It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
603 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Read reviews

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

On Foot In The Picos De Europa PC

Visiting: Spain
Tour Duration 8 Days
 
Reviews for On Foot In The Picos De Europa

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the On Foot In The Picos De Europa tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

On Foot In The Picos De Europa reviews verified by Reevoo

14 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
On Foot In The Picos De EuropaScores 9.0 out of 10 based on 14 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Michael

London
The Picos are magnificent. Sotras is a lovely and interesting village. JaunJo and Sonia are friendly, helpful and knowledgable. The food was good and plentiful with wine thrown in (do try the local ciders). The walks were varied, giving a good perspective on the Picos, and ranged from long and straight forward to fairly challenging. My only gripe is that I would have preferred to spend all the time up in the mountains in Sotras instead of spending time by the coast and a night in another hotel.
Confirmed traveller: 25 October 2015
Published on: 02 December 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

This was my first trip with Explore and certainly surpassed expectations. Difficult to find fault (so I won't) and, despite some disappointing weather, some amazing walks to jaw-dropping views. And a great, sociable hotel to be based at.Juan is a knowledgeable and enthusiastic tour leader and his passion for the Picos de Europa shines through.
Confirmed traveller: 02 July 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

I had a great holiday, helped by fine weather every day. Sotres is a fantastic base in a stunnng location and the hotel is just right. Juan is also a great host. I liked the Picos for their unspoilt nature and spectacular scenery. Highlights were the Naranjo de Bulnes and Orviedo viewpoint walks. The Cares Gorge is spectacular but long and walking it both ways is a long way on a hot day. Our leader was brilliant. He really wanted us to have a great holiday and went out of his way to ensure it. He was always cheerful, informative and very supportive.
Confirmed traveller: 05 July 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

This was my 15th explore trip and one of my favourites. My highlights were Cares Gorge, also the last day which was the walk to Caseton de Andara via Aldea Col. We also got to see the Traveserina 2015 race which ran from Sotres.Juan was great. He was passionate about Picos De Europa and Sotres. He would always do a briefing each night on the next day so you always know what to bring, leaving times etc. You always knew what was going on so you could just relax and enjoy the trip.
Confirmed traveller: 23 June 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

A breathtaking week (Oct 2014) in the unique Picos with a great group of people, one of the best guides we have known and based in a great little hotel which was like being welcomed into someone's home.
Confirmed traveller: 10 November 2014
Published on: 07 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Jill

Cockermouth
The commitment and expertise and friendly attitude of Juan and Sonia
The warmth and excellent food in their hotel
the stunning landscape in autumnal colours and sunshine
Confirmed traveller: 25 October 2015
Published on: 30 October 2015
(10 out of 10)

Peter

Huddersfield
This was a very good centre based walking holiday. The walks were graded at moderate, with some challenging bits. However, the spectacular scenery made it all worthwhile. The hotel was family owned and excellent with a cosy bar, which was also popular with the local village. The food was great and would satisfy the heartiest appetite after a days walking. Juan, our tour leader, has been running this trip for the past 20 years or so and his passion for the area, plus his extensive knowledge, made it even more special. I have already recommended this trip to numerous friends who I walk with.
Confirmed traveller: 14 June 2015
Published on: 24 October 2015
(10 out of 10)

Helen

Grantown on Spey
The walking is easy if you are fit enough as on good paths and there is no scrambling or difficult terrain. One or two members of the group found it harder than expected.
The leader is excellent and was supportive of individuals and also gave us a lot of the local history and geographic/natural information.
The hotel is mall and comfortable and I would rate it higher but wouldn't like people to have expectations of this friendly family hotel. Meals were restricted to one choice and if you weren't vegetarian were really nice, local food and well prepared. Local produce was used most/all of the time.
The Picos is the most beautiful area in the spring with abundant flowers and wildlife but variable weather. Surely anyone going to a mountainous area would only expect this. People should be in good weather proof gear and comfortable boots and also lots of sun cream, because when it was warm and sunny, it was really hot.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 14 June 2015
Published on: 04 October 2015
(10 out of 10)

Chris

Didcot
Difficult to pick a highlight as the walks on all 6 days were full of interest. Maybe the Naranjo de Bulnes. Sotres is a super location, with most of the starts a short ride away. Juan was an excellent guide. The consensus of the group was that the tour is undergraded, and moderate/strenuous would be nearer the mark.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 30 August 2015
Published on: 03 October 2015
(8 out of 10)

James

Southampton
Some great walks, particularly the Cares Gorge walk which was both spectacular and interesting.
Confirmed traveller: 14 June 2015
Published on: 02 October 2015