It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
549 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Brochures

Our latest  brochures are available now, with over 600 adventures for you to choose from.

Gift Vouchers

Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with over 600 tours & experiences to choose from. The perfect gift idea for any occasion.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 1,843

Discover Orkney AOR

Tour Duration 7 Days
  • Birsay Palace
  • Standing Stones
  • Papa Westray Beach
  • Birdwatching on clifftops
  • Birsay
  • Tour Style: Classic
  • Tour Type: Small Groups
  • Tour Comfort: Simple
  • Trek Grade: Easy to Moderate
 

Book now!

9 reviews for this tour

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Discover Orkney tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
8 , 15/08/13

Name

Dineke ten Hove

Tour Code

AOR

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Old man of Hoy

Tour Leader Name

Malcolm

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Very good. Excellent knowledge of the island and the history. However, Malcolm was not interested in birds.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Make sure you take warm clothes. There is a cold wind in Orkney

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

The itinerary says that there was a walk with an RSP person. Unfortunately the man has left the island 2 years ago. The tour leader was not that interested in birds, which meant we had to try and identify birds ourselves.

 
8 , 15/08/13

Name

Dineke ten Hove

Tour Name

Orkney

Tour Code

AOR

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Old man of Hoy

Tour Leader Name

Malcolm

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Very good. Excellent knowledge of the island and the history. However, Malcolm was not interested in birds.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Make sure you take warm clothes. There is a cold wind in Orkney

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

The itinerary says that there was a walk with an RSP person. Unfortunately the man has left the island 2 years ago. The tour leader was not that interested in birds, which meant we had to try and identify birds ourselves.

 
10 Megan Freese (Explore Staff), 01/02/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

There were a lot but the one that really sticks out is being on a deserted beach on Papa Westray, the sun was shining and as we began to walk up the beach a pod of seals appeared and were playing and watching us and followed us up the beach as we walked around the headland.The other main highlight is the people that we met and discovering a part of the UK that is so beautiful and different to the places that i visited before.

Read more
 
10 Rosalie Power, 12/10/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

We had some super walks,varying from coastal walks watching the waves crash on to the rocks and walking through heather covered valleys on Hoy.  We saw grey seals and lots of birds, together with the numerous neolithic remains which were incredibly well preserved.

Read more
 
10 No Name, 15/09/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The trekking where all fabulous, but my favorite was the one on Papa Westray: the island is beautiful, peaceful a real paradise.

Read more
 
8 Jenny Smith , 28/08/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Watching the seals swimming in the vortex (not sure if that is the right term) when sailing back from Hoy. However, the whole trip was magical - it was just what I needed, a relaxing, enjoyable and interesting break in a beautiful part of the country I have never been to. The weather was great (mostly), and the light made the landscapes very evocative.

Read more
Our Response

We are pleased to read that our tour leader managed the situation well and that you have come home with some fond memories of your trip.

 
8 Anita, 27/07/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

visiting Skara Brae

Read more
 
10 Christine Byrne, 28/06/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The walk from Skara Brae to Birsay.  Stunningly beautiful coastline with lots of sea birds to look at.

Read more
 
0 Carol Partridge, 15/08/11
I felt a bit of a fraud booking a 'package holiday' within my own country but this was money well-spent allowing us to make the most of the time we had in these amazing isles. Anyone with a reasonable level of fitness can easily access some of the most wonderful scenery the Orkneys have to offer from the drama of the cliffs and the Old Man of Hoy to the empty sweeping beaches of Papay, save for the presence of a number of curious seals watching us watching them etc! Our tour leader's encyclopaedic knowledge of all things natural was an added bonus and provided another insight into life in the wilds and the presence of the Tall Ships' Race for the first weekend in Strominess was an entirely unexpected and pleasant surprise. My camera was working overtime for the whole week zooming in on everything from puffins perching on precarious sandstone ledges to the remains of the homes and tombs of our neolithic ancestors. Far from satisfying my curiosity about this remote part of the country, it has whetted my appetite and I am planning to return to explore more of the islands. ( AOR - 16th July 2011)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  3. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  4. Tour name (i.e. Inca Trail Trek)
  5. Tour Code (i.e. PQ)
    Invalid Input
  6. What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  7. Tour leader name
  8. How Was Your Explore Tour Leader?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  10. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  11. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  12.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA