It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
652 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews


Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.


Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Reviews for Realm of the Polar Bear in Depth - Expedition

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Realm of the Polar Bear in Depth - Expedition trip available at present.

Please select a date:


Realm of the Polar Bear in Depth - M/S Expedition reviews verified by reevooReevoo

14 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Realm of the Polar Bear in Depth - M/S ExpeditionScores 9.1 out of 10 based on 14 reviews
(9 out of 10)


Rio de Janeiro
Highlights: perfect light and a bear with a kill on the ice, chasing away the birds…
Zodiacs in the pack ice…

We were very lucky with wildlife and wheather overall!
Confirmed traveller: 20 August 2016
Published on: 13 September 2016
(10 out of 10)


What a fantastic trip. Good weather, lots of polar bears and other Arctic animals and birds.
Very difficult to find anything that wasn't well organised, crew excellent, expedition staff very helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. Safety was paramount on all landings and boat trips.
Confirmed traveller: 20 August 2016
Published on: 01 September 2016
(10 out of 10)


Brilliant trip that exceeded expectations. It was a very varied itinerary and we enjoyed the mix of wildlife, plants and ice. The team of staff were fantastic - enthusiastic and very knowledgable. I would recommend it to any one.
Confirmed traveller: 11 August 2016
Published on: 21 August 2016
(10 out of 10)


Very comfortable ship with excellent food. There was no Explore Leader but the G Adventures expedition team were very knowledgeable and the programme was very well organised. The itinerary sometimes had to be changed because of weather conditions or landings cancelled because of presence of polar bears but from our point of view the programme went very smoothly. Wildlife sightings were excellent, highlights being seven polar bears, many walruses and large nesting colonies of seabirds. Although we were late for the peak flowering season, the Botany was fascinating, helped by the presence of an expert in the expedition team. Scenery was stunning, glaciers being of particular note. The natural lighting and Arctic skies were beautiful and added to the scenery.

In summary, this was one of the best trips we have done.

We have just one negative comment. We understood that there would be someone from G Adventures to meet us at the airport and/or at the hotel in Longyearbyen but there was not. This wasn't a great problem but information was misleading and we spent time unnecessarily looking for the representative.
Confirmed traveller: 10 August 2016
Published on: 03 October 2016
(10 out of 10)


Excellent. Never expected to walk on the polar ice cap - fantastic. Changing planes at Oslo airport is not a trivial task
Confirmed traveller: 10 August 2016
Published on: 20 August 2016
(10 out of 10)


It was absolutely brilliant - I couldn't fault the ship or the staff. We were incredibly lucky with sightings of polar bears, walrus, seals, reindeer, Artic fox, blue and beluga whales.
Confirmed traveller: 07 July 2016
Published on: 19 July 2016
(10 out of 10)


Chandlers Ford
Brilliant trip from begining to end. Faultless route planning and expertise provided us with the ultimate in wildlife viewing. Nothng can be guaranteed on this sort of adventure but something magical seemed to happen at least once a day. Five blue whales swimming together, polar bear mother nursing her two young, the sea errupting with numerous walrus, seals resting on the ice, a pod of beluga whales around the ship, glaciers calving icebergs, and luckily for us, multiple polar bears with some swimming, others wandering the beach or rolling in the snow.
Confirmed traveller: 07 July 2016
Published on: 13 July 2016
(3 out of 10)


Dont book this trip if you want an active adventure.
If you want a relaxing cruise with excellent food and great staff then go for it.
There are no facilities on the ship if the weather is poor.
This means long periods of sitting around , 2 days in my case
Confirmed traveller: 19 August 2015
Published on: 06 October 2015

We’re sorry to hear that the itinerary was not as you expected, especially as you spent a lot of time onboard due to the bad weather. We have spoken with the operations team for the M/S expedition and they are confident that they did everything possible to ensure the best experience. We can see that the ship did cover a lot of ground, but unfortunately the weather did have an impact on the itinerary.

(8 out of 10)


This was not a trip run by Explore, who acted merely as agents.

Highlights: marvellous scenery, intelligent and knowledgeable leaders and lecturers.

Totally different from anything else we have done in the past.

Go prepared to accept that the weather governs everything.
Listen and learn: go to all the lectures as they enhance the experience.
Do all the landings, get out on deck as much as possible.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 11 August 2015
Published on: 07 October 2015