It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
622 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Have you considered?

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Discover Nepal DN

Visiting: Nepal
Trip Duration 15 Days
 

Reviews for Discover Nepal

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Discover Nepal trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Discover Nepal reviews verified by reevooReevoo

24 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Discover NepalScores 8.9 out of 10 based on 24 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Laurence

folkestone
Excellent itinerary. Visiting numberous temples,stupas,markets,hillside villages and sites
of natural beauty. Staying in a variety of hotels and inns mostly for two nights or more
all bar one (Nagarkot were of a good standard.
Highlights: Bodnath stupa in Kathmandu. Bhaktapur, the square and town walk.
Optional cable car trip to Makamaman temple (totally safe and unforgettable)
Plethora of shopping opportunities in Pokhara, Bandipur ,the approach and the inn.
Chitwan the game drives, seeing numberous rhinos and other wildlife.
Tips : Sterling is easy to change throughout the trip Remember the value of the notes
by the animals on the reverse.
The driving on Nepalese roads is interesting,no motorways here. Uneven bumpy rides the norm, colourful freight vehicles and ever changing scenery more than make up
for any discomfort. Excellent driver and busboy.
Tour leader Kirman was exceptional full of knowledge in all aspects of his home country and ever willing to help.

Tne key word in Nepal is Namaste it has a multitude of meanings but above all brings a smile when greeting locals.
Confirmed traveller: 02 April 2017
Published on: 10 April 2017
(10 out of 10)

Sylvia

This is a brilliant and incredibly varied tour, with so many highlights. We stayed in hilltop villages as well as bigger towns. Do everything! The cable car trip was amazing,and Chitwan National Park was worth the long drive. Patan was beautiful, and I could have spent hours in the museum there. Bandipur is amazing, the hotel both atmospheric and comfortable.
Kiran, our leader, was excellent. He is very knowledgeable and hardworking, and was continually making sure that everyone was ok. His advice about matters such as health was invaluable, and his manner was perfect for the trip. He really did ensure that everything ran smoothly. I have many wonderful memories of my time in beautiful Nepal.
Confirmed traveller: 02 April 2017
Published on: 09 April 2017
(8 out of 10)

John

Leics.
As the views of the Himalayas from the various viewpoints reached on the trip were very limited due to mist/pollution, the highlight was the extra 'mountain flight' on returning to Kathmandu.
The optional cable car trip to the temple from Riverside Resort is a must.

Traffic everywhere is chaotic and bus travel is not for those of a nervous disposition.
The bus back from Chitwan to Kathmandu took 10 hours and the road is being 'improved' over 25miles which will take years to complete. We recommend that a group flight from Bharatpur should be arranged - it only takes c 20 min. - to avoid the lengthy bus journey and permit the 'morning walk' in Chitwan mentioned in the trip notes to be undertaken.
Confirmed traveller: 02 April 2017
Published on: 09 April 2017
(8 out of 10)

Alan

London
This is a tour with a very varied itinerary. We liked the fact that all but one place had more than a single night stay. This is quite a bonus as travelling on this trip, while not generally overlong is quite tough. It was admirably ameliorated by the fact we had a roomy coach to spread out in. The one disappointment about our trip, and one which nobody can do much about is the extreme pollution and dust in Kathmandu and the very poor low level visibility throughout the trip which meant we had no more than a glimpse of the snow covered high Himalayan peaks. We realise that views of the mountains cannot be guaranteed but from what we heard during our trip and from web research it would seem that viewings are far from frequent, even in the seasons that used to reasonably provide good visibility. The whole group felt as we did that the Trip Notes must really reflect that. There is far too much talk in them of "spectacular views of the mountains" when this is now apparently rarely possible. The expectation needs toning down otherwise disappointment will become the prevailing feeling.
All that said this was a very well constructed itinerary. The only change we would suggest would be to remove the spare day at the end in Kathmandu. While the pollution there is so bad it would be far better to spend an extra day at Chitwan or even, if that would increase the price too much, an extra day at charming Batipur to chill out.
Our guide Sudarshan could not be bettered. We have made many group tours with Explore, Exodus and other companies but no guide we have had, although many were very good, could better Sudarshan. His attention to detail, proactive planning, care and attention, anticipation of needs and above all warmth were remarkable.
Highlights for us we're meeting local people, white water rafting, Chitwan, Bouddhanath Stupa, food, Durban Square in Kathmandu and Batipur.
Lowlights were lack of reasonable visibility and the pollution.
Confirmed traveller: 06 March 2017
Published on: 09 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Jennifer

Loughborough
This really was a discovery of Nepal as a whole country not just the mountains. Lots of interesting places, friendly people, good accommodation and lovely food throughout. The tour leader "Su" was excellent = knowledgeable and passionate with attention to detail and always there to help. Lots of highlights but especially I enjoyed the white water rafting, the walks and the days in Chitwan. I would have liked another day in Chitwan as I felt time there was rather short instead of returning to Kathmandu for a day in the city which I felt unnecessary.
Good walking boots/shoes are needed and walking poles are helpful for the steep climbs up and down if you usually use these. Don't forget your binoculars for the wildlife. Also the weather can be changeable and hazy. Visiblility was poor some days and we only caught glimpses of the mountain ranges. For the same reason my flight landed 11 hours after the expected time so I lost my extra day in Kathmandu.
Confirmed traveller: 06 March 2017
Published on: 08 March 2017
(8 out of 10)

Martin

Romsey
A great trip with many memorable highlights. The hotel on Bandipur was just the best accommodation ever - such charm and character. Great sights in Chitwan - it exceeded my expectations. Kathmandu is very polluted with earthquake reconstruction taking place, and the roads are gruelling on longer journeys. But I wouldn't have missed it for the world. Very lucky to have such an amazing tour leader who was so helpful and made everything run so smoothly.
Confirmed traveller: 05 March 2017
Published on: 10 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Matthew

An excellent and varied trip around the country. Highlights include the old towns of Bhaktapur and Bandipur (the Old Inn at the latter makes for a fantastic experience), the Himalayan views from Nagarkot (we were largely unlucky with these but the last morning glimpse was very atmospheric), the shrines/temples/stuppas of Kathmandu, Gorkha and Pokhara, and the rhino, crocs and birds at Chitwan. The rafting was largely gentle, but a great afternoon, the walking steep in spots, but a wide range of abilities could undertake it. The driver (and assistant) were superb in testing conditions (roads being relaid or just narrow and pot-holed). Su, the guide, was magnificent - great knowledge, always aware, always alert to the needs of the group. The haze was the only problem - it meant we saw nothing of the Annapurna Range in Pokhara. Everything else above expectations.
Confirmed traveller: 05 March 2017
Published on: 09 March 2017
(8 out of 10)

Wendy

London
This trip was very exciting and challenging for me. There was lots to do and see.
Some of the activities were quit difficult especially walking up hills and mountains, but a great achievement when you've done it.
The highlight s were seeing a one horn rhino, going up a cable cart, and meeting the elephants.
The main drawback is the dust in the atmosphere .
Confirmed traveller: 05 March 2017
Published on: 07 March 2017
(8 out of 10)

Michael

Oxfordshire
An excellent way to get a taste of Nepal - especially if, like me, you aren't keen on very high altitudes. Good opportunities to see both city and rural life with a backdrop of snow-capped mountains. Sad to see the impact of last year's earthquake, but the stupas, shrines and temples are still well worth seeing. Air pollution in Kathmandu a minus.
Roads are not great, so be prepared for some long, bumpy rides. In particular the 'main' road from Muglin to Narayangarh (on the way to Chitwan) is pretty horrendous - road works, big lorries, steep drops and no tarmac! Our bus damaged its suspension on the way south resulting in a 2 hour wait to be rescued, and it took 2.5 hours to do the 35 km on the return journey. Although the Jungle Villa Resort in Chitwan is very good, I would question whether two days bouncing about on a bus is good use of limited time.
Overall pleased to have done the trip and to have been in the company of a great group.
Confirmed traveller: 27 November 2016
Published on: 05 December 2016
(7 out of 10)

Robert

Highlights were the views of the Himalaya, the local people and the mountain museum. Beware of the "gentle walking" advertised in the "why to book this trip" summary. One walk was over 5 hours which was mostly uphill and two other walks of around 3 hours included steep climbs all the way up - worth it for the views but not the gentle walk expected!
Confirmed traveller: 23 November 2016
Published on: 29 November 2016