It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
547 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Brochures

Our latest  brochures are available now, with over 600 adventures for you to choose from.

Gift Vouchers

Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with over 600 tours & experiences to choose from. The perfect gift idea for any occasion.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 1,843

Moghul Highlights MG

Visiting: India
Tour Duration 9 Days
  • Sunrise at the Taj Mahal
  • Tiger, Ranthambore NP
  • Elephant at Amber Fort
  • City Palace, Jaipur / Kym Garcia
  • Bustling marketplace / Daniela Reinhard
  • Tour Style: Classic
  • Tour Type: Small Groups
  • Tour Pace: Full On
  • Tour Comfort: Standard
 

Book now!

15 reviews for this tour

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Moghul Highlights tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
8 Alexandra Denby, 11/04/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Seeing the Taj Mahal was magical - we were there at sunrise, the first into the complex and I just sat and watched the colours of the Taj change as the sun rose. The place was so peaceful, even when full of visitors. Going to Keoladeo national park to see the birds had not been top of my list of things to see, but once there, it was an oasis of calm, no constant honking of car horns, no hustle and bustle, just us and nature, absolutely beautiful and peaceful. Our rickshaw rider knew all the birds and was more than happy to keep stopping to let us jump out and explore.

Read more
 
8 Jo, 11/04/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The Taj Mahal was obviously amazing. However, a real highlight was the bird sanctuary, which was only accessible by bike tuktuk so was a welcome oasis of calm amongst the hustle and bustle of the rest of the trip.

Read more
 
10 Alison Johnstone, 10/04/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The most memorable moment of the Mogul Highlights tour had to be the Taj Mahal. Made of white marble and inlaid with precious stones, it was utterly captivating in the sunrise light. I could have looked at it all day.

Read more
 
10 , 16/12/13

Name

Jill Webber

Tour Name

Moghul Highlights

Tour Code

MG

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The Taj Mahal and surprisingly for me, bird watching at Keoladeo Nation Park at Bharatpur. I had no idea the birds here were so beautiful.

Tour Leader Name

Yadu Singh

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Yadu had the most likeable personality. He also had an indepth knowledge of the history, flora and fauna of Rajasthan. He also sorted my connecting flight when the schedule changed making it impossible for me to meet my international flight. I would have been lost without him.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Go late autumn, the weather was fabulous, not too hot and not too cold.

 
9 , 06/12/13

Name

Colin

Tour Name

Moghul Highlights

Tour Code

MG

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

We had two game drives in Ranthambore National Park and saw a tiger on both occasions, a young male in the evening and an old female next morning. These were close up, about three metres away in the second case. A really moving experience. The Taj Mahal at dawn was also amazing. We were almost first in the queue and, as always, the Taj was breathtaking. We also visited a Hindu temple and witnessed a fascinating ceremony dedicated to Lord Krishna.

Tour Leader Name

Rafeeq

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Our leader, Rafeeq, was excellent. His organisation was top class and he really looked after us well. Great social skills.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Take binoculars for the wildlife. Also, take a head torch. This is useful for some of the early rises and also for the palace at Kerauli.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

This trip is about as good as it gets; a succession of memorable highlights.

 
9 , 02/12/13

Name

Cat Morrissey

Tour Name

Moghul Highlights

Tour Code

MG

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The Taj Mahal - l had very high expectations about visiting the Taj as it is one thing l have had on my travel 'to-do' list for a very long time. It is the most beautiful monument l have ever seen and certainly exceeded my expectations.

Tour Leader Name

Gajraj Singh

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Add on an extension to Goa or Kerala to enjoy some R and R after an adventure packed 8 days. This adds to the holiday and makes it the perfect mix of culture and down time.

 
10 Janet Catto, 27/11/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

"The Taj Mahal was definately the highlight of the Tour. Our Tour leader ensured we were amoungst the first in and therefore I was lucky enough to get photo's with no one else in.  This included one on the classic Diana seat. Plus the trip just kept giving more and more unexpected exceptional sights and experiences. Such as Fathehpur Siki and Karauli.  The elephant ride up to the Amber Fort was another unforgetable experience."

Read more
 
0 SC, 03/04/12
A great insight into India for first time travellers or just a week away. Each day we had a great experience, from the Jama Masid in Delhi, the Taj Mahal, to the unexpected surprise of the City Palace in Karauli which was stunning. Comfort varied at hotels from modern style to heritage style which were all unique in their own way, and what better way to relax after a day touring than a nice relaxing massage!   Our tour leader Rafeeq was excellent, very friendly and was always ready to answer any questions we had.  Would recommend not relying on your ATM card all time as they can be blocked by your bank, so remember to carry some emergency cash to change up incase you have any poblems - otherwise it can cause some unwanted panic to yourself.
 
0 David Marriott, 17/05/11
We went as a family of 4 and had a just fantastic holiday. Our guilde Anil was discreet and knowledgable and was even able to answer questions that the resident expert at the Jaipur observatory was unable to answer. The hotels and food were good.     Advice: Check the internet prices before trying to log on. Check bedside lamp wiring before you turn out or you might get a shock! Avoid salads and ice cubes but still take plenty of imodium.    Don't let my advisory notes put you off. It was truly a trip of a lifetime and very well organised and executed. I have no hesitation in recommending Explore and will certainly use them again.    Some of our photos: http://photos.orange.co.uk/album/755455183 (MG - 16th April 2011)  
 
0 NCD, 16/05/11
An excellent trip for somebody new to India, or on limited time.  The Taj Mahal was magnificent (as expected) but, for me, the highlights were Bharatpur (the National Park) and Karauli.  Puja, our Tour Leader, was excellent.  The noise, vibrancy and intensity of India is to be experienced to be believed.  Don't go expecting a relaxing holiday but do go expecting to enjoy yourself! (MG - 12th March 2011)
 
0 Wasim, 29/12/10
We had an amazing time, it was our honeymoon, there were so many highlights, Jami Masjid in Delhi, Fatehpur Sikri's picturesque beauty, Karauli was historical and the camel ride thoughly enjoyable, Jaipur was amazing and the surprise highlight of our trip, Agra was beautiful and the Taj Mahal and the Mini Taj were magical views. We were fascinated by the Moghul history and visited so many attractions including Keoladeo Ghana National Park at Bharatpur and we took 300+ pictures and loads of videos over the trip as there was plenty so see throughout. We visited a cinema in Jaipur to watch a Bollywood movie which wasn't part of the intinery but was fantastic for Explore to let us do. All the hotels we stayed in we're terrific especially Delhi, Agra, Jaipur the food was delicious with good choice. Although the limited choice for dinner and breakfast at Karauli was average but the hotel was very adequate athough not up to the same standards as the bigger cities we stayed in. Our advice for people wanting to travel to India would be expect to discover alot of history and wonderful food and alot of humid heat so only take light clothes. The negative aspects of the trip were the bus trip to Karauli which was uncomfortable and some of the expensive shopping malls our tour leader took us to. We would highly recommend this trip, we will hopefully like to do this trip again sometime in later life with Explore with the Rajastan tour as well. (MG - 15th August 2010)
 
0 GSB, 23/12/10
Highlight was seeing Old Delhi and the Taj Mahal.  Low lights were the train journey and being sick on return (probably food on plane). (MG - 31st November 2010)
 
0 Cally Pettit, 23/12/10
I enjoyed the holiday very much but being my first time in India it was essentially an education in how this part of India functions.  So the noise, smells, chaotic traffic, shanty shops, most things broken and unfinished, being overwhelmed by hawkers at times were a culture shock.  Our tour guide, Anil, was really good and did his best to give us an overall experience eg using the bus and the metro in Delhi, as well as being a wealth of knowledge and determined that we saw the mughal highlights in the tour title.  We saw wonderful heritage sites, of which the Taj Mahal was one.  We rode camel carts to a palace and coming back in the dark was so good because it was Divali and there were candles and fireworks and excited people everywhere.  The hotels we stayed in were very nice and I especially liked the one in Jaipur.  A tip for first time travellers to India is to not buy anything until you are about to get back onto the bus when some real bargains are to be had, but not to forget that sometimes we are haggling about a few pence which means nothing to us but may mean a lot to the local sellers.  All in all another really good Explore holiday and I will certainly be doing another one next year. (MG - 31st October 2010)
 
0 SML, 12/11/10
The bus pulled up at the side of the road and we entered a small courtyard. On each side were small dwellings built of mud and straw. A bison lazily chewed the grass, chickens pecked around, cats stretched out in the sun and children played at our feet. The family greeted us shyly, but, without language, they managed to convey their warmth, acceptance and interest. Our guide pointed out the stone where the women ground spices and the subterranean oven. The women were keen for us to take their photos and even to test out our cameras themselves. One woman pulled back the folds of her sari to reveal a small baby, born, maybe a few days earlier in one of these dwellings. Back on the bus, the group fell silent, touched by this human contact with the real India. Each of us was reflecting, perhaps, on the generous spirit of these people, and the world of difference between their lives and ours, with our gadgets, our health care and our so-called 'financial crisis'.(MG -30th January 2010)
 
0 Michelle (Denmark), 22/09/10
It was a wonderful tour for seeing the North India highlights. The accommodation was very nice, from a lovely hotel in Delhi to an beautiful old mansions in Karauli. We really tried a lot of different transports on the way; the "camel truck" was the highlight of these. After the tour I went on my own for 5 days to Varanasi - that was a fantastic experience also. My best recommendations for the MG tour. (MG- 9th February 2010)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  3. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  4. Tour name (i.e. Inca Trail Trek)
  5. Tour Code (i.e. PQ)
    Invalid Input
  6. What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  7. Tour leader name
  8. How Was Your Explore Tour Leader?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  10. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  11. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  12.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA