It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
525 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Brochures

Our latest  brochures are available now, with over 600 adventures for you to choose from.

Gift Vouchers

Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with over 600 tours & experiences to choose from. The perfect gift idea for any occasion.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 1,843

Pedalling In Poland CPP

Tour Duration 8 Days
  • St. Mary's Basilica, Kraków
  • Picturesque Poland
  • Market Square, Krakow
  • Dunajec cycle trail
  • Zakopane
  • Tour Style: Classic
  • Tour Type: Small Groups
  • Tour Comfort: Standard
  • Cycling Grade: Easy to Moderate
 

Book now!

8 reviews for this tour

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Pedalling In Poland tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
8 , 04/10/13

Name

Elizabeth

Tour Code

CPP

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The views were spectacular, and cycling through some of the villages and along the Dunajec was idyllic

Tour Leader Name

Szymon

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Our leader, Szymon, was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble and he worked hard at ensuring we had a memorable holiday.he worked really hard at ensuring we had a great time, we went to some lovely places to eat and you only needed to mention that you would like to see something and he would go off and organise it.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Make sure your bikes are set up properly and fit for purpose before setting off.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

It was just a shame that the admin side was poor, although it didn't really matter, our itineraries were incorrect and we only spent 4 nights in hotels that were on our itineraries. Szymon more than made up for these minor irritations.

 
6 , 17/09/13

Name

ER

Tour Name

Pedalling in Poland

Tour Code

CPP

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The guide was excellent and really made the trip memorable. The group of people were very interesting and fun company.

Tour Leader Name

Szymon

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Superb

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Good rain gear essential. Bring travel kettle and coffee and tea as no facilities for having tea or coffee in room.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Quality of some hotels very poor and this was very disappointing, especially when cold and wet after several hours cycling in the rain. Bikes not as well maintained as they should be. Some beautiful scenery but one days cycling involved some main roads with busy and dangerous traffic. The group and the guide were what made thus trip worthwhile

Our Response

Thank you for your comments, and for your useful advice.  We’re sorry you were disappointed with some of the hotels – you don’t mention which ones, but we’re reviewing feedback on all of them.  Our Cycling Manager has been in touch with our local staff over the standard of bike maintenance; we have strict operating procedures regarding this.  We think you are referring to day 5 from Szczawnica to Rytro, part of which is along a busy road.  Unfortunately there’s no alternative.  We are looking into whether it is possible to have the support vehicle close behind the group to act as a shield, but if not we’ll add a warning in the Tour Notes.

 
10 , 15/08/13

Name

Katherine Jenkins

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The scenery was stunning - we rode through some beautiful Alpine meadows, small villages, river gorges and saw many beautiful wooden churches.

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Kasia was fantastic. Very enthusiastic, knowledgeable and obviously very proud of her country. She dealt with the different personalities in the group very well and made sure we all had a good time.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Do it! But take proper cycling rainwear. We were lucky with the weather, but had it rained I think I would have got very wet!

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

The only negative was the last minute change of hotel in Krakow. We were told we would be staying at the Best Western which is right in the heart of Old Town, but instead we were at the Chopin which not only has the worst decor of any hotel I've stayed in, but is a good 10 - 15 min walk into town and in a horrible area. This really did spoil the end of a lovely holiday - I would have enjoyed Krakow much more had we been in a good location

Our Response

Thank you for your feedback; it’s good to know you enjoyed the trip.  We’re making enquiries as to the last minute change of hotel in Krakow; as we were unaware of this in the office, it is likely to relate to issues the hotel may have been having, whether with water, electricity, building work … We do not like changing hotels at a late stage, and can assure you we don’t so without a very good reason.  This is being followed up with our Polish agent.

 
10 Bruce, 23/07/12

What an excellent holiday. From the mountains at Zakopane, scaled by funicular, to the gentler hills near Stary Sacz it was a very scenic and well chosen route. The mountain passes were avoided and the lunch and evening restaurants were well chosen.

Read more
 
10 Pete Joyce, 23/07/12

The trip was my first organised activity trip, and was a great taister with lovely scenery on mainly deserted roads. There was the odd hill (with three steep ones  on one day), these were a challenge especially on the fairly "robust" (heavy) bikes that came with the trip.
 

Read more
 
0 Ali Butler, 15/06/12

A lovely, mainly easy cycle through the beautiful Polish countryside. There are a couple of hills for those who want a challenge but its mainly flat and downhill which means you can enjoy the scenery as you pass through rural Poland. Expect a warm welcome and great home cooked food which is perfect fuel for a days cycling. Explore historical towns and wooden churches as well as the impressive Dunajec gorge and lastly make sure you try some local vodka at least once!

 
0 SP, 19/12/11
This was a fabulous holiday and I can't recommend it too highly. The Tatras mountains were beautiful and we had a really long downhill on the first day of cycling with other manageable challenges on other days. Wooden houses everywhere - we were told that the unmarried women washed them every spring - several of us had concerns here! It was amazing to see strip farming in action in the fields - I wondered why we worry about preserving them in this country when you can see the real thing happening. Sampling the latest version of vodka was another interesting challenge! Krakow was a great town to explore at the end of the tour - rather like Prague but without the crowds of tourists. We really enjoyed go up the Kosciuszko Mound where you can look out over the city, and the meal with the Klezmer music made a great end to the tour. I can't recommend it highly enough - and had decided to join the trip after being recommended it by people on another tour.... I think that says it all. (CPP - 18th July 2009)
 
0 W.L, 20/09/10
Some beautiful countryside, but spirits quashed but perpetual drizzle. As it turned out, the one decent day took us through the Danujec Gorge, and that was lovely. The bikes were unbelievable 'sit up and beg'. But the main problem was that it was far too tame for me. I like careering down hills, so make sure you check the real type of cycling involved. (CPP- 19th June 2010)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  3. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  4. Tour name (i.e. Inca Trail Trek)
  5. Tour Code (i.e. PQ)
    Invalid Input
  6. What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  7. Tour leader name
  8. How Was Your Explore Tour Leader?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  10. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  11. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  12.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA