It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
646 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Have you considered?

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Prophets And Petra MH

Trip Duration 11 Days
 

Reviews for Prophets And Petra

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Prophets And Petra trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Prophets And Petra reviews verified by reevooReevoo

19 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Prophets And PetraScores 8.6 out of 10 based on 19 reviews
(7 out of 10)

Pauline

Newcastle
This tour was full on each day setting off at eight o clock which was necessary in order to see everything.
Would recommend taking some Jordan currency and shekals as it was difficult to change English money so for the first day and a half didn't have any local currency in Israel. Also would take dollars or euros rather than pounds. which were much easier to spend in the shops.
Loved the Bedouin camp but after the meal the group and leader had a chat then the lights went out about 9.30 so nothing to do but go to bed.
In Israel everyone wanted to go on the optional tour to Bethlehem. Jericho and Ramalla but we were told that this now was not an option with Explore although it was in the trip notes However our guide planned a tour to Bethlehem and Jericho for us.
Our guides in both Jordan and Israel were both helpful friendly and we learnt a lot about the countries we were in from them.
I would recommend that Explore check the trip notes and amend them because anyone going to Israel will definitely want to go to Bethlehem.
Confirmed traveller: 09 November 2016
Published on: 15 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Michael

Sheffield
This was an amazing holiday, absolutely packed with sights and experiences. Saleh and Ineke were great guides, they really have a passion for their countries. There is a lot of walking involved but it's all well worth it, Petra in particular.

Some of the accommodation is past it's best but it was all clean and comfortable and very well located.

Some people have concerns about the safety of that part of the world, but Jordan in particular is perfectly safe and the people couldn't be more welcoming.

I would recommend this trip to anyone with an interest in history and culture of this part of the world.
Confirmed traveller: 09 November 2016
Published on: 10 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Brian

Sydney, Australia
I am extremely pleased with all aspects of my recent tour through the holy land with Explore. Both Leaders, (Saleh in Jordan and Khalil in Israel) were excellent guides. Saleh brought a sense of ownership to the land (he is Bedouin) and made us feel connected to the history. Khalil is very knowledgeable regarding the many religions involved around Israel (especially Jerusalem) and was able to clearly explain their beliefs and interactions. I commend both guides for their leadership and interpersonal skills. The itinerary was very good but I felt it could be expanded to include the (newly opened) church at Mt Nebo, Madaba and the hot springs (in Jordan) and , although options, I would include Jaffa, Caeseria and Acre in Israel. The highlight for me was Petra and Saleh excelled with his knowledge of the area. I was please I took both options (Petra by night and the Turkish bath) but wanted an extra day in Petra, which Saleh expertly arranged for me after the end of the tour, (return car from Amman and local Petra guide, with donkey). Thankyou Saleh for arranging that for me. I loved the whole trip, it is a tick off my bucket list and I would recommend it to anyone who has an interest in ancient history. One of my concerns was that the tour may become 'religious' but it did not and all comments and answers were handled objectionably. Thank you to all concerned.
Confirmed traveller: 19 October 2016
Published on: 07 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Stephen

Bangor
Fantastic tour, guides were superb and we did a lot in the time we had. Loved it.
Confirmed traveller: 19 October 2016
Published on: 24 October 2016
(8 out of 10)

Alison

Evesham UK
The tour gave an excellent taster of the Holy Land. Logistics of meet and greet were brilliant. Guides were excellent and very obliging. Travel arrangements between venues were good. Accommodation was very good although hotel in Petra was a little tired and could do with a revamp. Itinerary was good.
One negative it would have been useful to have known beforehand that there was a major Jewish festival in Israel so as to adjust accordingly
Confirmed traveller: 19 October 2016
Published on: 23 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

Liz

Northampton
I'm still struggling to put into words the trip I have been on. It was incredible on so many levels. What we experienced in 11 days has given me so much. I saw amazing sites, stunning scenery, made new friends, learned a lot about fascinating cultures modern and ancient. Can't wait for the next trip
Confirmed traveller: 19 October 2016
Published on: 23 October 2016
(10 out of 10)

Jerome

Melbourne
We loved this tour, Jordan was amazing and we felt really safe. For us this trip was all about Petra and we didn't know about Wadi Rum or Jerash but there was so much to see and learn about the region.

Jerome had never been on a guided tour before, but Saleh (tour leader in Jordan) was very knowledgeable and very accommodating to the different fitness levels within the group. His manner was excellent which brought the group together well and made for a more enjoyable tour.

We also really liked the tour in Israel but it really does try to pack a lot into a few days, for us probably too much. There is a lot of walking on this tour and you need a reasonable fitness level to get the most out of it.
Confirmed traveller: 05 October 2016
Published on: 24 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

Manju

Glasgow
Some additional info would have been helpful before booking the trip eg the fact that a lot of steps and uphill walking are involved Also with each dayif the rough no of miles of walking expected is included it might help people to make up their minds
Confirmed traveller: 05 October 2016
Published on: 10 October 2016
(8 out of 10)

Eammon

Sydney
While the Prophets and Petra tour is fantastic, it is done at a very quick pace. You want to be pretty fit and active to keep up. I can highly recommend the time at Wadi Rum (definitely sleep outside and definitely ride the camels!) and Petra (take every opportunity to hike everywhere - it's worth it!), especially if you have Saleh guiding you! His knowledge and enthusiasm for the history of the area is infectious, as is his commitment to ensuring we had a great time.

I would suggest a slight change to the itinerary, however, if it were possible: rather than travelling Amman - Wadi Rum - Petra - Aqaba, it would be preferable to travel Amman - Petra - Wadi Rum - Aqaba. I found we were doubling back on ourselves a bit, meaning we spent time on the road rather than on the ground.

The Israel component of the trip is very different, but equally interesting. It should be noted, however, that a considerable amount of time is (or can be) spent in the West Bank and Palestine, which was not fully detailed in the trip notes.

Kiki was a wonderful guide, and was wonderfully well informed about the history of the region, especially as it pertained to Jerusalem. Her knowledge was invaluable and we were very grateful to have her.

The optional day tours should, however, be much more clearly articulated in the trip notes. We were informed on the bus that some of the trips that we had been offered were not actually available, and the half-day tour that we did end up taking to Bethlehem (for a considerable amount) did not detail the extent of the restoration being undertaken. Quite frankly, it wasn't worth it and we would have preferred spending more of our day in Tel Aviv instead.

Ultimately, the tour is great - you have the opportunity to see an amazing display of historical sites within a very constrained time period led by incredibly knowledgeable guides. Minor adjustments to the itinerary and improvements to information disclosure upon tour confirmation would have earned this tour a higher rating.
Confirmed traveller: 30 September 2016
Published on: 19 October 2016
(10 out of 10)

Beverly

Orangevale, California USA
Pls include Um Isreen canyon on Wadi Rum jeep tour, it is fantastic. Our tour guide was incredibly fabulous, he should be the Jordanian Ambassador to the UN! In Jerusalem, add Rockefeller Museum, again amazing. Need more time at Vad Yashem. Israeli guide personable and knowledgeable. Saleh Arfou should be tour guide of the century, knowledge incomparable and truly took a personal interest in all of us. Recommend Red Cave restaurant in Petra. Loved the tour.
Confirmed traveller: 28 September 2016
Published on: 30 September 2016