It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
594 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Reviews for Realm of the Polar Bear - Expedition

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Realm of the Polar Bear - Expedition trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Realm of the Polar Bear - M/S Expedition reviews verified by Reevoo

9 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Realm of the Polar Bear - M/S ExpeditionScores 9.7 out of 10 based on 9 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Angela

Redhill
Everything was excellent. Super polar bear sightings. M/S expedition was, as ever, superb.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 01 August 2016
Published on: 13 August 2016
(10 out of 10)

Gillian

Basingstoke
Entering the arctic pack ice and watching a polar bear feed for hours.
It is quite a tough trip, at sea for seven days, only getting off via zodiacs.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 14 July 2016
Published on: 21 July 2016
(10 out of 10)

Renate

Southampton
This Svalbard trip on MS Expedition was a perfect, unforgettable experience. The ship is pleasingly small and the category 3 cabins are spacious and comfortable. The food was absolutely delicious, and there was plenty of choice every mealtime. The crew was very friendly and helpful. The expedition staff were accessible, extremely knowledgeable and always willing to answer questions. They made it possible for us to see every kind of wildlife there is to see in Svalbard, including 3 polar bears, one of which came right up to our ship. I can't really describe the emotions I felt while moving through pack ice on the ship, watching polar bears close by. Observing these powerful animals at close range was definitely the highlight of the tour for me. I also enjoyed the daily reviews with the expedition staff, the interesting lectures and the outings in the Zodiacs.Although we traveled as far as 81 degrees latitude, the temperatures were milder than expected, and I would recommend that people take T-shirts as well as thermal underwear, and a hat that does not keep sliding forward under the hood of the excellently well insulating parka. I also recommend spending a day or two in Longyearbyen, which is a fascinating place.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 14 July 2016
Published on: 21 July 2016
(9 out of 10)

Robin

Oxshott
Our tour took place for 7 days at the end of June. We had not expected there to be no sea ice around the West side of Svalbard, but in the event we sailed North to latitude 81 degrees, within 500 miles of the North pole, where there was plenty of sea ice, and we saw polar bears from the ship, MS Expedition.

gAdventures organized everything on the whole tour brilliantly with an excellent, well qualified staff, particularly the tour leader. Our suite was very comfortable and the restaurant was also very good. The holiday considerably exceeded our expectations.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 28 June 2016
Published on: 30 June 2016
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Travelled on the M/S Expedition in early July, and went up to the North of Spitsbergen. It was stunningly beautiful - glaciers, mountains, sea-ice - simply wonderful. We were lucky enough to see a polar bear and her cub. Other highlights for me were the arctic fox, a large school of beluga whales and all the walruses! The boat was comfortable and the crew and staff couldn't do enough for you they were so friendly and welcoming.Sarah was the expedition leader but she had a team of expedition staff who were all fantastic. They transported us safely on the zodiacs while passing on their extensive knowledge of the Arctic, as well as giving us talks on varied topics such as wildlife, history, geology, photography, and also performing the conga. There was also an excellent musician on board as well as the boat-band made up of various crew members.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 05 August 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Elizabeth

London
Good staff - and when it really matters, all the stops are pulled out and you know you are in reliable hands. I should know - I actually missed my flight, but a very swift response from the team on the on-call emergency number averted what would have been a disaster!

I have been travelling with you for about 15 years - it's worth going with a company you can trust - also you have some really imaginative trips to offer
Confirmed traveller: 31 July 2015
Published on: 28 September 2015
(9 out of 10)

Stephen

Calgary
The attention to safety and to the flora and fauna. The wildlife encounters were well lead and the animals and birds were not harassed, nor disturbed in their environment.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 31 July 2015
Published on: 13 October 2015
(9 out of 10)

John

Ormskirk
Very well organised, dedicated & knowledgeable tour leaders. Would recommend the trip and would go again with Explore.
Confirmed traveller: 30 July 2015
Published on: 01 October 2015
(10 out of 10)

Valerie

Watford
Definitely seeing the polar bears

Be flexible, there is no itinerary as such, just go with the flow and see what turns up. So much depends on the weather. You can't organise the weather or the wildlife
Confirmed traveller: 19 June 2015
Published on: 01 October 2015