It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
624 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Moghul Highlights MG

Visiting: India
Trip Duration 9 Days
 

Reviews for Moghul Highlights

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Moghul Highlights trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Moghul Highlights reviews verified by reevooReevoo

58 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Moghul HighlightsScores 9.0 out of 10 based on 58 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Susan

Darlington
The tour was amazing.
The only bad point was hotel in Agra which was disgusting and filthy should be removed from your tour.
We would have liked to have done a street food tour maybe you could offer this as an additional extra?
Confirmed traveller: 17 April 2017
Published on: 22 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Heather

Eastbourne
This trip is advertised as full on and is a non-stop fascinating introduction to Indian life, culture and the Golden Triangle.

We were thankful to have flown out independently two days earlier because many of our group were brought straight from the airport to the first excursion (tour of Old Delhi) with no time to freshen up or eat.

The itinerary of this trip is very well put together and shows complimentary aspects of India from the bustle and noise of the city to the vast expanse of agricultural countryside, from the tourism centres such as the Taj Mahal at Agra to the rural life of a local village and from the emergence of India as a modern state to snatches of a past colonial life.

The trip also includes two wildlife trips. The visit to the Keoladeo National Park, home to many wild birds, was superb and our guide was very helpful but the two game drives at the Ranthambore National Park were poor. Only one group were lucky enough to see a tiger and when we asked if we could see other animals instead our guides were not interested. Instead we spent more than an hour sitting in very hot sunshine waiting in case a tiger made an appearance.

I believe that one of the reasons for the apathy on the part of the guides is that they were automatically given a tip by our tour leader and so had no incentive to provide any service at all. Our tour leader asked for a contribution of £30 from each member of the group and said that he then would automatically tip everyone on our behalf. While this does make things easier it also makes it impossible to register dissatisfaction with any service received by not giving a tip.

We were particularly dissatisfied with the hotel at Agra which was very dirty and had no hot water. The other hotels used on the trip were satisfactory and the stay at the Hotel Bhanwar Vilas Palace in Karauli which forms part of the Maharajah's palace was a unique experience. All hotels had free wifi as well.

Our guide was very attentive and passionate about India and its history. His enthusiasm meant that he often spoke quite quickly which, together with his accent, made it often difficult to follow his conversation. Nevertheless he was happy to try to accommodate individual requests and to let us explore on our own and meet at an agreed time.

Tips - Drink at least 2 litres of water per day, take plenty of sunscreen and mosquito repellent, wear lightweight long dresses or trousers to protect from the sun and deter insects.

All in all a good trip and one I would recommend.
Confirmed traveller: 16 April 2017
Published on: 20 April 2017
(8 out of 10)

Suzanne

Worthing
Just as described - "full on". After a long flight, and 2 hours in a queue at Immigration, we were taken round the noisy overcrowded streets of Old Delhi, in tuk-tuks, cycle rickshaws, and by the very efficient Metro. I have been to India on previous occasions, so was prepared, but it took some of our group by surprise! The sights of the Taj, various forts, mosques and tombs, were all worth the visit, but the food was disappointing - the same everywhere we went, and expensive. Perhaps we have been spoilt by the quality and availability of Indian food in England. The highlight of the trip for me was the stay in Kerauli - the wonderfully faded palace and its peacocks, and the little town full of artisan shops, and of course the fact that we were the only tourists! The bird sanctuary was lovely, but the tiger safari really not worth the build-up. Only one of our four jeeps saw a tiger, and little attempt was made to see other creatures. We sat in blazing heat for 90 minutes while the drivers talked to each other. The variety of conveyance used was wonderful - apart from those mentioned already, we went on camel carts and cycle rickshaws. Our driver, Mahendra, and his assistant, Kishan, were a splendid support team, and our tour leader, Pradip, was a model of patience and courtesy. His knowledge and enthusiasm for the history and culture of his country were evident, but although his English was fluent, his accent was so strong that we often found his explanations incomprehensible, and tended to "tune out". Several members of the group suffered bouts of gastric upset, which may well have been caused by the heat, at 42 degrees in Jaipur this took even the locals by surprise. Tips: be prepared for an exhausting, but fascinating few days. And try to go to Rajastan in the cooler months!
Confirmed traveller: 16 April 2017
Published on: 20 April 2017
(10 out of 10)

Karen

Swindon
The tour was really full on - we packed a huge amount into the 8 days. So be prepared for early starts and all day activities. But it's worth it. It includes a mix of the city palaces, wildlife, and village life which is a great combination. Some of the city hotels are basic but acceptable (all had AC but sometimes things didn't work as they should). The philosophy of Explore is to use local businesses so the standards were more basic than we tended to select as independent travellers. However that gave us a much better insight than staying in chain hotels. I am really glad we used Expore for the tour!
Confirmed traveller: 26 March 2017
Published on: 03 April 2017
(10 out of 10)

Susan

Staffordshire
Tour exceeded my expectations! Thoroughly enjoyed experiencing the splendours of India including seeing the famous palaces, forts and temples and meeting local people and a real life wild tiger! I felt the timings of the tours were well planned as they avoided rush hours and hot times and there were timely lunch and rest breaks. Each hotel had its own special feature and charm but particularly enjoyed staying at the original Maharajah's home! There was always a wide choice of food from Indian feasts to western dishes! I feel my holiday experience was particularly enhanced by our tour guide Satish who made the holiday fun and enjoyable!! He always made sure everything went to plan smoothly, always let us know what was happening and what other activities we could do! He helped the group gel together and took us to lovely traditional places for lunch and dinner!
Confirmed traveller: 26 March 2017
Published on: 01 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Suzanne

Royston
A full on tour, not much time to relax but we saw everything we wanted to see (except tigers). In the absence of tigers, the highlight for me was the Taj Mahal, it is stunning. The hotels in Delhi and Agra were not of a very high standard but the last three were wonderful. The architecture of the old palaces and forts is remarkable. The weather was hot (pushing 40) and sunny so you may want to wear a sun hat. India is not for the faint hearted as there is a lot of poverty everywhere and refuse is just thrown in the streets but this all adds to the experience and makes you appreciate what you gave back home.
Confirmed traveller: 26 March 2017
Published on: 30 March 2017
(10 out of 10)

Peter

Royston, Hertfordshire
Wonderful trip experiencing many features of India in a short time. Excellent food, company and leader. Looking forward to the next Explore holiday.
Confirmed traveller: 26 March 2017
Published on: 30 March 2017
(3 out of 10)

Allan

Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
It was an interesting trip, particularly the national parks and some of the old forts and castles. But India is absolutely filthy, from one end to the other. I can't believe that no one picks up any garbage, they just count on the pigs to eat it all, plastic included. I have no idea what the government is doing, we saw no evidence of anyone trying to enforce anything or even setting any rules in the first place. This country has far too many people to simply let it run as a free-for-all, anything goes environment. This is 2017. People don't have to live like that anymore. It was totally disgusting.
Confirmed traveller: 12 February 2017
Published on: 20 February 2017
(10 out of 10)

Sue

Slough
Gordon our guide went over and above the call of duty to make my first trip to India outstanding in every way. We saw it all, did it all, our days were action packed and I wouldn't have wanted it any other way.
Confirmed traveller: 12 February 2017
Published on: 20 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Bob

USA
Gordhan was great! Professional, knowledgeable and efficient. Couldn't have asked for a better tour leader.

Might suggest a quieter restaurant four the first night dinner so that participants can get to know one another without the background noise/music that we had.
Confirmed traveller: 12 February 2017
Published on: 18 February 2017