It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
636 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Northern Lights with Expert Astronomer SNL

Visiting: Iceland
Trip Duration 4 Days
 

Reviews for Northern Lights with Expert Astronomer

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Northern Lights with Expert Astronomer trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Northern Lights reviews verified by reevooReevoo

33 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Northern LightsScores 9.3 out of 10 based on 33 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Kim

Market Harborough
This was my first Explore trip and also the first time I have travelled solo.... It was a wonderful weekend.... a breathtakingly beautiful country: Gusti (our guide) was superlative ... and Andy (our astronomer) was amazing. A whistle stop tour but my northern lights' box has now been ticked and I have so many other great moments to treasure in my memory bank! I will return in the not too distant future for the 10 day tour!
Confirmed traveller: 19 March 2017
Published on: 11 April 2017
(10 out of 10)

Shirley

Portsmouth
This tour was very well organised and the Tour Leader Gusti was outstanding he always made sure everyone had enough time to enjoy the views at each of the locations we visited on the tour. The expert Andy Green was also very good, he knowledge was outstanding and he explained everything so that anyone could understand. The view of the Northern Lights was astonishing and a memory which we live for me for ever. Gusti made sure everyone was safe and that everything was OK for us all. I could not have asked for a better holiday. This has to go down as a holiday of a lifetime. I would recommend this tour without hesitation.
Confirmed traveller: 19 March 2017
Published on: 30 March 2017
(8 out of 10)

Alexandra

London
An excellent trip, with a fantastic guide. Gusti, our guide, was full of insights about Icelandic life and had a good sense of humour. The people in the group were really friendly and I enjoyed meeting them all. Andy Green, the astronomer, was very interesting and I learnt a lot from his lecture, and even enjoyed the dash in the middle of the night to try and catch the Northern Lights! Iceland is a fascinating country, and you could not fit in/organise all that we did on an independent trip. Explore had a very well planned itinerary, and it was a full three days. Highlights were batheing in the Blue Lagoon, walking to the glacier, seeing Gullfoss waterfall and the other huge waterfalls, the folk museum, wandering round Reykyavik, and seeing the amazing scenery! Lots of highlights!
Confirmed traveller: 16 March 2017
Published on: 29 March 2017
(10 out of 10)

Janet

Cahors, France
A fabulous 4 days, everyone said they felt they had been away for longer as so much was crammed in (in a good way). Be aware that you spend a lot of time on the coach travelling from one sightseeing experience to another. The first hotel is quite literally in the middle of nowhere, which means no light pollution if you are lucky enough to see the Northern Lights, but it also means you have to travel backwards and forwards. However, it was a bonus on the second day as it is very close to the Gullfoss Falls and the Geysirs - 2 of Iceland's most visited sights and we were there before all the crowds. Our group were the only ones at the waterfall - it had snowed the night before and the scenery was magical. We sadly didn't get to see the lights on this trip but in the end it didn't matter - I now have a reason to go again!

Gusti, our tour guide, and Andy the astronomer were excellent company throughout. Enthousiastic and knowledgable about their country and their profession respectively, their number one aim was for us to get the most out of our brief visit. Particularly on the first full day, Gusti juggled the day's itinerary to ensure that we were outside when the weather was good and inside when it wasn't - and the weather can change in minutes! He even managed to arrange for rainbows at the waterfalls!

One of my concerns about the trip had been the food - sampling local dishes is a big part of the experience for me when I travel abroad and the trip notes implied that we were having to buy 'take away' food all the time. Not so with Gusti and Andy - there was almost always a choice but, from the first evening when we stopped in a restaurant on our way to the hotel and they were there to offer advice on what to order and try, I always followed Gusti's recommendation and was not disappointed. The second evening we dined in the hotel and the lamb was amazing! On the final night we all ate out together in Reykjavik and Gusti treated us to Fermented Shark!

Iceland is expensive! I was unable to get any local currency beforehand and was expecting to have to get some at the airport when I arrived but Gusti said not to bother as you could pay for everything by creditcard, and he was right - even a postcard and stamp.

Have your swimming things and toiletries close to hand when you pack. We were at the Blue Lagoon within an hour of landing, being pelted by freezing rain as we wallowed in the hot springs - a great icebreaker for the group you have only just met but you then have a 2 hour drive to the hotel.
Confirmed traveller: 16 March 2017
Published on: 28 March 2017
(10 out of 10)

Kathryn

Wakefield
This tour actually delivered more than it promised!

We saw the Northern Lights on the Wednesday night, after an excellent talk by the expert astronomer. He also helped us to set-up our cameras.

We also saw the Geyser, and the waterfalls. It was great to experience the Blue Lagoon, though I was non-plussed by the face masks on offer, the best part of that was the floating in it rather than swimming itself.

The museums are excellent additions to the itinerary and really helped me to understand more about the culture of Iceland.

Am really glad I didn't go on the boat trip (no one else in the group did either) the last thing you want when trying to photograph the Northern Lights is to be on a swaying boat!

It was a wonderful holiday with friendly and knowledgeable tour guides and I am really glad I went!

If you do go a day early or stay on afterwards, then spend the extra time either in Reykjavík or walking on the glacier. Though you will get a guided tour of
Reykjavík as part of the tour anyway. Pretty much everything else is covered by the tour!
Confirmed traveller: 16 February 2017
Published on: 20 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Vivian

San Francisco
Great locations of accommodation for northern lights. We were lucky enough to see the lights at the end of our trip as weather was cloudy most of the trip.
Appreciated tour leader Hakon and Andy attention to details - they planned our visit to various sights ahead of other tour buses arrival at the natural scenic stops. Made a big difference for our enjoyment. We were able to soak in the quiet scenery at the geysers and waterfalls before the swamp of tourists arrived.
Confirmed traveller: 16 February 2017
Published on: 19 February 2017
(8 out of 10)

Carolyn

Northwich
If you want to see the Northern Lights this trip increases the odds with Andy, the astronomer, and Hakon the guide flexing the the itinerary to suit conditions. They couldn't help the weather but they took us to many spectacular places and we managed to see the lights on the last night which was the "icing on the cake". Hakon was very informative about the unstable geology of Iceland, its history and sagas and Andy, who is also knowledgeable about the geology, gave an excellent presentation on the Aurora Borealis. He identified stars and helped us with camera settings etc. My personal highlights, apart from the Aurora Borealis, were the Gullfoss Waterfall, the film about the Eyjafjallajokull eruption, the "rift" in Thingvellir National Park and the Harpa concert halls.
Confirmed traveller: 16 February 2017
Published on: 18 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Judith

Norwich
A very full and exciting tour, on which we were lucky enough to see the Northern Lights. Very good tour leader.
Confirmed traveller: 16 February 2017
Published on: 18 February 2017
(10 out of 10)

Alan

Dorking
This was my first time with Explore and I was very impressed. The local guide and the astronomer really knew there stuff. We were given lots of local information and yes, we even saw the Northern Lights, lucky us. The daily tours were well organised and we even had a few extra bits fitted in. Even though we had rain instead of snow the Blue Lagoon was terrific and ther are a lot of waterfalls in Iceland. We were taken to a local pub in Reykjavik for dinner on the last night, most enjoyable as the whole group really friendly. One thing to be aware of, Iceland is quite expensive now since Britney.
Confirmed traveller: 16 February 2017
Published on: 18 February 2017