It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
593 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Family Rainforest Adventure FCC

Visiting: Costa Rica
Trip Duration 15 Days
 

Reviews for Family Rainforest Adventure

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Family Rainforest Adventure trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Family Rainforest Adventure reviews verified by Reevoo

8 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Family Rainforest AdventureScores 9.1 out of 10 based on 8 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Stephan

Leicester
The trip gave a comprehensive insight into Costa Rica, showing off most of what can be seen. The group size was excellent. The programme was well suited at children (ages 7 and 9) with the daily programme broken into small chunks and many engaging child friendly activities. Overall 2 weeks 'on the road' can of course be exhausting, especially as there are many new impressions (this is not a negative). The local guide was very informative and provided excellent insights into land and people as well as the many aspects nature has to offer -- he also spotted many of the interesting wild life throughout the journey and not just in the parks when it was scheduled.
If there was one 'low' then it was the stay in Turialba where rafting was on offer but otherwise the town has little to offer -- it would have been nicer to have that day in Arenal or Monte Verde where there are many more things to do than can be fitted into the programme.
Confirmed traveller: 10 April 2016
Published on: 15 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Andrea

London
The 3 of us (my husband, my 13 year old daughter and myself) went on the Costa Rica Family Rainforest Adventure tour together with 3 other families. We had a fantastic time all 'round. The activities were exciting and wide ranging, including great wildlife spotting rafting, kayaking, cooking, lessons on local produce such as cocoa, bananas and coffee, and just swimming in the Pacific. Our tour guide Max was amazing and impressed us with his huge knowledge of flora an fauna, history, culture and all other aspects of this wonderful country. On top of that he had useful tips on camera settings for good wildlife pictures and local restaurants and bars, and his bird calling was unsurpassed.
Confirmed traveller: 10 April 2016
Published on: 13 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Fantastic wildlife, amazing scenery; such a diverse country. Costa Rica has some of the most genuinely friendly and helpful people that I have encountered in the world, all willing to share their knowledge and experience with you. Highlights, so many! Volcanoes has to be a top one but white water rafting, horse riding through forests and crazy zip lines were all great. So fantastic to see all the animals, bugs, etc. that you normally only read about or see on TV.A really nice guy and so knowledgeable about his country's history, nature and volcanoes. You could tell how much he loved his country by the passion with which he delivered information to us. Always ready to help with any little problems we came across ( not that there were many).
Confirmed traveller: 29 August 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(8 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

The whole tour was good, once we got there. White water rafting was excellent. Choice of some of the hotels was not. The country as a whole is amazing and well worth a visit. Very knowledgeable, and engaging about all we did. On the whole a very good leader. It is a shame some of his choices were in hindsight questionable.Some of the restaurant choices were more about him having a good relationship with the owner than the quality of the food.
Confirmed traveller: 04 March 2014
Published on: 07 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Stephanie

Guildford
Our leader, Herman, was absolutely wonderful. He went out of his way to ensure the whole group had a fantastic and very memorable holiday. Excellent itinerary. We got a very good perspective of the whole country. Tortuguera a highlight for us. Accomodation needs to be improved at La Fortuna. We would highly recommend this holiday.
Confirmed traveller: 04 August 2015
Published on: 12 October 2015
(10 out of 10)

Rob

Andover, Hampshire
Excellent trip with a great variety of experiences. Fantastic wildlife, different types of habitat, and lots to interest us. Tour guide was highly knowledgeable and catered for interests of all in the group. Highlights included watching turtles lay eggs on the beach, bird watching, white water rafting, and our 13 year old son loved the zip wires through the rainforest. Many great memories and we would highly recommend Costa Rica and this trip. Great food, some brilliant accommodation, and very friendly and welcoming people.
Confirmed traveller: 09 August 2015
Published on: 11 October 2015
(9 out of 10)

PHILIPPA

Great holiday, tour guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. Explore were great when we missed our connecting flight and were a day late arriving. 3rd Explore holiday and already looking at next year's!
Confirmed traveller: 22 August 2015
Published on: 30 September 2015
(8 out of 10)

Lesley

This was an excellent destination. There were issues with not getting emails as they had used a very old address without checking. However the staff on the phone were always helpful and quickly sorted it out.

May be some of the hotels could have been checked out more thoroughly but overall value for money.

I liked the way a tipping amount was collected and distributed and was always given over by a member of the party. There was an account of all that was given out at the end of the tour and was signed again by a member of the party. Very transparent.
Confirmed traveller: 02 August 2015
Published on: 29 September 2015