It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
546 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Brochures

Our latest  brochures are available now, with over 600 adventures for you to choose from.

Gift Vouchers

Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with over 600 tours & experiences to choose from. The perfect gift idea for any occasion.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 1,843

Peru Encompassed + Amazon Extension DPRA

Visiting: Peru
Tour Duration 17 Days
  • Looking back at Machu Picchu
  • Colca Canyon
  • Amazon reflections
  • Santa Catalina Convent, Arequipa
  • Amazing architecture, Arequipa
  • Tour Style: Premium
  • Tour Type: Small Groups
  • Tour Pace: Moderate
  • Tour Comfort: Comfortable
 

Book now!

5 reviews for this tour

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Peru Encompassed + Amazon Extension tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
10 Angela, 29/10/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Its difficult to choose just one hightlight, but for me travelling through the spectacular Colca Canyon and watching the condors gliding was probably the best experience.  We were particularly lucky because four juvenile condors landed very close to our vantage point.  Other highlights included visiting Machu Picchu (of course), the beautiful train journey between Puno and Cusco and visiting a clay lick in the Amazon.

Read more
 
8 Timothy, 28/06/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

For me there were three main highlights. At the start of the trip I overflew the Nazca Lines, in the middle I saw the Condors in Colca Canyon and at the end I saw Machu Picchu in bright sunlight.

Read more
Our Response

It is good to know that you enjoyed your flight over the Nazca Lines, but we do need to mention that we do not offer these as an optional activity, due to concerns over their safety.  Our customers may book their own flights should they wish.

 
0 Mike Ford, 27/10/11

This is an action packed tour with some very early starts in order to be at the most advantageous position at the best time of day.  The highlights of the trip for me was seeing the Andean Condor at very close range, visiting the Uros Islands on Lake Titicaca and, of course, Machu Picchu. 

The quality of the guides was also important in making the experience so special, Chrystel our main guide was a real bundle of energy always making sure that the days were packed with as much adventure as possible.  At one point in order to see a carnival parade in Arequipa we joined the procession, entering the main square to load cheers from several thousand people.  Our guide in the Amazon was very knowledgeable and we saw so much wildlife both on land and on the river, much more than I expected and again at close range. 

At Machu Picchu if the Sun Gate is not in cloud on your first visit then I would go for it rather than wait for the next morning when it could well be in cloud and you see little of the view.  Practical advice, take US dollars in new $10 and $20 bills and back that up with ATM's, which work most of the time especially if you have both a MasterCard and Visa to choose from.  Most of the hotels we stayed at on our trip were very good with decent wi-fi and the food in Peru was of a good standard. 

In terms of disappointment the Nazca Lines are difficult to see from the top of a tower, you do need to view them from the air.  I do understand the reason that Explore have for not allowing that option but disappointing.  Finally I don't recommend guinea pig, too many bones! (DPRA -11th August 2011)

 
0 Louise Nadon, 08/07/11
My husband & I really enjoyed this tour, our TL Manuel was amazing and took such good care of us. Peru is a beautiful country, Machu Picchu was amazing to see -  we went back a second day and climbed to the Sun Gate the view of Machu Picchu was incredible. The Sacred Valley was a highlight too & I recommend the Jungle extention we stayed at the Pasada Amazonas Lodge for 4 nights & loved it. The lodge rooms had 3 walls and the 4th was open to the jungle watching the sun come through the jungle in the mornings was magical. I have to say some people felt there was a lack of privacy as you could hear your neighbours in the rooms next to you that didn't bother us. Our guides at the lodge were great and we enjoyed the treks into the jungle. I feel this tour gave us a good feel of this country and its people - we look forward to traveling with Explore again. (DPRA - 27th May 2011)
 
0 Phil Teckkam, 13/10/10
This trip will leave you breathless, not only because of the Andean altitude, but because it takes you to some of the most amazing sights on earth. Flying over the Nazca lines in a light aircraft beats any white knuckle ride, and dining under the stars on the wild and windswept black beach at Puerto Inca is magical. Colca Canyon is huge (bigger than the Grand Canyon) and here we saw the Condors glide, swoop and land only a few metres from where we stood.  You’ll love the sleepy old colonial city of Arequipa and downtown Cusco with its hybrid mixture of Inca and Spanish architecture which smoulders with an energy both ancient and modern.  The islands of Uros and Taquile on Lake Titicaca couldn’t be more different. The first a collection of floating reed platforms, each with its own small community, and the second a dramatic rocky outcrop where we chanced upon the whole village celebrating their riotously colourful annual fiesta.  Nothing prepares you for your first glimpse of Machu Picchu, lost high in the mountain mists for centuries. Take the early morning option to visit at dawn and walk up to the Sun Gate for an unforgettable view as the sun rises over the Inca city.  We finished our tour with a stay in the Amazon rainforest. Our lodge rooms had only three walls as the fourth side was open to the sights and sounds of the jungle! You will never experience such a breathtakingly beautiful place, the last great wilderness. (DPRA - 29th July 2010)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  3. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  4. Tour name (i.e. Inca Trail Trek)
  5. Tour Code (i.e. PQ)
    Invalid Input
  6. What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  7. Tour leader name
  8. How Was Your Explore Tour Leader?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  10. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  11. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  12.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA