It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
607 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Reviews for On Foot In The Picos De Europa

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the On Foot In The Picos De Europa trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

On Foot In The Picos De Europa reviews verified by Reevoo

19 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
On Foot In The Picos De EuropaScores 9.1 out of 10 based on 19 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Laurence

Frome Somerset
The tour was well organised, all transport links worked and the leadership of thw walks by Juan was excellent.
Confirmed traveller: 12 June 2016
Published on: 15 June 2016
(10 out of 10)

James

Winchester
Juan, our tour manager and guide was extremely knowledgeable about the areas in which we walked. We were updated each evening after dinner as to the plan for the following day. Walks were swapped around as appropriate according to the weather forecast. Food was delicious and plentiful including excellent packed lunches. The hotel in Sotres, run by Juan and Sonia's family is perfectly located for the Picos. Some walks quite challenging, but more than worth it for the view.
All in all a fantastic holiday and wonderful introduction to this beautiful part of Spain. Thanks again to Juan, Sonia and the team.
Confirmed traveller: 29 May 2016
Published on: 10 June 2016
(10 out of 10)

Judith

Walsall
Fantastic scenery and walking, though certainly the challenging end of moderate. Juan the leader was very good, ensuring everyone could complete the walks safely. He adjusted the order of the walks according to the weather very successfully. Both he and his wife Sonia worked extremely hard to create a wonderful holiday for us. Food local, flavourful and plenty of it! The chance to visit Covadonga on the first day was a real bonus for us. Would strongly recommend this trip.
Confirmed traveller: 29 May 2016
Published on: 04 June 2016
(9 out of 10)

Amit

tel aviv' Israel
very good time of the year. lovely weather, good company, very good exercise for walking/
Confirmed traveller: 29 May 2016
Published on: 03 June 2016
(9 out of 10)

Teresa

Aberdeen
Terrific walking tour, guide very knowledgeable and friendly. Walks were as described and provided full days in the hills. Accommodation is basic mountain hotel but clean with comfortable beds; the food was good, the packed lunches especially were excellent. The bar stocked some nice beers and ciders too.
Confirmed traveller: 29 May 2016
Published on: 02 June 2016
(8 out of 10)

Michael

London
The Picos are magnificent. Sotras is a lovely and interesting village. JaunJo and Sonia are friendly, helpful and knowledgable. The food was good and plentiful with wine thrown in (do try the local ciders). The walks were varied, giving a good perspective on the Picos, and ranged from long and straight forward to fairly challenging. My only gripe is that I would have preferred to spend all the time up in the mountains in Sotras instead of spending time by the coast and a night in another hotel.
Confirmed traveller: 25 October 2015
Published on: 02 December 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

This was my first trip with Explore and certainly surpassed expectations. Difficult to find fault (so I won't) and, despite some disappointing weather, some amazing walks to jaw-dropping views. And a great, sociable hotel to be based at.Juan is a knowledgeable and enthusiastic tour leader and his passion for the Picos de Europa shines through.
Confirmed traveller: 02 July 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

I had a great holiday, helped by fine weather every day. Sotres is a fantastic base in a stunnng location and the hotel is just right. Juan is also a great host. I liked the Picos for their unspoilt nature and spectacular scenery. Highlights were the Naranjo de Bulnes and Orviedo viewpoint walks. The Cares Gorge is spectacular but long and walking it both ways is a long way on a hot day. Our leader was brilliant. He really wanted us to have a great holiday and went out of his way to ensure it. He was always cheerful, informative and very supportive.
Confirmed traveller: 05 July 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

This was my 15th explore trip and one of my favourites. My highlights were Cares Gorge, also the last day which was the walk to Caseton de Andara via Aldea Col. We also got to see the Traveserina 2015 race which ran from Sotres.Juan was great. He was passionate about Picos De Europa and Sotres. He would always do a briefing each night on the next day so you always know what to bring, leaving times etc. You always knew what was going on so you could just relax and enjoy the trip.
Confirmed traveller: 23 June 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

A breathtaking week (Oct 2014) in the unique Picos with a great group of people, one of the best guides we have known and based in a great little hotel which was like being welcomed into someone's home.
Confirmed traveller: 10 November 2014
Published on: 07 November 2015