It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
633 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Northern Lights with Expert Astronomer SNL

Visiting: Iceland
Trip Duration 4 Days
 

Reviews for Northern Lights with Expert Astronomer

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Northern Lights with Expert Astronomer trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Northern Lights reviews verified by reevooReevoo

29 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Northern LightsScores 9.3 out of 10 based on 29 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Kathryn

Wakefield
This tour actually delivered more than it promised!

We saw the Northern Lights on the Wednesday night, after an excellent talk by the expert astronomer. He also helped us to set-up our cameras.

We also saw the Geyser, and the waterfalls. It was great to experience the Blue Lagoon, though I was non-plussed by the face masks on offer, the best part of that was the floating in it rather than swimming itself.

The museums are excellent additions to the itinerary and really helped me to understand more about the culture of Iceland.

Am really glad I didn't go on the boat trip (no one else in the group did either) the last thing you want when trying to photograph the Northern Lights is to be on a swaying boat!

It was a wonderful holiday with friendly and knowledgeable tour guides and I am really glad I went!

If you do go a day early or stay on afterwards, then spend the extra time either in Reykjavík or walking on the glacier. Though you will get a guided tour of
Reykjavík as part of the tour anyway. Pretty much everything else is covered by the tour!
Confirmed traveller: 16 February 2017
Published on: 20 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Vivian

San Francisco
Great locations of accommodation for northern lights. We were lucky enough to see the lights at the end of our trip as weather was cloudy most of the trip.
Appreciated tour leader Hakon and Andy attention to details - they planned our visit to various sights ahead of other tour buses arrival at the natural scenic stops. Made a big difference for our enjoyment. We were able to soak in the quiet scenery at the geysers and waterfalls before the swamp of tourists arrived.
Confirmed traveller: 16 February 2017
Published on: 19 February 2017
(8 out of 10)

Carolyn

Northwich
If you want to see the Northern Lights this trip increases the odds with Andy, the astronomer, and Hakon the guide flexing the the itinerary to suit conditions. They couldn't help the weather but they took us to many spectacular places and we managed to see the lights on the last night which was the "icing on the cake". Hakon was very informative about the unstable geology of Iceland, its history and sagas and Andy, who is also knowledgeable about the geology, gave an excellent presentation on the Aurora Borealis. He identified stars and helped us with camera settings etc. My personal highlights, apart from the Aurora Borealis, were the Gullfoss Waterfall, the film about the Eyjafjallajokull eruption, the "rift" in Thingvellir National Park and the Harpa concert halls.
Confirmed traveller: 16 February 2017
Published on: 18 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Judith

Norwich
A very full and exciting tour, on which we were lucky enough to see the Northern Lights. Very good tour leader.
Confirmed traveller: 16 February 2017
Published on: 18 February 2017
(10 out of 10)

Alan

Dorking
This was my first time with Explore and I was very impressed. The local guide and the astronomer really knew there stuff. We were given lots of local information and yes, we even saw the Northern Lights, lucky us. The daily tours were well organised and we even had a few extra bits fitted in. Even though we had rain instead of snow the Blue Lagoon was terrific and ther are a lot of waterfalls in Iceland. We were taken to a local pub in Reykjavik for dinner on the last night, most enjoyable as the whole group really friendly. One thing to be aware of, Iceland is quite expensive now since Britney.
Confirmed traveller: 16 February 2017
Published on: 18 February 2017
(10 out of 10)

Diana

Bath
Having the professional astronomer with this tour is key to its success. We saw the Northern Lights because he stayed up all night and woke us to see them. Other groups in our hotel did not see the aurora because their tour leader was asleep. The tour leader, Gusti, organised the tour well and adapted it to suit the daylight available and the interests of the group. He is very knowledgeable and we all enjoyed his Icelandic sense of humour. If you want to spend extra time in Reykjavik I recommend booking your own hotel in the city centre. Don't book extra days in the hotels that Explore use because they are a long way out of the city and you can't get there by public transport.
Confirmed traveller: 08 December 2016
Published on: 14 December 2016
(8 out of 10)

Izzy

London
This was a great trip, with excellent sights. The tour was well organised and our guide was incredibly enthusiastic and knowledgeable. We sadly did not get to see the Northern Lights, however, the talk and star gazing experience by Andy, the Expert Astronomer were fantastic.

The accommodation surpassed expectations, and we chose to eat in the second hotel instead of stay in Reykjavik. We saw that they had a fabulous traditional Icelandic home-cooked buffet with 3 courses, offered at a very reasonable price compared to food in the towns, and the chef came out to introduce each dish. This was the best meal we had throughout our trip, and we wanted to recommend it in the feedback as it was not publicised at all by our guide, and the rest of the group had burgers in town. Apart from this meal, the food throughout the trip was the only disappointing part, as pizza/burgers and sandwiches were the main options.

Other advice - everything is incredibly expensive, and bring warm clothes! We wore our ski gear the whole time, and I was very grateful for it!
Confirmed traveller: 17 November 2016
Published on: 18 November 2016
(8 out of 10)

Janet

Norfolk, Virginia USA
Great group, great tour. Guide (Gusti) was able to modify the itinerary on the fly to accommodate what we wanted to see & do. Would have like to have had more time at Skogasafn (folk museum), but a huge tour group came in & kind of took over the place - not the guide's fault. Didn't get to see the Aurora, but didn't care. Now I just have another reason to go back to Iceland.

Tips: Wear layers; pack waterproof jacket/trousers/boots to take full advantage of the waterfalls; ask a lot of questions.
Confirmed traveller: 17 October 2016
Published on: 26 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

Dinesh

I had 4 amazing days in Iceland ,thanks to Explore tours and tour leader Gusti ,definitely recommend.
Confirmed traveller: 17 October 2016
Published on: 22 October 2016