It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
545 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Have you considered?

Brochures

Our latest  brochures are available now, with over 600 adventures for you to choose from.

Gift Vouchers

Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with over 600 tours & experiences to choose from. The perfect gift idea for any occasion.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 1,843

Sacred Land Of The Incas + Amazon Extension PSA

Visiting: Peru
Tour Duration 18 Days
  • Colonial Cusco
  • Uros Islands
  • The Spanish colonial city of Cusco / Kym Garcia
  • Colca Canyon / Kym Garcia
  • Uros Islanders
  • Tour Style: Classic
  • Tour Type: Small Groups
  • Tour Pace: Moderate
  • Tour Comfort: Standard
 

Book now!

9 reviews for this tour

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Sacred Land Of The Incas + Amazon Extension tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
10 , 15/08/13

Name

Gareth Hill

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Difficult to choose from so many highlights but staying overnight on Taquille Island and coming across a fiesta was special. Machu Picchu was of course amazing to see for real. We were also really lucky to have such a small group and that we got on so well

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Nilton was incredible. He was friendly,knowledgeable and gave many good recommendations about restaurants and other places to visit. I would highly commend him and recommend him for your Team Leader of the year award

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Go for it ! Maybe improve your fitness levels a bit beforehand as climbing around Machu Picchu and walking across Taquille Island could be a bit much if you are quite unfit as I was a few months before.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

I will definitely be looking to use Explore in the future and have already recommended your company to friends

 
8 Anthony Reason, 31/12/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

There were so many highlights that it is difficult to single out any individual one. However, I can pick three. Machu Picchu certainly, for its sheer spectacle. Then the Rainforest; so special to be somewhere so remote and different.. For me Taquile island on Lake Titikaka took some beating. It is almost as if time has stood still for a couple of centuries. A very special place and a very special people.

 

Read more
 
10 Jen Makin, 26/11/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Machu Picchu and the Amazon Rainforest

Read more
 
10 Tracy Holder, 09/11/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

This was a trip of a lifetime, Peru is such a diverse country,the scenery is amazing, from  the seemingly endless desert landscape of Nazca to  the awesome Andean Condors of the Colca Canyon. My Highlight has to be approaching Matchu Pitchu by train and then ascending the switchback road by bus to arrive at the entrance to the site, to look down on Matchu Pitchu  was literally breathtaking.

Read more
 
10 Janice Dore, 28/06/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

So many things but Machu Picchu was magnificent

Read more
 
0 Lucy O'Brien, 15/08/11
This tour was the most fantastic experience which exceeded our expectations in many ways.  The tour leader was incredibly personable who took care of every little detail ensuring that we worried about nothing, even when both of us became unwell.  The knowledge and passion of the tour leader and the local tour guides was exceptional.  Trip highlights were the obvious ones, Machu Picchu, Lake Titicaca, and the Amazon.  Unexpected highlights were Arequipa - the cathedral and the convent, Puerta Inca and the coastal road journey from there to Arequipa - was absolutely stunning!  The hotel in the scared Valley (Yucay) and playing Sapo in the beautiful gardens.  There were many more surprise highlights, too many to mention!  We would strongly recommend this tour to anyone.  Explore and Condour Travel, with whom most of the transportation and local tours were arranged, were excellent throughout.  Peru is an incredible country and we cannot praise enough this particular tour and Explore as a company.  We are now looking at which tour we want to do next! ( PSA - 23rd July 2011)
 
0 TK, 19/10/10
Trip highlights: Aguas Calientes, which looked like the set of Mad Max the movie, Machu Picchu of course, and the incredible Refugios Amazonas and the guided jungle walks.  Unexpected: The coach breaking down in the desert, and my spare walking boot lace being used as an accelerator cable.  Advice: Take cyprofloxacine - I needed two separate courses. If you drink the Pisco sours - they are lovely, but contain crushed ice - so might have been the source of some of our problems.  Take spare clothing to the Amazon - we got totally soaked one day. (PSA - 21st August 2010)
 
0 Linda Walker, 22/09/10
The holiday exceeded my expectations in the variety of landscapes, sights and places we saw during the trip. I had thought that the highlight would be Macchu Picchu which was why I had chosen the trip, but other sites like Sacsayhuaman were equally impressive. The condors flying at the Colca Canyon were also an amazing experience- I couldn't decide whether just to watch in awe or try to get some decent photos. There was unfortunately industrial action around Cusco while we were there which meant a change in plans, but one that our courier Jo handled very well. What was most unexpected was that although various websites said that the rail link to Aguas Calientes had been restored, it is still not possible to do more of the journey by train. If your thinking about whether to add the Amazon Extension or not - then if at all possible do! It was amazing to be in the jungle for three days and I suppose that should also count as a highlight! The Refugio Amazonas is an amazing place to stay- our guide Paty was absolutely great and nothing was too much trouble for her. I'm so glad to be eating beans on toast for the rest of the year as I wouldn't have missed the jungle for anything. A good camera is a major asset on a trip like this! (PSA- 29th May 2010)
 
0 T.R, 20/09/10
Peru has everything you could wish for on an adventure tour - historic cities, stunning scenery, amazing wildlife, activities, and a beautiful coastline. Altitude is always a concern, but the itinerary really does help you to acclimatise and although everyone in my group felt it, nobody was really ill so it did not prevent us from doing anything. Our guide, Eliuth, was great, very good at understanding the different personalities in the group. I did not use the group flight but when my luggage did not arrive, Condor travel took over all of the arrangements which took a huge weight off my mind! As for highlights, I would say seeing the condors at Colca Canyon was amazing, obviously seeing Machu Picchu for the first time (there is time to do a second visit which I would recommend, also make sure you get the passport stamp!), Cusco cathedral and the town itself, Arequipa (go see Juanita - I had not heard of her before I went but found the museum visit very interesting), and spending time appreciating the diversity of the rain forest - plants, insects, animals and birds- including sharing my shower with a frog! All in all this is a brilliant experience and I would encourage everyone to visit Peru. (PSA- 8th August 2009)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  3. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  4. Tour name (i.e. Inca Trail Trek)
  5. Tour Code (i.e. PQ)
    Invalid Input
  6. What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  7. Tour leader name
  8. How Was Your Explore Tour Leader?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  10. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  11. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  12.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA