It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
608 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Peru Encompassed DPR

Visiting: Peru
Trip Duration 13 Days
 

Reviews for Peru Encompassed

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Peru Encompassed trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Peru Encompassed reviews verified by reevooReevoo

14 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Peru EncompassedScores 9.1 out of 10 based on 14 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Angela

London
A superb tour and highly recommended - our tour guide was excellent as the trip was efficiently run and he had a wealth of knowledge of the country and its history. Most of the group suffered from altitude sickness, in varying degrees, but effects were short lived. We had a free day in Cuscos but instead opted for a visit to the Sacred Valley at an extra cost of US$50; this visit is a 'must' but a pity not included in the basic tour cost. Visiting Machu Picchu on a Saturday meant we were with the crowds (some 8,000 on the day we were there) - I wonder whether the itinerary could be changed so that the tour of this great site could take place on a weekday. Hotels were all very good.
Confirmed traveller: 10 August 2017
Published on: 13 August 2017
(9 out of 10)

Chris

Tauton
An extremely well organised tour that allowed us to see the best that Peru has to offer. An excellent combination of dramatic scenery, interesting people and fascinating buildings. The days are quite long but there is so much to see that is understandable. The additional days tour of the Sacred Valley, organised by our trip leader, was superb and should be considered as a must (we felt that it should be in the original itinerary rather than an addition).
Confirmed traveller: 09 August 2017
Published on: 14 August 2017
(9 out of 10)

Valerie

Forest of Dean
There were so many highlights: watching the condors fly above the Colca Canyon, visiting the floating reed islands on Lake Titicaca, the amazing train journey through the Andes on the Andean Explorer and watching Machupicchu emerging from the mist from our vantage point at the Sun Gate. Our guide Joana was the best guide we have ever had on a group trip, her advice, patience and sense of humour together with her extensive knowledge of the area were all outstanding. One tip for Explore might be to provide better seasonal advice regarding clothing to take, we all seemed to have too much for colder weather and not enough for the heat we experienced at the time we went.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 14 October 2016
Published on: 21 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

Susan

berkshire
Incredibly well organised. Fantastic scenery and sites visited.
Only very slight critism was time morning spent in Lima could have been better spent. Perhaps visit the catherdral and monastry rather than whistlestop bus tour.
Highlghts were Andean Explorer train, Colca canyon and Machu Piccu.
No hotels have kettles in the rooms so if you are like me and like a cuppa in bed, take a travel kettle. Take more money than Explore recommend, too many things to tempt you to buy, allow room in your case!
Tour guide was fatastic.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 13 October 2016
Published on: 22 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

Elizabeth

St. Albans
Macchu Piccu, Andean Explorer train, Lake Titicaca ............ in fact pretty much all of it!

Tips: make sure you cover up at Machu Picchu: Deet is not enough and some people were badly bitten.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 24 September 2015
Published on: 14 October 2015
(8 out of 10)

Michael

Oxford
The highlight was probably, if predictably, the first view of Macchu Pichu which did not disappoint. As usual with Explore, a lot of different places and experiences were fitted into the two weeks but without the trip feeling too rushed.

My tip would be to make sure you do bring some warm layers especially for the early morning starts.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 05 August 2015
Published on: 06 October 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

This was an excellent holiday - one of the best in recent times. Surprisingly, the weather was superb. What should not be missed is the beautiful Santa Catalina Convent. Its vibrant blue and red buildings are highlighted against a backdrop of brilliant sky and ice capped volcanoes. At Colca Canyon, numerous Andean Condors, as if on cue, rose to meet us, as the early morning sun warmed the air and created the thermals on which they effortlessly ascended. There is magnificent scenery everywhere you go. Sacsayhuaman & Machu Picchu lived up to expectation. While much has been written about these sites, none of it does them justice. They are incredible and need to be experienced - they do not disappoint! Our final experience in the rain-forest along the Tambopata river was filled with wildlife encounters; we were able to photograph a very rare female Harpy Eagle. A number of our group suffered from the altitude or mild stomach problems. Nilton's kindness, care, consideration and assistance was exemplary. He is an excellent tour leader - efficient, knowledgeable, competent and engaging. He added immeasurably to our enjoyment of the trip.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 09 July 2015
Published on: 12 March 2016
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Uros Islands, Machu Picchu, Arequipa Very helpful, organising extra trips for us
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 09 July 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Christine

Colone
Excellent experience.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 28 May 2015
Published on: 27 September 2015