It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
630 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Senegal and Gambia River Cruise SE

Trip Duration 13 Days
 

Reviews for Senegal and Gambia River Cruise

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Senegal and Gambia River Cruise trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Senegal and Gambia River Cruise reviews verified by reevooReevoo

10 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Senegal and Gambia River CruiseScores 8.3 out of 10 based on 10 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Jo

London
A thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing tour but there is a definite bird watching element to the trip which not all may enjoy, but the boat trips provided wonderful photo opportunities!Highlights for me were the (smelly!) pelican colony in Djoudj, the Isle de Goree and the overnighter on the Gambian river boat - yes, it's very, very basic, but what an experience!

Some of the drives are long but are a great way to see life going on by the roadside. A good torch is a must and a sleeping bag sheet came in handy on the boat. I took a mozzie net but it stayed in my bag all trip as accommodation used either had nets already or air con.

The tour leader Baba was top notch - a great "fixer" - always smiling, with a love for the countries and people we saw and nothing was ever too much trouble, and our driver Usman was always very careful and cheerful.

Only disappointment was that the Lac Rose was not very pink but not even Baba could fix that for us!!
Confirmed traveller: 31 December 2016
Published on: 01 January 2017
(8 out of 10)

Janine

Hemel Hempstead
Baba the tour leader was excellent. Accommodation was mixed, some very good hotels and others adequate but basic. Bird life was prolific, mammals rarely seen. Very good binoculars are needed for the trip.
Overall a very good Christmas break.
Confirmed traveller: 30 December 2016
Published on: 02 January 2017
(7 out of 10)

Rachel

London
Arrived in Dakar in mid-afternoon in time for a swim i freezing cold pool with a tide. Island of Goree was very pretty and peaceful; loved the bus drives, ice cream in the service stations and boogying on a river bank to a car sound system instead of going on a walk.
Could have done with some more free time and at least one evening without a group meal but it was very well organised, charming guide and driver, lots of birds - 153 different species apparently - and the night on the boat was fab.
Confirmed traveller: 30 December 2016
Published on: 31 December 2016
(8 out of 10)

Claire

Wolverhampton
A great insight into the Senegambia region with a nice mix of culture, history and wildlife.

The tour guide, Baba, was superb and nothing was too much trouble for him. He had a deep knowledge of the region, its history, people and the vast range of wildlife (particularly birds) that we encountered.

A highlight of the trip was visiting Djoudj National Park and seeing the pelicans in large numbers.

As always, it is essential that you read the trip notes. If you don't like boats or birds then this is not the trip for you. Also, binoculars (or a camera with a good zoom) are crucial for maximum enjoyment of the birding aspects.
Confirmed traveller: 02 December 2016
Published on: 16 December 2016
(8 out of 10)

Lynda

Bordon
The trip was good for birdwatching and overall I would recommend it, although the overnight boat trip was too long. The tour leader Baba Jallow was excellent, his knowledge of both countries history, political situations and wildlife was first class.
The flights to and from Senegal were awful, the wait in Lisbon was far too long 9 hours out and 6 hours coming back. Will seriously consider booking independent flights in future
Confirmed traveller: 02 December 2016
Published on: 15 December 2016
(9 out of 10)

Patricia

Perth
Baba was an excellent tour leader, very knowledgeable and very organised, always patient and good humoured. We had chosen this trip mainly for bird watching and we were not disappointed. The highlight for me was the ile des oiseaux boat trip in Senegal and the boat trip through the mangroves near Tendaba Camp in Gambia. As far as the itinerary is concerned I would have liked to see the Abuko reserve as well since it was not much of a detour.
Confirmed traveller: 02 December 2016
Published on: 06 December 2016
(9 out of 10)

Janet

St Albans
It was an unusual and very interesting tour, geared mainly to birdwatching, which was outstanding. We spent a lot of time on many different types of boat and travelling on small pirogues amongst the mangroves was fascinating. Our tour leader Baba was one of the very best we have had. We didn't need very much money in The Gambia, as we only paid for drinks and a donation to a local school. On arrival at The Gambian border we were unexpectedly faced with a requirement to get a visa (c. £60). We still don't know if this is official Gambian policy, as the websites say UK citizens don't need a visa. In the event Gambian Tours paid for the visas, for which we were very grateful.
Confirmed traveller: 12 November 2016
Published on: 18 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Pauline

Huntingdon
Our tour leader Baba, was wonderful - so knowledgeable on the 2 countries, their history, culture & wildlife. Birds were a speciality & I believe we clocked up almost 140 species. The trips on small boats along rivers and up creeks through mangrove swamps were the best. Our driver Usman was always smiling and jovial, and safe and careful, even after a long, tiring drive to our next destination.
One of the highlights for me was the visit to the Djoudj NP, and seeing the pelican colony, as well as seeing so many ospreys in the Langue de Barberie NP.
Baba was also a great fixer - if anything was wrong, or an emergency arose, he was able to sort out the problem for us straight away.
An excellent trip!
Confirmed traveller: 11 November 2016
Published on: 15 November 2016
(8 out of 10)

Alan

London
This trip is especially enjoyable if you like birdwatching and being on boats which we do but it has to be said that not everyone in the group felt quite the same. However, all professed themselves happy with the trip overall. The trip leader Babagalleh Jallow was a wonderful man and an excellent guide. Nothing was too much trouble for him and every problem was anticipated and every question answered to the full. Senegal and Gambia are very friendly and people are generally very happy to see visitors and keen to talk although some understanding of French helps in Senegal. It has to be said that landscapes are rather flat and dusty and on the longer drives this can become a bit tiring. Accommodation throughout is generally good even though a few are more basic with sometimes no electricity but this is usually compensated for being in beautiful settings by the river. While realising that litter in Africa is often a by product of tourism we did feel that dealing with rubbish was a very low priority in Senegal and everywhere there is blighted by rubbish, even quite remote areas. The Gambia by contrast seemed much better at dealing with rubbish. Longer on The Gambia riverboat with chance to see Georgetown we feel could be an adjustment that might be an improvement.
So, a good trip we feel, perhaps not among our best but very glad to have been, not least for experiencing the great tour leader Baba.
Confirmed traveller: 02 April 2016
Published on: 13 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

Margaret

Hertfordshire
There were so many enjoyable parts - river delta, Gormee Island, ST. Louis and walking round Dakar.

Although I try not to have preconceived ideas about anywhere, I was very happy walking about the place on my own or otherwise. No uncomfortable feelings about personal safely at all.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 01 April 2016
Published on: 13 April 2016