It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
636 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Kolkata to Amritsar RBA

Visiting: India
Trip Duration 15 Days
 

Reviews for Kolkata to Amritsar

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Kolkata to Amritsar trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Kolkata to Amritsar reviews verified by reevooReevoo

35 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Kolkata to AmritsarScores 8.6 out of 10 based on 35 reviews
(8 out of 10)

David

London
So many highlights: Kolkata, Bodh Gaya, Varanasi, Agra, Fatehpur Sikri, Shimla (amazing hotel!), Amritsar, train journeys, food!
Tips: Explore need to sort out the starting connections for the tour - having people arriving on three separate days (all from the UK!) is just not good enough. This meant that arguably some people spent more time in Kolkata than strictly necessary - and everyone less time somewhere else. Some of the itinerary meant that free time was not so free - only a couple of hours to explore Varanasi old town between the late-ish morning tour and the evening boat ride - not enough time for both shopping and lassis. Free time the next day was not so useful as the hotel was so far out of town.
There was disappointment at the Pakistan border - due to unusually large crowd, we were unable to see the border closing display - and we had "VIP" tickets! Slight consolation that there were many other disappointed VIP ticket holders as well.
Overall a wonderful trip.
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2017
Published on: 19 April 2017
(10 out of 10)

Susan

Exeter
If you enjoy rail travel this trip is wonderful, several journeys including an overnight sleeper experience and the delightful Toy train to Shimla.

Such a varied trip made all the more delightful by an amazing tour guide.
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2017
Published on: 19 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Catriona

Hertford
Very busy trip ,dont expect much free time ! We were not advised to book an extra night at beginning of the tour and so missed the first day welcome meeting and tour of Victoria memorial and St Johns Church ! However two nights in Kolkata was enough to see everything ,but Delhi really needs a three night stop to see everything .Highlight of trip was the Golden Temple at Amristar.....stunning !Traveling by train was great fun ,you get to meet lots of people on the way .
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2017
Published on: 14 April 2017
(8 out of 10)

Jasper

Devizes
A wonderful itinerary, including some spectacular places. Travelling by train brings you into contact with the real India much more than sitting in a bus. Our lovely tour leader, Indu Singh, was expert at getting us to the right place on the right platform, and making sure we got off when we were supposed to. Having it all arranged for us was way easier than trying to travel independently. There was plenty of free time, and we enjoyed setting up our own excursions, with help and advice from Indu. We had a good balance between busy days and more leisurely ones. It's hard to pick out highlights when we had so many magical experiences. We enjoyed having a free extra day in Kolkata at the beginning, but were surprised to find we were the only people in the group who had been allowed this. The Lytton Hotel is not the most comfortable, and the bar and restaurant have no windows, but it is right next to an enormous market, the excellent Indian Museum, and the Maidan. The hotel at Bodhgaya was very basic, but we were only there overnight and it was just across the road from the Buddhist temple. Those in Delhi and Amritsar had grand names but not much to offer, and at the Royal Plaza in Delhi the food and drink were so expensive that we always went elsewhere. The hotels in Varanasi and Agra were fine, and the Woodville Palace in Shimla was an experience in itself, a colonial mansion which had been in Indian hands since the 1920's, with long corridors lined with pictures of Maharajahs and their families. We celebrated our Golden Wedding in Agra, and another member of the group had his 50th birthday in Shimla. Explore and Indu between them organised appropriate celebrations, with cakes. In Agra we all went to dinner at the house of a friend of Indu, and sat on the roof eating wonderful home-cooked food. Coping with crowds was a bit wearing, and riding in tuk-tuks was terrifying, but if you go to India you must expect this. We were not sure whether taking the whole group on the Delhi metro in the rush hour was a good idea, as it was really very crowded. A string in the tail was long and slow-moving queues for immigration and security at Delhi airport on the way home. We had a tight connection, and we almost didn't make it.
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2017
Published on: 11 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Susan

London
The leader was too uninvolved. The 1st day of the trip when it was Holi he just abandoned us altogether and said don't leave the hotel, it's too dangerous. So we missed that day's tour. He squashed the itinerary into the 2 half days left but did not stop for us to walk-in and appreciate the main square. He did not really give us much information about anything off his own bat, only bits of information when asked directly. He gave us very few restaurant recommendations and hardly ever ate with us. It seemed like he didn't really care what we did and wanted as much time to himself as possible.
I am a very frequent traveller so this didn't bother me too much but someone less independent may have felt a bit lost.
Having said that the trip itself was amazing with so many highlights, every single day was wonderful.
Confirmed traveller: 26 March 2017
Published on: 30 March 2017
(6 out of 10)

Donna

Chester
The hotels were generally of an appalling standard. The interniary was based around train times and around 3 days are spent just on trains. Other tours offer good hotels and flights not trains (giving you more time to see and do things) for not much extra money. Guide was very good and we saw amazing things but it just wasn't value for money.
Confirmed traveller: 13 March 2017
Published on: 20 March 2017

Hi Donna, thank you for your feedback on your trip. As this trip is noted as a rail adventure the itinerary does, on the whole, wrap around train journeys – as they’re the foundation of this experience. For this reason we wouldn’t look to add flights as we feel it would detract from the trip overall. I am sorry you also felt the hotels were not of a good standard. We have had comments on this departure that customers felt they were a little far out, which we are reviewing, but not that the facilities or services were poor – we shall bear your comments in mind nonetheless. We do hope there were some aspects of the itinerary you did enjoy.

(8 out of 10)

Brenda

Brighton
A very interesting, enjoyable and varied trip, made all the better by out guide, Pradeep, who was extremely knowledgeable and well organised.
The highlights for me were Varanasi and Amritsar. We could have done with an extra day in Amritsar, particularly as it was at the end of the trip, and less time in Shimla, which was uncomfortably cold and bleak at this time of year, including the hotel there which was not at all well heated.
Confirmed traveller: 12 March 2017
Published on: 17 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Susan

Albany, Ca USA
Tour leader Pradeep was great - really took care of us. Itinerary was good though would have preferred more days in Amritsar and less in Shimla (too cold there on March). My only real complaint was location of hotels. Most were outside of town so we were stranded. Would have preferred a lower quality hotel in the center of town where could have walked to shops, restaurants and other facilities. Otherwise highly recommend trip. Highlights were Varanasi (take the sunrise and sunset boat rides for sure) and Amritsar with its fabulous Golden Temple.
Confirmed traveller: 12 March 2017
Published on: 17 March 2017
(8 out of 10)

Susannah

Cheddar, Somerset
As expected. Did what it said on the tin. Might say a bit too much train travel and would have preferred to spend less time in Shimla (very wintery) and more elsewhere.
Confirmed traveller: 12 March 2017
Published on: 14 March 2017