It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
603 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Read reviews

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

New Zealand Explorer NZL

Visiting: New Zealand
Tour Duration 20 Days
 
Reviews for New Zealand Explorer

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the New Zealand Explorer tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

New Zealand Explorer reviews verified by Reevoo

13 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
New Zealand ExplorerScores 9.3 out of 10 based on 13 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Nicola

Basingstoke
Visiting the Coromandel Beaches, Wellington Museum, South island, - particularly the West coast and Milford Sound.
Confirmed traveller: 21 November 2015
Published on: 18 December 2015
(10 out of 10)

Celia

South Devon
Amazing day every day, so different. Could not have done all we did if not joined the group.
Confirmed traveller: 20 November 2015
Published on: 25 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Christine

Melbourne
This trip provides travellers with an excellent overview of both islands. The itinerary is flexible and varied so there is ample opportunity to experience the beautiful landscapes opt for added adventure and or simply relax and enjoy the island's delicious food and remarkable wines. The hospitality of our Kiwi hosts was simply the best!
Confirmed traveller: 20 November 2015
Published on: 24 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

How do you select a favourite from a tour with daily highlights? Looking at the Milky Way at Omerama? Standing on top of Fox Glacier? contrasting Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch? Getting a suntan sailing in Milford Sounds? The Tranzalpine train views? Whale watching in Kaikoura? Fine dining in Dunedin? Jet boating in Queenstown? Ticking the cultural boxes with Art Deco in Napier and vineyards in Hawkes Bay? It's a beautiful country and it was a great way to see and do so much there.Herbie has an obvious love of New Zealand's environment, flora and fauna which was frequently apparent. His daily commentaries were interesting and informative and he was a pleasure to travel with.
Confirmed traveller: 01 April 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(6 out of 10)

Irene

Zug
The itinerary was very good and allowed to get an excellent overview over the North and the South Island. There was not just one highlight, but a lot to see and discover. Nature is fantastic and very impressive.

Recommendation: should you wish to book a single room, book as early as possible. I did not get the requested single room and I had to share the room with a rather unpleasant person.
Confirmed traveller: 20 March 2015
Published on: 10 October 2015
(10 out of 10)

Adrian

Burwash
South Island - generally. The only tip would be not to worry about the long flights - Air New Zealand are brilliant, contrary to several on-line revues.
Confirmed traveller: 21 March 2015
Published on: 02 October 2015
(9 out of 10)

Mary

Burnley
The experiences I have had since travelling with Explore have given me a more in depth knowledge of the various countries I have visited compared to the tours I had done previously with other companies, although a good standard of fitness and mobility is required to participate in the tours.
Confirmed traveller: 18 April 2015
Published on: 01 October 2015
(10 out of 10)

Annie

London
The overall experience depends very much on random aspects, which cannot be controlled or predicted, for exasmple the composition of the group, and the tour leader.
I have been using Explore for 9 years now, and my experiences have been very mixed. My luggage had got lost in the tour of Russia (2009) and this was very badly dealt with by Explore. I only got a fraction of my losses back after many months and had to fight for it.

I like the format of Explore tours though sometimes important things have been excluded.
I also find that the team taking on bookings is variable
Confirmed traveller: 19 December 2014
Published on: 30 September 2015
(10 out of 10)

Peter

Callander
I've been on several trips and never been disappointed. On one occasion my passport, en route for the visa service, was stolen under the auspices of Royal Mail (very unsatisfactory response from them: always take out consequential loss insurance if using Next Day Guaranteed Delivery) and I couldn't go on an Explore trip. Explore very kindly allowed me to take the trip the following year. From then on Explore could do no wrong.
Confirmed traveller: 15 February 2015
Published on: 27 September 2015
(10 out of 10)

ROSALIND

Coleraine
I am a long term customer who has done many wonderful journeys with Explore. They always cover the most important things when organising an itinerart. The only reservation I have is that I wish they would always use decent hotels. Sometimes they are rather rudimentary.
Confirmed traveller: 21 December 2014
Published on: 26 September 2015