It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
29 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 2,720

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast tours and experiences to choose from.

New Zealand Explorer NZL

Visiting: New Zealand
Tour Duration 20 Days
 
Reviews for New Zealand Explorer 5 out of 5 based on 10 ratings.

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the New Zealand Explorer tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
5 Jan Doyle, 26/04/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

Fabulous trip, you really get to see both the N and the S Island highlights. Good accomodation throughout. Lots of miles covered but NZ is stunning. I loved it and was a trip of a lifetime. Couldn't fault anything.

Read more
 
5 Gordon Wallace, 13/04/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

Suburb countryside and views. Adventure all the way - helicopter to glacier, jet boats, zip slide, mtn bike, whales, seals, penguins, albatross, beaches, hot spa and bubbling mud + great guide and companions. You HAVE to go!!!Our best holiday ever.

Read more
 
4.5 Brian Jackson, 01/04/15

Please Review Your Overall Experience And What Your Highlights Were

How do you select a favourite from a tour with daily highlights? Looking at the Milky Way at Omerama? Standing on top of Fox Glacier? contrasting Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch? Getting a suntan sailing in Milford Sounds? The Tranzalpine train views? Whale watching in Kaikoura? Fine dining in Dunedin? Jet boating in Queenstown? Ticking the cultural boxes with Art Deco in Napier and vineyards in Hawkes Bay? It's a beautiful country and it was a great way to see and do so much there.

 

Read more
 
5 Sue Hopkins, 06/03/15

Please Review Your Overall Experience And What Your Highlights Were

I had ominously high expectations of a holiday that I had to travel half way across the world to experience. Did it reach those heady heights? Yes, in bucket loads. I was surprised and delighted by the contrasting scenery - hot, sulphurous pools, soaring snow-covered peaks, vineyards, azure lakes. Highlights? Have to be he helicopter landing on Fox Glacier, observing rare yellow-eyed penguins and albatrosses caring for their chicks and the camaraderie of our great group.

 

 

Read more
 
5 Caroline Rawlinson, 11/04/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Hard to name just one on this amazing holiday, but digging into the hot sands and lazing in a spa bath at Hot Sands Beach on the Coromandel Peninsula was pretty amazing.

Read more
 
5 , 03/02/14

Name

Yvonne Ramsay

Tour Name

New Zealand Explorer

Tour Code

NZL

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Helicopter flight over Mt Cook. Breathless views... we had a landing on the tour and I felt as though I was on top of the world.

Tour Leader Name

Bernd

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Great leader, he was running the tour for the first time - did a fantastic job...

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Take a good camera!

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

This was my second tour with Explore and now holds many of my top lifetime experiences that I feel will be really hard to beat. Having led tours for many years with Explore with many highlights this one definitely packs in the WOWs! New Zealand had soo much to offer and in 3 weeks with great accommodation and in a comfortable vehicle I could not imagine a better way to see it. Not much time to relax as there is soo much to see - A great time to visit the Land of the Hobbit and the amazing Lord of the Ring film sets. And to fill in the gaps - AMAZING scenery and great wildlife opportunities.

 
5 , 10/12/13

Name

John Sturley

Tour Name

New Zealand Explorer

Tour Code

NZL

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Honestly too many. Rotorua, glaciers and mountains and fjords of the South Island. The farmstay as well.

Tour Leader Name

Stefan

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Very enthusiastic and highly motivated. Great information, especially as he is only a 'plastic' Kiwi!

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

One small warning - food and drink is quite expensive compared to other world destinations, on a par with UK and Europe, but delicious.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Wow, wow and WOW again! The people are friendly and very welcoming, always quick to offer a warm Kia Ora. NZ has so much to offer, with stark contrasts between the islands. North Island has many pretty cities such as Auckland (now spelled Orcland by some!), the art-deco Napier and the capital Wellington. Coromandel peninsula and the geothermally-disturbed interior at Rotorua are very picturesque. Oh yes, and I visited Hobbiton at Matamata. The rolling, agricultural hills look so green and reminiscent of back home. A scenic ferry trip between Wellington and Picton brings you to South Island, dominated by the "Southern Alps" and Fjordland NP. The scenery is truly jaw-dropping; the glaciers and mountains really have to be seen close up by helicopter, and the fjords of Milford Sound have to be travelled by boat to get the full impression of the looming, sheer rock faces. The cities of the South Island are a home-from-home, with the English-influenced, earthquake-devastated Christchurch and the definitely Scottish Dunedin. Queenstown lives up to the adrenaline capital of NZ, with many options for excitation. One minor disappointment - on the only wet day, we didn't get to go whale-watching at Kaikoura - but I soon stopped pouting and enjoyed the rest of the trip. I only took 1000 photos! I'm sooo glad I went.

 
5 Janet Bojan, 22/03/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Being launched into the Pacific ocean in a kayak was probably the most exciting moment - but there were several other unforgettable experiences such as a jet-boat safari up the Dart River. But the diversity and beauty of the New Zealand landscape will probably stay with me longest

Read more
 
5 Peter, 22/02/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

White water rafting on the Shotover River near Queenstown. However, the whole tour was exciting from one day to the next. It was full of different experiences, well-paced and fun.

Read more
 
4 Peter Stone, 12/07/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The whole tour was good.
Read more
Our Response

We are aware that there was a communication issue with our local agent before the start of this departure, which resulted in a tour leader initially not being supplied.  This was dealt with promptly, and individual explanations, apologies and compensation offered to all customers.  We can assure everyone that this tour will always be led by an Explore tour leader.

 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  3. Your Tour (*)
    Invalid Input
  4. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  5. Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  6. Tour leader name
  7. Do you have any feedback on your tour leaders performance?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  8. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  10. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  11.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA