It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
615 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Moghul Highlights MG

Visiting: India
Tour Duration 9 Days
 

Reviews for Moghul Highlights

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Moghul Highlights tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Moghul Highlights reviews verified by Reevoo

29 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Moghul HighlightsScores 8.9 out of 10 based on 29 reviews
(6 out of 10)

Charlotte

Central London
The group size of 18 was too large, and had been advertised on the Explore website as 10-16. It made a difference when walking through the streets of Old Delhi, queueing for the toilet, paying in shops and waiting for food in restaurants.
The itinerary was a good balance of expected UNESCO world heritage sights and local villages and communities. Highlights of the week, after the Taj Mahal and Tigers were: Fatehpur Sikri and City Palace Karauli, where we stayed in a delightful place near the palace.

The flight which the majority (15/18) took from London was 3hrs delayed. This had a direct impact on our tour of Delhi and Old Delhi. We completely missed out on the rick-shaw ride around Old Delhi and the spice market. A shame as almost all guide books recommend this.
The itinerary needs to be reviewed as some of the journey times are not true. For example one coach ride is stated to be 2hours long and in fact is 4hours.

I was underwhelmed with the Tour Leader: his lack of knowledge on local and world heritage sights could and should have been addressed. He was obviously on commission with several restaurants in particular the venue in Agra next to the hotel. There was an emphasis on tips and money from the Tour Leader which started within the first 30mins of the introduction. We each contributed £25 (18x£25 = £450x90 =40,500rupees), as I understand it is normal for each member of the group to assist with the distribution of the group tips. This did not happen.
There is room for improvement with the Tour Leader and his attitude to tourists and this tour.
Confirmed traveller: 10 April 2016
Published on: 28 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Jacquelyn

Orpington Kent
I really enjoyed the tour. It crammed in so many features, the only thing which could be improved is the group size was a little too big. In Delhi and Jaipur cities it was difficult to keep the group together so the tour leader walked very fast to keep us from straying into shops! We barely had time to take photos on these two city walking tours. I don't blame the tour leader for keeping walking extremely fast otherwise the group may have dawdled! You really had to keep your wits about you not to get left behind.
Confirmed traveller: 10 April 2016
Published on: 13 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Andrew

Saltash, Cornwall
The tour was a great introduction to India. We saw the well known sights that we expected but the highlights were the times that we went off the beaten track, e.g an impromptu visit to a school, camel cart ride through a rural town and members of our group being invited to dance in a temple.
The only aspect that I felt could have been improved was the very beginning in Delhi : there was no opportunity for the group to introduce themselves to each other and it took several days for us to learn each other's names. I also felt that including breakfast on the first morning would have made things a lot easier on our first morning, at The Royal Plaza, we were given no information about the options and were a bit confused, as a result we didn't have breakfast.
However our guide, Pradeep, turned out to be amazing, very calm and kind he did everything he could to ensure that we all got the most from our trip.
Confirmed traveller: 04 April 2016
Published on: 05 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

Deborah

Sheffield
A really great tour packed with different experiences.
I loved the game park and was so lucky to see tigers both days, a leopard yes a leopard, sloth bear, crocodiles, deer, monkeys, peacocks lots of different birds and much more that was the highlight for me.
The Taj Mahal was of course lovely
Confirmed traveller: 20 March 2016
Published on: 23 March 2016
(10 out of 10)

Wendy

Stoke Newington. London
I found the trip very very exciting and adventurous. Every moment was filled with trilled events. This was my first Explore trip and I felt I got value for money.
Confirmed traveller: 20 March 2016
Published on: 22 March 2016
(10 out of 10)

Katherine

Maidenhead
A wonderful trip . Our guide Virendarpal was excellent . He seemed to have an extensive knowledge of everything , bird life, animals , history , geography . He looked after us all with great care & changed our itinerary to give us some unexpected highlights. Every day was a joy , in this vibrant , fast moving country . My diary is full of highlights.
When chosing this trip, the safari trip to Ranthambore park looked the least interesting to me .... But seeing a female tiger @ close range , soon changed my opinion. Another highlight in the ' tick ' box !
A memorable trip , with good food , good companions & a great guide .
Confirmed traveller: 14 February 2016
Published on: 16 March 2016
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

A really comprehensive tour featuring the culture, history and architecture of that part of India. A good guide is essential and Pradeep was certainly that, with a detailed knowledge of all the places visited. The hotels were comfortable and convenient serving food we all enjoyed, most evenings the group were taken to a nearby restaurant where there was a wide choice of cusine. There were so many highlights it is hard to pick one, the TajMahal has to be top of the list but Agra Fort is impressive in its own way as is the City Palace in Kaurali. The only part that did not impress was Ranthambore, the Tigers were elusive and although we did all see one it was fleeting and obscured, the local guides were not great either. Part of the enjoyment of the trip depends on the members of the group, there were 16 of us aged from 18 to 70, we all got along really well with no grumbles at all, thank you all for being good companions. A special mention should go to our coach drivers, driving in India is a nightmare there are no rules at all. First class leader, very experienced, knowledgable and helpful. On duty from 6am to 10pm whatever we wanted he arranged.
Confirmed traveller: 23 March 2015
Published on: 12 March 2016
(10 out of 10)

Caroline

Yalding Kent
This was my second trip with the company. After a fantastic experience the first time in Egypt I was a little worried I would be disappointed. I couldn't have been more wrong. I had the most amazing time, the group were wonderful and the experience far exceeded my expectations.
Our tour guide, Virendarpal was just the best ever!! Nothing was too much trouble, he went above and beyond to ensure every member of his group had the best time ever.
The trip was a wonderful way to see The Golden Triangle, with a good mix of visiting the tourist attractions and going a little off the tourist trail proved just perfect.
My highlights were, of course seeing the magnificent Taj Mahal which you have to experience yourself to see it's true glory. We visited at sunrise and sunset, both were amazing.
Visiting Old Delhi, travelling on the metro, exploring the bazaar and it's narrow lanes and riding on a rickshaw allowed us to gain a true insight of the tough life styles of some of it's residents. Although they really wanted to sell us their wears they were friendly and helpful at all times.
Our visit to Keoladeo National Park was made so interesting by our guide's truly extensive knowledge about the birds which we saw in abundance. It was also a great pleasure to briefly meet his lovely family who live very close by.
The excitement of the game drive in Ranthambore National Park was an adrenaline boost - especially as we saw our first tiger.
I also enjoyed visiting a village where a family were kind enough to allow us to see inside their hut to gain a better understanding of their daily lives.
The visits to the Palaces, Temples (where we were welcomed to join in their service) and the Amber Fort were also just brilliant.
The ride on the camel-drawn cart was great fun as we plodded through the holy town of Karauli, children waving and smiling in abundance.
I would definitely love to return to India due to the wonderful experience gained.
I would thoroughly recommend this trip.
Thank you Virendarpal :-)
Confirmed traveller: 14 February 2016
Published on: 04 March 2016
(10 out of 10)

Dawn

Oxford
My first group holiday and also as a solo traveller, I can't recommend this trip more.
The itinerary was packed, a great way to get a glimpse of what India has to offer. While the Taj is the best moment, there's a reason it's a wonder I also enjoyed all other activities. Highlights were the rickshaw ride through Delhi both choatic and colourful and the camel cart ride to Madan Mohanji Temple. The wildlife section: Bird and Tiger watching added a slower but non the less amazing experience. Keoladeo was beautiful and such a contrast from the city.
Our Tour Leader Veeru was so enthusiastic about sharing his country and traditions. Nothing was too much for him, he obtained anything asked for and took care of every detail, was a Bouncer to overly eager hawkers and a fountain of information about many things with a passion for ornithology. He's a genuinely great guy to sit a round and chat about life with too.
Confirmed traveller: 14 February 2016
Published on: 28 February 2016
(9 out of 10)

Hayley

Exeter
Highlights were rickshaws in Delhi, Taj Mahal, bird park, meeting a village family, took took ride in Jaipur. Many fabulous moments.
Confirmed traveller: 14 February 2016
Published on: 16 February 2016