It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
544 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Have you considered?

Brochures

Our latest  brochures are available now, with over 600 adventures for you to choose from.

Gift Vouchers

Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with over 600 tours & experiences to choose from. The perfect gift idea for any occasion.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 1,843

Northern Lights SNL

Visiting: Iceland
Tour Duration 4 Days
  • Northern Lights
  • Seljalandfoss Waterfall
  • Incredible colours / Andy Green
  • 1
  • Northern Lights / Andy Green
  • Tour Style: Classic
  • Tour Type: Small Groups
  • Tour Pace: Moderate
  • Tour Comfort: Simple
 

Book now!

15 reviews for this tour

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Northern Lights tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
10 Ralph Jones, 11/04/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Seeing the Northern Lights

Read more
 
10 Victoria Dobson, 10/04/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The snow covered scenery was awesome. The geysers, volcanoes and frozen waterfalls amazing to see. We witnessed extreme changes in the weather including gail force winds which closed the roads.

Read more
 
9 , 06/12/13

Name

Val

Tour Name

Northern Lights

Tour Code

SNL

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Seeing the northern lights each night and on the way to the airport on our return. Was impressed with the gentleness of the driving on roads that were narrow and difficult to navigate.Also the other Icelandic gentleman gave us an indepth view of his land, people and the way they cope with their volanoes and the harsh weather they can experience.

Tour Leader Name

Andy

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Brilliant. His knowledge enhanced all the time we were there.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Go, but don't expect to sleep much as there is much to see.

 
5 , 06/12/13

Name

Nicola Van-Dyk

Tour Name

Northern Lights

Tour Code

SNL

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Seeing the northern lights.

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Our expedition leader was excellent. He had a very good knowledge of Iceland and shared many interesting facts ranging from geology and botany to history and folklore. Our astonomer, Andy, was also excellent, explaining everything in understandable terms and making sure to include everyone in the Group. The trip itself was however not quite what I'd expected. It was only just over two days (not four as advertised) and there were extra expenses which were not advertised in the trip notes. The very short nature of the tour also made me feel a bit like I was on a conveyor belt which is the first time I've ever felt that with Explore.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

The tour is handy if you don't have time to organise something yourself and don't want to travel alone but to be honest I think you'd see as much and have more flexibility if you flew to Reykjavik and organised it yourself via tourist information. The only downside to that would be not having the very good Explore tour guides.

 
8 , 27/11/13

Name

Sarah Toogood

Tour Name

Northern Lights

Tour Code

SNL

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Seeing the Northern Lights dance across the sky was an obvious highlight albeit wholly reliant on good fortune. Otherwise the Blue Lagoon was my favourite. Bizarre combination of natural heat on a cold winter's day amongst a lava field.

Tour Leader Name

Hakon

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Hakon was excellent. Friendly & knowledgable, he adapted our itinerary to suit the weather conditions and progress of other tour groups. He and Andy Green (Astronomer) worked well as a team and I enjoyed being in their company.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Don't underestimate the wind chill factor! Remember a tripod to get good shots of the Lights. Add a day or two to the tour to spend eating and drinking in Reykjavik.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Iceland is like a trip to the moon with Scandinavian efficiency!

 
10 , 15/08/13

Name

Alison

Tour Code

SNL

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

"An excellent tour with a fantastic hotel ideal for watching the Northern Lights and the stars. Being able to pop in for a hot coffee has to be so much better than standing in the cold. The hospitality at Gullfoss was magnificent rounded off with an excellent meal. Luckily we saw the lights and some excellent photos resulted. Iceland itself is well worth a visit with many geogrphical features. It was also warmer than the UK with bright sunshine. Time to relax in the blue lagoon was a great place to start sfter a flight. A great country which I must c=visit again when the summer comes. "

Tour Leader Name

Andrew Green

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

"Andrew the astronomer was knowledgeable and friendly without blinding you with science - perfect. Haddon the local guide as incredible the wealth of information and the enthusiasm made the tour interesting."

 
10 , 15/08/13

Name

Gavin

Tour Code

SNL

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Seeing the Northern Lights - magical!

Tour Leader Name

Hakan

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Excellent Tour Leader who shared his passion for his country. Good to have Andy the astronomer too.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Bring lots of layers!

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

An excellent short break to introduce some of the highlights of Iceland. The accommodation was very well placed to see the Northern Lights.

 
10 , 15/08/13

Name

Christine

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

It would have to be seeing the Northern Lights - fantastic display on our second night

Tour Leader Name

Hakon

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Hakon and Andy make a great team. Hakon has so much to share about Iceland, its history and its culture he is an excellent leader

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Check what phase the moon is in. we were there when the moon was almost full and it was a strong light in the night sky. new moon would be best.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

this was a very full on trip (catch up on sleep before and after not during); the days were busy from 0830 to 1800 with lots of sightseeing so you really do make the most of your time in country. our flight times were not brilliant so we lost a lot of day 1 and left early morning day 4. Maybe another carrier would have given more flexibility in flights times which would enable more time to see and do

 
3 , 15/08/13

Name

Sarah

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Seeing the Northern Lights was magical. I feel very priviliged to have seen such a beautiful phenomena. I also loved Þingvelli and being able to sense the history there.

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Halcon was a great leader, always ready with a Saga and happy to discuss any problems anyone was experiencing.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Extend your dates to avoid being too tired to see the lights! It's a busy 4 days.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

We were disappointed that a tour billed as 4 days was in reality only 2 1/2. Halcon left the tour on the afternoon of day 3 to rest before the next group arrived on the afternoon of our group's day 4 - I felt like I was on a production line and very rushed.

Our Response

Thank you for your feedback. Our description of the length of a holiday is always according to the travel industry standard – even if a flight left at five minutes to midnight, that would count as Day 1, and similarly if there was a very early morning departure to come home, that would count as a day of holiday. However, we agree with you that on a short trip, we should try to make the best use of the time available, and we do try to source the earliest outbound flight and latest inbound one for which we can get group allocation. Unfortunately, sometimes airlines change the flight timings, which they are entitled to do. We are aware of the issue and working to resolve it on this short break.

 
10 Anna Peak, 04/04/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

"Definitely seeing the Northern Lights!

But the was a jam packed tour so everyone we saw was great - a fantastic trip!"

 

Read more
 
10 Hannah Methven (Explore staff), 04/04/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

"We were lucky enough to see an incredible display of the Northern Lights on our second night, it lasted for more than an hour. Everyone forgot the cold as we watched the colours dance across the sky and tried to take photographs. 

We also did so much during the days, visiting dramatic frozen waterfalls, geysers and the infamous Eyjafjallajokull volcano. "

 

Read more
 
10 Catherine Anderson, 22/02/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Amazing and diverse scenery

Read more
 
10 Kate, 25/02/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Hakon with astronomer Andy Green

Read more
 
10 Josephine Dudley, 05/12/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

seeing the Northern Lights " dance" for about two hours - on a cold cold Saturday night...but the whole trip was wonderful for a short break.Made by good weather, fabulous scenery and a great guide/expert astronomer team. ( It would have been pretty lousy without good weather, as I had discovered on a similar trip in Feb)

Read more
Our Response

We appreciate the advice you have given to our future customers looking to go on this trip, I trust you have come home with some amazing pictures of the Northern Lights.

I have forwarded your comments onto our Operations Manager regarding our trip notes and they will be amended accordingly.

 
10 Ruth Breese, 09/11/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The whole tour was memorable, from seeing the northern lights, to the blue skis and incredible landscape.  Visiting the farm below where the volcano errupted and seeing their film was amazing.

Read more
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  3. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  4. Tour name (i.e. Inca Trail Trek)
  5. Tour Code (i.e. PQ)
    Invalid Input
  6. What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  7. Tour leader name
  8. How Was Your Explore Tour Leader?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  10. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  11. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  12.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA