It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
610 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

New Zealand Explorer NZL

Visiting: New Zealand
Trip Duration 20 Days
 

Reviews for New Zealand Explorer

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the New Zealand Explorer trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

New Zealand Explorer reviews verified by Reevoo

18 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
New Zealand ExplorerScores 9.2 out of 10 based on 18 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

To get the most out of NZ in such a short time,one has to travel long distances. A lot of the time is taken up travelling, there's no doubt. But this is travelling with a difference. The scenery is just gorgeous and quite different between North and South Island. Too many highlights to mention but Queenstown must be up there and the scenery and beauty on the Dart river jet boat ride. Yellow eyed penguins, cute little blue penguins not forgetting the ever retreating Glaciers of Franz Josef and Fox. Go now before they disappear forever! Smelly Rotorua with the grumbling earth beneath. Wellington and the cable car ride with a lovely stroll through the botanical gardens on the way back. The rebirth of Christchurch. The list of highlights is endless. Every day was a highlight. NZ does not disappoint.
Confirmed traveller: 21 December 2015
Published on: 15 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

KOHORN

Reading
Great trip - Herbie tour leader was great and looked after us and made sure we all ok, and gave us talks and tips on different aspects of New Zealand whilst we were driving to next destination. Got really good feel for New Zealand and saw loads during the 3 weeks. Could have done with bit more time in Wellington and Dunedin. Highlights for me apart from former 2 cities were Sea Kayaking, helicopter ride over Franz Joseph and Fox Glaciers, and Jet boating. We didn't get to see penguins and might be worth thinking if an evening could be fitted into schedule for this as seems that is best time to see them. Was a brilliant trip and group I was with were fantastic group people.
Confirmed traveller: 02 April 2016
Published on: 04 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Eugenie

Streatley
Highlights Napier, Queenstown and Oamaru. I would suggest two nights in Napier and a night in Oamaru even if it is just for passing through. Aukland does not need two nights, I would suggest one of the evenings can be aligned to Napier.
Excellent guide with a passion for the country and guiding.
Accommodation in Christchurch - awful - treated as a commodity and not as a guest.
Confirmed traveller: 11 March 2016
Published on: 16 March 2016
(9 out of 10)

Dudley

Cheltenham
Covering north and south islands in the 20 or so days means a lot of driving, maybe an option to do a slighter longer tour given the distance to NZ. Highlights were helicopter and jet boat rides. Scenery is magnificent... Milford sound. I added days at front to see Bay of Islands which tour would benefit from. Worth doing.
Confirmed traveller: 13 February 2016
Published on: 28 February 2016
(10 out of 10)

Nicola

Basingstoke
Visiting the Coromandel Beaches, Wellington Museum, South island, - particularly the West coast and Milford Sound.
Confirmed traveller: 21 November 2015
Published on: 18 December 2015
(10 out of 10)

Celia

South Devon
Amazing day every day, so different. Could not have done all we did if not joined the group.
Confirmed traveller: 20 November 2015
Published on: 25 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Christine

Melbourne
This trip provides travellers with an excellent overview of both islands. The itinerary is flexible and varied so there is ample opportunity to experience the beautiful landscapes opt for added adventure and or simply relax and enjoy the island's delicious food and remarkable wines. The hospitality of our Kiwi hosts was simply the best!
Confirmed traveller: 20 November 2015
Published on: 24 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

How do you select a favourite from a tour with daily highlights? Looking at the Milky Way at Omerama? Standing on top of Fox Glacier? contrasting Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch? Getting a suntan sailing in Milford Sounds? The Tranzalpine train views? Whale watching in Kaikoura? Fine dining in Dunedin? Jet boating in Queenstown? Ticking the cultural boxes with Art Deco in Napier and vineyards in Hawkes Bay? It's a beautiful country and it was a great way to see and do so much there.Herbie has an obvious love of New Zealand's environment, flora and fauna which was frequently apparent. His daily commentaries were interesting and informative and he was a pleasure to travel with.
Confirmed traveller: 01 April 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(6 out of 10)

Irene

Zug
The itinerary was very good and allowed to get an excellent overview over the North and the South Island. There was not just one highlight, but a lot to see and discover. Nature is fantastic and very impressive.

Recommendation: should you wish to book a single room, book as early as possible. I did not get the requested single room and I had to share the room with a rather unpleasant person.
Confirmed traveller: 20 March 2015
Published on: 10 October 2015
(10 out of 10)

Adrian

Burwash
South Island - generally. The only tip would be not to worry about the long flights - Air New Zealand are brilliant, contrary to several on-line revues.
Confirmed traveller: 21 March 2015
Published on: 02 October 2015