It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
593 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Ancient Sicily SCS

Visiting: Italy , Sicily
Trip Duration 15 Days
 

Reviews for Ancient Sicily

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Ancient Sicily trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Ancient Sicily reviews verified by Reevoo

9 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Ancient SicilyScores 8.8 out of 10 based on 9 reviews
(8 out of 10)

John

Adelaide Australia
an extensive trip around Sicily highlighted by numerous historically interesting temples, theatres, mosaics, churches, (in particular the Royal chapel in Palermo), Greek/Roman amphitheatres, fascinating towns and cities. enjoyable food and wine - good mix of fellow Explore travellers and good tour leader and team
Confirmed traveller: 25 June 2016
Published on: 01 July 2016
(9 out of 10)

Jo

Warrington
The highlights for me were the island of Mozia, the mosaics in the Palatine chapel and the puppet show. The meals we shared and the friendship and support of the group were excellent. Coco was a caring, interesting and very efficient leader. Nothing was too much trouble.

My tip would be to pack something warm to wear for the Etna trip. As only breakfast is included it is helpful to have enough cash to pay for meals i.e. not a card.
Confirmed traveller: 24 October 2015
Published on: 05 December 2015
(9 out of 10)

Roger

Canberra
Highlights - Syracuse, segesta, selunite, valley of the temples, trip to top of Etna, Norman churches of Palermo and Monreale. Roman mosaics of Piazza Armenia.

Tips - warm clothes for Etna. Do research to occupy the free time - eg Palermo.
Confirmed traveller: 24 October 2015
Published on: 26 November 2015
(8 out of 10)

Anne

Worksop
Expert guide. with detailed knowledge of the subject.

The Palermo Puppet show!

Take time out to absorb and appreciate what you have seen; it is a very action packed tour with very little time for reflection or photography.
Confirmed traveller: 24 October 2015
Published on: 31 October 2015
(10 out of 10)

Galleria

Canada
This trip was outstanding because of the depth and breadth of knowledge of our expert guide. Every second day he presented a one-hour lecture related to the sights we would see the following day. From baroque architecture to volcanology to Greek temples to history of the Mafia, we were always well briefed!
Confirmed traveller: 16 May 2015
Published on: 07 October 2015
(10 out of 10)

John

Newton Abbot
So much to see, so close together, such a variety - from 1000 BC to 1945 and up to date, and lots of interest in between.

Well organised, good arrangements.

Tip - learn a bit about the history of Sicily before you go - there's so much to see there.
Confirmed traveller: 25 October 2014
Published on: 01 October 2015
(8 out of 10)

Stephanie

Richmond, Vic. Australia
As usual, very well organised and very informative
Confirmed traveller: 25 October 2014
Published on: 01 October 2015
(8 out of 10)

Walter

Arlington Heights
Tour guide was excellent. The professor who accompanied us was boring and did not speak English well enough to explain things as clearly as you would expect. The itinerary could be improved but there is not enough room here for suggestions. Still it was overall good trip.
Confirmed traveller: 04 October 2014
Published on: 28 September 2015

I’m glad that overall you enjoyed your holiday in Sicily, but I’m sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your local expert and felt that the itinerary for our trip could have been improved.

This holiday and our local expert Antonio usually receive very good feedback, but we have passed your comments on to him and I will monitor any comments that we receive on the trip itinerary.

I’ve travelled around Sicily myself and took a routing that was very similar to this trip and I felt that it worked well; as you get to see a range of scenery from the beautiful coastlines to the mountains, as well as traditional Sicilian towns, larger buzzling cities and a huge variety of historical sights. I’m a history buff, so I fell completely in love with the island.

(9 out of 10)

valerie

London
5 star tour leader,driver and lecturer- took all the drudgery of the long drive around the island and made it lots of fun .
Confirmed traveller: 19 September 2015
Published on: 27 September 2015