It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
635 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Have you considered?

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Vietnamese Hilltribe Hikes QVH

Visiting:
Trip Duration Days
  • Sapa
  • Red Dzao tribeswoman
  • Ha Long Bay
  • Bac Ha Market, Sapa
  • Paddy fields on the road to Halong Bay / Kym Garcia

Reviews for Vietnamese Hilltribe Hikes

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Vietnamese Hilltribe Hikes trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Hilltribes of the North reviews verified by reevooReevoo

9 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Hilltribes of the NorthScores 8.1 out of 10 based on 9 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Miranda

Bristol
The highlights of the tour for me were: The boat and the scenery in Halong Bay, the second homestay and the walking day from there, the Sunday market and the free days in Hanoi.
Our guide, Bak, was particularly good and giving us orientation tours, enabling us to be more confident when deciding what to do on our free days.
Confirmed traveller: 28 December 2016
Published on: 29 December 2016
(9 out of 10)

Elizabeth

Dent
Great trip despite quite a bit of unavoidable bus travel.
The highlights were the great tour leader Bac, local guide Tow and the walking to and around Sin Chai.
Bac was really nice and worked hard to make the trip fun for all of the group, even bought us Santa hats to wear on Christmas Eve.
Local people were very friendly.
If we had to find a lowlight it would be the stop at the oyster/pearl place on the way back from Halong Bay although it was interesting we did not really go on a shopping holiday.
Confirmed traveller: 27 December 2016
Published on: 30 December 2016
(10 out of 10)

Lisa

London
Highlights included sailing round the Beautiful Halong Bay, homestay in Mai Chau and the fantastic two day trek in Sapa.
Confirmed traveller: 27 December 2016
Published on: 28 December 2016
(9 out of 10)

Catherine

the final homestay was quite poor. very cold and stark and felt very unwelcoming. Our guide Steven was very attentive and helpful. Overall the trip was well organised, lots of early starts and full days but very enjoyable.
Confirmed traveller: 12 December 2016
Published on: 15 December 2016
(5 out of 10)

Peter

London/Devon
The hill tribes have largely gone down from their hill homes into the towns or nearby villages to sell tourists cloth and some very tacky souvenirs. Explore leader just did exactly per tour published itinerary and no more. We got hardly any insight into the country of Vietnam nor the villages we were passing through, nor was he over-willing to answer our questions on the area. But nothing went wrong and he is a reasonably person , needing more experience and training
Confirmed traveller: 09 November 2016
Published on: 13 November 2016

Thank you for your feedback regarding your trip to Vietnam – I’m sorry you were a little disappointed with your Explore Leader. Phan has been leading our trips since 2014 and always receives great feedback, especially with his knowledge of the country. We have addressed your concerns with him, to make sure he is more forthcoming with the information he’s providing.

(8 out of 10)

Robin

newbury
Good trip spoilt by poor leader who didn't have the confidence to take any opportunity to broaden our experience of Vietnamese history/ customs or people.

walking element of trip needs to be more interesting with too much emphasis on walking around old Hanoi. There are other parts of the city which are as interesting which we found on our own later.
Itinerary needs to be worked on to avoid repeat trips back to Capital. The need to keep splitting up luggage could have been explained more fully beforehand. Equipment list was also too conservative and we ended up carrying 40 % too much due to poor written briefing on yr web notes.
Confirmed traveller: 08 November 2016
Published on: 29 November 2016
(4 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

We did this as an add on to Good Morning Vietnam which included Halong Bay. This would be my highlight
Confirmed traveller: 28 December 2015
Published on: 04 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Catherine

Reading
I loved my holiday because I like 'doing things' and this certainly ticked that box. I was on the whole very happy with everything. My only criticism was over the Visa which I felt I had no help with at all. In the end I had to go up to VisaSwift in person and pay extra for them to re-do my form as I had not completed it correctly.
Confirmed traveller: 03 February 2015
Published on: 30 September 2015