It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
623 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Reviews for Tropical Island Hopping

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Tropical Island Hopping trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Tropical Island Hopping reviews verified by reevooReevoo

11 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Tropical Island HoppingScores 8.3 out of 10 based on 11 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Andrew

A truly beautiful place to go but it is certainly not a gastronomic delight. Everything except fish has to be imported and hence pretty expensive. A supermarket 250 ml bottle of local beer is £1.50 and in a restaurant the sky is the limit.
To get the most out of the experience do the optional additional trips, allow at least £250 per person for these excursions. The lunches included and cooked on the beach are probably the best food you will get in the Seychelles.
Very sadly the accommodation on Mahe did not do Explore any favours (Panorama Relais des Isles), with night time temperature of 32 deg cent it was tough to sleep. There was no fridge, no aircon, no kettle, no toiletries, not even a bottle of water and a very miserable breakfast. There was however dog mess on the lawn and a very assertive hostess stuck in the 1980's. The place had great potential but completely lost track of the expectations of the 21st century. We actually believe that we were the last Explore group to use this accommodation - perhaps this was contributory. When the reception was open you can ask for ice which was given with a smile.
Endemic fauna and flora is limited, although the islands are abundant with flowers these have nearly all been brought in over the years. Practically no butterflies or pollinating birds but some fantastic sea birds to be found on Cousin Island.
The coral is in very poor condition, on the positive side there was some new re-growth, 95% of the coral was dead. There are still incredible numbers of fish on the reefs.
The Seychelles people are pretty tourist hardened so expect an attitude of indifference. Strange, considering that their whole economy in dependant on the visitors. Perhaps that this is a once in a life time experience and they know that nobody ever returns.
Confirmed traveller: 23 April 2017
Published on: 27 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Philip

Dorchester
Superb trip with a perfectly balanced itinerary. Excellent walks in the mornings arriving at fabulous beaches for swimming/snorkelling in the afternoons. The scenery was simply stunning.
We were a small group of three and of course there was "terrific" Tina our leader who was very knowledgable, professional, experienced and great fun to be with.
We chose to fly with Qatar airways as their flight times suited us better with very little time to wait in Doha.
Accommodation at Mahe was very basic with no air conditioning although a good location.
At Praslin the hotel was well located and charming. Staff, in general, were disorganised and unable to deal with any requests. The restaurant was not good here.
At La Digue the Chateau St Cloud was amazing. The restaurant was good here.
We thought the boat trip to Cousin and Curieuse was overpriced and much shorter than we were lead to believe. The birds were tame and we got to see them close up which was fantastic.
Overall we would recommend this trip to friends.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 19 March 2017
Published on: 29 March 2017
(6 out of 10)

Josephine

The Seychelles are beautiful tropical islands but very expensive - be warned.

Check the headline price as ours was kept low by only providing B&B and most trips were optional extras ( & expensive - I budgeted for £1,000 in extras which would have been about right had some trips not been cancelled due to Christmas or the weather). Despite what the itinerary says this is essentially a beach holiday; albeit lots of different beaches - not quite what I had anticipated from Explore.

The itinerary seems to be the same regardless of time of year which is not really representative. During the Christmas trip it is monsoon season so it rains ( happily mainly at night for us) the sea is rough, consequently the sand is churned up and the snorkelling as good as anticipated....although the sight of a massive mantra ray with two barracudas "hitching a ride" was awesome. The beaches are covered in sea weed because of the winds and because its essentially a Catholic country that celebrates Christmas - everything closes over the festive period meaning that we missed out on some of the Island trips that were to be there highlight of my visit ( the bird island one especially). The itinerary does not take this into account and certainly does not make it clear how weather dependent trips are around Christmas New Year.


Tina the local guide was very personable but did not add much to the trip. We were pretty much left to our own devices to try and rearrange trips and for evening meal venues without recommendations consequently we did not always end up at the best places.

The accomodation was a mixed bag although always clean - getting better on each island. There was a marked discrepancy in the types of room travellers had at the last ( best) hotel.....unfortunately a source of some dissent.

Despite all, the Seychelles was a beautiful and friendly place but just make sure you really understand what to expect. At the end of the day its the group that makes the trip and it worked well for us.
Confirmed traveller: 01 January 2017
Published on: 26 March 2017

Thanks for your feedback regarding your trip to the Seychelles. We hadn’t received any negative feedback regarding the weather over Christmas before and are now in discussion with our local partners to ensure that departures over that period operate with a degree of flexibility. We are also speaking to Tina so that she provides recommendations and tips for the best place to try local food. On a positive note, I am glad that you enjoyed the Seychelles and had a good bunch of fellow Explore travellers.

(7 out of 10)

Jacquelynn

Poole
Bassically, there's not alot of historical things to see, but the vegetation is lush and interesting. We went over Christmas when weather often overcast with some rain. Luckily the rain didn't spoil our days, just went in sea!
Apart from one all day trip our leader took us for a walk/visit most imornings ending on a beach in the afternoon. I did expect to do more swimming and snorkeling from the beaches than was possible, which was disappointing . We had onshore winds and low tide during much of the day time We did not do the optional boat trips for reasons.
The group size was just right and they made a most enjoyable holiday.
Not the most exciting holiday and didn't need to go with Explore. Also very expensive.
Confirmed traveller: 01 January 2017
Published on: 22 January 2017
(8 out of 10)

Michael

Somerset
The tour leader was excellent. She knew the islands well and had chosen mini trips that were well thought out and as different as the geography allowed.
The swimming and schnorkelling were excellent
The two boat trips were also very good but rather expensive(£100 &£150 p.p.)
It was possible to eat at reasonable prices for the evening meal if you searched around but was very expensive if you did not
The accomodation in Mahe was good but had no A.C.
The accomodation in Praslin had helpful staff but unfriendly management
The accomodation in La Digue was very good but you needed a bit of a walk to get anywhere
The real minus was the long wait(7hrs +) in Abu Dabi on the return journey - with the two boat trips from La Digue to Praslin and then to Mahe, two flights, Airport waitsand the three hour drive home, the homeward journey took 33 hours

Mike S, Somerset
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 23 October 2016
Published on: 28 October 2016
(8 out of 10)

Kim

St. Albans
This was a lovely relaxed pace trip. The walks were shortish but quite challenging at times in terms of climbs. Beaches varied and lovely. Boat trips exciting.

Our tour leader was very knowledgable about flora and forna and local culture and great to be with as we were such a small group. Lucky we all got on but as the couple wanted some time alone( understandable) and the other lady and I quite different at times it was a little lonely.

The first hotel lacked air conditioning which made it very very hot. The other 2 were great although being by the beach is always preferable.

The tour notes need updating. The flights you book are Emirates and they don't get you to the hotel with the tour leader until 4 pm so there is no way a pm trip can be done. Transfer at La Digue is by car NOT ox cart, you see very few these days.

Great trip all round, thanks.
Confirmed traveller: 17 April 2016
Published on: 18 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

Sarah

Surbiton
Well organised and enjoyable tour. Highlights snorkelling trips including beach BBQs, cycling and walks to beaches. Only negative was first 4 nights accommodation- Panorama apartments. Nice location but very basic accommodation with no air conditioning or fridges. Breakfast was also very basic.
Confirmed traveller: 10 April 2016
Published on: 13 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Isobel

Thames Ditton
This trip is a wonderful way to see the islands. The Snorkeling, boat trips, bbq's on beach all fantastic. Tina our leader was great fun and our group were lovely. The scenery was incredible and we were lucky enough to see more than the obvious tourist places. One point that was made though is that it might be better if there was more consistency with the accommodation- the first being very basic (no air con or fridge) versus the last hotel which was quite expensive. The humidity is immense so basic luxuries can make a huge difference
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 10 April 2016
Published on: 11 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Clive

Southampton
How does this sound for a review of the whole trip?
“If you have the least interest in natural history you will love this trip. On each of the three islands you will stay on, you can simply walk out of the hotel and find wildlife that exists nowhere else on Earth! If you are really lucky, as we were on La Digue, you will even get to see some from your bed!! Being able to visit three more islands (Moyenne, Cousin & Curieuse) brought encounters with even more endemic species as well as close encounters with fairy terns and a nesting turtle.

As a bonus, this trip does not entails hours of travelling on bumpy roads between sites as it is all either a short walk away or a short trip on the local bus.

Our guide (Tina Dubel) was fabulous fun and had some really good tips for getting good food at reasonable prices (nowhere is the Seychelles is cheap but at least these ones were not exorbitant).”


With regards to what the highlights were, how's this for a list:
coming face-to-face with fairy terns and their chicks;
coming face-to-face with a nesting hawksbill turtle;
coming face-to-face with nesting tropic birds;
getting to Cousin Island, and being able to see the critically-endangered Seychelles warbler and the magpie robin;
getting on and off Cousin Island;
encountering so many giant, Aldabra tortoises;
finding a family group of the critically endangered Seychelles paradise flycatchers;
finding eight species of endemic birds, out of eleven possible;
finding so many other forms of endemic life;
finding loads of species of fish, in both adult and juvenile forms, which were new to us;
getting around Praslin on the local buses;
cycling around La Digue;
our room in the treetops (Kino) at Chateau St Cloud (La Digue);
the wide-ranging conversations with Tina;
the laid-back pace of life.

Just in case you have not yet realised, this is among the best group tours which we have done.

What tips would I give any potential travellers about this trip:
go with the flow;
if there is an opportunity to get somewhere, go for it;
take your snorkelling kit on all trips as you will end up on a beach at some point during the trip, and the snorkelling if wonderful;
hire a bike for the last day on La Digue and get exploring the island.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 03 January 2016
Published on: 15 February 2016
(9 out of 10)

David

Leamington Spa
This was paradise. Hot sun, warm seas and cold beers.
Confirmed traveller: 09 August 2015
Published on: 02 October 2015