It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
604 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Have you considered?

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Read reviews

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Northern Lights with Expert Astronomer SNL

Visiting: Iceland
Tour Duration 4 Days
 
Reviews for Northern Lights with Expert Astronomer

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Northern Lights with Expert Astronomer tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Northern Lights reviews verified by Reevoo

13 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Northern LightsScores 9.4 out of 10 based on 13 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Alison

Leeds
Two nights worth of northern lights and a visit to the black beach at Reynisfjara.
Confirmed traveller: 07 December 2015
Published on: 23 December 2015
(10 out of 10)

Deryn

Seeing the northern lights.
Tip - pack warm, it can be very cold
Confirmed traveller: 07 December 2015
Published on: 08 December 2015
(10 out of 10)

Leland

Garden Grove, CA
Seeing the aurora two nights in a row was outstanding. Our astronomer, Andy, was exceptional and his presentation about the aurora was top notch. I can thing of nothing about this trip that I would change.
Confirmed traveller: 07 December 2015
Published on: 08 December 2015
(10 out of 10)

Andrew

Bedford
Perhaps surprisingly, it wasn't seeing the Northern Lights, but the little eccentric things like having lunch in a tomato farm greenhouse and dinner in a launderette, or walking across a seemingly endless beach, that gave this trip the edge. A true insight into a people that make the most of their extreme environment with enthusiasm and humour.
Confirmed traveller: 16 November 2015
Published on: 18 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Candice

New Jersey
Great guides and tour group. Dress warmly and be prepared for fun!
Confirmed traveller: 16 November 2015
Published on: 17 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

The snow covered scenery was awesome. The geysers, volcanoes and frozen waterfalls amazing to see. We witnessed extreme changes in the weather including gail force winds which closed the roads. The Icelandic guide never stopped talking during the entire trip. He was knowledgeable about all things Icelandic including poetry. The astronomer, Andrew was also present throughout the trip and happy to talk about the night sky and stay up watching for those elusive Northern Lights.
Confirmed traveller: 10 April 2014
Published on: 07 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Avis

Chelmsford
The highlights were actually seeing a good showing of the Northern Lights. this was largely due to staying for the first two nights in a small country family run hotel, away from light pollution. We were also accompanied by an astronomer, who kept watch for the lights and then let us know. in addition we were led by a very knowledgeable Islander, with excellent English.

Tips would be to book with Explore and if wishing to take film get equipped with a tripod.
Confirmed traveller: 19 February 2015
Published on: 21 October 2015
(10 out of 10)

Lynn

Winchester
A truly amazing experience, totally awe inspiring. Definitely got to see & experience so much more in the time we had by being with a guided tour.
Confirmed traveller: 17 November 2014
Published on: 01 October 2015
(8 out of 10)

Michael

Warrington, Cheshire
Thengvillar Park, Skogar folk museum, Eyjafjallajokull visitors centre.

Be prepared for lack of Northern Lights spectacle if weather poor. It rained when we visited. Also, take warm clothes.
Confirmed traveller: 16 February 2015
Published on: 27 September 2015