It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
627 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Reviews for Realm of the Polar Bear in Depth - Expedition

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Realm of the Polar Bear in Depth - Expedition trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Realm of the Polar Bear in Depth - M/S Expedition reviews verified by Reevoo

13 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Realm of the Polar Bear in Depth - M/S ExpeditionScores 9.1 out of 10 based on 13 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Rolf

Rio de Janeiro
Highlights: perfect light and a bear with a kill on the ice, chasing away the birds…
Zodiacs in the pack ice…

We were very lucky with wildlife and wheather overall!
Confirmed traveller: 20 August 2016
Published on: 13 September 2016
(10 out of 10)

Roger

Dover
What a fantastic trip. Good weather, lots of polar bears and other Arctic animals and birds.
Very difficult to find anything that wasn't well organised, crew excellent, expedition staff very helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. Safety was paramount on all landings and boat trips.
Confirmed traveller: 20 August 2016
Published on: 01 September 2016
(10 out of 10)

Elaine

Reading
Brilliant trip that exceeded expectations. It was a very varied itinerary and we enjoyed the mix of wildlife, plants and ice. The team of staff were fantastic - enthusiastic and very knowledgable. I would recommend it to any one.
Confirmed traveller: 11 August 2016
Published on: 21 August 2016
(10 out of 10)

Ian

Surbiton
Excellent. Never expected to walk on the polar ice cap - fantastic. Changing planes at Oslo airport is not a trivial task
Confirmed traveller: 10 August 2016
Published on: 20 August 2016
(10 out of 10)

Lesley

Gloucestershire
It was absolutely brilliant - I couldn't fault the ship or the staff. We were incredibly lucky with sightings of polar bears, walrus, seals, reindeer, Artic fox, blue and beluga whales.
Confirmed traveller: 07 July 2016
Published on: 19 July 2016
(10 out of 10)

Andrew

Chandlers Ford
Brilliant trip from begining to end. Faultless route planning and expertise provided us with the ultimate in wildlife viewing. Nothng can be guaranteed on this sort of adventure but something magical seemed to happen at least once a day. Five blue whales swimming together, polar bear mother nursing her two young, the sea errupting with numerous walrus, seals resting on the ice, a pod of beluga whales around the ship, glaciers calving icebergs, and luckily for us, multiple polar bears with some swimming, others wandering the beach or rolling in the snow.
Confirmed traveller: 07 July 2016
Published on: 13 July 2016
(3 out of 10)

Mark

Northampton
Dont book this trip if you want an active adventure.
If you want a relaxing cruise with excellent food and great staff then go for it.
There are no facilities on the ship if the weather is poor.
This means long periods of sitting around , 2 days in my case
Confirmed traveller: 19 August 2015
Published on: 06 October 2015

We’re sorry to hear that the itinerary was not as you expected, especially as you spent a lot of time onboard due to the bad weather. We have spoken with the operations team for the M/S expedition and they are confident that they did everything possible to ensure the best experience. We can see that the ship did cover a lot of ground, but unfortunately the weather did have an impact on the itinerary.

(8 out of 10)

Ruth

Bristol
This was not a trip run by Explore, who acted merely as agents.

Highlights: marvellous scenery, intelligent and knowledgeable leaders and lecturers.

Totally different from anything else we have done in the past.

Tips:
Go prepared to accept that the weather governs everything.
Listen and learn: go to all the lectures as they enhance the experience.
Do all the landings, get out on deck as much as possible.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 11 August 2015
Published on: 07 October 2015
(10 out of 10)

Julie

Olveston
I have been with you umpteen times before, and I have booked with you again in March , so I think that speaks for itself!
Confirmed traveller: 09 August 2015
Published on: 30 September 2015