It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
646 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Reviews for New Zealand Explorer

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the New Zealand Explorer trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

New Zealand Explorer reviews verified by reevooReevoo

22 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
New Zealand ExplorerScores 9.2 out of 10 based on 22 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Sarah

Excellent trip, great way of seeing as much as possible in 3 weeks. For anyone thinking of booking, do it - but take plenty of layers and waterproofs (the weather really does change quickly!!)
Confirmed traveller: 03 December 2016
Published on: 08 December 2016
(9 out of 10)

Alan

Manchester UK
The tour was brilliant for seeing the max of NZ in a short time. The earthquake came while we were in Wellington and our next stop was to be Kaikoura which was cut off by the earthquake so we were lucky not to be there at the time, Explore simply put us on a flight to the next stop on the tour, Christchurch, I don't think they could have done anything better in the circumstances - brilliant. I didn't do the Tranzalpine train ride but the bus follows much the same route with the same scenery and can stop for photographs etc. which the train can't do so all in all I think it was better not to (and cheaper!). The weather wasn't so good so it would be better to go on a tour a month later (but I have been told that summer is late this year). I am hard of hearing so it would have been better if the bus used for the North Island had a microphone for the driver/guide as well as the one for the South Island. I bought a wheeled holdall specially for this trip as recommended but really an ordinary wheeled suitcase would have been just as good. The accommodation was all of a very high standard mostly in apartments with fridge, microwave, cooker etc. and in some cases even a dishwasher! As we were just living out of a suitcase in a different hotel every night this luxury was mostly wasted and lower class cheaper hotels would be just as good if available. The pace was described as "full on" but in fact there weren't any very long or difficult hikes etc. although there were early mornings and long days but much of it on the bus as I mentioned at first. Personally I don't think I'll do a similar trip again as too big a proportion of time was spent for me sat in the bus travelling between places and there wasn't much opportunity to chat to other travellers besides our group which for me is a big part of the travelling experience but I suppose that is inevitable when on such a whirlwind tour. I am very happy with Explore however and might consider a different type of trip with them in future.
Confirmed traveller: 03 December 2016
Published on: 05 December 2016
(10 out of 10)

Janice

Edinburgh
Our explore leader, Erika, was superb, nothing phased her, not even the earthquake. She was very responsive to all queries and made my holiday fantastic.
Confirmed traveller: 03 December 2016
Published on: 04 December 2016
(8 out of 10)

Joanna

Cardiff
The tour was very diverse and I felt that we saw a lot of the country and learnt a lot about its history, wildlife, vegetation and agriculture. Highlights for me were the Coromandel peninsula, the penguin-spotting trip and the west coast of the south island, which was spectacular. Although I enjoyed Hobbiton and the Maori feast, I would have preferred it if other activities had been included instead. Our trip to Milford Sound was somewhat marred by the food provided on the boat. It was not labelled and I had to wait some time for a chef to come out to advise which dishes did not contain meat. He suggested eating the Indian food, which I did, but this did not seem to be readily accessible and another member of the group was prevented from entering the area where it was being served. I would suggest either a boat trip without the lunch or ensuring that arrangements are made for any dietary requirements. The accommodation was generally of a good standard and the Admiralty Lodge in Whitianga was particularly impressive. I was also impressed by the efficiency of the local tour operator in making alternative arrangements after the earthquake affected our itinerary.
Confirmed traveller: 26 November 2016
Published on: 28 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

KOHORN

Reading
Great trip - Herbie tour leader was great and looked after us and made sure we all ok, and gave us talks and tips on different aspects of New Zealand whilst we were driving to next destination. Got really good feel for New Zealand and saw loads during the 3 weeks. Could have done with bit more time in Wellington and Dunedin. Highlights for me apart from former 2 cities were Sea Kayaking, helicopter ride over Franz Joseph and Fox Glaciers, and Jet boating. We didn't get to see penguins and might be worth thinking if an evening could be fitted into schedule for this as seems that is best time to see them. Was a brilliant trip and group I was with were fantastic group people.
Confirmed traveller: 02 April 2016
Published on: 04 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Eugenie

Streatley
Highlights Napier, Queenstown and Oamaru. I would suggest two nights in Napier and a night in Oamaru even if it is just for passing through. Aukland does not need two nights, I would suggest one of the evenings can be aligned to Napier.
Excellent guide with a passion for the country and guiding.
Accommodation in Christchurch - awful - treated as a commodity and not as a guest.
Confirmed traveller: 11 March 2016
Published on: 16 March 2016
(9 out of 10)

Dudley

Cheltenham
Covering north and south islands in the 20 or so days means a lot of driving, maybe an option to do a slighter longer tour given the distance to NZ. Highlights were helicopter and jet boat rides. Scenery is magnificent... Milford sound. I added days at front to see Bay of Islands which tour would benefit from. Worth doing.
Confirmed traveller: 13 February 2016
Published on: 28 February 2016
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

To get the most out of NZ in such a short time,one has to travel long distances. A lot of the time is taken up travelling, there's no doubt. But this is travelling with a difference. The scenery is just gorgeous and quite different between North and South Island. Too many highlights to mention but Queenstown must be up there and the scenery and beauty on the Dart river jet boat ride. Yellow eyed penguins, cute little blue penguins not forgetting the ever retreating Glaciers of Franz Josef and Fox. Go now before they disappear forever! Smelly Rotorua with the grumbling earth beneath. Wellington and the cable car ride with a lovely stroll through the botanical gardens on the way back. The rebirth of Christchurch. The list of highlights is endless. Every day was a highlight. NZ does not disappoint.
Confirmed traveller: 21 December 2015
Published on: 15 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Nicola

Basingstoke
Visiting the Coromandel Beaches, Wellington Museum, South island, - particularly the West coast and Milford Sound.
Confirmed traveller: 21 November 2015
Published on: 18 December 2015
(10 out of 10)

Celia

South Devon
Amazing day every day, so different. Could not have done all we did if not joined the group.
Confirmed traveller: 20 November 2015
Published on: 25 November 2015