It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
652 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews


Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.


Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Peloponnese Explorer GX

Visiting: Greece
Trip Duration 13 Days

Reviews for Peloponnese Explorer

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Peloponnese Explorer trip available at present.

Please select a date:


Peloponnese Explorer reviews verified by reevooReevoo

17 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Peloponnese ExplorerScores 8.3 out of 10 based on 17 reviews
(10 out of 10)


Mission Viejo, California, USA
The itinerary was extensive and the locations we traveled on the Peloponnese Pennisula were spectacular and well planned.
Confirmed traveller: 30 September 2016
Published on: 06 October 2016
(9 out of 10)


An excellent itinerary covering many cultural highlights of the country as a whole, not just the Peloponnese, from bronze age sites through classical Greece to Byzantine towns. The timing of visits was very good, avoiding the heat of the day in most cases as well as the bulk of the visitors.
While the schedule was pretty busy on the whole, I feel that describing it as 'full on' is a little excessive and does not fully reflect the pace and content experienced.
We were offered a narrow range of activities for the free day at Pylos, which, being a Monday, meant that the local castles (and museums) were closed - perhaps better to ensure the free day is planned for another day or change the start day of the tour in order to avoid this?
Would also recommend that the optional excursions to Monemvassia and the caves be incorporated in the itin as a) they were excellent, providing different insights and experiences in an already varied itin, and b) no realistic alternative options were offered
Accomodation in a few cases was a little underwhelming, with some hotels feeling rather dog-eared and in need of repair / upgrade (esp in bathrooms). Noteworthy too that some hotels still operate smoking rooms.
Confirmed traveller: 30 September 2016
Published on: 03 October 2016
(10 out of 10)


Had an absolutely brilliant time in a small tour of only 5 people, our guide Kateryna who was always cheerful and was excellent in looking after all the arrangements during the trip so there were no problems at all along the way. This trip had the right blend of visiting historic sites and then leaving time to relax go shopping or enjoy a swim at the beach in the late afternoon. I would recommend this trip and guide to anyone thinking of visiting Greece.
Confirmed traveller: 23 September 2016
Published on: 03 October 2016
(10 out of 10)


Leamington Spa
Interesting tour, focussing on classical and Byzantine sites, but with a lot more besides: a visit to an olive museum, a boat ride into underground caves, driving across the Taygetos mountains, a short visit to the cathedral in Kalamata, a day in Monemvasia, a walking tour of Nafplion. We were a very small group (6 people), with an excellent and sympathetic tour leader. Our tour was a very good way to (begin to) get to know the Peloponnese, including the spectacular Mani peninsular - wild and barren, with its characteristic tower houses - and to understand more about Greek history. The social aspect was also good; we ate out together in a variety of tavernas, tasting local specialities. I would recommend going to drink an ouzo and listen to live Greek music in Athens at the Kapnikarea café, Ermou St. - genuine music, not just for tourists! Also go for a cocktail to Spilos' bar near the sea just outside Areopoli, in the Mani peninsula - a short walk out of the town!
Confirmed traveller: 16 September 2016
Published on: 28 September 2016
(8 out of 10)


East Yorkshire
A wonderful tour seeing the famous ancient sites of Classical Greece, including medieval sites I knew nothing about before. Beautiful countryside and coast. All the people were very friendly and helpful. Food and drink were excellent. Weather generally hot, but it did rain briefly on a couple of days.
Confirmed traveller: 17 June 2016
Published on: 22 June 2016
(10 out of 10)


San Diego
Liked that we visited major archeological sites but also visited places that only the local people would know about. This was much better than the hit and run tours that are more common.
Confirmed traveller: 17 June 2016
Published on: 22 June 2016
(10 out of 10)


Gomersal West Yorks
Yet another highly enjoyable Explore tour ably led by the wonderful Dee Brown.
This is a tour that packs a lot of Greek culture, history, food and stunning scenery into a twelve day package. The highlights for me were the visits to Mycenae, The Parthenon and Delphi. These were things I knew about and was looking forward to. Which made the visits to Mystras, Monemvasia and Nafplion all the more special because I didn't know these places existed. This for me is what Explore do well. Getting you off the tourist trail and experiencing extraordinary places.
Confirmed traveller: 27 May 2016
Published on: 02 June 2016
(9 out of 10)


The tour provided a good chance to experience the Peloponnesian peninsula, seeing its sites, tasting its food and sampling its wines. Our guide Dee kept things moving and was always clear about necessary details. The tour had diversity, from bustling Athens, to ancient Greek mythology plus Byzantine churches and fortresses. Good walking shoes are essential. Rain gear is worth packing.
Confirmed traveller: 27 May 2016
Published on: 02 June 2016
(10 out of 10)


An enjoyably varied trip which covered everything I wanted to see. The pace was about right with plenty to see, though it was lovely to have relaxation time in Nafplio and Pylos.
Confirmed traveller: 27 May 2016
Published on: 01 June 2016
(6 out of 10)


The visit to Mycenae. Make sure to visit Acropolis Museum & National museum in Athens
Confirmed traveller: 09 October 2015
Published on: 20 October 2015