (These were in Nagarkot, Gorkha & Pokhara) We had the chance to go rafting – but I don’t know whether it was due to the weather, but it was incredibly tame – barely no white water at all – I would give it a miss, unless you can see that the river is ‘white’. Chitwan was interesting – the elephant rides were interesting, though the 2nd one was a bit upsetting as the mahout did seem to hit the elephant an awful lot.  This aside, it was lovely riding so high and surveying all around us.  We didn’t see any tigers (I didn’t really expect to) but we did get to see a Black Rhino and it’s baby. The dug out canoes were certainly an interesting ride – very wobbly –but good fun. The drive back to Kathmandu is a long day, there is the option to fly back.  I went with the bus, and whilst it was a long day, I am glad I did it – we got to see some beautiful scenery and we had plenty of loo and refreshment stops. Back in Kathmandu, the Monkey Temple is worth a visit (Swaynambunath) – amazing temple and fantastic views across Kathmandu Valley. Patan is also worth a visit – you can get a taxi there for a few pounds. The final highlight was the Everest flight, whilst not cheap it was worth every penny. It is a small plane where everyone gets a window seat. If I am honest, the view of Everest itself is not great, however the overall view of all the mountains (including Lhotse & Nuptse amongst others) is amazing. They let us each have 2 trips to the cockpit to take photos from the front of the plane – spectacular!! I had waited 15 years to visit Nepal and was worried it couldn’t possibly live up to what I expected of it.  It certainly did, and some. This is a great tour for a first time visit to Nepal as it covers all the highlights. It is a busy holiday, but there are times set aside where you can do your own thing or just relax. Thoroughly recommend this holiday. Our guide Deepen was great – knew his stuff and made sure that everyone was able to complete the walks – at Ghorka the walk took us up 1500 steps and he made sure that everyone got there and those at the back were not under any pressure to keep up with those up front. He arranged for us to do a sunrise walk and generally ensured we all had a great holiday. (DN- 10th March 2010)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  3. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  4. Tour name (i.e. Inca Trail Trek)
  5. Tour Code (i.e. PQ)(*)
    Please enter the tour code of your trip.
  6. What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  7. Tour leader name
  8. How Was Your Explore Tour Leader?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  10. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  11. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  12.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA