It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
620 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Have you considered?

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

North India Explorer + South India Explorer QIS

Visiting: India
Trip Duration 32 Days
 

Reviews for North India Explorer + South India Explorer

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the North India Explorer + South India Explorer trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

North India Explorer + South India Explorer reviews verified by reevooReevoo

14 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
North India Explorer + South India ExplorerScores 8.7 out of 10 based on 14 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Maria

Ealing, London
Both tour leaders (Narji (North) and Tinu Abraham (South) were excellent and very knowledgeable. Varanasi, Udaipur, Kerala and Hampi were highlights for me. The things I didn't enjoy were the time spent travelling to each area (5-8hrs bus/coach journeys), maybe internal flights would be more beneficial as local flights are very affordable so shouldn't raise the price too much.

I was disappointed over the fact that pretty much everything we did was counted as an 'optional' so additional costs, but the costings included in the tour notes were extremely off (some x 4) and need to be updated annually. It would be preferrably to include these optionals as part of the tour and the price reflected in the overall cost. Optional should only be things such as if there are more than one choice for that day etc.

One last thing - the tour pace should be changed to Full On as we had a few older people that couldn't keep up with the pace...
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 22 March 2017
Published on: 29 March 2017
(8 out of 10)

Nigel

Staffordshire
This extended tour managed to cram in a fantastic array of experiences into a relatively short period of time - the sights, sounds and ... smells .. of India!
Highlights for us (too numerous to fully list) included drifting on the River Ganges, the enchanting and inspiring visits to two small, local schools, charming and insightful home visits and home stays, and of course ... the breathtaking sight of the Taj Mahal - all accompanied by a genial and knowledgeable guide.

Tips - a bike lock to secure your luggage on the overnight train was really useful, avoid taking heavy wheeled luggage (they don't go to well up and down flights of steps in the stations).
We found our lightweight sleeping bag liners absolutely invaluable - for the camping and the overnight trains. .... and our flexible three way 'zip off' trousers/shorts proved ideal to cope with both the colder evenings in the North and the sweltering days in the South.
Beware of biting insects on the evening boat trip in Varanasi.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 09 March 2017
Published on: 23 March 2017
(10 out of 10)

Angela

Ottawa, Canada
I went on trip aware that hot water might not be available everywhere. Generally it was if you were patient and ran shower or turned on heater first. Must say though, cool showers were welcome on very hot days so did not even use hot water! Most exciting for me was how unprepared I was to have my senses teased by the sights, sounds, tastes, and the information provided by our guide and the local guides. The pace of the trip was perfect, our leader Raj was very knowledgeable, personable, kept aware of our likes and dislikes as these changed in the course of the trip. He offered and gave us all his down time so we could experience as much of India, its people, current practices and its various religions and regions as was possible.I felt safe with him there, entertained as he is a great storyteller, surprised at the safety practiced by him and all drivers chosen for bus, car and tuk-tuk rides. Thanks to Raj and Explore Travel I can highly recommend this extensive trip of India... which did set me up to want to see and experience more there.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 08 March 2017
Published on: 28 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Ian

London
I would suggest taking a break between the two halves of this tour if time allows . The first half is full on and the second half not much more relaxed.

It is a very good tour and the Tour Leaders were excellent. It's a good way to get an introduction to India but the tour pace allows little time to get under the skin of India.

I wanted to do a tour before branching out on my own in India. I was glad I did, though India was not as difficult as I had been led to believe. In hindsight I would have picked a more relaxed tour, but these are not so easy to find.

Do read the trip notes carefully, especially about the extra costs for entrances and tips. And also please note the sums quoted, especially for entrances, are several years out of date. Entrance fees for foreigners are higher than quoted.

If starting in January note that the fog in the north will delay train journeys a lot. It can also affect flights.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 08 February 2017
Published on: 10 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Elizabeth

Reading
This tour does need a lot of stamina but is good for anyone visiting India for the first time and/or wanting a general insight and whistle-stop experience of India. (Forget Marigold Hotel).
I extended my trip at both ends and wish that I had allowed longer.
Highlights were the Lotus Temple in Delhi which was organised for me by the tour leader, sailing down the Ganges and overnight camping on the banks of the River Ganges, the camel safari was better than anticipated. We also had an opportunity to join a Hindu Wedding Party.The Ganges Aarti Ceremony was beautiful and also discovering the SHEROES CAFE in Varanasi was very special.
The school visits and children were delightful.

I am usually an independent traveler but felt that I wanted extra support and security in India. I am glad that I did and by the end of the tour was confident enough to go on to Mumbai alone.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 01 March 2016
Published on: 12 March 2016
(10 out of 10)

David

St Newlyn East, Newquay
a simply wonderful trip to a wonderful country made extra special by two superb tour guides

the road/train travel was a great experience, I actually feel as if I have experienced the real India

biggest highlight was probably the school visit in the south, such an incredible welcome by the staff and children

as for tips, in january/february it might be wise to pack some warm clothing for colder evenings in the north and compensate luggage weight by reducing other clothing because laundry facilities are available at all two night stopovers at very reasonable rates
2 of 3 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 11 February 2016
Published on: 27 February 2016
(7 out of 10)

Mary

Exmouth
Why? I have just written it once. Many pluses, not least beautiful India but not the trains. I would like to have travelled first class.
1 of 3 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 01 April 2015
Published on: 29 September 2015
(8 out of 10)

Monica

Milton Keynes
The sounds, smells, noise and colour of such a diverse country
1 of 3 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 18 March 2015
Published on: 06 October 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Combining the two tours gave us an amazing insight to the varied cultures and peoples you find in India. On the north tour, we experienced the intense vibrancy of city life, with all the noise, smells, and chaos that is part and parcel of life in India. We rode the Delhi metro and survived!! Seeing the Taj Mahal was a highlight as was our time in Udaipur with a boat ride on the lake around the Taj Palace Hotel as the sun set. The south India tour was just as fascinating, with more emphasis on stunning scenery. It was much warmer here, but bearable, and the train ride up to Ooty was a definite highlight. Another was the stay at the Shanti guesthouse, basic but comfortable with a superb setting in the countryside surrounded by paddy fields. The trip across the river here to see the lost city, was another highlight as the ferry outboard broke down and we were ferried back by coracle!! We had two leaders, one for each part, Abi on the north tour and Lukos on the south. Both were excellent, and looked after us all so well. Their combined local knowledge made for a really informative time in India.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 21 February 2015
Published on: 12 March 2016
(8 out of 10)

Ann

Kirkintilloch
Wonderful experience making a trip like this possible for me as a woman on my own.
It was excellent. Would like to see some singles only departures.
Your tour leaders are excellent.
A great experience
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 11 February 2015
Published on: 27 September 2015