It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
539 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 2,720

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast tours and experiences to choose from.

Pedalling In Poland CPP

Tour Duration 8 Days
 
Reviews for Pedalling In Poland 4.5 out of 5 based on 25 ratings.

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Pedalling In Poland tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
4.5 Sally Theakston, 03/12/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The group was a highlight. The scenery, history and food of Poland made it a really good setting for an active holiday.

Read more
 
4.5 John Burke, 25/09/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

We had a great group of people and great fun together. We were lucky with the weather, hardly any rain at all while cycling. Great scenery and plenty of time to stop for coffee, photographs or to rest after some of the climbs. Plenty of highlights.

Read more
 
5 Maureen Aitken, 23/09/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

 

Read more
 
3.5 Ailsa Loudon, 15/09/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The group had a lot of fun together and this greatly added to the enjoyment of the trip. Seeing Krakow old town and staying on an extra day for a visit to Auschwitz was memorable. The cycling was very pleasant and the week of fresh air was invigorating.

Read more
 
5 Roger Peck, 25/08/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

It was all thoroughly enjoyable - fresh air, beautiful countryside, fun evenings spent with the group

Read more
 
4.5 Sara Pfrommer, 21/08/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The most memorable moment was the group collectively deciding to laugh about the fact that the first day of cycling started off with a torrential downpour. I knew then that this would be a great group to spend a week with. Learning a few words of Polish, buying food at stores in small villages where the shopkeeper didn't speak any English. Biking through the Dunajec Gorge.

Read more
 
5 Kevin Nolan, 20/08/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The glorious Pieniny Way, Krakow itself. Probably the lovely trout barbeque above all else!

Read more
 
4.5 Morley Halse, 20/08/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The Dunajec Gorge

Read more
 
4.5 Morley Halse, 20/08/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The Dunajec Gorge

Read more
 
4.5 Morley Halse, 20/08/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The Dunajec Gorge

Read more
 
5 Loraine Denison, 18/08/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Kasia Krzyzak was the young enthusiastic tour leader of this trip. She was instantly likeable with her friendly manner. Right from the start you could tell she was so well organised, giving a detailed map the day before about what we would be doing. She was very knowledgeable about her country and very safety conscious. Kasia was also great fun, friendly but assertive when necessary too. We saw the best of Poland because of Kasia's expertise. We joked that she was my third daughter, and I would be proud to have her as my daughter. Thank you Kasia for an excellent trip. Love from Loraine x

Read more
 
5 'Military Mike!', 18/08/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Cable Car and cycle via Chocholow to Lopuszna. At the Cable Car summit, we experienced the most intense downpour/storm accompanied by hail stones.Our Tour Guide (Kasia), thoughtfully went off in the rain and purchased for us some Polish Ponchos which were excellent! We wore them throughout the week when it rained, and they were much appreciated.

Read more
 
4.5 Sonay , 29/07/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

For me it was the whole trip. As a newbie to organised tours I was a little anxious, but within 20 minutes of landing in Poland and meeting the guide and the others on my trip I was completely at ease. I am not a cyclist but am moderately fit and this trip was perfect for my ability. It may be less appealing to those more experienced.

Read more
 
5 Sylvia Mcquilkan, 28/07/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

I enjoyed the National Park and Zakapone - but everywhere really - Poland is beautiful

Read more
 
4 Melanie, 19/06/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The Dunejec valley ride, beautiful valleys and vistas, high mountains, wall to wall sunshine, storks nesting on telegraph poles, sharing memories with the rest of the group who were excellent fun. The centre of Krakow - fantastic.

Read more
 
4.5 Paul, 18/06/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Beautiful rural scenery on quiet back roads but with 4 challenging hills on one day to get the blood flowing. Our weather was great (June)and the accommodation and food was fine.

Read more
 
5 Maryam M, 18/06/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

I loved the different places we stayed, but the best part was the company of my other tour members and the fun we had together.

Read more
 
4 , 04/10/13

Name

Elizabeth

Tour Code

CPP

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The views were spectacular, and cycling through some of the villages and along the Dunajec was idyllic

Tour Leader Name

Szymon

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Our leader, Szymon, was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble and he worked hard at ensuring we had a memorable holiday.he worked really hard at ensuring we had a great time, we went to some lovely places to eat and you only needed to mention that you would like to see something and he would go off and organise it.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Make sure your bikes are set up properly and fit for purpose before setting off.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

It was just a shame that the admin side was poor, although it didn't really matter, our itineraries were incorrect and we only spent 4 nights in hotels that were on our itineraries. Szymon more than made up for these minor irritations.

 
3 , 17/09/13

Name

ER

Tour Name

Pedalling in Poland

Tour Code

CPP

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The guide was excellent and really made the trip memorable. The group of people were very interesting and fun company.

Tour Leader Name

Szymon

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Superb

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Good rain gear essential. Bring travel kettle and coffee and tea as no facilities for having tea or coffee in room.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Quality of some hotels very poor and this was very disappointing, especially when cold and wet after several hours cycling in the rain. Bikes not as well maintained as they should be. Some beautiful scenery but one days cycling involved some main roads with busy and dangerous traffic. The group and the guide were what made thus trip worthwhile

Our Response

Thank you for your comments, and for your useful advice.  We’re sorry you were disappointed with some of the hotels – you don’t mention which ones, but we’re reviewing feedback on all of them.  Our Cycling Manager has been in touch with our local staff over the standard of bike maintenance; we have strict operating procedures regarding this.  We think you are referring to day 5 from Szczawnica to Rytro, part of which is along a busy road.  Unfortunately there’s no alternative.  We are looking into whether it is possible to have the support vehicle close behind the group to act as a shield, but if not we’ll add a warning in the Tour Notes.

 
5 , 15/08/13

Name

Katherine Jenkins

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The scenery was stunning - we rode through some beautiful Alpine meadows, small villages, river gorges and saw many beautiful wooden churches.

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Kasia was fantastic. Very enthusiastic, knowledgeable and obviously very proud of her country. She dealt with the different personalities in the group very well and made sure we all had a good time.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Do it! But take proper cycling rainwear. We were lucky with the weather, but had it rained I think I would have got very wet!

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

The only negative was the last minute change of hotel in Krakow. We were told we would be staying at the Best Western which is right in the heart of Old Town, but instead we were at the Chopin which not only has the worst decor of any hotel I've stayed in, but is a good 10 - 15 min walk into town and in a horrible area. This really did spoil the end of a lovely holiday - I would have enjoyed Krakow much more had we been in a good location

Our Response

Thank you for your feedback; it’s good to know you enjoyed the trip.  We’re making enquiries as to the last minute change of hotel in Krakow; as we were unaware of this in the office, it is likely to relate to issues the hotel may have been having, whether with water, electricity, building work … We do not like changing hotels at a late stage, and can assure you we don’t so without a very good reason.  This is being followed up with our Polish agent.

 
5 Bruce, 23/07/12

What an excellent holiday. From the mountains at Zakopane, scaled by funicular, to the gentler hills near Stary Sacz it was a very scenic and well chosen route. The mountain passes were avoided and the lunch and evening restaurants were well chosen.

Read more
 
5 Pete Joyce, 23/07/12

The trip was my first organised activity trip, and was a great taister with lovely scenery on mainly deserted roads. There was the odd hill (with three steep ones  on one day), these were a challenge especially on the fairly "robust" (heavy) bikes that came with the trip.
 

Read more
 
0 Ali Butler, 15/06/12

A lovely, mainly easy cycle through the beautiful Polish countryside. There are a couple of hills for those who want a challenge but its mainly flat and downhill which means you can enjoy the scenery as you pass through rural Poland. Expect a warm welcome and great home cooked food which is perfect fuel for a days cycling. Explore historical towns and wooden churches as well as the impressive Dunajec gorge and lastly make sure you try some local vodka at least once!

 
0 SP, 19/12/11
This was a fabulous holiday and I can't recommend it too highly. The Tatras mountains were beautiful and we had a really long downhill on the first day of cycling with other manageable challenges on other days. Wooden houses everywhere - we were told that the unmarried women washed them every spring - several of us had concerns here! It was amazing to see strip farming in action in the fields - I wondered why we worry about preserving them in this country when you can see the real thing happening. Sampling the latest version of vodka was another interesting challenge! Krakow was a great town to explore at the end of the tour - rather like Prague but without the crowds of tourists. We really enjoyed go up the Kosciuszko Mound where you can look out over the city, and the meal with the Klezmer music made a great end to the tour. I can't recommend it highly enough - and had decided to join the trip after being recommended it by people on another tour.... I think that says it all. (CPP - 18th July 2009)
 
0 W.L, 20/09/10
Some beautiful countryside, but spirits quashed but perpetual drizzle. As it turned out, the one decent day took us through the Danujec Gorge, and that was lovely. The bikes were unbelievable 'sit up and beg'. But the main problem was that it was far too tame for me. I like careering down hills, so make sure you check the real type of cycling involved. (CPP- 19th June 2010)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  3. Your Tour (*)
    Invalid Input
  4. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  5. Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  6. Tour leader name
  7. Do you have any feedback on your tour leaders performance?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  8. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  10. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  11.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA