It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
608 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Peloponnese Explorer GX

Visiting: Greece
Trip Duration 13 Days
 

Reviews for Peloponnese Explorer

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Peloponnese Explorer trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Peloponnese Explorer reviews verified by reevooReevoo

20 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Peloponnese ExplorerScores 8.4 out of 10 based on 20 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Edward

Pennsylvania, USA
This was a very nice active tour, a mix of history, interesting museums, culture, enjoyable food and wine, and a bit of time relaxing on several nice beaches. The small diverse group of mixed nationalities definitely added to the experience. I plan to travel with Explore again in near future.
Confirmed traveller: 26 May 2017
Published on: 13 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Anne

Brussels
The Peloponnese are absolutely fantastic. Monemvasia is a fabulous fortified town, the upper town especially was impressive. In Mystras it is best to start with the castle, the views are stupendous in the morning hours, and then wind your way down exploring, there's a lot to see. The Mani is special: the buildings, the landscape, the beaches, the people, the caves. Pylos is a nice town and Voidikila beach is stunning - if you can find it. See the taxi drops you off at the northern parking lot of Voidikilia beach and not Golden beach. Then there's a nice walk along the lagoon to the castle from where there is the postcard view. Olympia is a vast and interesting site with a gorgeous museum. In Epidavros it is the theatre that takes your breath away though the rest of the site is worth a quick tour. In Delphi I should have skipped the guided tour as the lady insisted we start with the museum -interesting but not the reason you come here- because now the light was bad outside and it 's the surrounding mountains that make the site special, and it started to rain at the end as the weather forecast predicted, a perfect time to pop into the museum. In Mycenae we had heavy rain and fierce winds but somehow that made all the stories about the place more real. Tiryns was great for the cyclopean walls and because there wasn't a living soul in sight. Athens is a big city, so you need a couple of days to do it justice. The orientation walk here was a bit disappointing, we didn't enter any site meaning we had to do the same route again later.
I really enjoyed it that we could visit all the sites except Olympia, Delphi and the Akropolis on our own as guides tend to place themselves somewhere - in the shade if you're lucky - and then talk endlessly about things you can read easily in any history book instead of showing you around the site telling you what you see.
The accomodation was very good, Always central except in Athens, and friendly staff everywhere.
Our explore guide Eleftheria went out of her way to answer all our questions and meet all our demands - within reason :) and the group was very diverse , knowledgeable and a lot of fun.
O and it's not "full on" as stated in the trip notes, there's plenty of time for a swim, a coffee or dolce far niente.
Confirmed traveller: 26 May 2017
Published on: 12 June 2017
(8 out of 10)

Anthony

St Albans
Good trip with lots to see. Our time at the Olympia sight was too short, but I think that was due to local travel conditions.

Hotel Mani was a nice hotel, but offered ridiculously mean breakfasts.

All the drivers were exceptionaly thoughtful and nice people.

One of our group was badly scammed by an Athens taxi driver, so maybe travellers need a little warning.

Excellent trip and I’d recommend it.
Confirmed traveller: 21 October 2016
Published on: 24 October 2016
(10 out of 10)

Bonnie

Mission Viejo, California, USA
The itinerary was extensive and the locations we traveled on the Peloponnese Pennisula were spectacular and well planned.
Confirmed traveller: 30 September 2016
Published on: 06 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

Paul

Kent
An excellent itinerary covering many cultural highlights of the country as a whole, not just the Peloponnese, from bronze age sites through classical Greece to Byzantine towns. The timing of visits was very good, avoiding the heat of the day in most cases as well as the bulk of the visitors.
While the schedule was pretty busy on the whole, I feel that describing it as 'full on' is a little excessive and does not fully reflect the pace and content experienced.
We were offered a narrow range of activities for the free day at Pylos, which, being a Monday, meant that the local castles (and museums) were closed - perhaps better to ensure the free day is planned for another day or change the start day of the tour in order to avoid this?
Would also recommend that the optional excursions to Monemvassia and the caves be incorporated in the itin as a) they were excellent, providing different insights and experiences in an already varied itin, and b) no realistic alternative options were offered
Accomodation in a few cases was a little underwhelming, with some hotels feeling rather dog-eared and in need of repair / upgrade (esp in bathrooms). Noteworthy too that some hotels still operate smoking rooms.
Confirmed traveller: 30 September 2016
Published on: 03 October 2016
(10 out of 10)

Richard

Ivybridge
Had an absolutely brilliant time in a small tour of only 5 people, our guide Kateryna who was always cheerful and was excellent in looking after all the arrangements during the trip so there were no problems at all along the way. This trip had the right blend of visiting historic sites and then leaving time to relax go shopping or enjoy a swim at the beach in the late afternoon. I would recommend this trip and guide to anyone thinking of visiting Greece.
Confirmed traveller: 23 September 2016
Published on: 03 October 2016
(10 out of 10)

Pascale

Leamington Spa
Interesting tour, focussing on classical and Byzantine sites, but with a lot more besides: a visit to an olive museum, a boat ride into underground caves, driving across the Taygetos mountains, a short visit to the cathedral in Kalamata, a day in Monemvasia, a walking tour of Nafplion. We were a very small group (6 people), with an excellent and sympathetic tour leader. Our tour was a very good way to (begin to) get to know the Peloponnese, including the spectacular Mani peninsular - wild and barren, with its characteristic tower houses - and to understand more about Greek history. The social aspect was also good; we ate out together in a variety of tavernas, tasting local specialities. I would recommend going to drink an ouzo and listen to live Greek music in Athens at the Kapnikarea café, Ermou St. - genuine music, not just for tourists! Also go for a cocktail to Spilos' bar near the sea just outside Areopoli, in the Mani peninsula - a short walk out of the town!
Confirmed traveller: 16 September 2016
Published on: 28 September 2016
(8 out of 10)

Robert

East Yorkshire
A wonderful tour seeing the famous ancient sites of Classical Greece, including medieval sites I knew nothing about before. Beautiful countryside and coast. All the people were very friendly and helpful. Food and drink were excellent. Weather generally hot, but it did rain briefly on a couple of days.
Confirmed traveller: 17 June 2016
Published on: 22 June 2016
(10 out of 10)

Robert

San Diego
Liked that we visited major archeological sites but also visited places that only the local people would know about. This was much better than the hit and run tours that are more common.
Confirmed traveller: 17 June 2016
Published on: 22 June 2016
(10 out of 10)

Steve

Gomersal West Yorks
Yet another highly enjoyable Explore tour ably led by the wonderful Dee Brown.
This is a tour that packs a lot of Greek culture, history, food and stunning scenery into a twelve day package. The highlights for me were the visits to Mycenae, The Parthenon and Delphi. These were things I knew about and was looking forward to. Which made the visits to Mystras, Monemvasia and Nafplion all the more special because I didn't know these places existed. This for me is what Explore do well. Getting you off the tourist trail and experiencing extraordinary places.
Confirmed traveller: 27 May 2016
Published on: 02 June 2016