It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
642 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Have you considered?

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Pyrenees To The Med CPM

Visiting: Spain
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Pyrenees To The Med

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Pyrenees To The Med trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Pyrenees To The Med reviews verified by Reevoo

13 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Pyrenees To The MedScores 8.8 out of 10 based on 13 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Peter

London
Very enjoyable experience with a good guide that I would highly recommend. More time available for sightseeing than we realised. Tips in order of trip follow!
Pack mosquito repellent - not a big deal but most were bitten once or twice until repellent used.
On first night, if staying at Hotel Sant Pau, I would suggest looking at front of local hospital and walking down to Segrada Familia, looking at it and eating on the avenue - orientation trip into Barcelona was too tiring for most after travelling.
On the 1st and 2nd day there are some hills - there is a clue in title of trip, if too much just get off and walk to top. The maps were fine, we missed a couple of turnings but soon got ourselves back on track
Definitely make the effort to walk into Olot along river and find boulevard with restaurants. Stock up with beer from Carrefour opposite hotel
In Girona if you are tiring of cathedrals then the museum of the cinema is interesting and different.
On last (optional) cycling day we took a taxi to Tessa del Mar and cycled back on the road - both ways in heat and uphill and down dale would have been too much.
Back in Barcelona on last day we did the "ciclo bike tour" - takes 3 hours and gives you a good feel for the city, - if you then go to top of Barcelo Raval ( its free) you can then look over where you have been.
Enjoy!!
Confirmed traveller: 28 August 2016
Published on: 16 September 2016
(7 out of 10)

Charlotte

Overall on most days we struggled to follow the route in industrial areas as signs and road markings were poor. If it wasn't for our fellow cyclists who were good at navigating we would have been very wrong in direction as we had to self navigate.
Suggest either daily maps with more detail or a garmin device given to help us navigate.
Highlights were the old railway lines away from the traffic and the spectacular scenery.
Confirmed traveller: 19 June 2016
Published on: 20 June 2016
(10 out of 10)

Radoslava

Tampa
Wonderful itinerary, perfect combination of hills and flats, beautiful sceneries. I appreciated having the choice to be as a group or do parts of the trip in individual smaller groups. Amazing support from our guides in various occasions. They were helpful, knowledgable and accommodating and got out of their way to help us with anything and everything. I was informed that we got lucky and had an extra guide (trainee), so we had one of them ride with us, which I thoroughly enjoyed. So perhaps an extra guide or simply a van driver will be helpful. Having 2 people allowed our guides in multiple occasion to give us the option of going through easier or harder route, each lead a group, so everyone was able to do things in their own pace.
The only other thing I would mention is the quality of the maps. Please provide a bigger and clearer maps, so we feel more confident in doing our own thing. That way we can be more adventures and independent and won't feel the need to follow our poor guide in every step he took :). Thank you for the incredible time!
Confirmed traveller: 22 May 2016
Published on: 04 June 2016
(10 out of 10)

Judith

Oldsmar
The entire trip was wonderful overall but biking was more challenging than I expected. The level of difficulty should be described as moderate to hard. Highlight of the trip was the beach. Most beautiful beach I have ever been to.
Confirmed traveller: 22 May 2016
Published on: 29 May 2016
(10 out of 10)

Amy

St. Petersburg, Fl
The trip was amazing. The explore leader went up and beyond to help to make sure everyone had the best vacation.
Confirmed traveller: 22 May 2016
Published on: 27 May 2016
(8 out of 10)

David

Ely
The route was easy,only one climb on the first day was a challenge, but there was plenty of time and we all managed it. I liked the general scenery of the area and the day at the coast was a well deserved treat after 4 days on the bike. Food and drink of the area was a highlight.
Confirmed traveller: 20 September 2015
Published on: 03 October 2015
(7 out of 10)

Phil

glasgow
Gerona.
But 2 criticisms: 1. Some of the evening meals were too expensive - rough price should be given before setting out and opting out should be regarded as normal .
2. Free day should be abolished - better to go on the optional trip (which I regret I didn't)!
Confirmed traveller: 21 June 2015
Published on: 02 October 2015
(8 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

An excellent week of cycling with varied scenery from mountains to coast. The first two days were the hardest - the long 7km uphill was tougher than I expected from the 'easy' rating and the second day (in the volcano area) had some steep hills and off road tracks (for which the bikes were not really suitable)- but a very enjoyable challenge. The highlights were getting to the top of the pass day 1, cycling into Girona, the lunch stop at Sant Pau.Victor was enthusiastic, motivating with a wicked sense of humour. Coped well with some negativity from the group (mainly about the hills/off road days 1 and 2). Found some great places to eat and some good recommendations for things to do on free time.
Confirmed traveller: 27 May 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Katharine

Kelowna, BC, Canada
It was one big highlight! But standing out in the week…. riding through fields of poppies, forests and and ancient towns; meandering back alleys of Girona; bustle and colour of the produce market in Barcelona and the camaraderie of a great group and leader. It was a long held dream come true.
Confirmed traveller: 17 May 2015
Published on: 12 October 2015
(7 out of 10)

Barbara

St Andrews
There was one day which was in a wood when mountain bikes were really necessary. The leader was good but he needed the confidence to cope with the different skills of participants. Two members got white finger on the 61km down trip on an old railway line (gravel) and maybe a bit of guidance on avoiding that would help.
Confirmed traveller: 17 May 2015
Published on: 09 October 2015