It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
650 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Similar, but less expensive:
Have you considered?

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Kolkata to Amritsar RBA

Visiting: India
Trip Duration 16 Days
 

Reviews for Kolkata to Amritsar

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Kolkata to Amritsar trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Kolkata to Amritsar reviews verified by reevooReevoo

23 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Kolkata to AmritsarScores 8.6 out of 10 based on 23 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Heather

Winchester
I have done almost 20 Explore trips over the same number of years. All have been great, different and I couldn't rank them but this was the best. Our tour guide Pradeep Jain is extremely knowledgable and daily he went the extra mile. Our group was lovely. The experiences brought us right up close in so many ways AND we could take many photos. I loved the pace and places visited. In fact I have no suggestion on how to enhance this tour.
Confirmed traveller: 04 December 2016
Published on: 08 December 2016
(8 out of 10)

Karen

Ashford
You are able to see a slice of Indian life at close quarters if you are willing to put yourself out a bit. By travelling by train (rather than coach) you are able to talk to more Indians than normally and see more of real life. It can be tiring (especially if train late) so take lots of things to read / watch etc. It was well organised and there was sufficient free time to allow you to go off and do your own thing if you wanted to.
Confirmed traveller: 04 December 2016
Published on: 05 December 2016
(7 out of 10)

Stephen

London
Great trip - could have just had one day in Patna and a number of the hotels were a bit too far out of town. Rajesh was an excellent tour leader
Confirmed traveller: 28 November 2016
Published on: 05 December 2016
(8 out of 10)

Sandra

Milton Keynes
Yadove is an excellent guide. His knowledge coupled with a great personality made this trip an unforgettable experience. Too many highlights to single one out. Fantastic.

Accommodation in Amritsar left a lot to be desired.
Confirmed traveller: 09 November 2016
Published on: 11 November 2016
(8 out of 10)

Andrew

Exeter
A great experience, facilitated by our wonderful guide - Yadu. We have great memories (and photos) of magical places. We also enjoyed travelling with a relatively small group (14). However, not quite perfect particularly in terms of the accommodation. Three of the hotels (in Bodh Gaya, Agra and Delhi) gave us damp beds. The hotel in Bodh Gaya was of poor quality overall - our room's only window was internal - but we understand that none better is available locally. Shopping time in Amritsar should be built into the itinerary, particularly as this is the last stop.
Confirmed traveller: 06 November 2016
Published on: 09 November 2016
(8 out of 10)

Ann

Warwick
The tour leader Yadira was the best leader I've come across to date; his knowledge and enthusiasm for his country was great. The biggies for me on this trip was Varanasi, Amritsar and the border, really amazing. Probably could do with one day less in Kolkata. Hotels were fine, as is usual some better than others.
Confirmed traveller: 06 November 2016
Published on: 07 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Robert

Biggleswade, beds
This was the best of my 3 trips to India, highlights were Varanasi, Shimla and Amritsar but the whole trip was excellent with a great balance. The hotels were of a very good standard but the Crown Plaza in Delhi was incredibly expensive for food and drink, all the other hotels were very good in this respect. I really enjoyed the whole experience.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 10 April 2016
Published on: 17 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Judith

All trip notes say that you go through immigration for your trip to India in Kolkata you do not, you go through immigration at Mumbia and collect your bag before putting it back through to Kolkata. Travel light as hauling luggage on and off trains and on to luggage racks is not for the faint hearted. Carry a padlock and chain for the overnight train journey so you can lock your bag under the seats, to the rings provided as the carriage has no partitions, so anyone can get access to them.
A well thought out trip with many contrasts giving a very varied and comprehensive view of the cultures,religions and the peoples of northern India.
The highlight for me was being rowed on the Ganges as the sun rose seeing all the everyday activities coming to life and feeling totally peaceful away from the hub bub on the shore.
Our guide Anil had much information to impart which added to the holiday but just sometimes he omitted to tell us things about the next part of the trip, which would have been useful to know about the traveling, but this was only a slight criticism which did not detract from the holiday.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 10 April 2016
Published on: 17 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

Caroline

Chichester
Very many highlights (Bodh Gaya, Varanasi, Agra, Shimla) but in terms of improvements I didn't feel I needed as long in Kolkata, whereas Amritsar, and to some extent Delhi, felt rushed.
I'm not sure how much choice there is but wonder if 2nd class (i.e. two-tier as opposed to three) overnight would be better and the toy train was cosy for such a long trip (but I appreciate the timing of a 'chair class' train might have been wrong). Most trains we caught there seemed to be a muddle about which seats were ours - the sort of thing you rely on the tour guide getting right.
The 'posh' hotel in Delhi wasn't great - perhaps swap for somewhere cheaper and more personal/ friendly where we can afford a drink and some laundry!
I have been spoilt by some fabulous tour guides in the past - Anil's 'delivery' was rather dull though and I found myself switching off. Also he was poor at anticipating info we might need/ appreciate like which queue to join at the Golden Temple and the timing of things - nearly two hours queueing when he said 20-30 minutes! (I very nearly missed the visit to the border as a result.) Incidentally the trip to the Golden Temple was included so I thought it was poor that we had to make our own way back to the hotel and at our own expense.
When giving flight info perhaps warn people that they may have to collect their own luggage during the Mumbai transfer - I nearly missed this as no one mentioned it at check-in. Oh, and in the trip notes I would find info about availability of a kettle useful - we had one everywhere and that was great.
Confirmed traveller: 10 April 2016
Published on: 15 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

Chris

Weymouth
Great rip but included a number of fairly long train journeys (6 hours or more).
Highlights were Varanasi (great views of ghats and exciting rickshaw ride in manic traffic), Agra (Taj Mahal) and Amritsar (Golden temple at night). We were lucky to experience and take part in a fantastic Holi Festival in Shimla.
Confirmed traveller: 27 March 2016
Published on: 06 April 2016