It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
637 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Senegal and Gambia River Cruise SE

Trip Duration 13 Days
 

Reviews for Senegal and Gambia River Cruise

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Senegal and Gambia River Cruise trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Senegal and Gambia River Cruise reviews verified by reevooReevoo

14 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Senegal and Gambia River CruiseScores 8.3 out of 10 based on 14 reviews
(7 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

I would not recommend this trip to everyone but for me it was an interesting experience, Baba, the tour guide and Usman, the driver, were exceptional!
Confirmed traveller: 21 April 2017
Published on: 24 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Sally

I loved this tour and was so glad that we were able to visit The Gambia as well as Senegal following the relaxing of the FCO restrictions.
Highlights were many: the National Park at Djoudj, amazing if you're into birds and even if you're not, the sight of thousands and thousands of pelicans on their breeding island is quite incredible.
Saint-Louis - a lovely city to walk around with fascinating colonial architecture and bougainvillea-draped balconies. The visit to the crowded and seemingly frantic fishing village of Guet Ndar was a brief insight into the local fishing industry - hundreds of colourful pirogues moored on one side of the village in the Senegal river and rows of fish drying on straw on the opposite side next to the sea.
The Ile de Goree is charming and well worth spending a night here to experience the place after the day-trippers have gone.
Another lovely, small island was Fadiouth, seemingly wholly built on billions of cockle shells and with an interesting cemetery hosting both Muslim and Catholic resting places.
I also loved the river cruise in The Gambia with the very capable Sabille as our cook, she made a delicious porridge for breakfast made from crushed rice, ground peanuts and a touch of Baobab juice. Sleeping on the deck at night under a mosquito net and moored in the middle of the Gambia river was magical.
Two of the hotels we stayed in were particularly good - Hotel Savana in Dakar and the Keur Saloum in the delta region at Toubacouta.
Lastly, this review would not be complete without mentioning the lovely Baba, our Gambian tour guide and his countryman, Ousmane, the driver. Baba's smiling face and easy personality gave the tour a relaxed feel and his concern with our welfare was paramount. We always knew how long the drives should be and where the next toilet stop and/or mini market would be located. The birders in the group also appreciated his knowledge and keen interest in the bird life and helped us clock up a sighting list of over 130!
Confirmed traveller: 24 February 2017
Published on: 02 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Anthony

Loughborough
This tour was very good for bird watching and visiting rural Africa. Accommodation was quite varied with basic rooms in Gambia, so anyone contemplating this trip should be prepared for simple conditions and lack of electricity for a couple of nights. The tour leader was excellent, ensuring everything ran smoothly and answering everything we asked. Our bus driver was also very cheerful and competent.
Confirmed traveller: 04 February 2017
Published on: 11 February 2017
(8 out of 10)

Jo

London
A thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing tour but there is a definite bird watching element to the trip which not all may enjoy, but the boat trips provided wonderful photo opportunities!Highlights for me were the (smelly!) pelican colony in Djoudj, the Isle de Goree and the overnighter on the Gambian river boat - yes, it's very, very basic, but what an experience!

Some of the drives are long but are a great way to see life going on by the roadside. A good torch is a must and a sleeping bag sheet came in handy on the boat. I took a mozzie net but it stayed in my bag all trip as accommodation used either had nets already or air con.

The tour leader Baba was top notch - a great "fixer" - always smiling, with a love for the countries and people we saw and nothing was ever too much trouble, and our driver Usman was always very careful and cheerful.

Only disappointment was that the Lac Rose was not very pink but not even Baba could fix that for us!!
Confirmed traveller: 31 December 2016
Published on: 01 January 2017
(8 out of 10)

Janine

Hemel Hempstead
Baba the tour leader was excellent. Accommodation was mixed, some very good hotels and others adequate but basic. Bird life was prolific, mammals rarely seen. Very good binoculars are needed for the trip.
Overall a very good Christmas break.
Confirmed traveller: 30 December 2016
Published on: 02 January 2017
(7 out of 10)

Rachel

London
Arrived in Dakar in mid-afternoon in time for a swim i freezing cold pool with a tide. Island of Goree was very pretty and peaceful; loved the bus drives, ice cream in the service stations and boogying on a river bank to a car sound system instead of going on a walk.
Could have done with some more free time and at least one evening without a group meal but it was very well organised, charming guide and driver, lots of birds - 153 different species apparently - and the night on the boat was fab.
Confirmed traveller: 30 December 2016
Published on: 31 December 2016
(8 out of 10)

Claire

Wolverhampton
A great insight into the Senegambia region with a nice mix of culture, history and wildlife.

The tour guide, Baba, was superb and nothing was too much trouble for him. He had a deep knowledge of the region, its history, people and the vast range of wildlife (particularly birds) that we encountered.

A highlight of the trip was visiting Djoudj National Park and seeing the pelicans in large numbers.

As always, it is essential that you read the trip notes. If you don't like boats or birds then this is not the trip for you. Also, binoculars (or a camera with a good zoom) are crucial for maximum enjoyment of the birding aspects.
Confirmed traveller: 02 December 2016
Published on: 16 December 2016
(8 out of 10)

Lynda

Bordon
The trip was good for birdwatching and overall I would recommend it, although the overnight boat trip was too long. The tour leader Baba Jallow was excellent, his knowledge of both countries history, political situations and wildlife was first class.
The flights to and from Senegal were awful, the wait in Lisbon was far too long 9 hours out and 6 hours coming back. Will seriously consider booking independent flights in future
Confirmed traveller: 02 December 2016
Published on: 15 December 2016
(9 out of 10)

Patricia

Perth
Baba was an excellent tour leader, very knowledgeable and very organised, always patient and good humoured. We had chosen this trip mainly for bird watching and we were not disappointed. The highlight for me was the ile des oiseaux boat trip in Senegal and the boat trip through the mangroves near Tendaba Camp in Gambia. As far as the itinerary is concerned I would have liked to see the Abuko reserve as well since it was not much of a detour.
Confirmed traveller: 02 December 2016
Published on: 06 December 2016
(9 out of 10)

Janet

St Albans
It was an unusual and very interesting tour, geared mainly to birdwatching, which was outstanding. We spent a lot of time on many different types of boat and travelling on small pirogues amongst the mangroves was fascinating. Our tour leader Baba was one of the very best we have had. We didn't need very much money in The Gambia, as we only paid for drinks and a donation to a local school. On arrival at The Gambian border we were unexpectedly faced with a requirement to get a visa (c. £60). We still don't know if this is official Gambian policy, as the websites say UK citizens don't need a visa. In the event Gambian Tours paid for the visas, for which we were very grateful.
Confirmed traveller: 12 November 2016
Published on: 18 November 2016