It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
629 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Moghul Highlights MG

Visiting: India
Trip Duration 9 Days
 

Reviews for Moghul Highlights

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Moghul Highlights trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Moghul Highlights reviews verified by reevooReevoo

43 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Moghul HighlightsScores 9.0 out of 10 based on 43 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Linda

York
This is the best holiday I've ever had. The hotels were all fantastic (some people got worse rooms than me though) all had kettles, hairdryers and were perfectly clean.
The guide Anil was friendly, helpful and full of knowledge. The tour bus was spacious and comfortable although seat belts didn't work or were absent on many seats. The tour covered a vast array of sights although I'd have happily missed out the carpet and marble shops that are massively overpriced and quite boring in comparison to the rest of the trip. The highlight for me was staying in the palace and meeting the prince, king and queen.
Half of our group got to see wild tigers but my jeep had a poor guide and driver. You need a very warm coat and gloves for the game drive early morning.
Mosquitoes were a problem so take plenty of repellent. Even though I was fully covered 2 men on the metro groped me, not sure how you can avoid this totally but sitting rather than standing helps protect yourself if possible.
Changing money was a real issue so make sure you take cards as well as cash.
Confirmed traveller: 28 December 2016
Published on: 02 January 2017
(8 out of 10)

Stephen

Good itinerary fitting a lot into a short space of time. Sometimes a bit rushed though, often due to travelling times between locations being underestimated which is unfair on the tour leader and clientele.
Some great hotels and fantastic overall experiences though.
Confirmed traveller: 28 December 2016
Published on: 30 December 2016
(10 out of 10)

Paul

Manchester
This was my first time in India and it was the perfect introduction, I could never have put this itinerary together myself and seen so much in a short time. Every day was amazing.
Confirmed traveller: 28 December 2016
Published on: 30 December 2016
(10 out of 10)

Susan

Sheffield
Excellent guide and group which helped make the tour very enjoyable. Too many highlights to mention as they were all so different but obviously the Taj Mahal and seeing a Tiger are at the top.
Confirmed traveller: 28 December 2016
Published on: 29 December 2016
(9 out of 10)

Susan

Leeds
A good tour for an introduction to India with a varied itinerary including cities, big sites, smaller towns and some wildlife spotting. It packs a lot into just over a week so it feels like a longer break. We visited in mid November and the weather was perfect - warm but not too hot. There is quite a bit of bus travel but there is always plenty to see as you travel. The Taj Mahal at sunrise is an obvious highlight and it didn't disappoint and the other forts and palaces were also impressive. Personally I really enjoyed the time spent at Karauli - wandering through the town and then visiting the faded glory of the old palace and the arti ceremony at the temple. I was surprised by how much curious and friendly attention we received including people wanted to take photos with us. Lots of good memories of smiles and waves in so many of the places.
Confirmed traveller: 27 November 2016
Published on: 05 December 2016
(8 out of 10)

Kirstie

The trip was great, I loved being looked after and taken to the different sites - it took all the stress out of the trip. The Taj , the camel cart ride to the palace and the Ranthambore safari were my favorite. Our guide Abi was brilliant and looked after us well. And yes it is possible to eat curries for a week and not have Dehli belly!
Tips changing money at the hotel would have been better exchange rate than at the Thomas Cook kiosk at the airport.
Confirmed traveller: 14 November 2016
Published on: 22 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Jane

Wells
Stunning experience start to finish! Explore, as a company, was very helpful and professional and our guide was just 'the best'. I honestly couldn't have asked for more. Although the tigers were hiding in a bush and we only saw their footprints that alone was somehow really exciting, but we did follow a pair of sloth bears for some time watching them playing and rummaging around and there was so much other wildlife to see besides. Ranthambore was magical and the Unesco bird reserve was stunning. They gave a lovely balance with the historical sightseeing of the cities which have beauty and past wealth which had us all awestruck.
Confirmed traveller: 13 November 2016
Published on: 19 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Helen

Liverpool
A wonderful holiday and a great introduction to India with a well balanced itinerary. The Taj Mahal and Ranthambore were highlights as expected but Karauli and the old palace in particular were amazing. We had a lovely group of 12 which was about the right size for this tour. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this tour to anyone as a first time traveller to India.
A special thanks has to go to our tour leader, Abi. Not only did everything flow extremely well and was organised perfectly, Abi was so friendly and engaging and interacted well with the entire group. In addition, we were in the middle of the tour when the larger Rupee notes were withdrawn from use by the Indian government. This could have made for a very difficult time but not only did Abi manage to help every single one of us out in changing currency but he did it all with great humour and was incredibly reassuring throughout. He really couldn't have done more and I am so thankful he was our leader on this trip.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 13 November 2016
Published on: 20 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Margaret

Colchester
Throughout the tour our guide, Ash, was extremely helpful and knowledgeable. I twisted my ankle and he organised easier access to accommodation and venues for the remainder of the tour. We also encountered a change in the monetary system in India. R500 and R1000 became unuseable, but Ash was able to ascertain which hotels would accept the old notes and organised change for everyone so that we could continue to enjoy the holiday to the maximum.

We occasionally encountered a cold shower, but we had been fore-warned in the itinerary.

The pace of the tour was full but we had plenty of time to savour each venue and the coach times included plenty of comfort stops along the way.

The highlight for me was Ranthambore NP. On the first game drive we encountered a leopard, 2 crocodiles and a sloth bear. The game warden was very knowledgeable and after sitting quietly for several minutes, heard the stag warning and we zoomed of to find a tiger walking sedately along the track in front of us. The driver skillfully drove around and we could see him in his full majesty. A sight I will never forget.

A superb trip, full of interest, well organised and supported by our guide, additional guides and the driver and his helper. I would recommend this particular area to anyone wanting a glimpse of life in India. Many thanks Explore.
Confirmed traveller: 13 November 2016
Published on: 14 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Peter

Wellingborough
Superb experience - This was my first holiday with Explore and my first as a single traveller joining a group, the tour was brilliant from start to end, there were 10 of us and a complete mix of backgrounds but all sharing a quest to discover India. Our tour leader Abby was brilliant and delivered far more than the itinerary, making sure we were all having a fabulous time - he organised restaurants for dinner and added escorted walks but more than that he really cared about each of us.
Our tour started on Saturday and Abbey took us to Old Delhi as it made more sense to see this busy and do New Delhi on the Sunday when it was quiet, to walk and use the tube was a brilliant way of seeing the real bustle of the city. The tour kept moving and it was amazing how much was packed in - the Taj Mahal at dawn was awesome, as were the forts and palaces, staying in a Maharaja's palace (with the family at home) added real magic. Six of us had real luck too seeing two tigers another fabulous experience.
Everywhere the local guides were brilliant, we ran to time and fitted everything in - Explore and in particular Abbey delivered and I'd have no hesitation in booking again.
Confirmed traveller: 31 October 2016
Published on: 03 November 2016