It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
523 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Similar, but less expensive:
Have you considered?

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 2,720

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast tours and experiences to choose from.

Reviews for Peru Encompassed 5 out of 5 based on 7 ratings.

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Peru Encompassed tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
5 Dermot D, 09/07/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

This was an excellent holiday - one of the best in recent times. Surprisingly, the weather was superb. What should not be missed is the beautiful Santa Catalina Convent. Its vibrant blue and red buildings are highlighted against a backdrop of brilliant sky and ice capped volcanoes. At Colca Canyon, numerous Andean Condors, as if on cue, rose to meet us, as the early morning sun warmed the air and created the thermals on which they effortlessly ascended. There is magnificent scenery everywhere you go. Sacsayhuaman & Machu Picchu lived up to expectation. While much has been written about these sites, none of it does them justice. They are incredible and need to be experienced - they do not disappoint! Our final experience in the rain-forest along the Tambopata river was filled with wildlife encounters; we were able to photograph a very rare female Harpy Eagle.

Read more
 
5 Mary D, 09/07/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

This was my first premium tour with explore and the higher standard was evident. The pace was relaxed giving time to adjust to the altitude although it still caused problems for some. I really enjoyed chilling out in Arequipa, just taking in the atmosphere of the town. Seeing the condors flying overhead at the Colca canyon was breath-taking. Cusco is a charming town and we had lots of time to enjoy it. Machu Picchu was all I had expected and more. The lodge and wildlife were superb .

Read more
 
5 Jeffery F, 09/07/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

Condors at Colca canyon. Floating reedislands on Lake Titicaca and of coarse Macchu Picchu.

Read more
 
5 Victoria D, 09/07/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

Uros Islands, Machu Picchu, Arequipa

Read more
 
4.5 , 27/11/13

Name

Janet Killbourn

Tour Name

Peru Encompassed

Tour Code

DPR

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Waiting for the Condors to soar at Colca Canyon and seeing Machu Picchu for the first time

Tour Leader Name

Alan Huaman

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Alan was wonderful. He was efficient, organised everything, made sure our trip was trouble free and was a great personality. We became a family and he made a special trip even more special with his enthusiasm, knowledge and passion for Peru.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Don't over-pack; you are living out of a suitcase most of the time. Pack comfortable shoes

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Brilliant, trip of a lifetime. So many memories.

 
0 Peter Spender, 15/08/11
Almost every thing was a highlight it is difficult to choose only one. One I did like was the Adean Explorer train because of the comfortable way to see some incredible high mountain scenery. ( DPR - 8th July 2011)
 
0 Phil Teckkam, 20/10/10
This trip will leave you breathless, not only because of the Andean altitude, but because it takes you to some of the most amazing sights on earth....dining under the stars on the wild and windswept black beach at Puerto Inca is magical. Colca Canyon is huge (bigger than the Grand Canyon) and here we saw the Condors glide, swoop and land only a few metres from where we stood.  You’ll love the sleepy old colonial city of Arequipa and downtown Cusco with its hybrid mixture of Inca and Spanish architecture which smoulders with an energy both ancient and modern.  The islands of Uros and Taquile on Lake Titicaca couldn’t be more different. The first a collection of floating reed platforms, each with its own small community, and the second a dramatic rocky outcrop where we chanced upon the whole village celebrating their riotously colourful annual fiesta.  Nothing prepares you for your first glimpse of Machu Picchu, lost high in the mountain mists for centuries. Take the early morning option to visit at dawn and walk up to the Sun Gate for an unforgettable view as the sun rises over the Inca city.  We finished our tour with a stay in the Amazon rainforest. Our lodge rooms had only three walls as the fourth side was open to the sights and sounds of the jungle! You will never experience such a breathtakingly beautiful place, the last great wilderness. (DPRA - 29th July 2010)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  3. Your Tour (*)
    Invalid Input
  4. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  5. Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  6. Tour leader name
  7. Do you have any feedback on your tour leaders performance?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  8. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  10. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  11.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA