It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
646 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Moghul Highlights MG

Visiting: India
Trip Duration 9 Days
 

Reviews for Moghul Highlights

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Moghul Highlights trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Moghul Highlights reviews verified by reevooReevoo

39 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Moghul HighlightsScores 9.0 out of 10 based on 39 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Susan

Leeds
A good tour for an introduction to India with a varied itinerary including cities, big sites, smaller towns and some wildlife spotting. It packs a lot into just over a week so it feels like a longer break. We visited in mid November and the weather was perfect - warm but not too hot. There is quite a bit of bus travel but there is always plenty to see as you travel. The Taj Mahal at sunrise is an obvious highlight and it didn't disappoint and the other forts and palaces were also impressive. Personally I really enjoyed the time spent at Karauli - wandering through the town and then visiting the faded glory of the old palace and the arti ceremony at the temple. I was surprised by how much curious and friendly attention we received including people wanted to take photos with us. Lots of good memories of smiles and waves in so many of the places.
Confirmed traveller: 27 November 2016
Published on: 05 December 2016
(8 out of 10)

Kirstie

The trip was great, I loved being looked after and taken to the different sites - it took all the stress out of the trip. The Taj , the camel cart ride to the palace and the Ranthambore safari were my favorite. Our guide Abi was brilliant and looked after us well. And yes it is possible to eat curries for a week and not have Dehli belly!
Tips changing money at the hotel would have been better exchange rate than at the Thomas Cook kiosk at the airport.
Confirmed traveller: 14 November 2016
Published on: 22 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Jane

Wells
Stunning experience start to finish! Explore, as a company, was very helpful and professional and our guide was just 'the best'. I honestly couldn't have asked for more. Although the tigers were hiding in a bush and we only saw their footprints that alone was somehow really exciting, but we did follow a pair of sloth bears for some time watching them playing and rummaging around and there was so much other wildlife to see besides. Ranthambore was magical and the Unesco bird reserve was stunning. They gave a lovely balance with the historical sightseeing of the cities which have beauty and past wealth which had us all awestruck.
Confirmed traveller: 13 November 2016
Published on: 19 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Helen

Liverpool
A wonderful holiday and a great introduction to India with a well balanced itinerary. The Taj Mahal and Ranthambore were highlights as expected but Karauli and the old palace in particular were amazing. We had a lovely group of 12 which was about the right size for this tour. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this tour to anyone as a first time traveller to India.
A special thanks has to go to our tour leader, Abi. Not only did everything flow extremely well and was organised perfectly, Abi was so friendly and engaging and interacted well with the entire group. In addition, we were in the middle of the tour when the larger Rupee notes were withdrawn from use by the Indian government. This could have made for a very difficult time but not only did Abi manage to help every single one of us out in changing currency but he did it all with great humour and was incredibly reassuring throughout. He really couldn't have done more and I am so thankful he was our leader on this trip.
Confirmed traveller: 13 November 2016
Published on: 20 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Margaret

Colchester
Throughout the tour our guide, Ash, was extremely helpful and knowledgeable. I twisted my ankle and he organised easier access to accommodation and venues for the remainder of the tour. We also encountered a change in the monetary system in India. R500 and R1000 became unuseable, but Ash was able to ascertain which hotels would accept the old notes and organised change for everyone so that we could continue to enjoy the holiday to the maximum.

We occasionally encountered a cold shower, but we had been fore-warned in the itinerary.

The pace of the tour was full but we had plenty of time to savour each venue and the coach times included plenty of comfort stops along the way.

The highlight for me was Ranthambore NP. On the first game drive we encountered a leopard, 2 crocodiles and a sloth bear. The game warden was very knowledgeable and after sitting quietly for several minutes, heard the stag warning and we zoomed of to find a tiger walking sedately along the track in front of us. The driver skillfully drove around and we could see him in his full majesty. A sight I will never forget.

A superb trip, full of interest, well organised and supported by our guide, additional guides and the driver and his helper. I would recommend this particular area to anyone wanting a glimpse of life in India. Many thanks Explore.
Confirmed traveller: 13 November 2016
Published on: 14 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Peter

Wellingborough
Superb experience - This was my first holiday with Explore and my first as a single traveller joining a group, the tour was brilliant from start to end, there were 10 of us and a complete mix of backgrounds but all sharing a quest to discover India. Our tour leader Abby was brilliant and delivered far more than the itinerary, making sure we were all having a fabulous time - he organised restaurants for dinner and added escorted walks but more than that he really cared about each of us.
Our tour started on Saturday and Abbey took us to Old Delhi as it made more sense to see this busy and do New Delhi on the Sunday when it was quiet, to walk and use the tube was a brilliant way of seeing the real bustle of the city. The tour kept moving and it was amazing how much was packed in - the Taj Mahal at dawn was awesome, as were the forts and palaces, staying in a Maharaja's palace (with the family at home) added real magic. Six of us had real luck too seeing two tigers another fabulous experience.
Everywhere the local guides were brilliant, we ran to time and fitted everything in - Explore and in particular Abbey delivered and I'd have no hesitation in booking again.
Confirmed traveller: 31 October 2016
Published on: 03 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

SCOTT

Ely
This was my first trip to India and 7th with Explore but it was amazing, would recommend to anyone and as ever Explore were exceptional. Our Guide Abi was superb and the itinerary with Old Delhi the 1st day worked well. The FOC extra day meant we were rested before the trip and made all the difference,

The only thing I would suggest would be an idiots guide to Visa application so we can get all the information in 1 place to relatively easily complete the paperwork. I know it wasnt explore but it took me 3 nights as the system kept crashing when I went out to get the relevant information.
Confirmed traveller: 30 October 2016
Published on: 08 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Pippa

Twickenham
One of the best holidays I've been on in my life. Full on - as promised in tour description - but our excellent guide's efficient forethought and organisation meant we never felt uncomfortably rushed. We experienced an incredible amount considering the relatively short duration of the trip. Accommodation better than expected for the holiday price. Very hard to pick out one or two highlights, most days contained something I would have termed a highlight of a more run the mill holiday. Only slight disappointment for me was not seeing a tiger. This was my first visit to India and I really want to see more of the country thanks to this excellent introduction.
Confirmed traveller: 30 October 2016
Published on: 01 November 2016
(6 out of 10)

Charlotte

Central London
The group size of 18 was too large, and had been advertised on the Explore website as 10-16. It made a difference when walking through the streets of Old Delhi, queueing for the toilet, paying in shops and waiting for food in restaurants.
The itinerary was a good balance of expected UNESCO world heritage sights and local villages and communities. Highlights of the week, after the Taj Mahal and Tigers were: Fatehpur Sikri and City Palace Karauli, where we stayed in a delightful place near the palace.

The flight which the majority (15/18) took from London was 3hrs delayed. This had a direct impact on our tour of Delhi and Old Delhi. We completely missed out on the rick-shaw ride around Old Delhi and the spice market. A shame as almost all guide books recommend this.
The itinerary needs to be reviewed as some of the journey times are not true. For example one coach ride is stated to be 2hours long and in fact is 4hours.

I was underwhelmed with the Tour Leader: his lack of knowledge on local and world heritage sights could and should have been addressed. He was obviously on commission with several restaurants in particular the venue in Agra next to the hotel. There was an emphasis on tips and money from the Tour Leader which started within the first 30mins of the introduction. We each contributed £25 (18x£25 = £450x90 =40,500rupees), as I understand it is normal for each member of the group to assist with the distribution of the group tips. This did not happen.
There is room for improvement with the Tour Leader and his attitude to tourists and this tour.
Confirmed traveller: 10 April 2016
Published on: 28 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Jacquelyn

Orpington Kent
I really enjoyed the tour. It crammed in so many features, the only thing which could be improved is the group size was a little too big. In Delhi and Jaipur cities it was difficult to keep the group together so the tour leader walked very fast to keep us from straying into shops! We barely had time to take photos on these two city walking tours. I don't blame the tour leader for keeping walking extremely fast otherwise the group may have dawdled! You really had to keep your wits about you not to get left behind.
Confirmed traveller: 10 April 2016
Published on: 13 April 2016