It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
549 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Our latest  brochures are available now, with over 600 adventures for you to choose from.

Gift Vouchers

Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with over 600 tours & experiences to choose from. The perfect gift idea for any occasion.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 1,843

Old Siam & The River Kwai OS

Visiting: Thailand
Tour Duration 11 Days
  • Doi Suthep Temple, Chiang Mai
  • Buddhas in front of Stupa in Ayutthaya,Thailand
  • Grand Palace, Bangkok
  • Reclining Buddha, Wat Pho, Bangkok
  • Bridge over the River Kwai
  • Tour Style: Classic
  • Tour Type: Small Groups
  • Tour Pace: Moderate
  • Tour Comfort: Standard
 

Book now!

9 reviews for this tour

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Old Siam & The River Kwai tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
10 Emma Lear, 11/04/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

So many but probably the stunning location of the jungle rafts. It was lots of fun travelling on the long tailed speed boat to get there and once there, riding on an elephant, and floating down the river without needing to swim (it's a fast current).

Read more
 
8 , 27/11/13

Name

Jacqueline Lamb

Tour Name

Old Siam and The River Kwai

Tour Code

OS

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Si Satchanalai is a hidden jewel. An amazing place to visit and partly because of it's location - no tourists! Ayutthaya was also breathtaking. A part of Thailand I didn't expect to see.

Tour Leader Name

John

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

John was terrific. I love it when Explore have 'local' leaders. They know the history, language and country best. Helps us understand the people and their culture better.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Easy paced. Gives you lots of variety.. Transport was by boat, bus, train and an optional elephant and bicycle ride. & all the hotels were very good.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Weather in Thailand is hot and humid. Bring extra light clothes as you need to change daily and clothes dry slowly in humid weather.

 
9 , 27/11/13

Name

Malwina Radoszewska

Tour Name

Old Siam and The River Kwai

Tour Code

OS

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

There were so many... Elephants Sanctuary, cycling in Sukhotai historical park, cooking class...but I think raft houses on River Kwai would be the winner as it was like nothing else I've done before.

Tour Leader Name

John

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

John was very helpful, always listening to our needs and willing to arrange almost anything we asked for. We always had information about what will be happening the next day and what to prepare.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Raft houses are marked as simple accommodation as there is no electricity but apart from that they have everything you need...bring some torches though. Also, if you have a chance, book the extension or go and see any beach as it's a shame not to see what Thailand's famous for. In Bangkok grab a few drinks in one of the skybars that offer amazing views of the city from 65th or higher floor. Thai cooking class and elephant sanctuary are also highly recommended. Bring a lot of light clothes (some covering your shoulders and knees for the temples visits or plan some time to buy them in one of the Bangkok shopping centres like MBK next to national stadium) and mosquito repellent.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

We had a great group of people from all over the world which made that trip even more enjoyable.

 
10 , 06/09/13

Name

Carol Rutherford

Tour Code

OS

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

"When we saw the rice barge on which we were to spend 2 half days, the reaction of our tour group was ""We're surely not travelling on that!""It just wasn't our idea of a boat. And then we saw the very narrow gang-plank... 15 minutes later we were all safely aboard and drifting peacefully along the river past villages, towns, temples and farms. Our hosts were wonderful, and cooked us delicious Thai meals.Cushions and low stools were provided for us to sit on, or we could sit on the floor or perch on any other available space. We were free to wander, chat and help ourselves to tea, coffee and beer. In the evening we watched the moon rise over the river. This was a unique and memorable experience; and, on disembarkation, the gang-plank really was no problem!"

Tour Leader Name

James

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

James was wonderful! He was always cheerful and very approachable. He worked very hard to ensure we all had a memorable holiday, even helping us with our luggage. He was very knowledgeable about both ancient and modern culture, and, as a local, was able to give us useful advice about, among other things, where to find good restaurants. He was very well organised, and, as a result, our trip ran smoothly. He was great fun, and was an important factor contributing to a brilliant holiday.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

What are you waiting for? Just book it. Don't forget your Deet, torch and toilet paper, and take an over night back-pack for your 2 nights at the raft hotel.

 
0 Andrea G, 20/02/12
Just returned from a fabulous 2 weeks in Thailand. Our group really 'gelled' from day 1 which always helps to make a good trip and our tour leader (Wit) was probably the best leader I have ever had with Explore. The temple visits were fascinating - Sukothai was my favorite - really beautiful & very peaceful. Ayutthaya has been quite badly damaged with the floods last year but was still well worth the visit. I was not really looking forward to spending time in Bangkok as I generally don't like big cities but I wouldn't have missed it for the world - the Grand Palace has to be seen to be believed - it is just stunning. Our time at the River Kwai and the war museum was very sobering - a good contrast after so much temple visiting. The journey down-river on the rice barge was great 'chillin-out' time and the 2 days in the jungle raft were great fun (don't forget your torch as there is no electricity!). We tagged on the extension to Koh Samet but were a little disappointed - a long journey & the island is a little bit 'tacky'. We went out for a day's snorkelling but found the coral to be quite damaged & the sea life was consequently limited. Some excellent food to be found in the beachside restaurants though. Several of our group were making a similar length extension into Cambodia to go to Ankor Wat & I think this would have been preferable if we had seen it.
 
0 Josephine Breton, 27/10/11

So many vivid memories to treasure: golden temples and prayerful Buddhists; rivers, lush greenery for miles and miles, laughs on the night train, relaxing with beer and tasty noodles on the rice barge, elephant ride through jungle in torrential rain!

Our guide, Boonchoy, gently and cheerfully introduced us to Thai respect for the royal family, street cafes, the dramas of Thai history, making friends with rice farmers, negotiating Bangkok's traffic, feeding elephants, the tragedies of the POW camp, good karma, putting up mosquito nets.

Don't forget to take your swim suit, DEET, torch, and learn a few words of Thai! (OS -22nd July 2011)

 
0 J.O., 15/08/11
Our first holiday with Explore.   A fabulous and truly memorable holiday with so many highlights; rice boat journey, overnight train, local market, ancient sites... to name but a few. All coordinated and led by our guide, Boonchouy (John) who was excellent throughout. Don't forget a torch for Kwai river hotel - no electric :-)  Also, take extra light clothes for this part of hol as anything wet takes ages to dry out due to high humidity. I can highly recommend this tour and will definitely be travelling with Explore in the future. Brilliant :-) ( OS - 23rd July 2010)
 
0 Paddy McEwan, 16/05/11
Thailand with Explore and our guide, Pok was amazing!!!  Pok took such good care of us, each detail so well thought out.  Any request we had Pok took care of it and made our trip amazing.  Thailand was great, the tour fantastic and every day we went to sleep thinking that was the best day.  But guess what, the next day the highlights just got bigger and better!!  The raft houses and the rice barge are two of my favourite memories that I will cherish for ever.  I hope we meet again, Pok.  Explore is lucky to have you. (OS - 20th March 2011)
 
0 Tina Tramontano, 21/09/10
The highlights of this trip for me was the Thai cookery course, it was informative and hilarious, so much fun for all who took part. But the excellent agenda was made so much better by the leadership of Wit a former Buddhist monk who was our Tour Leader and friend! (OSK- 13th August 2010)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  3. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  4. Tour name (i.e. Inca Trail Trek)
  5. Tour Code (i.e. PQ)
    Invalid Input
  6. What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  7. Tour leader name
  8. How Was Your Explore Tour Leader?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  10. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  11. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  12.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA