It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
638 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

New Zealand Explorer NZL

Visiting: New Zealand
Trip Duration 19 Days
 

Reviews for New Zealand Explorer

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the New Zealand Explorer trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

New Zealand Explorer reviews verified by reevooReevoo

30 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
New Zealand ExplorerScores 9.2 out of 10 based on 30 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Chris

Bexleyheath
What an excellent introduction to New Zealand made even better with the help of our tour leader Erika, she was excellent. It was a good idea of us to arrive a day early to avoid tiredness and to stopover in Hong Kong on our way home, Explore organised the flights for us - thank you.
We did all the option Neal excursions, when you come back his far then why not?
A beautiful country with some lovely people.
We would recommend this tour for scenery lovers everywhere.
Confirmed traveller: 14 March 2017
Published on: 17 March 2017
(10 out of 10)

Christopher

Darlington
Overall a very good introduction to NZ. We believe a longer trip would be justified to allow us to experience to the full the places we visited.

Highlights: Scenic beauty and variety; New Zealanders are very friendly; Jet-boat and kayaking; The substitute destination of Wallingford Lodge for Napier (this could be an excellent permanent addition to the itinerary)

Tips: It's more expensive than you may think. Be prepared for any weather.
Confirmed traveller: 11 March 2017
Published on: 16 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Karen

London
I saw so much. The itinerary was excellent and when certain trips weren't possible, our guide Erika came up with good alternatives. Accommodation was generally of good quality. We had interesting news nformation from our guide. Highlights were Cathedral Cove, the hangi, Hokitika,the stay at Wallingford, Milford Sound, Te Papa museum.
Confirmed traveller: 11 March 2017
Published on: 13 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Mary

Marple
Our leader Herbie was very informative and took us to very many places that were off the beaten track. He fell over backwards to make it a wonderful trip.
Confirmed traveller: 06 March 2017
Published on: 08 March 2017
(10 out of 10)

Kate

Wentworth
The New Zealand Explorer was really fantastic, with stunning scenery; an interesting, varied tour of towns, beaches, walks and wildlife. The Coromandel beaches were amazing as was kayaking into Cathedral cove. Seeing the geothermal, bubbling muddy pools at Rotorua and the geyser was very impressive. Napier was a lovely Art deco town with some great vineyards to discover! In and around Nelson there are some super walks, lovely beaches and more vineyards! We had amazing weather and the views and scenery down the west coast of South Island were incredible, seeing the glaciers and lakes. The helicopter ride was definitely worth while. Queenstown was really good, the jet boat was great fun and the views from the boat stunning. The town itself is lively and buzzing with lots of shops and restaurants. We were lucky that Milford sound was dry and sunny, so the boat trip was great as was the glow worm visit to the Te Anau caves - but take a fleece and waterproof as it gets cold on the boat out there. Dunedin was interesting and seeing the Albatrosses and penguins was brilliant. The Moeraki boulders on the beach south of Oamaru were amazing, considering their age and formation. Christchurch was interesting - if only to see what devastation the earthquake caused and how they are trying to rebuild it. I would definitely recommend this tour, it has something for everyone - so you won't be disappointed! We did have very good weather, but even so - walking boots are not really needed, just take good trainers. Also take a sun hat, fleece, and /or jumper and waterproof but a down jacket isn't necessary. Hotels are all high quality and provide shampoo etc. Food /drink is expensive, buy wine before a meal and put it in the hotel fridge! Enjoy this trip!
Confirmed traveller: 28 February 2017
Published on: 05 March 2017
(10 out of 10)

Pauline

Dublin, Ireland
This tour showed all the highlights of an amazing country. Lots of walks additional to the published itinerary. The landscapes were diverse and fascinating. Flora and fauna fabulous - tree ferns in abundance, "garden" plants in their native environments, the singing of the bell bird are real memories.

Natural parks abound and the addition of Abel Tasman was a bonus. We experienced Milford Sound on possibly the wettest day of the year - but that swelled the waterfalls to absolute torrents.

Excellent leadership thanks to a long time resident German guide - who knew everything about the island which he has loved for over twenty years.
Confirmed traveller: 11 February 2017
Published on: 16 February 2017
(8 out of 10)

Susan

Leamington Spa
The tour covered an extensive range of NZ's attractions and was an excellent introduction to the country. Highlights: the Wai-o-tapu thermal area, Napier, Cathedral cove, Zealandia, and the brilliant way the NZ side reorganised the itinerary which was disrupted by the Kaikoura earthquake which happened, literally, as we arrived.
Be prepared for long hours in the bus, but they are worth it for the amazing scenery
Confirmed traveller: 10 December 2016
Published on: 16 December 2016
(9 out of 10)

Sarah

Excellent trip, great way of seeing as much as possible in 3 weeks. For anyone thinking of booking, do it - but take plenty of layers and waterproofs (the weather really does change quickly!!)
Confirmed traveller: 03 December 2016
Published on: 08 December 2016
(9 out of 10)

Alan

Manchester UK
The tour was brilliant for seeing the max of NZ in a short time. The earthquake came while we were in Wellington and our next stop was to be Kaikoura which was cut off by the earthquake so we were lucky not to be there at the time, Explore simply put us on a flight to the next stop on the tour, Christchurch, I don't think they could have done anything better in the circumstances - brilliant. I didn't do the Tranzalpine train ride but the bus follows much the same route with the same scenery and can stop for photographs etc. which the train can't do so all in all I think it was better not to (and cheaper!). The weather wasn't so good so it would be better to go on a tour a month later (but I have been told that summer is late this year). I am hard of hearing so it would have been better if the bus used for the North Island had a microphone for the driver/guide as well as the one for the South Island. I bought a wheeled holdall specially for this trip as recommended but really an ordinary wheeled suitcase would have been just as good. The accommodation was all of a very high standard mostly in apartments with fridge, microwave, cooker etc. and in some cases even a dishwasher! As we were just living out of a suitcase in a different hotel every night this luxury was mostly wasted and lower class cheaper hotels would be just as good if available. The pace was described as "full on" but in fact there weren't any very long or difficult hikes etc. although there were early mornings and long days but much of it on the bus as I mentioned at first. Personally I don't think I'll do a similar trip again as too big a proportion of time was spent for me sat in the bus travelling between places and there wasn't much opportunity to chat to other travellers besides our group which for me is a big part of the travelling experience but I suppose that is inevitable when on such a whirlwind tour. I am very happy with Explore however and might consider a different type of trip with them in future.
Confirmed traveller: 03 December 2016
Published on: 05 December 2016
(10 out of 10)

Janice

Edinburgh
Our explore leader, Erika, was superb, nothing phased her, not even the earthquake. She was very responsive to all queries and made my holiday fantastic.
Confirmed traveller: 03 December 2016
Published on: 04 December 2016