It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
615 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Have you considered?

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Kolkata to Amritsar RBA

Visiting: India
Tour Duration 16 Days
 

Reviews for Kolkata to Amritsar

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Kolkata to Amritsar tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Kolkata to Amritsar reviews verified by Reevoo

15 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Kolkata to AmritsarScores 8.7 out of 10 based on 15 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Robert

Biggleswade, beds
This was the best of my 3 trips to India, highlights were Varanasi, Shimla and Amritsar but the whole trip was excellent with a great balance. The hotels were of a very good standard but the Crown Plaza in Delhi was incredibly expensive for food and drink, all the other hotels were very good in this respect. I really enjoyed the whole experience.
Confirmed traveller: 10 April 2016
Published on: 17 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Judith

All trip notes say that you go through immigration for your trip to India in Kolkata you do not, you go through immigration at Mumbia and collect your bag before putting it back through to Kolkata. Travel light as hauling luggage on and off trains and on to luggage racks is not for the faint hearted. Carry a padlock and chain for the overnight train journey so you can lock your bag under the seats, to the rings provided as the carriage has no partitions, so anyone can get access to them.
A well thought out trip with many contrasts giving a very varied and comprehensive view of the cultures,religions and the peoples of northern India.
The highlight for me was being rowed on the Ganges as the sun rose seeing all the everyday activities coming to life and feeling totally peaceful away from the hub bub on the shore.
Our guide Anil had much information to impart which added to the holiday but just sometimes he omitted to tell us things about the next part of the trip, which would have been useful to know about the traveling, but this was only a slight criticism which did not detract from the holiday.
Confirmed traveller: 10 April 2016
Published on: 17 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

Caroline

Chichester
Very many highlights (Bodh Gaya, Varanasi, Agra, Shimla) but in terms of improvements I didn't feel I needed as long in Kolkata, whereas Amritsar, and to some extent Delhi, felt rushed.
I'm not sure how much choice there is but wonder if 2nd class (i.e. two-tier as opposed to three) overnight would be better and the toy train was cosy for such a long trip (but I appreciate the timing of a 'chair class' train might have been wrong). Most trains we caught there seemed to be a muddle about which seats were ours - the sort of thing you rely on the tour guide getting right.
The 'posh' hotel in Delhi wasn't great - perhaps swap for somewhere cheaper and more personal/ friendly where we can afford a drink and some laundry!
I have been spoilt by some fabulous tour guides in the past - Anil's 'delivery' was rather dull though and I found myself switching off. Also he was poor at anticipating info we might need/ appreciate like which queue to join at the Golden Temple and the timing of things - nearly two hours queueing when he said 20-30 minutes! (I very nearly missed the visit to the border as a result.) Incidentally the trip to the Golden Temple was included so I thought it was poor that we had to make our own way back to the hotel and at our own expense.
When giving flight info perhaps warn people that they may have to collect their own luggage during the Mumbai transfer - I nearly missed this as no one mentioned it at check-in. Oh, and in the trip notes I would find info about availability of a kettle useful - we had one everywhere and that was great.
Confirmed traveller: 10 April 2016
Published on: 15 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

Chris

Weymouth
Great rip but included a number of fairly long train journeys (6 hours or more).
Highlights were Varanasi (great views of ghats and exciting rickshaw ride in manic traffic), Agra (Taj Mahal) and Amritsar (Golden temple at night). We were lucky to experience and take part in a fantastic Holi Festival in Shimla.
Confirmed traveller: 27 March 2016
Published on: 06 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Sharon

This was my first visit to India and after this fantastic trip, it definitely won't be my last. The tour provided a great insight into different regions of India and the itinerary was extremely varied. Some of my highlights were the colourful flower market in Kolkata, the meditative atmosphere of Bodhgaya, a dawn boat ride on the Ganges, the wonderful architecture of the Taj Mahal and the Golden Temple and the border closing ceremony at Wagah. Our group was also extremely fortunate to be in India for Holi and had great fun celebrating this with the locals. However, on entering India, I nearly missed my flight connection at Mumbai due to the slowness of immigration, and others in our group had the same difficulties (two people missed their connection), so it might be worth Explore looking into timings between flights (or a different route). That aside, it was a fantastic experience, especially if you travel with an open mind and are prepared for a bit of adventure!
Confirmed traveller: 27 March 2016
Published on: 02 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Pamela

Barnet
A well planned tour with a wonderful well informed guide (Yadu). My highlights were the Golden Temple in Amritsar and the ghats at Varanasi.
Confirmed traveller: 14 February 2016
Published on: 03 March 2016
(9 out of 10)

Philip

London
The main highlights were the flower market in Kolkata - a slice of life you won't see anywhere else, the religious icon makers in Kolkata, the Taj Mahal, the Golden Temple at Amritsar, and Simla. Oh, and the food. You most definitely see the seamy side of India on this tour, but the friendliness of the Indian people was a delight. Don't lumber yourself with too much packing! You go to a lot of railway stations.
Confirmed traveller: 29 November 2015
Published on: 19 December 2015
(10 out of 10)

Robin

Chester
The highlights were travelling and experiencing the trains in India. Also the visit to Varanasi was something I was not expecting as it was truly heartening. Coupled with the Taj Mahal and the Golden Temple it was a tour that covered a wide range of indian experiences.
Confirmed traveller: 09 November 2015
Published on: 18 November 2015
(8 out of 10)

HUBBERT

London
The tour leader was conscientious but we were bothered by the fact that he kept asking for money - for sums which weren't identified up front as we were assured they would be by Explore. I do not mean the sums we gave him to buy alcohol.
Confirmed traveller: 15 February 2015
Published on: 27 October 2015
(7 out of 10)

Peter

South Yorkshire
The places we visited were wonderful and we would recommend them to everyone. However we would recommend arriving a day early either on the Explore flights or independent
We flew Air India from Birmingham to Amritsar via Delhi, which Explore couldn't offer
Expect trains to be late - both at start and end, and be prepared for a lot of self-catering
Confirmed traveller: 30 March 2015
Published on: 09 October 2015