It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
608 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

On Foot In The Picos De Europa PC

Visiting: Spain
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for On Foot In The Picos De Europa

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the On Foot In The Picos De Europa trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

On Foot In The Picos De Europa reviews verified by reevooReevoo

30 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
On Foot In The Picos De EuropaScores 9.1 out of 10 based on 30 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Mark

Southampton
This was a great value walking holiday that had really good moderate walking itineries on all days of the trip, with wonderful mountain scenery and spectacular views. Very well organised by the explore leader Juan and his family run hotel 'Casa Cipriano' in Sotres, which provided comfortable accomodation and friendly staff who provided good hospitality and home cooked meal options throughout the trip. Juan, with his friend and guide Rafael were very passionate, experienced and knowledgeable in the local Picos de Europa region. Overall, a very memorable, and enjoyable walking holiday with good company, in an area of Spain well worth going back to and exploring further!
Confirmed traveller: 28 May 2017
Published on: 23 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Julie

Kenilworth
The hot temperature we had with plenty of assents and descents made for some strenuous and challenging walking but also gave clear and stunning views. Every walk was worth the effort. The power of the sun up there should not be underestimated.
There was a pleasing variety of landscape from bare rock mountains to pretty pastureland and and an awesome gorge.
Always the delightful sound of cowbells or cuckoos and the sighting of some chamoirs was a treat as was the close up and distant vulture viewings.
Our tour guide was most informative, looked out for the group's wellbeing and safety yet did not compromise on getting the most out of each day and being flexible to the desires of the group members and best itinery.
The host family made our stay at their hotel comfortable and relaxing though a full day is to be expected. The food was home cooked of local style, wholesome, tasty and plentiful including the packed lunch often served in individual camp containers to provide it chilled and of variety.
In the village it was good to take in the beautiful peace and vastness of the area.
The first day and night in the different area and hotel worked well too. The spa was worth it and was a good opportunity to unwind and relax before the week ahead.
Confirmed traveller: 28 May 2017
Published on: 13 June 2017
(8 out of 10)

Pelham

If you think this holiday is a stroll in the park then think again. It is graded ‘Moderate’ for good reason. Each day’s walk is quite long (one is 25km) and there is no rest day but you are rewarded with spectacular scenery – lush green meadows surrounded by limestone peaks, some still wearing snow in late May. There’s a good chance of seeing vultures, chamois and many varieties of wild flowers. People come from all over Spain to walk the Cares Gorge and here it is on your doorstep This is also a bargain trip as nearly all the meals are included in the price and there is free wine at dinner. The Picos are little known outside of Spain, which in some ways is a pity, but for those making the short flight from Stansted it is an excellent way to find quiet, varied and testing hiking in a completely unspoilt environment.
Confirmed traveller: 28 May 2017
Published on: 09 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Alex

London
I would recommend this tour to absolutely everyone. The views in the picos are magnificent, the actual wolks extremely rewarding and the tour guides exemplary.
Confirmed traveller: 28 May 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(8 out of 10)

John

Porthmadog
Beautiful scenery, good food, knowledgeable local guides.
Walking conditions underfoot often difficult due to loose small stones on most paths.
Bring a wide brimmed hat to reduce exposure to the sun.
Most meals included, with wine at evening meals where include, so good value for money, and no wandering around strange places trying to choose a restaurant.

Awful computer system for managing my booking after I had paid my deposit. It refused to recognise the country which issued my passport, and refused to believe that I was not flying to join the tour at Asturias Airport.
Confirmed traveller: 28 May 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Andrew

Hereford
We both enjoyed the varied itinerary of our daily walks which fully showed the beauty of the area. We also enjoyed the accommodation provided and the local dishes that Sonia and her family provided. Juan was full of all the local knowledge during each daily walk, he also provided support whenever it was required.
Confirmed traveller: 30 October 2016
Published on: 04 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Ann

Sheffield
We were lucky with the warm and sunny weather, but the Picos region is just stunningly beautiful. The walks led by Juan who is such a knowledgeable mountain guide were varied and fairly challenging. The best walk is undoubtedly the one which takes you to the base of Naranjo de Bulnes.
The family run hotel is not luxurious but is very comfortable. Going to sleep to the sound of cowbells outside is most pleasant. More important is the warm hospitality offered by Juan, his wife and her family. The food is plentiful and delicious. Don't expect to be lighter on your return despite the calories you expended walking.
I highly recommend this trip.
Confirmed traveller: 30 October 2016
Published on: 01 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Kirstie

Harrogate
I knew this trip was going to be fantastic, but it exceeded that and was truly awesome. Having Juan as our local guide was fabulous and the accommodation was brilliant with fabulous local food and home cooked meals. It was also excellent value for money as the trip included all meals. The walks were fabulous and well within most people's capabilities and we were extrmely well looked after by our tour leader.
Confirmed traveller: 26 June 2016
Published on: 03 July 2016
(9 out of 10)

Laurence

Frome Somerset
The tour was well organised, all transport links worked and the leadership of thw walks by Juan was excellent.
Confirmed traveller: 12 June 2016
Published on: 15 June 2016