It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
646 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Northern Lights with Expert Astronomer SNL

Visiting: Iceland
Trip Duration 4 Days
 

Reviews for Northern Lights with Expert Astronomer

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Northern Lights with Expert Astronomer trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Northern Lights reviews verified by reevooReevoo

21 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Northern LightsScores 9.3 out of 10 based on 21 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Izzy

London
This was a great trip, with excellent sights. The tour was well organised and our guide was incredibly enthusiastic and knowledgeable. We sadly did not get to see the Northern Lights, however, the talk and star gazing experience by Andy, the Expert Astronomer were fantastic.

The accommodation surpassed expectations, and we chose to eat in the second hotel instead of stay in Reykjavik. We saw that they had a fabulous traditional Icelandic home-cooked buffet with 3 courses, offered at a very reasonable price compared to food in the towns, and the chef came out to introduce each dish. This was the best meal we had throughout our trip, and we wanted to recommend it in the feedback as it was not publicised at all by our guide, and the rest of the group had burgers in town. Apart from this meal, the food throughout the trip was the only disappointing part, as pizza/burgers and sandwiches were the main options.

Other advice - everything is incredibly expensive, and bring warm clothes! We wore our ski gear the whole time, and I was very grateful for it!
Confirmed traveller: 17 November 2016
Published on: 18 November 2016
(8 out of 10)

Janet

Norfolk, Virginia USA
Great group, great tour. Guide (Gusti) was able to modify the itinerary on the fly to accommodate what we wanted to see & do. Would have like to have had more time at Skogasafn (folk museum), but a huge tour group came in & kind of took over the place - not the guide's fault. Didn't get to see the Aurora, but didn't care. Now I just have another reason to go back to Iceland.

Tips: Wear layers; pack waterproof jacket/trousers/boots to take full advantage of the waterfalls; ask a lot of questions.
Confirmed traveller: 17 October 2016
Published on: 26 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

Dinesh

I had 4 amazing days in Iceland ,thanks to Explore tours and tour leader Gusti ,definitely recommend.
Confirmed traveller: 17 October 2016
Published on: 22 October 2016
(10 out of 10)

Samantha

London
Fantastic fun, well looked after, full of lagoons, waterfalls, volcanoes, geysers and a glacier. Beautiful landscape and plenty of time to view and walk about and lots of photo opportunities. As well as time to meet new people and enjoy laughs and a few drinks over breakfast, lunch and dinner. Tours guides full of great information and happy to find and add to the agenda any personal requests, like visit the horses or find and visit a wool or book store. Also would show us the best walking routes not just the ones set out for tourists so great personal knowledge. Thoroughly enjoyable will be booking another Explore tour.
Confirmed traveller: 17 October 2016
Published on: 21 October 2016
(10 out of 10)

Jonathan

Derbyshire
An excellent short trip. Both the local guide and the expert astronomer were outstanding. The local guide (HowKon - sorry about the spelling!) had a deep knowledge and love of the country and was an endless source of fascinating information and lots of humour! The astronomer (Andy) was enthusiastic, informative and clearly loved his subject. We saw the Northern Lights brilliantly on the first night. The driver was also very helpful.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 10 March 2016
Published on: 13 March 2016
(10 out of 10)

Christine

Stockport
Can't rate this trip high enough. The care and attention to all details has been marvellous. The staff at both Hotel Gullfoss and Hotel Kriunes were friendly and helpful providing good meals and excellent warm rooms. The local guide we had was superb. Hakon Oskarsson passed on a wealth of local information using a very British sense of humour and ensured we visited all the best places as safely as possible. For me the three best experiences of the tour were a visit to the black sand beach at Reynisfjara, the aurora borealis and a superb meal at The Fish Market. The evenings spent viewing the lights with Andy Green, the expert astronomer, were amazing as he passed on so much knowledge in a friendly and amusing way which made you feel involved regardless of your level of experience. He also recommended and joined us at the Fish Market for a first class meal which would rival any of the top restaurants in the UK.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 10 March 2016
Published on: 11 March 2016
(9 out of 10)

Sara

London
Tour leader and astronomer were excellent. Both very knowledgeable and good company. Lovely small group of only 6 people. Iceland is an amazing country with extraordinary scenery. And we saw the Northern Lights on the last night. And it was a spectacularly dramatic display.
Confirmed traveller: 07 March 2016
Published on: 08 March 2016
(9 out of 10)

Alison

Leeds
Two nights worth of northern lights and a visit to the black beach at Reynisfjara.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 07 December 2015
Published on: 23 December 2015
(10 out of 10)

Deryn

Seeing the northern lights.
Tip - pack warm, it can be very cold
Confirmed traveller: 07 December 2015
Published on: 08 December 2015
(10 out of 10)

Leland

Garden Grove, CA
Seeing the aurora two nights in a row was outstanding. Our astronomer, Andy, was exceptional and his presentation about the aurora was top notch. I can thing of nothing about this trip that I would change.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 07 December 2015
Published on: 08 December 2015